We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great place to stay in Entebbe”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of J. Residence Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
J. Residence Motel
Ranked #3 of 30 Hotels in Entebbe
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“great place to stay in Entebbe”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2013

clean, secure, firm mattress, en suite shower room/toilet, mosquito nets,helpful staff, free wi-fi in lounge- or you can use their computer . As a single female I felt very safe.
Responded quickly to emails

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank littleredhen65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    35
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
14
29
29
41
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
dili east timor
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

We stayed here a couple of times while transiting through Entebbe and Kampala and I would rate it right at the top for the Entebbe area choices. Despite the budget prices, the rooms have the feel of a four star hotel, and the service is outstanding. A good atmosphere where it is easy to meet the other guests. Especially good for single women travelers.
It is a bit further from the airport than some of the other Entebbe accomodations, but transport from the hotel is readily available.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank katinka77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Borth
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

This hotel is perfect for anybody travelling from or to the airport in Entebbe. Not just because it is clean and comfortable and excellent value for money, but because customer care is second to none. I needed more care than most as I got ill and was taken from the airport by ambulance to a medical centre. I really don't know where I'd be without the proprietor's help between being on a drip in the medical centre and getting on another flight!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SSSSGGGGG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, South Wales
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2013

If I could give this review 11 out of 10 then I would without hesitation . Stayed there recently overnight by default. The hotel's hospitality was second to none where nothing was too much trouble for staff. The owner John is a gem and went well beyond the call of duty when he spend half the night in a local clinic as one of his guests friend's was taken ill and could not board the plane to the UK I cannot praise the hotel enough and their response. In addition, rooms were clean, food good and rates extremely competitive.Thank you John for all your help on the trlp.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gizzip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

I stayed at the Jresidence on my way to and from DRC travelling on my own. The hotel lies at a convenient distance from the airport. I found the price-quality-service excellent and was much impressed by the hospitality of John and his staff. The flexibility in arrival and departure was especially welcome in my case of continuously changing flight schedules.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Els C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed at the J Residence for our last two nights in Uganda. The hotel is a bit outside the "main" area of Entebbe but John the owner personally drove us wherever we need to go! Very clean, welcoming staff, free wifi, and good food. It was a great way to end our trip in Uganda!

Room Tip: Must pay at time of arrival - exchange rate to USD terrible! Best to come prepared with UGX
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jessica F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013

J Residence is located relatively close to the airport, with free transfers to and from being offered as part of the cost. Although there will be higher quality hotels in the area, the balance of price; service and comfort makes J Residence really brilliant. The rooms are very comfortable, with good ensuite facilities. The staff are exceptionally friendly and helpful. There is wifi in the property, albeit slow and only accessible from certain locations. I will definitely be returning to J Residence on my next visit to Uganda and will recommend to others.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jamie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Entebbe hotels
3.0 mi away
2Friends Beach Hotel
2Friends Beach Hotel
#2 of 30 in Entebbe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
2.8 mi away
Acacia Beach Hotel
Acacia Beach Hotel
#9 of 30 in Entebbe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
5.9 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Entebbe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Lake Heights Hotel
Lake Heights Hotel
#8 of 30 in Entebbe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
1.5 mi away
4 Penguins Hotel
4 Penguins Hotel
#17 of 30 in Entebbe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
4.8 mi away
Phenicia Motel
Phenicia Motel
#15 of 30 in Entebbe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to J. Residence Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about J. Residence Motel

Property: J. Residence Motel
Address: Plot No. 704 Ave Maria Road | Mpala / Near Nkumba University, Entebbe 00256, Uganda
Location: Uganda > Central Region > Entebbe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 30 Hotels in Entebbe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — J. Residence Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our room rates are inclusive of free airport pick up and breakfast.We provide our guests with an atmosphere of a home away from home and offer Pre-Ordered home cooked meals,while browsing the internet using our free WI-FI facility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Jovago.com, Expedia, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your J. Residence Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing