We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great value” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of J. Residence Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
J. Residence Motel
Ranked #2 of 30 Hotels in Entebbe
Certificate of Excellence
NE Iowa, USA
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2012

John is as hospitable of a host that I have seen and the facilities are very comfortable - rooms are so nice, there is a wonderful common area in which to relax, and the food was good. Recommend, recommend, recommend!!

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank SJS_Iowa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    35
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
14
29
29
41
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2012

I stayed here for 1 night before flying out of Uganda. The staff was incredibly friendly and helpful in regards to anything I needed. It may have been the time that I went, but there was only one other guest there besides myself. I got there close to the evening and upon checking in they asked what I would like for dinner and what time I would like to eat. The meal was fantastic. Delicious homemade chicken and plenty of Ugandan sides. In the morning, the meal was very similar, lots of delicious food. At check in, I asked for a ride to the airport and they said it was included with the price of the motel which I thought was fantastic. The owner himself drive me to the airport, and upon request told me the whole story of the Inn and how it began. I story I would ask to be told if I needed an early morning tale before taking off for the long journey home.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Snawadn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2012

Convenient Entebbe location as it is just a 10 minute drive to the airport and offers free shuttle service to or from the hotel. John, the owner/manager is extremely helpful and friendly. The rooms are quiet and clean and the showers have plenty of hot water. Additionally, the staff is adept at customer service - something that you don't often see in Uganda. We highly recommend the J. Residence!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HalfLight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hythe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2012

If you want never to forget what Ugandan hospitality really means you MUST stay at J Residence without fail.
You will not find better!!
For good food, quiet and clean rooms with beds to die for this is the place to stay.
Hospitality is great and friendliness rarely seen.
Tell all your friends about it please. God Bless.
Revd Canon Ken Berkin

Room Tip: cool clean and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kenneth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jackson, wy
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2012

We had booked a flight leaving Entebbe at 5:30 am and, due to traffic in Kampala, our party didn't arrive until 10pm the previous night. Even in such a short stay we were very impressed with the level of hospitality we encountered. From the initial warm welcome onward. Rooms had wonderful hot water, comfortable beds and were spacious enough to allow us to unpack and repack with ease. Most impressive however was after our wake up call at 2:30 AM, staff prepared a full breakfast for us! And the airport shuttle was warmed and ready to go. We loved the quiet neighborhood, security and the family guest house feel. If you are looking for a night or so traveling through Entebbe, J Residence is perfect. MP, Jackson WY USA

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank beachcomin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
379 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 189 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2012

This Guesthouse well deserves the good reviews it has received on Tripadvisor. Situated a few miles from Entebbe just off the Kampala Rd, it is ideally situated as a place to start or end your visit to Uganda. Rooms are fairly basic, but are comfortable, clean and spacious, with good en-suite facilities. The staff were all very helpful and friendly. The location is peaceful and quiet. You will probably need directions to get there, but it's worth searching out, and is reasonably priced. Sincere thanks to the management and staff for their attentiveness and hospitality. Having stayed in other places both in Entebbe and Kampala, I wouldn't hesitate to choose Entebbe over Kampala, and to return to the J Residence....

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AndrewA64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waldems, Hessen, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2012

We highly recommend J. Residence Motel in Entebbe. After an awful and horrible car accident and 2 days at Kisubi Hospital, we spent 3 days at John's place, trying to manage our flights back home. The rooms were big, excellent quality and clean! The service was outstanding, despite the fact that the Motel offers lunch and dinner with a standard menu, the crew was ready to prepare and serve special diets - i.e. Vegetarian. The food has to be pre-ordered and it takes about 1 1/2 hours for preparation. But this is no issue, as the time for eating can be defined together with the order. John, the owner has given us a helping hand whereever he could. So using his Computer to manage flight bookings was offered, as well as a shuttle service to Entebbe Airport. We really felt a bit like home and are absolute sure to book J. Residence Motel next time we will go to Uganda!. Thanks so much John and greetings to the hotel staff!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bernhard W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Entebbe hotels
3.0 mi away
2Friends Beach Hotel
2Friends Beach Hotel
#1 of 30 in Entebbe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 255 reviews
2.8 mi away
Acacia Beach Hotel
Acacia Beach Hotel
#6 of 30 in Entebbe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
5.9 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Entebbe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
4 Penguins Hotel
4 Penguins Hotel
#15 of 30 in Entebbe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
4.4 mi away
Lake Heights Hotel
Lake Heights Hotel
#8 of 30 in Entebbe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
4.3 mi away
LAICO Lake Victoria Entebbe Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to J. Residence Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about J. Residence Motel

Property: J. Residence Motel
Address: Plot No. 704 Ave Maria Road | Mpala / Near Nkumba University, Entebbe 00256, Uganda
Location: Uganda > Central Region > Entebbe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 30 Hotels in Entebbe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — J. Residence Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our room rates are inclusive of free airport pick up and breakfast.We provide our guests with an atmosphere of a home away from home and offer Pre-Ordered home cooked meals,while browsing the internet using our free WI-FI facility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Jovago.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your J. Residence Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing