We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent service, ok rooms, but horrible food.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Entebbe Backpackers

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Entebbe
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Entebbe Backpackers
Ranked #15 of 30 Specialty Lodging in Entebbe
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent service, ok rooms, but horrible food.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2014

First of all it has to be stated that Entebbe Backpackers has excellent service and nice and a friendly staff. The staff is prepared to go that extra mile for you if needed. The area is pretty and the rooms are nice.

Unfortunately the food they prepare is pretty bad, and I tried different items on the menu, but it was either burnt, bland or just not good.

Another unfortunate fact was that the room where I stayed had an ant problem... but it was no biggie for a one night stay.

Would I stay there again? Definitely, but I would just make sure to eat out ;)

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    20
    39
    11
    10
See reviews for
4
17
25
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2014

Just spent a week here. Frank and his staff could not have been more friendly and welcoming. There were 12 of us staying here and we were all made to feel like home. Food was good to, I'd recommend the banana pancakes!
The staff even did some laundry for us for 25p an item.
Would definitely go back.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jill S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2014

Spent one night waiting for my flight.
Got a single room for $ 10.
Washroom was shared by 4 rooms, of which 3 were empty, so I was the only one using it.
The room was decent enough for the price.
Entebbe is a small place, so other attractions were within walking distances. Slightly longer walks though.
Good enough for travelers on short trips.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nadir S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2014 via mobile

I stayed here 4 nights waiting for a friend to fly in. I found the staff friendly. Dorms and bathrooms were cleaned everyday. The beds had mosquito nets albeit a bit torn up. Beds also had individual lights which is nice for all the early morning flight people. There are two dorm rooms one with lockers an one without so ask for the one with. The food was not very good but the beers are cold. Pretty consistent wi-fi and tv with lots of channels. There's outside seating areas with grass. I would recommend splurging on a day at the pool at the nearby Lake Victoria hotel (20ugx) and coffee, juice, chocolate croissants and free wi-fi at Gately Inn. Also you can get great pedicures at the salon next to Nakumat.

Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Sarah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
travellingphysio
Level Contributor
37 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2014

My boyfirend and I arrived here around 8pm one night after a long journey, looking for somewhere to stay and a bite to eat. First impressions really count and I have to say the impression we got from this place made us leave and go back out into the dark to stay elsewhere.

The security guard at the gate was rude and the guy at reception also followed this trend. We approached the front desk and the man studiously ignored us for some time before looking up at us as if we were disturbing him. His communication skills were non-existant and we felt we were very unwelcome. He showed us a room which seemed poor value for the money requested and he seemed totally uninterested in whether we wanted to stay.

We had arrived at 8pm which is the time the kitchen closes and asked whether we could possibly get some food or if he could direct us elsewhere to eat locally. Again, he was totally unhelpful. It was at this point we decided not to stay.

This unfriendly attitude was totally opposing to the friendly welcome we had experienced almost everywhere else on our trip around Uganda.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travellingphysio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Entebbe hotels

London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2014 via mobile

The rooms for 4 with double bunk beds are nicer than the rooms for 3 but generally good value especially for entebbe. Sitting room area in reception is cosy, FREE WIFI and ugandas got talent always playing on tv which is great. Food is very good - I recomment snacking on masala chips and.having French toast for breakfast!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Iny M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
49 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2013 via mobile

Wow, I gave this place a chance and regretted every minute of it. The reception & kitchen staff are extrodinarily rude & unhelpful, the food is overpriced and not good. The staff literally walk in the front door in the morning and say "this place sucks"--the morning female cook! So much negative energy about the place...sad because under new management it could be a cool spot. The rooms on the interior are noisy unless you get a private cottage. Most of the rooms go right out on the loud TV blaring living room/bar/reception/kitchen/restaurant. You would get a better nights sleep camping for 12,000 especially because of the U-shaped beds! I wouldn't stay here again if paid me. It's well worth the $ to go elsewhere especially since as of Nov 1st the room prices have gone way up!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank grantwill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Entebbe hotels
1.7 mi away
2Friends Beach Hotel
2Friends Beach Hotel
#1 of 30 in Entebbe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 255 reviews
0.2 mi away
Executive Airport Hotel
Executive Airport Hotel
#9 of 30 in Entebbe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
5.2 mi away
4 Penguins Hotel
4 Penguins Hotel
#15 of 30 in Entebbe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Thames Hotel
Thames Hotel
#27 of 30 in Entebbe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 19 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lake Heights Hotel
Lake Heights Hotel
#8 of 30 in Entebbe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
0.4 mi away
LAICO Lake Victoria Entebbe Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Entebbe Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Entebbe Backpackers

Property: Entebbe Backpackers
Address: Plot 33/35 Church Road, Entebbe 256, Uganda
Location: Uganda > Central Region > Entebbe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 30 Specialty Lodging in Entebbe
Number of rooms: 16

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing