We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasant enough but v basic” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Entebbe Backpackers

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Entebbe
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Entebbe Backpackers
Ranked #15 of 30 Specialty Lodging in Entebbe
UK
Level Contributor
33 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Pleasant enough but v basic”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013 via mobile

I camped here. Pleasant gardens with good camping spots. Food was ok, and fairly priced. Showers have hot water and cleanish!

V close to the lake vic hotel if you want to go for a swim :)

Generally helpful staff. Only complaint - the TV that is never turned off (even though no guests are not watching) and low wattage liggtbulbs that make it difficult to see let alone read!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank k2102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    20
    39
    11
    10
See reviews for
4
17
25
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2012

Small hostel located close to the airport.

Our room was spacious, but needed serious updating. We felt as though we had gone back to the 70s; the carpet was dusty and dreary and the bathroom had a potent smell.

They do serve food, but it's below average and the service is excruciatingly slow. We ordered lunch one day and had to wait over 1.5 hours (and there were only 4 other people who had ordered food ahead of us).

Some of the staff were incredibly friendly, but others had an attitude, and were often not helpful.

The swimming pool is about 30cm deep.

Overall, we felt that we did not get what we had paid for, and when we returned to Entebbe at a later date, we had not qualms about staying in a different place.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Felice C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dredd44, General Manager at Entebbe Backpackers, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Thanks for the Review Felice, we will strive to improve. However would like to point that what you saw was not a Swimming Pool. Its a Fountain and guess when you stayed there unfortunately it was not turned on.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Entebbe hotels

Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2012 via mobile

Not great fun. This place is functional but not enjoyable. The staff member we met was unfriendly, the atmosphere was pretty grim and the beds incredibly uncomfortable (my friend described her pillow as 'like bits of springy wire'.) No hot water despite the terrifying-looking wires and contraptions around the shower.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank okhs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kampala, Uganda
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2012

Stayed only one night between a two day fishing trip on Lake Victoria. The place looks ans feels like a true backpacker's place, without the funky ambiance (although maybe we were in the slow season ?).

We got the twin self contained room connected to the main lobby... noisy enough. Toilet was not so clean and the towels smelled of mold, but, there was toilet paper (yay !).

Overall, don't expect much at that price.

Room Tip: Pay in advance if you expect to leave early in the morning, I had the night clerk complaining that h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brentwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2012

We stayed here twice, in Nov 2011 & again in Jan 2012, first in a self-contained twin room within the main building and later in a 'cottage' in the garden. (These are more recently built rooms, set slightly behind the main building).
Both rooms were clean, fairly large and comfortable. The mosquito nets were good and towels, soap and loo roll are provided. The showers had hot water. The cottage was slightly more expensive than the twin, but had bunk beds, which I found rather claustrophobic when the mozzie nets were down. Both rooms had small terrace areas for sitting outside, with a table and chairs provided.

The reception area has a bar, sitting area with sofas, a tv (which seemed to be permanently on!) and a few tables for meals. There is free wifi. They have an extensive menu and the food was tasty but quite expensive, although beers and other drinks were cheap.
Service was very slow, especially at breakfast. The kitchen staff do not stay on site and only arrive for work at 8am, so breakfast cannot be ordered before then. One morning we waited over an hour for tea & rolex (omelette & chapati). However, the staff were friendly and helpful, and meals can be brought to your terrace on request.
The gardens are lovely, with plenty of flowers and shady trees. There is a small pool and a large lawn for camping. The hostel is in a quiet suburban street and there is no noise at night, so you can get a good night's sleep!
Entebbe's main tourist attractions - the Botanic Gardens and the Wildlife Education Centre - are within easy walking distance and the Lake Victoria Hotel is just at the end of the road.
Checkout time is 10am, but they will store bags for you for free if you have a late flight.
I would be happy to stay here again next time I visit Entebbe.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kaz_in_essex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Elizabeth, Maine
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2012

We stayed at Entebbe Backpackers for one night after arriving late in Entebbe. When we arrived, we requested a double room and the only one available was 60,000 UGX, which I thought was extremely steep for what we got. The room was clean but definitely not worth the price we paid for it. Additionally, when we arrived, we requested a shuttle from the airport. The shuttle arrived promptly to pick us up, but when we got back to the hostel, there were two other people, who had also just arrived on the same flight as us from the airport. Rather than send one van to pick both of us up, they sent two to make double the profit. That was slightly unsettling. In the morning, we asked the staff to help us with travel plans and I found them to be very reticent and not overly eager to help. Overall, it was fine for a night, but I was not impressed with the service.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Eur0peTraveler2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
32 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

This backpackers hostel is located in a quiet are in Entebbe. The room was small and the toilet not really clean, but the mosquito net was good and the place has a nice feeling to it. The restaurant serves ok food.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elisa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Entebbe hotels
1.7 mi away
2Friends Beach Hotel
2Friends Beach Hotel
#1 of 30 in Entebbe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 255 reviews
0.2 mi away
Executive Airport Hotel
Executive Airport Hotel
#9 of 30 in Entebbe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
5.2 mi away
4 Penguins Hotel
4 Penguins Hotel
#15 of 30 in Entebbe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Thames Hotel
Thames Hotel
#27 of 30 in Entebbe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 19 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lake Heights Hotel
Lake Heights Hotel
#8 of 30 in Entebbe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
0.4 mi away
LAICO Lake Victoria Entebbe Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Entebbe Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Entebbe Backpackers

Property: Entebbe Backpackers
Address: Plot 33/35 Church Road, Entebbe 256, Uganda
Location: Uganda > Central Region > Entebbe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 30 Specialty Lodging in Entebbe
Number of rooms: 16

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing