We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice backpackers place”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Entebbe
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Entebbe Backpackers
Ranked #13 of 32 Specialty Lodging in Entebbe
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
32 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Nice backpackers place”
Reviewed July 9, 2012

This backpackers hostel is located in a quiet are in Entebbe. The room was small and the toilet not really clean, but the mosquito net was good and the place has a nice feeling to it. The restaurant serves ok food.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elisa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    23
    39
    11
    11
See reviews for
4
18
28
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Secunderabad, India
Level Contributor
120 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2012

we stayed at Entebbe backpackers for a night....got an ensuite room..looked as if it was a modified room of the manager as it was adjacent to the staff quarters...@50000UGX i would say it was adequate. The dorm beds are at 14000UGX.

restaurant is barely ok....only plus point is wifi in the lobby...

the rates have increased wef Jul 12. 60000UGX for ensuite. 15000UGX for airport drop.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gundappa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lund
Level Contributor
7 reviews
Reviewed May 28, 2012

Stayed here a couple of nights, both single with shared and a double (or was it a big single) with own bathroom. Would recommend spending the extra $ for own bathroom, it's still cheap. The newer rooms in the garden seemed nice and clean, ours in the main building can't really be called clean but it didn't bother us too much. Staff is almost TOO laid back but nice enough and i kept a bag there for a week which was very helpful. Food isn't bad. Nice quiet area and loved being so close to the fancy pool at Lake Victoria. A tip though for the hostel: put in shower curtains! at least our bathroom didnt have one so every time we showered the bathroom got flooded. OH and another thing: do take a look at the electric showers; ours had wiring sticking out in a very worrisome way, that did NOT look safe.

Room Tip: get a self contained. newer ones in the garden seem the cleanest!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elsie198
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tehran, Iran
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2012

entebbe backpackers located in a good place (not far from the main road, 10 min walk to beach and 5 min drive from airport), the area is beautiful and clean, you can find good place for camping there, and also rooms wirth private shower are clean and comfortable, but i suggest you never use rooms without shower and also the dorm. staff are not friendly but the owner is a greet man!
good place to meet travellers

Room Tip: better not to choose room without shower and the dorm
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SHOTGUNN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jalandhar, India
Level Contributor
39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2012

actually its a bit above average and just little short of good..when in rome do as romans do!!

if you are looking for a backpackers right next to the airport to schmuze away a few quiet nights reading and sipping on the beer chatting over with other crazies like you who love seeing the different hues of our beloved planet..head to this place..

quiet, low key, super cheap and very laid back..thats what you feel as you tread up the wide -orange-brown patio and arrive at entebbe backpackers :)

free wifi, nice clean tents to stay in the gardens, friendly -calm staff and a reliabel boda-boda service on call makes it just about as good as it gets in uganda..we, me and wifey dear landed without reservations after our matatu guy looked all around for the place and found ourselves nicely tucked away in a tent in the garden without hassles..

its very close to the airport hence reassuring but far if kampala is on your radar..it can take upto 2 hrs if you dont land up in a snarl of traffic from here to thither!! so kampalaites beware..

but the place is good and clean, safe and there are lots of tourists floating around who regale you with their stories..the decor is styled on the way backpackers are and the organise various tours and ovelanding trips as well..we however dint have the time..

the food can be tricky as be sure to order by 7 in evening as the cooks leave, yes the really leave after i think 9 and you have very little chances of getting anything around located as it is in one of the quieter suburbs of entebbe..

we liked the night in the tent, cheap, earthy and well romantic as wifey dear puts it..
overall the place is worth staying and will not disappoint you if not impress you out of the way.. we took a boda boda on call to the zoo and really loved it..

hope that the continue improving and raise the standards even more..till then i would recommend it in any case..the beers are cold by the way!! ;)

Room Tip: pl book in advance and tell your taxi/matatu/boda boda that its right next to the school down below...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sandeepsaini2043
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kampala, Uganda
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2011

Having read many reviews of this place on Trip Advisor and others I booked it safe in the knowledge that it was very basic (which is fine), and cheap, but clean and friendly etc. When we arrived, the staff were friendly enough, but we arrived at 1pm and the room was still not ready. When we eventually got to the room it was dirty, grotty, peeling, ripped and torn mosquito net, showers and bathroom were disgusting. I was very disappointed. We didn't stick around to sample any of the food and spent as little time as possible there. Unfortunately, there is not much availble of this kind of price in Entebbe, so maybe it is taking it's position for granted - there are far better quality places for similar prices, just not in Entebbe.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lizzie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Entebbe hotels

Leiden, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
58 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2011

Stayed 1 night here before my flight home in the large room next to the common area, right of the main entrance. Spacious garden setting, friendly staff, secure and a nice little bar with cold beer. The heater for warm water was bust in our room and they couldn't fix it. The rest of the place has shared facilities.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rvisser99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Entebbe hotels
0.5 mi away
Phenicia Motel
Phenicia Motel
#22 of 30 in Entebbe
5 reviews
0.4 mi away
Skyway Hotel
Skyway Hotel
#30 of 30 in Entebbe
10 reviews
0.2 mi away
Executive Airport Hotel
Executive Airport Hotel
#11 of 30 in Entebbe
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Viavia Guesthouse
Viavia Guesthouse
#1 of 32 in Entebbe
53 reviews
1.5 mi away
Gorilla African Guest House
4.7 mi away
J. Residence Motel
J. Residence Motel
#3 of 30 in Entebbe
141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Entebbe Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Entebbe Backpackers

Property: Entebbe Backpackers
Address: Plot 33/35 Church Road, Entebbe 256, Uganda
Location: Uganda > Central Region > Entebbe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 32 Specialty Lodging in Entebbe
Number of rooms: 16

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing