We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A lovely oasis in Entebbe”
Review of Gately Inn Entebbe

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Gately Inn Entebbe
Ranked #12 of 52 Entebbe B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
94 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“A lovely oasis in Entebbe”
Reviewed January 14, 2013

I recommend staying here for at least one night because it is really nice to be met coming in after a long international flight and being whisked away to a beautiful, safe and calm environment. The staff are very nice and welcoming on arrival.

The hotel is esthetically beautiful and very up market. The tropical flowers in the gardens are gorgeous and the rooms are luxurious. The restaurant on site is a nice treat if you just want to rest in a lovely environment and get over the jet lag while you eat great meals.

It is conveniently located and easy to flag down a taxi on the adjacent road to get around Entebbe.

Don’t be in a hurry to leave. Once you hit the hubbub of Kampala, you’ll wish you’d stayed longer at such a delightful oasis.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kweega
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    35
    14
    6
    1
See reviews for
9
20
23
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Havant, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
168 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2013

Sorry to strike a discordant note, but my own impression of Gately was not overall very positive. On the up-side, the cottages are well furnished and the bed was very comfortable indeed. But the hotel is now five years old and beginning to need some touching up (cracked concrete, stained walls). But most irritatingly for me, the TV had no channels of watchable quality and the internet connection was patchy at best. Although several members of staff came to deal with this and promised that something would be done, the manageress later admitted that actually her only solution was to move me to another room the next day. If I pay extra for a hotel offering satellite TV and internet, I really expect to have it provided.
The breakfast arrangement was also rather odd. You could only order from a set menu of breakfasts which meant that if you wanted something that was not included in that particular menu you paid extra - so no chance of getting a piece of fruit with the cooked breakfast or an egg with the fruit breakfast unless you paid. The last time I came across an inflexible breakfast set-up like that was in socialist Czechoslovakia circa 1985!
And yes, the hotel is a bit near to the main road which makes it a bit noisy, and should also be avoided by anyone who might take exception to the hotel's resident dogs following you around. I cut short my stay and will not be returning.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank leonetraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaborone, Botswana
Level Contributor
35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2012

I have had the pleasure of staying at gately’s on a number of occasions and it has always been a pleasure! I use the lodge mostly as a stopover for early morning flights as it is close to the airport and has a very reliable shuttle service. The room are more than adequate, the food is always good and the service is outstanding! Wake up calls are prompt and there is always coffee ready even if the departure to the airport is at 05h00…something I highly appreciate!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Louis P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ko Samui, Thailand
Level Contributor
54 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2012

Having been a regular visitor to Entebbe for over four years, the Gately is most likely the best option in town.
The service always comes with a smile, the rooms are comfortable. There's always hot water. The food is well above average and the portions on the large size. Nothing seems too much for the staff.

Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Number 7 is large. Has it's own entrance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank edwardgarfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stellenbosch
2 reviews
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We only stayed there for one night as we had an early flight the next morning.

The friendly faces that greet you at the door go a long way after the traffic from Jinga via Kampala. We ate in the restaurant and the food was good.

We were only there for a very short period, but the rooms were great and the bed very comfortable.

Will definitely be back

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rust_en_Vrede
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
33 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Very warm welcome and they prepared a special local Ugandan meal for us, which was great! It's a bit noisy on the main road but great for a quick exit to the airport for those early flights. Cold beers and a chance to mingle with expats.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicci P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed November 3, 2012

Stayed here for one night en route.. all I can say is they couldn't have made a weary traveler feel more at home! Faultless airport collection service, lovely luxurious touches throughout the accomodation, friendly staff, good food, and I felt very secure here. Would defiantly return.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ronnie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Entebbe hotels
0.9 mi away
2Friends Beach Hotel
2Friends Beach Hotel
#2 of 30 in Entebbe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
0.5 mi away
LAICO Lake Victoria Entebbe Hotel
0.6 mi away
Lake Heights Hotel
Lake Heights Hotel
#8 of 30 in Entebbe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Entebbe
1.2 mi away
African Roots Guest House
1.0 mi away
Karibu Entebbe
Karibu Entebbe
#1 of 30 in Entebbe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gately Inn Entebbe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gately Inn Entebbe

Property: Gately Inn Entebbe
Address: 2 Portal Rd | Main Airport Drive, Entebbe, Uganda
Location: Uganda > Central Region > Entebbe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Entebbe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gately Inn Entebbe offers the wise traveller a very convenient main town location with their usual Casual and Rustic Elegance. The second of Two Lodges/One Concept, this Gately lodge offers the best coffee and shower in town. A sprawling terrace surrounded by exotic gardens inspires total relaxation whilst enjoying a sumptuous meal from the Continental and Thai cuisine menu. Free wireless, high speed internet throughout and a huge African craft gift store to treat yourself or friends with the friendliest staff to accommodate your every need...'Relax, you're at Home!' ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda and Jovago.com so you can book your Gately Inn Entebbe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing