We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly, but not the cheapest”
Review of Nur Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Nur Hotel
Ranked #2 of 60 Trabzon B&B and Inns
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Friendly, but not the cheapest”
Reviewed August 11, 2012

I just spent two nights at the Nur hotel in Trabzon. Single rooms are small, so are the bathrooms, but they are clean. The location is perfect in the centre and the men behind the counter speak English and are very friendly, helpful and have a good sense of humor! Enjoy their wonderful hospitality.
I only found out that the Park otel at the main square (for some reason called a park although it is mostly concrete) is a bit cheaper. But then I am not good at bargaining, so may be it is my own fault. ;)
On yeah, if younare travelling alone you will most probably end up in a single room at the front, which is facing the mosque. So some of you moght want to bring earplugs.
Trabzon itself has a good atmosphere, people are friendly, although a girl wearing shorts during ramazan might get the odd look from the elderly. Most restaurants are closed during ramazan fasting hours, except for the more mondain, modern ones. And then off course there is always McDonalds if you are really starving.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GasterNL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    40
    18
    5
    0
See reviews for
12
27
28
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2012

Although in a good location, sadly, this budget hotel proved to be a disappointment. Not only the hotel itself which was extremely basic with a small room with an alarmingly tilting floor (which made us feel a bit like we were aboard the Titanic), but mainly because of some even more alarming communication snafus. We went to great lengths to book this hotel well in advance of our trip as it had some favourable reviews. This was before it got onto Booking.com and we could find no website or email address for it, only a phone number which we were reluctant to ring from Australia. So we asked our tour company (through its local Turkish subcontractor) to book it for us, which they said they did. Much later, having arrived in Turkey, just to be sure, we booked it a second time by phone via a hotel proprietor in Pamukkale. Later still, while on the public bus arriving behind schedule in Trabzon, we phoned the Nur Hotel to say that we would be arriving later than expected that evening. They said they had no prior reservation for us (!), but fortunately a room was still available for that night! Once installed in the hotel, we contacted our local tour guide and arranged a time for him to meet us at the Nur. We informed the front desk of this. Later, our tour guide phoned the Nur and asked to speak to us as he had some further information for us. He was informed that there were no such guests at the Nur! He insisted that he had spoken to us by phone earlier and that we were indeed there. Finally, the person at the desk located us in the records and we got the message. For an independent assessment, when we finally redezvoued with our guide in the Nur's lobby, he asked why we had chosen this hotel and said he would be providing us with much nicer hotels throughout easternTurkey at a comparable and even lower price---and he most certainly did!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank iannieheyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlow, UK
Level 6 Contributor
191 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2012

This is not the plushest hotel in Trabzon, it is basic but comfortable and central. The bedrooms are clean, you have a fridge/air con/tv and ensuite. There is a lift to the upper floors and breakfast is downstairs below reception. The hotell staff are friendly and helpful and can arrange trips to Sumela Monastry, which we did, and also to Uzungol - which we did by hiring a car.

We had a room on the fourth floor overlooking the Meydan and the sea. Good value for money and would not hesitate to stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank periwinkleMarlow_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnborough, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2012

The welcome was friendly and efficient and the room was perfectly ok, not too small, clean, essentially everything worked inc a very efficient aircon. Pretty good value.

Breakfast was pretty much par for a cheapish Turkish hotel, though on my last morning table clearing and food and cutlery re-stocking wasn't happening so it was a messy jumble.

Over the 3 days I established a rapport with the staff, one of whom spoke English very well and was particularly helpful and friendly, but they all did ok. I really liked the Nur and if in Trabzon would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: The 02 numbered rooms are on the corners facing down toward the town and over the rooftops to the se...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rickbon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2012

Arrived, without a reservation, in mid-March (2012) and stayed 3 days. The room was simple and clean, and the private bathroom spotless. The breakfast was simple (and I supplemented by buying some fresh fruit at the market right beside the hotel). Not all the employees speak English, but I was always understood and the employees were always friendly. The price was 45 TL, which a local friend said was a little high (but I was happy with it). The location is great because a 1-block walk puts you right by Ataturk Square and the center of Trabzon. I'll certainly consider Hotel Nur again for my next visit to Trabzon.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TrabzonLover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palawan Island, Philippines
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 200 helpful votes
Reviewed December 24, 2011

Located just beside the Tourism Information Office and at the back of Trabzon Beledeyesi and the mosque.

We arrived early in the evening in Trabzon and no room reservation. I've read about Nur Hotel on the internet so we walked looking for it. Talked to couple of locals before we found it. The middle-aged man in the reception that night was cheerful and friendly. He gave us a corner room facing the mosque and municipality building down below. Although quiet at most times, the call to prayers esp. the one at dawn can wake you up as the megaphone is facing the hotel building. Not that big of an issue though.

Upon entrering the room, strangely I felt like I'm in a ship's cabin or compartment -- small room but it's clean, the twin beds are study and comfortable with crisp white sheets, small TV, 3 windows with nice views of the street, mosque below and further the sea. Room is airconditioned and with heater -- it's cold when we were there.

Small elevator but functioning well. Staff were wonderful, they've arranged our Sumela Monastery tour at reasonable cost of TL20/head, it's basically just a transport that will take you to the base of the mountain where you will start your trek up, and will pick you up again in the afternoon.

Twin room is TL70 inclusive of a small breakfast served at the small room at the basement.

Great location right at the town center 2-minute or less walk to/from the centrum's park in Ataturk Alani, clean room, great staff = highly recommended for travelers on budget.

Room Tip: The rooms at the corner of the building
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheShoppelifter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2011

Having read the glowing reviews here, my husband and I decided to book a room. My husband called from a neighbouring country on Skype and was unable to hear very well. We arrived hot and tired at the hotel and were immediately offered cold water by the friendly reception staff. It all seemed promising but imagine our shock when they said the room would be 130 TL per night. My husband being Turkish tried to bargain, they agreed to 115 TL per night if we stayed more than one night.
We had just arrived from a four star hotel in a nearby country where we had payed 165 TL for a very swish room indeed.
I went to look at the room in Nur Hotel and it was very small, very basic (furniture had broken handles) but extremely clean. I told them I was sorry but based on the prices given on this site it seemed very expensive. They said they had done some renovations but I could see no evidence of this in the room offered.
We got a much bigger room in a central hotel for 90TL so unfortunately although it is friendly and clean I don't think this hotel represents good value at peak season.

Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank bitteralmond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Trabzon hotels
6.2 mi away
No photo provided
0.2 mi away
Zorlu Grand Hotel
Zorlu Grand Hotel
#3 of 33 in Trabzon
198 reviews
6.1 mi away
Novotel Hotels
Novotel Hotels
#2 of 33 in Trabzon
295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Horon Hotel
Horon Hotel
#5 of 33 in Trabzon
68 reviews
5.6 mi away
Royal Life Exclusive Hotel
Royal Life Exclusive Hotel
#18 of 33 in Trabzon
21 reviews
0.1 mi away
Usta Park Hotel
Usta Park Hotel
#10 of 33 in Trabzon
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nur Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nur Hotel

Property: Nur Hotel
Address: Iskenderpasa Mah. Cami Sokak, Trabzon, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Black Sea Coast > Trabzon Province > Trabzon
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 60 B&Bs / Inns in Trabzon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Nur Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing