We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awful please avoid like the plague.”
Review of Mehtap Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Mehtap Beach Hotel
Ranked #197 of 234 Hotels in Marmaris
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Awful please avoid like the plague.”
Reviewed November 4, 2013 via mobile

This hotel should be avoided at all costs. The food is inedible unless you're happy to eat chicken nuggets and chips twice a day, mixed veg served in ketchup or leftovers from the previous meal time.

The room was ok. Very small and a bit tired. There was also a used condom that someone had thrown on the roof that stayed there for the whole of our stay without anyone cleaning it up.

The bar ran out of everything, even clean glasses.

The manager was rude. When guests voices their concerns about the food and state of their rooms he told them that if they didn't like it they could go elsewhere.

The only redeeming feature is the location. It is near some nice bars and restaurants on the beach front who look after their part of the beach unlike the hotel.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Patrick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    26
    32
    23
    55
See reviews for
48
57
11
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
Reviewed November 3, 2013

My bother and i stayed here for 13 nights, the top floor of the hotel was like a building site, the firedoor window was shashed and glass left all over the fire escape, other windows in the floor did not close or even have locks, would have been very dangerous for anyone with kids,, the wifi system on the 5th floor was hanging off the wall, the only plus socket in our room ws hanging off the wall, the blacony window had a 1 inch gap underneath it and a 1 cm gap on top right, the bathroom cieling was held up with a piece of wood..the swimming pool was unusable and not once cleaned while we were there. the beach area was a disgrace, othe hotels cleaned and raked their beaches but ours was like a tip.the bar closed at 10.30pm but 6 out of 7 nights it ran out of beer before 8pm forcing you to buy beer from the other two bars on site, not what u call all inclusive.the room tv had only one english speaking channel and thats aljazeara news, not even got hdmi or usb connection to plug a tablet into to watch something else... the food was a joke, most nights the food was very basic and most all inclusive customers were forced to eat out to get something descent, what wasnt eaten for breakfast and dinner was recycled in some way for evening meal, tomatoe soup at dinner became chicken wings in tomatoe sauce for tea and kebab meal slices for breakfast became remoulded kebab pieces for tea..the staff were ignorant apart from one descent waiter. and instead of working the just harrassed the women customers. everyone in the hotel spent their time complaining how bad it was and a few were moved to other hotels. wouldnt give this place 1* and its a joke to give it 4*, dont know who classed it as that. Avoid like the plague or it will cost you to eat out every meal. only good thing about this hotel was the fresh orange juice from the machine..

Room Tip: use only first 2 floors or pick a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kevin t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Marmaris hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2013

First of all the hotel and food isn't as bad as some make out on here. The hotel is located in a prime place on Marmaris sea front, straight out the main doors and onto the beach.
Secondly, the food that was provided was well cooked and tasty - the main problem for some, is that it isn't british food. It's a Turkish hotel in Turkey cooking mainly Turkish food, not burgers, pizza and bacon. Just because something looked different, didn't mean it was inedible. We ate out 2 nights at Tiffany's a few doors down just to break it up a bit as I will admit, there wasn't much variation but that could be down to not many guests being there at that time.

The alcohol we drank was the usual Efes lager, not bad but it is weak and red wine which wasn't too bad either. We never once went to the bar and not get the drink we asked for ( although we did tip the barmen at the beginning of the holiday, so this might have been a good move). The vodka that other guests to the hotel were drinking wasn't the best, described as white spirit and petrol at best, they did order a new supply in. Half way through the holiday the fridge was filled with bottles of Fullers London Pride and ESB. Very nice it was too. This is where the fawlty towers reference comes in, with the barman. Turan (spelling??) is an oldish gentleman and a bit eccentric who once you got to know was no bother at all. Towards the end of our stay, the hotel was starting to shut down, cushions being packed away, lights taken down and the beach area wasn't straightened or cleaned the whole week we were there which is a shame as it could really make a big difference to the hotel.

Good things - Location, modern clean room with a fridge, excellent sea view from balcony, free wifi in lobby that sometime reached our second floor room, transfer is only 65 minutes,

Poor things - bar area is like a utility room with a fridge and dishwasher, not many glasses available ( probably on the beach), table cloth covers were not washed all week, just brushed, some letchy staff (normal for turkey though), free drinks stopped at 10.30 pm so had to pay for drinks at bars either side of hotel (which are actually in hotel footprint).

I can't see us ever returning to this hotel but that's more down to not being impressed with Marmaris. Much nicer and friendlier places in Turkey such as Olu Deniz. Would be perfect as a self catering hotel as food and drink is cheap enough along the many bars and restaurants on the seafront.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the lower floors as the higher up ones aren't as nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2013

We had an all inclusive package and stayed at the Mehtap Beach Hotel. For what we paid we felt we had a very good deal. The cost was £17 per person per day. And what did we get? A clean room, a comfortable bed with clean sheets, a beautiful view, the food was very tasty although perhaps did not look appetising. We sometimes eat in the hotel and sometimes in the many reaturants nearby, all had good food for a very reasonalbe price and always accompanied with rice and chips. The beach was just across the promanade with free sun beds.
The hotel was very near the centre of Marmaris which was clean and I always felt safe. The Turkish people are so lovely, open and friendly.
We also got a lot of whinging guests I was not sure what they were expecting it is TURKEY not UK and should accept the different culture. Why should you expect a full English breakfast in a Muslim country?

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tricia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GLASGOW
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2013

Just back from a week at this hotel as a 25th wedding anniversary treat..really don't know where to begin..our room which was on the 3rd floor was lovely as it was one of the ones in the pics but go any higher than floor 3 and the place is falling apart..basic hygiene is a no go in the hotel..dirty glasses dirty plates and we saw one member of staff clean out a cup with his finger and then put it on top of the clean cups to be used again..dirty nappy in the pool area we were told had been there 2days before we arrived was still there when we left...pool area itself is tiny and to be honest the pool was stinking for the first few days we were there until it was cleaned on the tuesday....on to the bar which is tiny and had about 5 bottles and a beer pump which constantly broke or ran out..drinks are vile and trying to get served if the older guy was on was a nightmare..he was always on the phone or smoking or doing both while emptying the dishwasher and totally ignored you unless you were a single female or group of females..only member of staff in the whole hotel who tried was the young barman can't remember his name..the reception staff didn't smile the whole wk we were there ask them a question and they looked at you as if you were mad...next is the food well its meant to be food but was disgusting and the same thing everyday..most people were eating out all the time..

only positive to this hotel is the location as its right on the beach and the holiday makers themselves who were a great bunch of people...would not reccomened this hotel to anyone and if you have an ounce of sense then you would stay away..

Room Tip: make sure the room is no higher than the 3rd floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank LINDA M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 27, 2013

Stayed here with my mum in October 13 for 10 nights. The hotel itself was ok due to the location as its right on the beach front. The room was clean and modern and had great sea views.

We only looked at the food and had to walk away as it looked disgusting, One night we decided to try the chips however they were cold and couldn't eat them. We had to eat out everyday, this was a shame as we were all inclusive. Drinking time was limited as you couldn't get a drink after 10.30!! they ran out of vodka one night but got some from the bar next door.

The staff were friendly and helpful but their English wasn't the best. The pool and bar were very small, we didn't see anyone using the pool. There was no entertainment or music. All in all we did have a good time and if it wasn't for the food being bad we would stay here again. Marmaris is a lovely place and are planning to return next year but to a different hotel!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank xoxJadexox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed October 27, 2013

well where to start me and friends stayed in the mehtap beach the staff where lovely took our suitcases to the hotel for us got to the reception and they made us very welcome. They then took us to our hotel room and it was beautiful we had a lovely view on to the beach from our hotel room. Never any problems with the hotel our room got cleaned nearly everyday. The staff were very good to us as well any problems they was always there to help to your every need!! Just walk down stairs and your on to the beach front what else can you ask for!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elsa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marmaris hotels
0.7 mi away
Sesin Hotel
Sesin Hotel
#84 of 234 in Marmaris
259 reviews
0.7 mi away
Poseidon Hotel
Poseidon Hotel
#33 of 234 in Marmaris
372 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hawaii Hotel
Hawaii Hotel
#89 of 234 in Marmaris
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Begonville Beach Hotel
Begonville Beach Hotel
#76 of 234 in Marmaris
205 reviews
0.1 mi away
Yunus Hotel
Yunus Hotel
#45 of 234 in Marmaris
197 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Palmea
Hotel Palmea
#63 of 234 in Marmaris
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mehtap Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mehtap Beach Hotel

Property: Mehtap Beach Hotel
Address: Uzunyali No 24, Marmaris 48700, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Marmaris
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#55 On the Beach Hotel in Marmaris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mehtap Beach Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We renovated our hotel in this year. We have 80 rooms from seaview.Board type is all inclusive. Great location, beach is on your doorstep and very close to all amenities, shops, harbour, bazaar indoor market. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, Expedia, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mehtap Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mehtap Hotel Marmaris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing