We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worth the money we paid - better hotels in Marmaris”
Review of Club Aida

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Club Aida
Ranked #2 of 234 Hotels in Marmaris
Certificate of Excellence
North West
2 reviews
“Not worth the money we paid - better hotels in Marmaris”
Reviewed September 7, 2010

Having visited Marmaris for the past 5yrs, we have stayed in the same hotel every year and decided to book something different. After much debate, we decided on the Club Aida.
Having read many reviews on trip-advisor before we booked and also before we travelled, expectations of the hotel were good, this changed throughout our two-week stay.

On arrival, early hours of a Sunday morning (5-6am) we were the only people from our transfer coach to be staying at the hotel. Driving up the driveway to the hotel itself, people on our coach were commenting on how lovely the Aida looked and why they didn't book it themselves.
On entering the reception, a male receptionist finally checked us in (after 10minutes of us telling him we did not want to pay for the Sky television or any of the added extra charges at the minute, we would do it later that day) not the first thing you want to be greeted with after a long flight and transfer. Once checked in, the receptionist carried on talking to two teenage girls, one in her underwear, the other in her pyjamas screaming, and making a racket throughout the hotel's lobby. This is whilst we stood with our room key, un-aware of where to go to find our room. It was only after asking the security guard who took us to our room, we actually found it!

The following morning we paid £60 for our air-con (which only works in the bedroom) and a further however much for the safety deposit box.

Our room was on the ground floor of the hotel, right next door to the "Sweetheart" store, selling ice-cream, sweets etc and the main stage.
Entertainment throughout the hotel is fine if you have children under the age of 10, and are prepared to play every party game possible up until 12o'clock at night.
Nightly entertainment starts around 9-3.30pm, with the same entertainment being repeated every week. (Definitely venture out on a Tuesday, as a Scouse lady holds a karaoke and dedicates every song to her Turkish boyfriend).

Outside the hotel there is a kind of dirt-track/path (covered in broken bottles and glass) that you must walk across to get to the main road, unless you want to walk along the drive-way up to the hotel (this also leads to the water-park, so taxi's and scooters fly up and down this hill beeping their horns at you to move out of the way).
The beach is approx 10mins walk away and is a much better option than lounging around the pool of a daytime. People are up and out at 6am to put towels on their sunbeds, and from 10am Shaggy or whatever his name was, is on his microphone around the pool shouting all sorts of rude jokes and remarks!

Staff are helpful if you're a teenage girl who is willing to show them a bit of attention. Reception staff speak hardly any English and will not be able to solve any queries you may have. (The hair dryer in our bathroom every time it was used would spark, until one night it totally burnt out and smelt like we'd had a barbecue in the room! On consulting reception staff at 6pm at night, it was finally fixed the next afternoon. Great service of course, paying attention to guest safety at all times..)
The maid service was the only area of the hotel that was spot-on, and done to a very high standard.

Drinks are very expensive in the hotel, as is the on-site supermarket. We ventured out to local supermarkets located around the hotel and bought drinks and snacks to eat and drink around the pool area and in the apartment.
Food in the hotel (available from the bar) is relatively cheap.

All in all, I would not return to the above hotel, nor would I recommend it to anybody travelling without children. There are much better hotels located around Marmaris, and if we returned I would book elsewhere.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank L2591
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,391 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,184
    132
    54
    12
    9
See reviews for
834
190
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (301)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 18, 2010

this was our 3rd time at aida and we have booked for next june aswell. we have been to marmaris 10 times and aida is the best by far the rooms are modern and very clean the pool is huge and the staff are mostly the same as previous years and really friendly especially reggie and the guys in monohair where u can get everything done for you shaves haircuts and manicures and pedicures and ozzy the photgrapher who takes amazing photos for a great price. the resturant has nice food and its not overlly priced. the drinks i think could be a bit cheaper but u are in a 4 star complex so u will pay 4 star prices. people are saying you get hassle to buy this and that if u dont want to just say no the guys are just trying to make a living they get paid peanuts so its no different from anywhere else. during the day you are entertained with pool games darts, killer pool ect its all good fun and in the evening there is different stuff on each night theyve got bouncy castle for the kids and a games room and the childrens entertainers are always around aswell keeping the kids amused. there is a good buzz to the place and it does get a lot of people going back. i cant wait to go back next we hardly leave the apartments now its just a great place to be and the staff are great and really friendly its them that help to make everyone go back year after year. the location is great 5 mins from beach and shops. 1 of the best resturants we go to is kibele its on the main st and again the staff are great just ask where it is at reception. you wont be dissapointed at club aida they are the best and the nicest apartments in marmaris. see ya next year guys x x x x x x x x

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank traceyneddie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 15, 2010

This was our first family visit to Turkey and we were not disappointed. The transfer dragged a bit, but this was probably because we had a night flight. The reception staff made us feel welcome but checked us in quickly so we could get some sleep before the morning meeting with our rep. Cheryl (the rep), was really friendly, helpful and approachable. She presented a short welcome meeting but then went round to individual parties to answer queries. Cheryl told us some good places to eat and which trips might suit our needs. The hotel was extremely clean and the rooms were very plush for Turkey. I am sure that there are not many rooms up to this standard in Marmaris.
The bar and waiting staff are very friendly to all. Some are more friendly to the young girls but we found them to be very pleasant and not at all pushy. Special mentions for Hakan, Osman (bar) and the one who loves to bet on every football game in the world! (bar) These guys were so genuinely nice to everyone and are a credit to the hotel. Shaggy one of the entertainers was a great guy too. I'm sure he loves being in drag for the shows really!!! We had some photographs taken by the resident photographers Engin. He is another lovely guy and the photos were great and very reasonable. Such a special keepsake to remind us of our holiday. Reggie in the salon was such a happy man. Every day he had a joke or story for us. I had a Turkish shave twice during the holiday, once on stage! Reggie got out his machete to make me squirm for a laugh. He offers free hair conditioning treatments by the poolside whcih all the ladies were having. We felt sad to be leaving last night but hope to return there in the future.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank howard93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 13, 2010

Club Aida is a great hotel and one ofthe best in Marmaris although i do have a few niggles about the place.
Before you book make sure you have and extra £100 to pay for your air con and safe deposit box they charge you for these and the aircon is only in the bedroom so the lounge area can become very hot. We found the reception staff not that bothered athough the entertainment staff and the waiters did make up for this. The only thing that did get to us was the staff asking you to buy things every five minutes. All day every day they walk round trying to get you to but spa treatments, hair cuts etc. Ok we all need to make a living but it got on our nerves a lot. We also had bad tummy upsets for the whole time of our holiday so we could not arrange trips becasue we did not know from one day to the next if we would be able to keep of the loo!
The maids are great they really look after your room and the towels are changed daily and they keep the rooms spotless with a nice touch of towel arrangements and flower petals placed on your bed which is a nice touch, our maid 'Gulsen' was great and always smiling and talks to you.
We did have a run in with the guy that runs the gify shop as he would not leave my daughter alone to buy things when i was not about and i did loose my temper with him at one point then he backed off.
The entertainment team work really hard i dont know how they do it in that heat but they do although the evening entertainment is corney they do try hard and thats a laugh in itself.
We did not find the hotel cheap it is a lot cheaper to eat out and we found a resturant called 'Minders' which is fab and the locals use it so you know its good and the food was excellant. Also sweet corner is great but they do go on everytime you walk past to get you in there.
This was our 2nd time to marmaris and we dont feel that we want to go for a while but the hotel is great and one of the best,.
Be ware at the airport eat before you go there we paid £10 for three cans of drink and if you want a bargain bucket its 75 lira!.....All in all we loved our holiday apart from the bad tummys but we now feel after out 2nd visit that the place is much to money orietnated for us so please be aware of that before you book becasue if you dont meet their expectations they will let you know and can at times be rude.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pinky1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2010

I should start this review of the Club Aida Apartments Marmaris, from where I/my wife/13 year old Son have just returned, by stating that this was the 1st time in many years that we haven't gone all inclusive, so this was a bit of a culture shock (I am a 'red blooded' man, twice married/4 kids, but I don't sport a tattoo or wear an earring, so felt somewhat 'under-dressed') but I shall review it honestly as we found it. Having always previously gone all inclusive, I honestly don't know if what we experienced at the Aida Apartments is the 'norm' or not? Perhaps another holidaymaker could write and tell me please. Just 3 years old, the whole complex is well maintained and looks smart. The rooms are kept spotlessly clean on a daily basis by the Maids.

The general picture in the Thomson Brochure is misleading. If the photo was taken from the other end (at the 'Club Aida' sign towards the swimming pool) one would see that literally just 15 feet from the end of the swimming pool is a busy main road. Generally, there isn't much goodwill shown from the hotel to its guests. Unusualy, there isn't a 'happy hour' at all in the bar and the Cocktails are expensive at around £3 each and served in a small glass. Soft drinks are also over-priced with 3 Cokes ('large' but not really large) costing a hefty £7.50p. (the 'Sprite' is not the genuine brand, but the sweet syrupy sickly stuff from the pump). In fact a single Coke (£2.50p) was the same price as a small Beer. Kids 'Slush-Puppy' drinks/Ice Creams were similarly expensive. Waffles sold around the pool in the afternoon are again over-priced at a minimum £3.50p each. (more with extra toppings). We felt that the Hotel was always 'on the make', grasping for extra monies. (don't use the hotel shop, it's a rip-off. Box of Corn Flakes, double the price than outside Supermarkets). They even charged £10 for an extra plastic Room Key wanted for our 13 year old son to come and go as he pleases. (a tip, whilst you still have to pay, any plastic Tesco type card will fit the slot to keep the Air Conditioning on all day, so the room is nice and cool when you return). They even charge £25 to get the 'Sky T.V' on in your bedroom. The evening entertainment (compared to what we have been used to at many other holidays) was awful. Karaoke (Tuesday) being the best. I can't comment on the food because we went to a different restaurant in Marmaris every night.

In summary, we went for the Sun and a cheaper holiday than usual and as said, I don't know if my honest assessment is the 'norm' for such an establishment. Whilst we wouldn't return, for what the Club Aida is (if this is the 'norm') it was o.k.

Upon arrival, one is 'advised' that the room Air conditioning (required, as the rooms are hot/sticky upon your return) is an expensive £60 in advance for the Two weeks, with the Safe Deposit Box in the bedroom costing another £30 for the fortnight. So you are nearly £100 down straightaway. I have never before stayed at such a place where there is NEVER a 'Two for One' or 'Happy Hour' on offer at the bar. The Staff are very friendly (some perhaps overly so) but some of them are boringly always trying to sell you something you really do not want (i.e, haircuts/shaves etc). Unfortunately, a bald chap called 'Oscar' who is the Head of Entertainment, isn't the best of guys. He thinks he is funny, but isn't and comes out with rudish/inappropriate remarks on the hotel swimming pool microphone. He doesn't 'look or sound right' for his job. For whatever reason, he comes over as a rather bitter/sarcastic man. He frequently says on the microphone "I tell the truth" but he's an idiot..

There are about 600 people in the 140 room complex so the sunbeds are very close together, just a few inches apart. The pool area is very crowded.
Don't forget to take some Ear-drops/Antibiotics, 5 or 6 kids/adults got an ear-infection from the swimming pool during our stay.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank An0nym0us100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed August 8, 2010

We booked at short notice and got an 8 night stay at Club Aida. This hotel is about a 10 minute walk away from the main strip of bars, a nice walk. The hotel is the best we have stayed in and this was our 4th time in Turkey. The room was very nice, only problem was the air conditioning was only in the bedroom, so those sleeping in the other room had to suffer the heat. The rooms were cleaned every day and towels changed when you wanted. The pool was huge, the biggest I have seen in Turkey as they tend to be on the small side. There is a separate pool which has water slides and there are loads of sun beds to use. There are loads of tables for dining. And an outside bar. The food is really good and the service is excellent with plenty of staff. The entertainment was a bit poor but they would laugh at themselves which in turn made you laugh along with them. You have to put your money on a card to buy drinks and food, what the card does not cover is the hairdressers, jewellers, and tattoo and gift shop. The hairdressers, Mono hair, are brilliant. My daughter and I went 3 times and I never took my hairdryer out of the case. It was £8 for a wash and blow. We also had our nails done, brilliant. Reggie and his team are fantastic. I also got a couple of pieces of jewellery, a beautiful ring and necklace too. The gift shop supplied all the presents for the kids for their friends and as for the tattoo shop, we watched through the glass. We had a problem on the day before we were due to check out. We were locked out of our room and told we should have checked out that day (Saturday). Even when we showed the manager our paperwork he would not accept it. He said his booking showed 7 nights. We had to contact Thompson in London to try and sort it out; they said they would call us back. So we packed anyway to be told an hour and half later it that it was ok, we could stay in the room. That spoilt our last day because we were sitting around in our going home stuff as our pick up was the early hours. Overall our holiday was fantastic. We would definitely go again and definitely stay at Club Aida.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoMcGrail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich
2 reviews
Reviewed August 6, 2010

Club Aida, what can i say? Brilliant!!!! Nemo you are a legend!

The food was great, little pricey, but on the whole brilliant, the wiaters were fantastic and Vinnie, my daughter had to google you!!! The rooms were clean and tidy, the maid was brilliant, she made the best patterns with the towels on the kids beds they were gutted when they had to use the towels and then go to bed it spoiled them. Air con costs £30 per week and the safe was £15 well worth it. Sunbeds were taken early so you have to be on the ball, pool a little deep for my daughter but no matter it wasnt a biggy. The entertainment staff were spot on and the evening entertainment was amateur but funny.

Wifi in the bar area made my life soooo much easier as the kids has their ipod touches made contacting home better for us and the kids and made our stay so much easier as they werent missing home too much and could keep up with the goss from home, saved moeny on postcards too.

Balcony was big enough to sit out on and facilities in the room were basic but clean and adequate, we used to toaster and kettle every day there was a microwave and hob but we didnt need them.

The flexi dine was great being able to use the breakfast ticket right up to 6pm on the breakfast and snack menu, so we ate breakfast in the room and used the breakfast ticket for lunchtime food.

We had a week in the Aida, i would recommend it to anyone and i am not surprised it has a 4T rating from Thomson.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Turkeyvirgin93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marmaris hotels
0.7 mi away
Club Anastasia
Club Anastasia
#4 of 234 in Marmaris
1,930 reviews
0.6 mi away
D-Resort Grand Azur
D-Resort Grand Azur
#14 of 234 in Marmaris
1,205 reviews
1.2 mi away
Casa De Maris Spa & Resort Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel Cettia Beach Resort
0.8 mi away
SunConnect Grand Ideal Premium
0.3 mi away
Blue Bay Platinum Hotel
Blue Bay Platinum Hotel
#19 of 234 in Marmaris
2,539 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Club Aida? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Aida

Property: Club Aida
Address: Ayhanlar Caddesi 212 Sokak | Merkez Mahallesi, Marmaris 48700, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Marmaris
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Marmaris
#2 Family Hotel in Marmaris
#6 Romantic Hotel in Marmaris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Club Aida 3.5*
Number of rooms: 128
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Club Aida reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Aida Hotel Marmaris
Aida Hotel Marmaris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing