We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“sleazy...cheap...dirty..”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Hermes Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hermes Hotel
Ranked #50 of 234 Hotels in Marmaris
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“sleazy...cheap...dirty..”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013

There no point in trying to write a true review about this hotel,As for some add reason and next review will just say Don't Believe it.
Anyway we found it to be very O.T.T,...fake staff and why no rules.There rules all over the hotel DO and DONT'S but for the staff there no rules.
I was sick of being called Darling,by the manager Mehmet this was unprofessional; the music was the same most days not for a mixed age group.
0ur towels,bed lining was not changed in the 7 days.
the balcony was wiped down.
There was a smell round the pool like POO.sunbeds are very close and not enough shade.
SO!!!! young girls bewared if your happy with there sleazy waiter to be all over,getting ice thrown over you and listening to so many stories,spend all your money at the bar.Well this is the hotel for you.

Room Tip: We were glad to leave.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sal9898
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

703 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    410
    142
    47
    47
    57
See reviews for
177
216
33
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013

Well...... 24hrs in.... I'm a normal Yorkshire gal and ill give another reviewing 7 days............. My other harf booked this ill review again in 7 days........ The staff are so nice!!!!! Can't do enough for us! The room nice and clean modern ish not 5* Hilton raddison but its very clean very nice :) staff: very welcoming if you don't want anyone to talk to you well wrong place guys...... Drinks cheap...... Food was beautiful very very nice...... It's a three star price but the service,food and room are much much better all age ranges here and I've stayed in 5*** star lower in 1* in my youth when partying to 5+ star with my kids ..... We are here in Turkey for my 40th everything is great the staff can't help enough...... If you have a complaint you're either wierd or you do not understand the star rating...... This is an awesome 3*

Stayed August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank louise2173
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013

I am just back from the Hermes Hotel having searched for ages on here, looking for somewhere with good ratings. I booked just two days before flying and can honestly say you won't find a better last minute budget hotel. The room was cleaned daily, fresh towels were left and although basic the hotel did everything we needed, air con was a God send! It's a 30 minute walk in to the main Marina area but the Dolmus stop is virtually outside and 2TL (60p) gets you where you want to be in ten minutes. Breakfast is basic but you can get anything you want cheaply within a 30 second walk for a couple of quid. Staff were friendly and despite strange transfer times looked after us very well. You can stay until 2000hrs on your last day for an extra £15 for that last minute shower which was useful. Overall, great holiday and a great base, definitely recommended! Gareth

Room Tip: Overlooking the pool is not necessary if you want to be in bed before 1am, mountains view is quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gareth R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Wales
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013

We stayed at the Hermes for 2 weeks in the middle of July. If you are looking for value for money, you would be hard pressed to beat the Hermes. Mehmet and his staff work tirelessly to entertain the guests. Our room was cleaned daily, the Chef is excellent and here is a quick review of the restaurant: The food was excellent quality, I had a Sirloin Steak and Rose had Fajita which was superb. The lavash was also served with “Curried Garlic Butter” which was a Winner!!!. 3 Raki, 1 Efes and a bottle of Rose later and we got a bill for 105YTL. All in all a great meal.
Now for the best bit of all: we were in room 305 which had a balcony which wrapped around 2 sides of the hotel, was massive and had excellent views of Marmaris ranging from the mountains behind the hotel to views of the sea and the magnificent Netsel Marina.
If you are looking for 5 star luxury, this is not the hotel for you. If you are looking for a great value hotel, full of Turkish charm and hospitality, book now!
Paul & Rose

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wad13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2013

Firstly I would just like to say a lot of the bad reviews seem a bit far fetched. Obviously, they are not all going to speak good English and yes you're going to be woken by the prayer time!
Being in a Muslim country you should be nice enough to respect their beliefs and should not be ignorant to think this rude because you're on holiday in their country.
Anyway, the hotel was standard, which was to be expected, considering the price we were pleasantly surprised. Yes breakfast was not up to scratch but that's Turkish breakfast for you!! I personally just ate the toast and welcomed the coffee in the mornings!! hahaha
The evenings were ok and themed nights were standard for any hotel of this size.
Bar staff were very lively and accommodating, and we had a good laugh with all of them. We were always made to feel welcome and never felt any disrespect only banter which I am used to. Laughed A LOT which made the holiday even better. Met some lovely people (guests and staff) Nick who was staying there for a few months left us with some lasting memories and gave us too many laughs.
Drinks were a bit extortionate, however, we didn't really mind as the exchange rate is better than euros!!!
Mehmet, Aliiii, Ronaldo, Peter, young Yusef and Halil were amazing, always there if we needed anything, (even went to the shop for our cigarettes (lazy us).
Food was nice for lunch, and dinner was even better, would recommend the chicken casserole!
Our room was always supplied with fresh towels everyday, and beds were made and bathroom was acceptable. We even left our mobiles and money (English and Lira) lying around and nothing was taken. (Even the litres of Brandy!)
Cockerel was annoying but by the second night we didn't even notice!
Pool was always clean and was really big, other hotels I've been to in Turkey were a lot smaller.
It's not particularly close to everything (beach, bar street etc) but the buses are cheap, regular and gets you there in 15 minutes.
Excursions were good, picked up from the hotel and back again, (recommend the Turkish bath, massage! and water park! Make sure you book the Turkish bath the first/second day as this sorts your skin out and will increase your tan!)
Overall, had a wicked time, don't expect 5 star, but you definitely get more than what you pay for. Would definitely go back. Gutted to be home, cant wait to hit Marmaris next year :D

Room Tip: If you are friendly and have a good sense of humour it's perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lealea2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013

I heard people talking about Turkey and what a wonderful countrynit is and how friendly the people are, so my partner and I booked up a hotel call Hermes hotel. When we got there it was about 5am in the morning. When we got up the staff welcomed my self and my girlfriend. All the staff are friendly and make u feel welcome and take time out to talk to u every day. There is Peter who is very kind and Ronaldo who is very funny. You have got Ali who is the main barman and will make your cocktails. He's also very chatty and fun. He will tell you he cant dance but looking at him he's got the moves. Curly doesnt say much but when he does he is very funny. Now, I am seeing things up ere about him touching people I was there for 2 weeks and I have never seen or heard any thing like that. So please dont listen to any of it. Memit is one of the managers there. Any thing you want just ask and he will do it for you he is very helpful. Also he will take time out to talk to you see how you getting on. So thanks to all of you guys from me and my girlfriend for a great time!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Errol H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

First of all i would like to say a massive thank you to all the staff at Hermes Hotel Marmaris. You made our Holiday absolutely brilliant. worth every penny. When we first landed at this hotel just over a week ago 5th august 2013 we got there at around 10pm and yes the music was loud and when we got to our room yes i could hear it very clearly from our hotel room. our room was absolutely adequate although i would have liked a double bed. i'm not one for complaining so we pushed our beds together. We went to the balcony and were a little apprehensive about even going down to the bar area at first thinking this could be the worst place we could have picked. How wrong our first impressions were. Dont get me wrong the Hermes Hotel can be improved but what we paid to stay there in peak season seemed an absolute bargain by the time our holiday was over. Anyway as soon as we went downstairs on that first night EVERY member of staff that was not entertaining the the other guests at the time introduced themselves to us and made us feel more than welcome from the very beginning. There was nothing they would not do for you and would wait on you hand and foot for anything you may need. As i said we got there rather late and everybody had eaten before we got downstairs. i asked if we could eat. and they sat us down at the table which we only then got up from to go to the loo or when we finally went to bed. We didnt know how to work the shower so we popped down to reception to find out the reception staff were very helpful and explained how to work the shower. No problems. During the day i can tell you the pool is a great size pool for the amount of guests staying there and is cleaned very thoroughly every night by mahmood (i hope i've spelt that right) and his pool cleaning kit. Nearly everbody will witness this during their holiday im sure. There are plenty of sun loungers to go round also. The rooms were cleaned daily by the hard working cleaning staff. My thanks to them. the breakfast was a basic turkish breakfast which will take some getting used to for some. i must admit it wasnt for me but the option of staying half board and going with some of those main meals is definitely a sure fire hit. We went out a few nights as we were b and b and didnt get much better anywhere else and the hotel was cheaper to eat than those places if only slightly. Also the bbq night on thursday was a really good change and you can go back for seconds or thirds. The wifi works in the bar area and the hotel recption just fine and there other amenities within the hotel such as as mini market, turkish barbers and playstation 3 machine. They have different shows on every night night but most of these are just different kinds of dancers being someone who likes to sing i would have liked to hear some singers tho there was a karaoke night tuesday so i could do a bit of singing for myself. The largest draw to me of the hotel and the main reason for me to want to go back thoough has to be the amazing staff. they are all so down to earth and so hard working. They make everyone feel at home at the hotel bar area whether its couples like ourselves, or families, friends or just people on their own. They work so hard to involve everybody in the holiday wait around hand and foot entertaing and serving all day and all night. Even as we left Ozzy came outside and waved us off at 3.15 in the morning. He must have been shattered at that point. They serve all day dance all night entertaining everybody that wants to be entertained in their own way dancing and sing until 12 at night and then as the people around the bar area start to diminish the bar and serving staff will come over and get to know you befriend you and its a warm feeling you get as they are working so hard to make your holiday the best it can be. Im not bothered what the other people have said about the Hermes Hotel whether bad or good all i can tell you is that for the money we paid in the summer holidays for what we got it was a cracking deal and i am so pleased as is my partner that we chose Hermes Hotel. So thank you to Mehmet, Mahmood, Ronaldo, Curly, Ozzy, Ali G, Peter, Jacob, Golcun, Youseff, and all the rest of the staff for making our holiday so relaxed and yet so much fun all at the same time. We will see you in 2014

Room Tip: If you need an excursion dont see your rep if you turn right out of the hotel and see the man on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jadiesbf2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marmaris
0.1 mi away
Musti's Royal Plaza
Musti's Royal Plaza
#5 of 28 in Armutalan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 546 reviews
1.0 mi away
Club Amaris
Club Amaris
#32 of 234 in Marmaris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 305 reviews
1.4 mi away
Kaan Apart
Kaan Apart
#84 of 234 in Marmaris
3.5 of 5 bubbles 443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Ekin Hotel
Ekin Hotel
#63 of 234 in Marmaris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 285 reviews
1.0 mi away
Aegean Princess
Aegean Princess
#31 of 234 in Marmaris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 439 reviews
1.2 mi away
Seler Hotel
Seler Hotel
#75 of 234 in Marmaris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hermes Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hermes Hotel

Property: Hermes Hotel
Address: Inonu Cad. No: 13 | Armutalan, Marmaris, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Marmaris
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 234 Hotels in Marmaris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hermes Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 77
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hermes Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing