We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it enough to go back!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Candan Apart Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Candan Apart Hotel
Ranked #87 of 234 Hotels in Marmaris
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Loved it enough to go back!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013

Candan Apart Hotel is a lovely little self catering hotel, not to be confused with its sister hotel, Club Candan. I've visited twice, once with one friend and then we took another back with us. This hotel was ideal for a quiet getaway in the sun, and is only 10 minutes or so walk from Bar Street where the night life is...far enough away to avoid the drunken teenagers though.

The Apart Hotel's entrance is situated just down a side street off the main strip in Marmaris Old Town. Within 2 minutes walk there must be 20 restaurants...The best we found was the Queen Vic. On our first stay we tried a massive range of places, but on the second holiday we stuck with the Queen Vic as the food is gorgeous, the price is brilliant and the staff are the perfect hosts.

The hotel itself is two buildings either side of a reasonable sized swimming pool. We never struggled to find a sun lounger or two, but we waited until the afternoon when the sun worshippers had moved off to cool down!! There is a 24 hour reception and a shop for the basics which is open from early until late. The hotel has a restaurant and a poolside bar, but we found that there was better entertainment to be found out on the strip. The hotel rooms were cleaned on a '2 days on, 1 day off' scheme. The cleaning ladies were lovely, and very thorough. They speak little English sadly, but we did leave a tip so I hope they felt our appreciation.

There are shops immediately local which stay open practically 24 hours. This can be handy if you run out of the essentials like toilet roll at the wrong time of day... In Turkey the hotels only provide loo roll on arrival, after that you have to fend for yourself, but it is so cheap in the shops it's not a massive deal.

The beach is less than half a mile away, where you can hire a sun lounger for 5 lira for a whole day. The sand is hot and if you get a lounger you have a parasol which helps. The water is crystal clear and incredibly salty. If you aren't touching the sea bed you'll find your feet start to float behind you to the surface!

The main shopping arcade is a short walk along the beach, and this is where you'll find all of the 'Genuine Fake' goods... that's what the shops call them!! There is also a KFC (which serves Fish, who knew?) and a Tesco. This is right next to the Marina where the Gulet tours begin and end.

The Gulet trips are a good day out. (And I say this after our boat broke down in the harbour, and we had to climb from boat to boat to be rescued!!) Our trip took us around the Turquoise coast to various deep water swimming spots (You can't sink it's too salty) and then after feeding us dropped us off at a little town called Turunc for some shopping. The shops here were much cheaper than in Marmaris (which is VERY cheap anyway), but the shopkeepers were a bit more, well stereotypical I suppose. The boat then made a stop off in Icmeler to drop off anybody staying there before heading back to Marmaris marina. This was a brilliant day, but we felt we needed to go downstairs away from the sundeck on the way back as we'd had enough sun.

If you travel with Thomson then I have a massive recommendation for you...take advantage of their last day excursion. This saves you a long wait from checkout at 10am until collection for your flight at about midnight!!! They pick you up at about 8am and take you on a bus to a resort called Dalyan. On the way you stop off at a Turkish Carpet Factory (interesting first time, not so second time!!) and also to a souvenir shop.

When you get to Dalyan you head straight to a hotel room which they loan you for the evening (included in excursion fee). You drop off your bags and head straight onto a boat for a short trip to the Turkish Mud Baths. You spend the morning in the baths before heading back to the hotel for inclusive lunch. After lunch there's a lovely boat trip to Turtle Beach, the most immaculate but scorchingly hot beach in Mugla. After sunning on the beach for the afternoon it's back onto the boat for inclusive tea and chill time in your hotel room (you can use the hotel pool, shower, nap...anything.) until the pickup for the short trip to the airport. Just be aware that as the sun sets, Dalyan becomes a bit of a mosquito haven, but that's not too much of an issue.

I would go back to this hotel every year if I didn't want to see the rest of the world... I'd happily return every year with not a qualm.

Small notes -

* The mosque will wake you at 5.30 am for the first night, after that you more than get used to it, you start to enjoy the singing.
* The hotel is in a semi-residential area, so don't be alarmed if you hear the neighbours' pet cow mooing!!
* You need much less money than you think, I spent the equivalent of £150-£180 for a week, including all meals, and lots of 'Genuine Fake' shopping
* Buy a bottle of alcohol on the way out if you like a drink in the hotel, alcohol in the shops is the only expensive thing out there!!!
* Most rooms in building 2 can access wifi from the Villa Dream restaurant over the road... Eat there the first night and get the wifi code on your phone/iPod/iPad etc, and you'll be able to go online from your balcony!!!!

Enjoy your trip!!!!!!

Room Tip: Rooms in building 2 have a better view, and you have more chance of getting wifi from the restaurant...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LauraA1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    52
    21
    6
    2
See reviews for
63
36
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Denmark
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013

My family and me just went there, we booked three rooms..
All three rooms where perfect, it was nice with 2 balcony's each, and the place was very clean.
Had cleaning in the rooms on a daily basis, from a staff that was nice and helpfull..

Pool area was alright, with the room there is... The staff at Candan is very nice and friendly, even with the kids.
Will definitely come back again.

Room Tip: The place is located in a very good spot, not to far from the beach, and not in a loud area. Lots of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Altoir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2013

Club Candan is perfect for a family holiday. Not any good if you want a quite time round the pool. Booming music all day, so if you dont like that stay away. Drinks and food here are on the expensive side, so be warned. Near the Mosque so expect to get wakened EVERY morning at 5.30am All the staff are fantastic, could not get better.

Room Tip: Must get a pool view. Get a shave from Curley and go for a turkish bath
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Danielson1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2012

Me and my boyfriend stayed at Candan apartments on the 13th August 12 for 2 weeks! Its not far from the beach probably about a 10 min walk and about 15 minute walk to resturaunts, The staff are are very hardworking they are up from the crack of dawn cleaning the pool area etc and they are still working very late at night! They are all very friendly and helpful! Me and my boyfriend are 21 years of age so we didnt mind that it was a family friendly place but if you are looking for peace and quiet during the day then this isnt for you as there is a big slide at the pool that kids are always playing on!

The only negative I can think of is that if you stay at the building on the left handside of the apartments(looking on to the side street) like we did (we stayed in room 108) then across the road there is a couple of cows which can make alot of noise in the middle of the night depending on the mood they are in. There are about 3 cows which all seem to "moo" at each other in the middle of the night. This didnt seem to bother my boyfriend but if you are a light sleeper then i think I will bother you. However i dont think that the staff would mind moving you to another room.

Also the cleaners only clean your room and give you new towels every 2 days!

We had a great time at marmaris so we are going again next year but we are going to stay somewhere a bit closer to the beachfront!

Room Tip: Rooms attached to the hotel reception are quiter! Stay away from the side looking on to the side s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hayley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2012

The Candan Apart Hotel was a very good cheap holiday. I went on 25th August for a week the weather was very hot.
Rooms:
Were cleaned when you put a paper notice on the other end of the door, they change towels like twice a week. I would only fault that we had no air con in the living room if you have more than two people and the heat was unbareable.

Pool/snack bar:
The pool was clean daily, also bring any lilos or floats they charge a lot and they blow them up for free at the bar. there are plenty of sun beds but if there isnt just ask the bar men and they find them for you. The food at the place is awful, i had it first day and we were sick off it that night. The restaurant at the end of the little road on the right is amazing, i tried around 5 different ones and that one had the best service with friendly workers, especially eddie!!!!!

If you are looking for the entertaining bars/resturants they are right of the hotel with a 5 minute walk they were so entertaining and good shops around there. Free wifi so ask for the password works around the pool near the bar.

If you are a light sleeper you will hear the wake up prayers they are very loud at half 5 in the morning.
The buses are so easier to get around on and they go everywhere with only 2 of their money. the beach area has very good shops with a market of 700 shops they don't really bother you, unless you wer with girls they like them and I got asked how many camels they would buy me for but you would joke around with them.

If your looking for a small and quiet hotel without entertainment this is the place to go. but remember they are a lot of good places to go at night!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank laurenkiml
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012

Arrived back yesterday from 2 week stay. Location was excellent, really close to other bars, shops and restaurants and only a 5 min walk from the beach. The rooms are basic but clean. The room we had had a separate lounge/kitchen diner to the bedroom which was excellent. I loved the fact that you could hear the mosque really clearly from the hotel. Made the holiday feel exotic. This hotel is VERY close to the mosque which means that the call to prayer is very loud. I liked this though and didn't find it to be a problem.

The food in the hotel wasn't the best, don't order the pepperoni pizza, this isn't nice as the pepperoni isn't what we get at home. Hotel is fine for drinks though, the bar serves drink & ice creams all day.

Don't miss the Thursday market just up the road from the hotel. soo cheap! fruit, veg, spices etc. The fruit and salad was soo fresh and tasty, i have never had fruit like it.

The Queen Vic across the road is great for a cheap lunch or breakfast approx £1 for a full english. The food here though is very Blackpool greasy spoon-esque but you will find this all over Marmaris where the bars and restaurants are mainly geared up for the british holiday maker.

A bit further down the road is the Beverly Hills Fun Pub.. Fantastic value for money on cocktails 2 for around £3.98 (10 turkish lira)

Our absolute fave bar all holiday was 'Otel AY-TI' Bar & Restaurant. This place is fantastic! If you walk down the road from Candan apart straight on at the roundabout towards the beach you will come across this bar (which is part of a hotel) between a souvenir shop & 'puppie bar' It is the bar with the Shisha pipes on the tables. I have never had such fun. Sezai is fantastic.. soo funny, really made our holiday! I can't recommend this place enough! They would go to the shop to buy us cigarettes, offer us there own. Such lovely people particularly Yuksen, Sezai & the bar manager 'S... (whose name i could unfortunately not say) My mum & boyfriend were both driven back to our hotel on their scooter after evenings out, we even went to bar street with Yuksen & Sezai after they had finished work. Go here! you will have a great time!

Remember to bring toilet rolls & a beach towel as self catering. No need for hairdryer as there is one supplied in the room. Don't bother reserving a sunbed by the pool.. there was always enough when we went.

There is a cow and 2 calves in the garden opposite block B. It's very skinny.. i wanted to take it home and feed it :(

Only negative was being turfed out of the room at 12pm saturday for 3am sunday flight & then having the rep constantly be trying to sell the Dalyan Check out trip.... what a con!

Dont book any trips through the rep, there are loads of travel agencies that you can book the same trips with for a fraction of the price.

REMEMBER - FIND HOTEL AY-TI!! (Not on trip advisor unfortunately)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Princess_Melon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2012

Had an excellent stay at the Candan Apartments in Marmaris, the hotel staff were extremely hospitable, helping you in every way they can, and very attentive.
The pool area was beautiful, but beware of the pool sides as they can get very slippy. Pool area is never too busy but make sure you claim a sunbed early in the morning as the best ones get claimed very early on!
The room itself was lovely, very clean and spacious with no problems at all, apart from one day where our towels didn't get changed and we had to use dirty ones again.
The free continental breakfast included in our package was lovely, very traditional and just enough to fill you up until lunchtime, where their menu was extensive and reasonably priced.
The pool bar is open until roughly 2am every night so you can sit and have a drink there if you don't feel like going far, although there are plenty of bars and restaurants in the general area. AVOID the George and Dragon restaurant, the food was laughable (literally we were laughing it was that ridiculous!), portion sizes were like childrens, I can only compare the quality to that of school dinners! They didn't even ask how our meal was either!
I would fully recommend Pierre Loti, very nice food and great staff.
Make sure you visit the local market on a Thursday, they have loads of great bargains, including fake designer gear which are fantastic copies compared to some places I have been to. Also make sure you are aware you are staying very close by to one of the mosques, which does a loud prayer call 5 times a day, I personally loved this and thought it was very cool, but some people might not take kindly to it going off at all hours of the morning!

The only complaint, and quite a major one at that, was our check out arrangements.
We had booked a 7 night stay at Candan Apartments, arriving at 6.45am on Sunday. We were informed that we were to check out at 12 MIDDAY on the SATURDAY, leaving us stranded with our suitcases until our coach picked us up from the resort at 1AM SUNDAY! So we were actually only given 6 nights.
This is absolutely disgraceful, whether it is the arrangement of the Candan Apartments or Thomson. We had over 12 hours with nowhere to go for a shower, freshen up or rest if we wanted to. There was also an elderly couple getting the same flight as us who were very frightened and stressed as they also didn't have a clue what to do. Thomson also cash in on this by charging £20 per person to have their rooms until 6pm, this is a travesty, and surely an exception should be made for parties who have late flights.

Apart from this, the whole holiday was a complete joy.
POSITIVES: The amazing weather, don't miss out on the boat trips, great hospitality, cheap cigarettes.
NEGATIVES: The check out thing, the food isn't great, and alcohol drinks aren't as cheap as people would have you believe, especially if you don't drink beer.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RooL3005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marmaris hotels
1.8 mi away
Candan Beach Hotel
Candan Beach Hotel
#91 of 234 in Marmaris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 28 reviews
0.3 mi away
Banana Apart
Banana Apart
#75 of 234 in Marmaris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
1.1 mi away
Blue Palace Apartments
Blue Palace Apartments
#35 of 234 in Marmaris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Rosy Apart Hotel
Rosy Apart Hotel
#79 of 234 in Marmaris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
1.3 mi away
Club Amaris
Club Amaris
#33 of 234 in Marmaris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 305 reviews
1.8 mi away
Aegean Princess
Aegean Princess
#31 of 234 in Marmaris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Candan Apart Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candan Apart Hotel

Property: Candan Apart Hotel
Address: Kemeralti Mah. 115. Sok. No:1 Marmaris Merkez, Marmaris, Marmaris 48700, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Marmaris
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #87 of 234 Hotels in Marmaris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Candan Apart Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 198
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Booking.com so you can book your Candan Apart Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing