We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very good value for money”
Review of Grand Cettia Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Cettia Hotel
Ranked #17 of 234 Hotels in Marmaris
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“very good value for money”
Reviewed November 6, 2012

hi im just back from the cettia, i was there on holidy with my son and we had a great time .the hotel was lovely the hygein was high standerd rooms clean daily .every one has a different veiw on food but for me the food was better then average i ate every sitting and enjoyed it .as for the pool area they did have some mats around the big pool but none round the small pool so unfortunately my son slipped and injured his knee not realy badly though lucky enough .all in all the hotel was great for us as for maramris itself i wasnt impressed with the local people but maybe the want there home space back as it was end of season but the tour opps were downright rude the one at the bottom of the hill just outside the hotel terry or something wouldnt give me and my son peace got to harrasment stages so stay clear of him so unfortunately i wont go back to turky the hotel was brill but people not for me hope this helps in your decision .

Room Tip: i was in room 114 and it was very quite there
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank geo1186534
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,741 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,039
    373
    193
    80
    56
See reviews for
1,053
285
13
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (300)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dorset, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We've just come back from the cettia, and I have to say I wasn't impressed! Everything was either shutting down or about to. The food was poor and bland, when they ran out it wasn't replaced as it was 'end of season'. The pool area was horrendously slippery, even walking around it you slipped, the kids got excited and would run, not even by the pool but ended up slipping. The rooms were always clean and tidy and the hotel was always clean. The kids disco was exactly the same every single night. If you we're unlucky enough to have a room facing the pool you would be kept up every night by the noise until gone 11, which is not good if you had young children.
The all inclusive package did not include ice cream or cocktails, and I didn't like the fact that there were 'tip boxes' everywhere.
Someone said that marmaris was Blackpool in Turkey, having been I now know what they meant!
I will not return to this hotel or Turkey again.

Room Tip: DON'T get a room facing the pool or above the Sherlock Holmes pub!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jackie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

My wife we went on a three day shopping trip and found the hotel excellent, We holiday 4/6 times each year and my wife would put this family based hotel in the top 10 we have stayed in. We enjoy good food an dshe could not falut the selection, hygene and service.
I have booked a fortnight in May 2013 accompanied by our family so i will give a better update on return but from discussions with my wife we will not be dissapointed..

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank steve s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2012

In my opinion, you should go on holiday to experience the culture of that country. Staying at this hotel was like staying at a Butlins and due to the poor weather it felt as though we were in a cheap holiday resort in England. Not sure why we bothered travelling 4 hours!! If you like burgers and chips, bingo, Kareoke, screaming kids and the smell of cheap alcohol and cigarettes then you will have a great time!!

The evening entertainment was repetitive and aimed at children. The same songs were played on a loop every night at the mini disco, followed by the same sayings being repeated by the bingo caller. The hotel is too far away from anywhere to venture out in the evening so we felt quite stuck. We tried to join in and make the most of it some nights but often returned to the room after dinner to play cards on the balcony. However, previous reviews are absolutely right, you can't escape from the noise as the speakers and microphones are so loud. Our iPod couldn't drown out the noise. The harbour and the main city centre are lovely. The beach in Marmaris is awful; dirty, gritty dark sand covered in litter. The hotel run a shuttle to another beach which we heard from other guests was gorgeous but unfortunately, that service ended just before we got there.

The weather was overcast so there was always somewhere to sit around the pool but I can imagine that it would be quite crowded in peek season as it was very small for the size of the hotel. When it was too cold to sit out there wasn't much else to do other than getting a bus in to the town to look around the markets (which was the most enjoyable part for us) but this means spending extra money that you don't really plan for on an all inclusive holiday. There's a dirty old pool table that you can hire for 8 TL an hour or you can play table tennis for a deposit of 20 TL but the bats and balls are so old and battered that you can't get much of a game out of it!

The food was good for what u got! It all tasted good and neither my partner or I were ill. It was just very repetitive and English! But we definitely didn't go hungry. The alcohol was terrible; wine horrible, spirits cheap and, from what my partner says, the beer pumps were dirty so the draft beer also tasted horrible. Getting drunk may have improved our experience but we just couldn't!!! There was also a funny, dirty smell hovering around the bar! Most bar staff were nice, one in particular would remember how you like your drinks and even come to fill you up at the table. Others were moody and rude.

The rooms were O.K. Clean and spacious. You were given 2 bottles of water but then expected to pay for any more so we bought a big bottle in town and just kept filling up our own little bottles. The maids were good and tidied every day. We were given fresh towels everyday but one and the maids even made a nice little towel display on our bed with rose petals once.

The spa was amazing and I'd definitely recommend the deluxe package. You may find cheaper deals elsewhere but the service we received was definitely worth it. Better than some of the spas I have been to in London which you would pay hundreds for! £50 for 2 1/2 hours of quality pampering was well worth it if you ask me! It was the favourite part of my trip by far! I have never experienced a Turkish bath before and it really was a very good experience!

I would recommend the Dalaman departure day if you have a late flight. Made our last day very fun and stress free.

All in all the best part of our holiday was spent away from this hotel. We had never been to Turkey before and we won't be going back which is a shame because I feel if we had gone to a different hotel we would have had a very different experience. It wasn't so much the hotels fault but the type of people who were there and the way the hotel catered for them.

If you like a British experience abroad then the Grand Cettia is the place for you!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KellyMack86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2012 via mobile

This hotel is heaven for some and hell for others. If you are a family with children, like organised entertainment, constant music and value for money on food and drink, this hotel is for you. If you are a couple looking for a relaxing holiday you won’t find it here.

The restaurant is quite small for the number of people it serves therefore you have to weave in and out people with plates and buggies, trying not to trip over small children, to get to the buffet and back to your seat. The food itself was decent, nothing to write home about but edible and plentiful, and there is barely an hour of the day when it's not available.

The pool area doesn’t have enough sunbeds for everyone so you have to play the save the sunbed with a towel trick. The pool has nice waterslide for the kids which means every 20 seconds there is someone flying down it and into the pool on an inflatable ring/boat/crocodile. Looked like a lot of fun to be fair, if you’re 9 years old. As I’m in my 30s I gave it a miss.

For some reason the hotel was designed with glass lifts which can allegedly fit 6 people, although realistically its more like two people and a buggy. The glass also allows the beautiful Turkish sunshine in and heats up the lifts and stairwells to a sauna temperature during the day. I’m not sure if the hotel has a normal sauna, but if not, don’t bother with it, just ride up and down in the lifts a few times. The lifts travel very slowly therefore just a couple of return trips to the fifth floor should do it.

Our room was quite spacious, and thankfully we faced away from the pool area so it was actually very quiet. We also had amazing views over Marmaris and the bay. Beds were also quite comfy, house keeping was good.

Had great service from the front desk and they even managed to find us a taxi at short notice when we were on the way to the airport.

Considering I paid £27 a night for all inclusive, this hotel was excellent value for money and caters well for families with young children. Just not our cup of tea.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank moorefa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnley, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2012

We returned from her on the 27th October this year, after spending a week away with my partner. We left our home at 3pm on the Friday afternoon and after a long day of travelling we arrived in turkey around 02.30 Saturday morning.We arrived at the airport to find that one of our bags had been opened. only to realise that my partners brand new electrical razor had been stolen out of the bag.
We didnt get our transfers with Thomas Cook as they wanted around £64 for the both of us return. We went through travel republic and it cost £17 for the same.
We were dropped off at the Club Cettia apart hotel, which is where all our paper work said that we were staying, to find out when we went to check in that we were at the Grand Cettia. We got our bags together and started walking around to the Grand Cettia only to find that it was on around a 45 degree incline, and being five months pregnant my partner was carrying everything. However i am quite glad we werent staying in the appartments as the welcome was not very good.
When we arrived at the hotel we were met with a very pleasant welcome and a bell boy who was quick to get get us to our room and settles as it was 05.30 in the morning.
our room was clean, a good size and a large double bed.
we asked for an early morning wake up call as we wanted to get up and not to waste the day, but this never happened, luckily i was awake. We asked for 3 early morning wake up calls through out the holiday and we received non of these. so would advise to take an alarm if you want to get up early.
The dining room was very small with limited seating. The seats were very dirty. The food on offer for breakfast, no cooked breakfast if thats what you wanted, however the omelettes outside were lovely and also the pancakes were very tasty. One toaster for all was not enough either.
Overall the food on the holiday was poor and very limited repetitive. I spent the holiday on rice and gravy. Luckily there was a bar a little down the road called Apex Steak house, amazing food and the best steak i have ever tasted. We paid £22 for 2 filet steaks and three drinks. Amazing value. The best meal of the day was the pizza and burgers that were made freshly after lunch had finished being served. The best pizza i had tasted.
The maids in the holtel seem to come when they want to, they would come in each day and empty the bins but not change the towels, and i had to ask for some clean towels as it had been four days and no clean towels. The maids also like to put the sheet that you slept under on top of the bed so i would have to make the bed each time.
The staff in the hotel were amazing, they worked extremely hard and always had a smile on their faces. The entertainment team were around and seemed to be there working hard all the time.
This hotel is a very family orientated place with children catered for at all times.
We had a room at the front away from the pool with a beautiful view and also couldnt hear any of the noise from around the pool.
The hotel was around a 20 minute walk from the center of Marmaris and was quite a nice walk. The harbour was beautiful and worth a trip to walk around.
Overall a good hotel but in need of some work in areas. Definatly not a 4* hotel, it could be with some work.

Room Tip: As for a quiet room around the side away from the pool area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bellaair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2012

My family of seven stayed at the grand cettia hotel in turkey for 14 nights! the food was lovely and you had a good choice but the only thing was there was too much RICE. My grand child of 2 said that she was having rice for lunch and evening meal. As well as this the seating inside was awful there simply wasn't enough space, therefore we ate outside most days. The staff were exellent, but the entertainment team were the best. We all loved Rambo and Coco. However the evening entertainment was bad because once you have seen one dance group you don't want to see them again. TIP do not hire that michael jackson EVER agian!!!! If it rained there was nothing to do so go in summer if possible. The rooms were clean and tidy. you do have a tv in your room but if you want english channels you have to pay for them. moving on to the swimming pools they wee freezing and even the indoor one was cold, it was warmer in the sea !!!!!! Overall a ok holiday.

Room Tip: rooms at the front of the hotel are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Freda K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marmaris hotels
1.2 mi away
Hotel Cettia Beach Resort
0.2 mi away
Club Aida
Club Aida
#2 of 234 in Marmaris
1,462 reviews
0.9 mi away
Grand Pasa Hotel
Grand Pasa Hotel
#18 of 234 in Marmaris
2,033 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Casa De Maris Spa & Resort Hotel
0.9 mi away
SunConnect Grand Ideal Premium
0.8 mi away
D-Resort Grand Azur
D-Resort Grand Azur
#14 of 234 in Marmaris
1,282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Cettia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Cettia Hotel

Property: Grand Cettia Hotel
Address: Sehit Ahmet Benler Caddesi No. 97, Marmaris 48700, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Marmaris
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Marmaris
#11 Spa Hotel in Marmaris
#22 Family Hotel in Marmaris
#46 Romantic Hotel in Marmaris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Cettia Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 4-star resort in the heart of Marmaris is surrounded by the Aegean Sea, mountains and pines trees. It offers tennis courts and indoor and outdoor pools with water slides, aqua-tower and splash pad.The bright rooms at the Grand Cettia Hotel are decorated in warm colors and have a private balcony. They also include free Wi-Fi, satellite TV and a seating area with a couch.Recreational facilities at the Grand Cettia include a gym and a relaxing Turkish bath with Sauna. A range of massages can also be enjoyed at the spa. For younger guests, there is a children's playground with a range of facilities.The restaurants serve international cuisine prepared with fresh products. They offer children's menus, as well as room service. Meals can be enjoyed indoors, or outdoors on the terraces.The hotel is 2.5 Km from the city center. Free private parking is available on site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Evoline ltd, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Cettia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Cettia Marmaris
Hotel Grand Cettia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing