We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best experience in along time”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sun Maris City Hotel
Ranked #110 of 234 Hotels in Marmaris
Barnsley, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best experience in along time”
Reviewed July 19, 2013

Where to start ,,, my first encounter with turkey. Couldn't have been any better , we arrived late. And so tired. We were offered coffee. And reception sorted taking our cases up to our room , after a decent sleep in a comfortable room. We went down for breakfast. To be greeted by the friendliest people ever. Nothing too much trouble and so it went on. For 10 days. We met amazing people. The hotel was buzzing. For our entire holiday it was so good were going back later in the year. And will prob visit the sun Maris each year I would advice anyone wanting a good holiday with plenty of laughs to try the sun Maris. You won't be disappointed !!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Wendy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

284 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    47
    39
    21
    84
See reviews for
53
86
15
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed July 18, 2013

A clean hotel and most staff were polite and friendly & constantly cleaning up to the extent your plate nearly disappeared before you'd finished. The bloke behind reception was rude and mainly obnoxious! salads were nice, but struggled to make a main meal in the evenings unless you liked liver or meatballs. Drinks were a bit of a joke -Wine was warm disgusting and never served directly from fridge. if you want a spirit (I drink Vodka + Coke) you need to buy an extra 2 neat vodka's to pour into your drink to make it taste of anything!! We ate out for the last 3 nights of our weeks stay and I have to say the restaurants are cheap and the food was very good. Loved Turkey, but would definateley either go self catering next time or pay more for a better quality all inclusive

Room Tip: Higher floors have wonderful views across mountains
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alicrg22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2013

we arrived at 1 in the morning to be shipped off to a different hotel as they had over booked not a great start to our holiday we lost a whole day which wasn't brilliant as only there for 7 nights , rooms quite small but clean and comfortable , the staff were great fun and accommodating as we were travelling with 4 16 year old girls had to have a word about the young males staff as there were a bit over the top but they did tone it down . Entertainment was fun and on every night , the food was ok but nearly the same every day but we didnt go hungry and as we booked a few trips with lunch included it was ok .
would I stay there again probably not but the staff and location were great .

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laceylou_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2013

My mum paid for a seven night trip to marmaris for me and my siblings to celebrate me getting my degree. We arrived at 2am only to get 'upgraded' to a 4* hotel bellamare due to technical difficulties (over booking) which is situated 10-15 minutes away from the centre. It would be safe to say the 4* star rating is false. The rooms smelt horrific with huge insects. The other hotel guests were not friendly at all and generally not for British tourists. After nagging the hotel manager we finally got shifted to the hotel we paid for. Cannot fault the rooms or the restaurant staff but must say the food is very very basic. Therefore would advise u pay for the room only and eat out as there are many cheap restaurants around.
The reception staff are very rude and despite our booking confirmation stating we check out the next day she insisted we had to check out there and then and pestered us until we did not vacate the room. She would not listen to us and basically shouted in our faces. This was a problem which occurred with many other guests from England. The reception staff's English is very poor so might be worthwhile learning Turkish before visiting this hotel.
The cleaning staff were excellent on our floor but I heard that the fifth floor very rarely got cleaned.
It's safe to say they ruined my graduation celebrations.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front on the building would be ideal. The staff in the restaurant are very loud when pu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Harvinder K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Marmaris hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Uzice, Serbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 9, 2013

I want to say all the best for most of the staff in this hotel. They are so friendly, always on service, always with the smile.

Best wishes for waiters, barmen, receptionists and cook too :)

Location of the hotel is very good. It is not far from the beach. You can reach most of the important places in the town from here. On example old city in Marmaris, discotheques, bazar (trading center) , port of the Marmaris.

Zoran B. Uzice

Room Tip: Who like balcony in the room, do not choose a room on the first floor :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ZoranBakic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vrsac, Serbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 8, 2013

My comment at the Sun Maris City and the hotel staff, I can not describe in words. A hotel that has everything secured. The rooms are beautiful, neat, clean, excellent cuisine. The food is beautiful, a great selection of world table, you just can not go hungry because there is not anything that is not good and we would not like it. I'm on my way to the bar by the pool. Waiters, congratulations. :) From the smile on his face, although they work all day. If you happen to be tired, staying that evening in the hotel, I fell to my mind is the thought being bored ,NO, huge mistake. That's when the events that you beautify night. Organized time coming Dancers who left speechless after that you still namaljuju waiters smile on his face. Simply lie down smiling and happy and can not wait for the new day. Pool is small but clean and quite comfortable for Spent afternoon if you are not going to the beach. And the great advantage of the hotel, the beach is 3 minutes away, to stress and the beach is beautiful, clean, beautiful water, as is the promenade, bazaars and everything else that is worth seeing. I just do not have any flaw, which is very strange, because I am a perfectionist. :) But this time it happened to me this was the best holiday so far, although I was not the first time in Turkey. For this reason, once again thank service Hotel Sun Maris City and the staff who work there, from reception, cooks, waiters to the cleaning ladies who are very meticulous. Tamara Serbia

Room Tip: Rooms on the south side are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tamara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed July 6, 2013

Arrived in early hours had to wait over an hour for our room to be cleaned but staff were hospitable getting us drinks rooms are a little small but tbh we only sleep in there food is cheap and cheerful but even the fussiest eater will find something to eat the young lads that work there are constantly on the go Kevin the restaurant manager was a pleasure to get to know and learn about his life in the two weeks we were there nothing was too much for him mustafa was helpful and cheerful at all times yes we got booted out our room at 12 but Kevin went beyond his call of duty and sorted a place for us to shower before our flight home all our holiday party were touched by the standing ovation from the staff when we left (probably glad to get rid of us) lol but we like to think we made an impression and made some lifelong friends and hopefully we will be back very soon

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mazdean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marmaris hotels
0.7 mi away
Myra Hotel
Myra Hotel
#63 of 234 in Marmaris
294 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sea Center Hotel
Sea Center Hotel
#131 of 234 in Marmaris
7 reviews
0.2 mi away
Halici Hotel
Halici Hotel
#105 of 234 in Marmaris
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Selen
Hotel Selen
#180 of 234 in Marmaris
204 reviews
0.3 mi away
Aegean Park Hotel
Aegean Park Hotel
#185 of 234 in Marmaris
318 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Palmea
Hotel Palmea
#50 of 234 in Marmaris
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sun Maris City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sun Maris City Hotel

Property: Sun Maris City Hotel
Address: Cildir Mah 103. Sok, 21 | Cildir Mah, Marmaris 48700, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Marmaris
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #110 of 234 Hotels in Marmaris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sun Maris City Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 88
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Sun Maris City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sun Maris City Marmaris
Hotel Sun Maris City
Sun Maris Hotel Marmaris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing