We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Welcoming...”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Samoy Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Samoy Hotel
Ranked #195 of 234 Hotels in Marmaris
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Welcoming...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013

Very welcoming hotel small but all you need, no problems.. food was never going to be our main concern as we were happy enough to eat out locally.. met some nice people.. staff were friendly and attentive.. room was nice and clean air con free of charge was a godsend... Ideal location close to the attractions, bars and restaurants...beer was very weak...English breakfast at the greasy spoon (local restaurant) is only five lira, however if you want a cup of tea that's four lira extra.. still cheap though... The Turkish people prefer English money and you can get some good deals with excursions etc.. overall we had a fantastic holiday, met some nice couples and yes we will go back to the Rota Samoy next time we holiday in Turkey.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Tony S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    35
    21
    19
    83
See reviews for
48
63
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2013

We arrived at the hotel (7 of us) and we were told that no tooms were available although we made a booking... Service was terrible, the manager (Kaan) is a complete pervert and to top it all off we decided to extend our holiday and kaan sold us a "ticket" that led us all the way in humberside even though we paid him, he tactically didnt give us our tickets until we were on our way to the airport - he handed it to the driver and told him to give it to us once we are out of his sight. The reason he did that is so that we dont see that even though we were to go to London Gatwick, he booked us a ticket to an airport 5 hours away and each ticket cos 90 pounds but he charged us 205. He checked us out at 6pm telling us our flight would be at 10pm but our flight was infact at 6am so we had to spend all night at the airport! Overall... NOT RECOMMENDED! Stay away if u dont want ur holiday ruined!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Salma86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Marmaris hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
london
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2013

This hotel knowingly overbooks and then places customers is shoddy alternative hotels thus making the trip advisor and selection process a nonsense.

There are much better hotels than this, while Kaan has a nice personality what he does to people is underhand.

Best option is to keep looking because how ever good a review it counts for nothing if you do not stay in the hotel that you booked and were expecting.

Room Tip: choose another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jim o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2013

As two young females staying in Marmaris from 23rd August- 29th August, not expecting too much due to the amount we paid.

Accommodation:
We arrived early hours in the morning at the Rota hotel and were instantly disappointed when we were told this hotel was over booked so we would be staying at a sister hotel down the road. We were given a room on the 5th floor (no lift and suitcases) that was literally a room with two beds nothing else and a wash room with disgusting shower and toliet facilities. We complained and they promised to move us the next day into the Rota- true to their word and helping with the cases they moved us into the rota - which was more acceptable. Bigger room, air con, balcony, beds wardrobes and bathroom, all fairly clean and tidy. The pool was tiny and the pool area was dirty.
Food:
If your happy to eat like your at a zoo and share your food with the cats you will be fine, otherwise dont touch the stuff.
Staff:
As two young females having been turkey before we are fully aware of a stereotypical turkish mans nature towards english girls, however, Kaan (the manager i believe) was extremely inappropriate with his language and behaviour towards us, leaving us feeling rather uncomfortable when at the hotel. We spent as little time in the place as physically possible and returned to a previously used resort Club Candan (brilliant).
After confirming our transfer back to the airport for us Kaan tried charging us for this privilege. Fully aware of our departure time we had £160 in sterling stolen from our locked room before our departure. Not all of our money was taken so it wasn't until we were at the airport we realised. Completely ruining a bad holiday.
Before leaving Kaan tried telling us to write on Trip Advisor - the man, although a very good and tactical thief, is as stupid as he sounds.
Please read the reviews and do not book this hotel. Even if you paid me all the money in the world i would never return.

Room Tip: Please do not choose any room at this hotel. Even if you are happy with basic standards you will not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Laura W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2013 via mobile

3 of us Stayed here in September for 1 week. Upon arrival in the early hours we were met by kaan who gave us a drink while he checked us in. Then we were took to his car to where we we taken to what I can only call a hostel, we were taken up to a room with a bed and shower and a balcony that only one could stand on, kaan told us just tonight and we would be back at the samoy tomorrow when a room became available. very tired we just slept a couple of hours then went downstairs to be told that our all inclusive was back at the rota samoy. When we eventually found th hotel we had our breakfast and then kaan took us to collect our cases as we had a room. The room we were given was horrible three beds took up the space we had, we couldn't use the one tiny wardrobe as the beds were in the way preventing the doors from opening, the balcony was tiny too two chairs on it and our view was a brick wall and a massive rubber tree, when you looked down to the ground it was a massive dumping ground for the rubbish. The bathroom was small and dirty. The only good thing about the room was the air con but with it being on most of the time the fan ( which was out on the balcony) leaked so the balcony was always soaking. Oh our balcony became a place to keep our suitcases and we had to live out the suitcase,we used the chairs to create a shelf to keep our stuff dry. The room was cleaned once although we did get clean towels the old ones were never taken away and the toilet roll was never replaced so we always had to ask. In hindsight we should have just refused the room but we were just glad to be out that other one. The downstairs area of the hotel was fine nicely set out and the staff never bothered you. The pool we called our puddle was ok but just to cool off in the sun beds were very dirty and the cats seem to spend there time on them. The kids pool was the size of a dinner plate and was totally unusable full of stagnant water and thick green slime. Food was not too bad you could live on it and only if you get there before the cats jump up and help themselves. Drinks were from 10 to 10 the beer was ok vodka ok but soft drinks were like our Tesco value stuff flat warm and tasteless. There seem to be a lot of complaints people demanding there reps as they too had been stuck in other "hostels" with the promise of a room tomorrow. So I suppose we were lucky to have a room! But like the rooms the reps never appeared either. I know you get for what you pay for but even I could do better here in Scotland. This place would suit a stag party just somewhere to sleep after you have been partying all night it is certainly not for family's or,couples (young or old).
We will not let this experience spoil our thoughts of turkey because we know there's loads of better places than the samoy. My advice to you would be don't bother just pay that little bit more and go somewhere far better.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Ptkjulie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Market Harborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013

We stayed at Rota Samoy from 11 - 25th August 2013 and although its not the worst hotel we've ever stayed at, it certainly isn't the best and is definitely at the bottom end of the 3* rating. The all-inclusive ended at 10pm in the evening and the only thing available after 10pm was water, unless you wanted to pay for it. However, probably the most annoying thing about the hotel was the fact that you constantly find yourself asking for spoons, coffee, milk, sugar, cups, toilet rolls and all the other little things that the staff should be making sure are readily available. This lack of attention to detail in our opinion let the hotel down badly and although Oz and Kaan worked very hard, their staff seemed to be more interested in what was coming on the sound system next rather than looking after the guests. The food, although it was edible, was not varied at all and was always chicken based and unfortunately if you didn't get to it in the first 15 minutes, it was cold, as were the chips, which were served with every meal. Dessert is melon or watermelon and if you were lucky, or not as the case may be, you could secure one of the blancmange type sweets available but were never enough of these put out for everybody to have one. The afternoon tea and cakes that are on the schedule only appeared 3 days out of the 14 that we were there and what was offered was certainly not what we would call cakes. The breakfast was a typical Turkish breakfast which of course you would expect in Turkey, however, if you didn't like it, there was no alternative such as cereals etc. We did suggest to Oz that cereals might be a good idea for the children and there were cereals available the following day. The rooms were adequate and we were pleased to find that ours had a huge balcony as well, although our daughters balcony in comparison was tiny. There is no daily maid service and our beds seemed to get made only sporadically, but not cleaned. The en-suite again was adequate with a decent shower in it. Our room had a very good air conditioning unit which was provided free for the whole 2 weeks we were there. The main swimming pool again is only adequate but does the job of cooling you down when required, but tends to get rather crowded at times. However, the baby paddling pool is unusable due to being full of green slimey water. There is constant music banging out all the time which can be rather annoying when eating a meal or trying to have a conversation and socialise with people. Although in general we enjoyed our stay at the Rota Samoy, the one single thing that would stop us returning is the number of people we saw shipped out to other hotels that were either not all-inclusive hotels or were not as good as the Rota Samoy because they didn't have accommodation for them. As you would expect, all the soft drinks are Tesco value equivalent and the beer, although drinkable, is not Efes. The hotel is in a good location, not far from the beach on the Icmeler side of Marmaris and with a little attention to detail could be a good hotel. We met some fantastic people and had some great meals outside of the hotel. Overall, we would rate this hotel 4 out of 10 and in its current state, we decided that we would rather pay a little extra for a better quality hotel and therefore would not return here.

Room Tip: Corner rooms have bigger balconies
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Gary T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarajevo, Bosnia and Herzegovina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

We stayed in the hotel Rota Samoy from August 24 to Sept 02.
Hotel rooms are not clean. Food quality is poor. But the worst was that 40€ was stolen from our backpack in the hotel room. Please try to avoid this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mustafa J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marmaris
0.2 mi away
Kahveci Alibey Hotel
Kahveci Alibey Hotel
#85 of 234 in Marmaris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 16 reviews
0.3 mi away
Family Apartments
Family Apartments
#17 of 28 in Armutalan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
0.1 mi away
Prestige Hotel & Apart
Prestige Hotel & Apart
#101 of 234 in Marmaris
3.5 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Adonis Hotel Marmaris
Adonis Hotel Marmaris
#48 of 234 in Marmaris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
0.2 mi away
Seler Hotel
Seler Hotel
#75 of 234 in Marmaris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 515 reviews
0.3 mi away
Banana Apart
Banana Apart
#74 of 234 in Marmaris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Samoy Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Samoy Hotel

Property: Samoy Hotel
Address: Sirinyer Mah. 141 Sok. No 12, Marmaris 48700, Turkey (Formerly Rota Samoy Hotel)
Location: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Marmaris
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#38 Spa Hotel in Marmaris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Samoy Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WE MAKE YOU FEEL AT HOME FAR AWAY FROM HOME. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Samoy Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Samoy Hotel Marmaris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing