We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Have to agree with reviews - Not 5 Star”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Golden Rock Beach Hotel
Ranked #24 of 234 Hotels in Marmaris
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 5, 2013

Although there is nothing fundamentally wrong with this hotel, it is not 5 star standard. Having read a review below where someone went last year and then returned this year they found that the little luxuries, toiletries, dressing gown, slippers, mini bar etc were missing. The bed is on the firm side with a cellular blanket instead of sheets/duvet which was a little small for two people so we used the single blanket as well off the spare bed. The WIFI was intermittent but seems to work towards the end of the week in the hotel room. We booked a side sea view which we had to crane our necks to see the sea and overlooked the hotel opposite so we upgraded for £70 for a sea/pool view which was much better. The hotel is very clean except for the restaurant where the same tables cloths are used for b'fast, lunch and dinner so can be very soiled. The food is good, you just have to take a gamble on some of the things that you eat which is all the fun of going abroad. We did find that the drinks were weak, I could drink 6-7 vodka cokes and not feel much effect. The entertainment was pretty cringe-worthy sometimes and the entertainment team changed towards the end of the week so no more Jamal and Booboo who were the most entertaining and funny. The hotel does not really cater for children/teenagers. We had a Turkish bath in the hotel for £55 each for 2 hours and it was money well spent - full Turkish bath and full body massage. Although another couple we met only paid £45 each. You can get into Marmaris centre for 2TL and takes about 5 minutes in the blue bus which you can hail anywhere along the road. To get to Ichmeler you take the orange bus for 2.50TL. There is a good market on in Ichmeler on Wednesdays. You can walk from the hotel to Ichmeler and takes about an hour. All in all we had a good week away but did not feel the hotel warrants a 5 star status.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank littlemiss101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,025)
There are newer reviews for Golden Rock Beach Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

543 - 549 of 1,025 reviews

Reviewed June 4, 2013

Just got back from a weeks stay at The Golden Beach Hotel. We found the room excellent, Food good with something for most people. Lots of salad , Chicken/ Turkey and Beef stew with cooked veg or Kebab style meats avalible most days.( Im guessing Russian style! ) Alcoholic drinks were good and if you ask they can make you cocktails... Maid did a great job and found most staff DID speak English and were mostly helpful.
We had a room on the roadside and drank in the Bars opposite most nights and the music was loud till 1-2 am but we had paid AI for free food and Drink so when in on a night the music didnt bother us as we'd been drinking!!! Our Daughter was more bothered about our snorring !
The only problem we had was we had expected better entertainment on a night for our 15 year old, We found we sat around waiting for, at best a hours poor entertainment at night and it was either Bingo, Karaoke ( with Turks or Russians dronning on... Not Holiday mood for me! )
So We ended up spending more to go out for Drinks/ which hit the pocket.... But the Hotel is of a very good standard and ALL the staff work really hard, Im just not sure Its what Families with Tenagers would want..... It you do go the entertainment in the No Name pub over the road is great,with turns on 2/3 times a night and all the Bar Lads get the girls up dancing all the time ( Also footy on Big screen)

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SeanSWFC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2013

Do not book land view unless you like sleeping on motorway as it views dual main road to Marmaris management aloof and snooty dont care about what you have to say food not 5 star but good but sweets are frozen bought in you can buy the same at KIPPA supermarket very cheap paper napkins for all meals and table cloths not changed just turned over also water served at meals was warm and tiped service not good short staffed pool bar only one serving at all times asked for ice water told to get it out of cooler with paper cup ask for ice told water cold none given tuesday afternoon run out of gin on both bars none on night time asked to see manager duty night manager came and said he was not able to do anything as it was night time and if i knew in the afternoon i should of asked then??? i asked can he get some from pasa hotel he said no too much paper work this is not 5 star managment safe 2 euros per day not 2 tl also no iron no disco in hotel no mini bar no 5 star service told to pay for sauna and turkish bath not free wfi did not work tv all english tv frozen yet all other channels working told there was a fault ??? music loud poor sound system very cheap two loud speakers ??? entertainments team a joke as where shows bingo darts totally not a 5 star hotel rooms very small reception bar staff good wednesday night ran out of gin again but sadik ran to pasa hotel to get some as there where a lot complaining he is a very good barman unlike reception staff who where not helpful everthing a bother to them .There were two bottels of still water and two of sparkling when we arrived and that was it.Beds were rock hard and no top sheet just a thin blanket. We asked to change room as my wife had no sleep the noise from the main road was horrendous,we had to pay £90 we were not happy at all at this as another couple were moved to a much better room than us and did not pay anything .We definately will not be going back there not a five star not even a good four star.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Elsie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2013

We were a party of 5 including a 12 yr old, not over run with kids even though school hols.First time to Turkey so cannot compare to other turkish hotels. Excellent location on a strip with bars and shops and easy access to marmaris or icemeler on the bus.Has its own beach which is very pebbly.
Room: Small 3/4 bed with one very small cover had to ask twice to get another. Shower goes hot/cold, flat tv in room with limited english channel, we had an excellent pool/sea view.
Restaurant: Staff ok,dont cater for children,food is served in large silver trays with lids on which you have to take off to see what it is as all trays are not labelled,on the last night my mother in law thought she had beef but in fact had liver.All very good quality but a little spicy for us and very very repetetive.Think in a five star you should be seated as only a few tables set out for large parties and we would find 2/3 people eating on a 6+ table, on a couple of occasions we walked round looking for a table only to walk out and go back again later, the waiters never helped us. Breakfast has omelettes and the usual selection but no sausage/bacon and only one coffee/toaster machines.
Guest relations: went to see this lady located in the lobby and asked about the different restaurant you can eat in to be told we had to book what we wanted there and then but as the menu consisted of chicken/beef casserole or fish we didnt bother.
We ate out at the greasy spoon, 5 mins walk,right turn on the opposite side and had an excellent breakfast for 5 lira, also the no name pub opposite is great for a night out, good atmosphere,friendly plenty of entertainment..
The best people in this hotel are the entertainment team,Boo boo, sonic, jamal always up for a laugh and lots of energy.Evening entertainment ok but they come round your table asking for tips afterwards which i didnt like and avoid the male belly dancer his body is disgusting! Can be quite breezy sitting out in the evening watching the entertainment ,you would see everybody dressed up then have hoodies/coats on trying to keep warm.
The music in the lobby bar is constantly playing paradise by coldplay even when the tv is on.
Thanks to the russians who will eat/drink anything in front of them we were disturbed on several occasions in the afternoon onwards by the lady shouting to herself, security were called but she carried on!
Had photos taken by the photographer paid £50 for 10 pics and cd but he did want us to buy all pics,album and cd for 250lira.
You can pay in all shops, bars restaurants in english, lira or euros.
Overall the staff in this hotel do not speak very good english, the managers walk around and dont acknowledge you, didnt find any member of staff to be over friendly or want to engage in conversation with you.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vicky43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2013

Went to golden rock last year for two weeks .booked this year for three weeks but very disapolnted standards have dropped , dressing gowns ,slippers ,toiletries in bathroom have been stopped minibar a joke two bottles of water and two sparkling water ,and not restocked. restaurant very badly run same table cloths used all meals stained or not ,tisses instead of napkins even evening meal warm water served with meals we many a time ate our afters with all plates still on the table I polnted out grubby table clothes to one of the owner one morning at breakfast I was first one in. Must say cannot fault the food, felt sorry for undermanned staff worked hard , to many sunbeds around pool no cushions on sunbeds, sound system, two large speakers blasting disco music on full base one end of pool excuse was so other end of pool can hear it , upper management walk past you like you do not exist, can not fault hotel, as it is nice, location and views, fantastic, , to get it back to five star owners need to put hands back in their pockets ,as I said we booked three weeks this year because last year as so good , but we will not go back it is not a five star hotel.it is a pity all the people who were complaining when we were there have not gone on trip adviser to give the the owners the kick they need .

Room Tip: Most room around pool you have nice pool view or sea view
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank boylandterry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2013

We recently returned from this EXCELLENT hotel. Rooms were very good and spotless. Fantastic location on the beach, and within easy reach of both Marmaris and Icemeler.(Nice walk to work your food off). The food was excellent and plentiful and always freshly cooked. We had a side/pool seaview room which was superb.No faults whatsoever. Staff were very good especially Ali on the beach(anything to help you) also a mention for Ufuk the bartender at the poolbar. All the staff were brilliant. Even though all inclusive, a little tip goes a long way. If like ourselves you arrive late at night and the restaurant is finished, there is a nice little eatery facing the hotel nice food and very cheap. We would definately return to the Golden Rock. A great time had by all. Thank you.

Room Tip: If you can, select a upper side seaview room, worth the additional premium and great views.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank dadslads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2013

Reception staff very keen to argue with you when you have a complaint, there are shops by pool, the hairdressers,avoid!! will do things you haven't asked for, neglect to tell you that they are charging extra!!!!! Photo guy does NOT leave you alone and will hassle you every time he see's you, do not fall for the ' free picture ' line either!
Cleaners are more interested in leaving your towels in some fancy love heart or shell shape on your bed rather than clean, bathroom mirror not done once in week, if you take drinks from the bar to your room expect the dirty glasses to be there for 3 days!! Guest relation desk hardly ever manned and if you ask for her she is always going to be 15 mins!!
Restaurant staff shout at each other across the restaurant and management quite happy to take up tables in restaurant to eat during peak times, hotel entertainment staff bug you all the time even wake you up to see if you want to join in, shouting across the pool to each other and throwing each other in!
Hotel free Wi Fi as advertised is non existent, a big complaint from everyone with regards to that!
Restaurant staff don't even let you finish before taking your plates away, majority have a odour problem, one even asked me for a ciggie, then ran to toilets outside to smoke asking me to look out for his boss!!!
Really struggling to see where it's 5 star

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ben C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marmaris hotels
0.3 mi away
Grand Pasa Hotel
Grand Pasa Hotel
#20 of 234 in Marmaris
2,065 reviews
0.3 mi away
Casa De Maris Spa & Resort Hotel
0.2 mi away
Pasa Beach Hotel
Pasa Beach Hotel
#22 of 234 in Marmaris
561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
D-Resort Grand Azur
D-Resort Grand Azur
#14 of 234 in Marmaris
1,320 reviews
0.8 mi away
Elegance Hotels International, Marmaris
0.2 mi away
SunConnect Grand Ideal Premium
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Rock Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Rock Beach Hotel

Address: Siteler mah.Cumhuriyet Bulvari No:41, Marmaris 48700, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Marmaris
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 234 Hotels in Marmaris
Price Range: $65 - $164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Golden Rock Beach Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 225
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Golden Rock Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing