We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful location, excellent hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Golden Rock Beach Hotel
Ranked #24 of 234 Hotels in Marmaris
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 19, 2012

We have just returned from this excellent hotel, we spent 11 days there and had the most fantastic holiday. We had a room with full sea view and what a magnificent view. The room was beautifully decorated and kept spotlessly clean, it had a double bed and a single bed so plenty of space, also a great ensuite with large power shower. The weather was very hot every day, so the aircon was a great bonus at night. The food was extremely good and very varied, and the restaurant was very well organised by the restaurant manager Ferat, who was really friendly and helpful, he spoke to all the guests and made everyone very welcome. The staff work very hard and they are pleasant and polite. The bar staff are also very friendly and well organised by the bar supervisor Cobra who was great fun. There was a lovely pool and we could always get sunbeds no matter what time of day. There were also always beds available on the private beach. The evening entertainment was ok, not that much going on but always nice places to sit and have a quiet drink or chat to other guests. The quality of the AI drinks was good. It was a pleasant walk to either Marmaris centre or Icmeler, all along the coastal walkway. This year in Turkey we found there was very little hassle from the shopkeepers, which was much better. The markets are great fun, and always great bargains to come home with. I must mention the ISTANBUL WATCH CENTRE in Icmeler run by Murat & Ozgur, where you can buy watches with confidence, there is no hassle and they sell fantastic quality watches and also do very good repairs, he repaired my watch that hasn't worked for 25+yrs and is now going perfect.

One word of warning beware of the hairdresser who stands outside a shop known as 'Tony & Guy' on the same street as the watch centre in Icmeler, he will try to get you inside his shop to give you his card and then do 'free' treatment, ie shave etc He will then try to charge a ridiculous price when finished. When you refuse he threatens violence and turns very nasty.We didn't pay him what he asked and gave him what we thought was a fair price from prices of other hairdressers around. BUT BEWARE OF THIS CON MAN.

Overall a lovely holiday and will be returning to this hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rhydaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,045)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

629 - 635 of 1,045 reviews

Reviewed October 19, 2012

Arrived with my husband for a 10 night stay. We booked through Travel Republic & because of major problem with Private Transfer, ended up spending 4 hrs on a shared mini bus. So all in all, probably not in a very good mood when we arrived. We booked & paid for a Direct Sea view room & I emailed the hotel in advance to ask for a Top Floor room. When we went up in the lift, we were pleased to see top floor was granted, but we were at the side of hotel overlooking the main street. We did have a side sea view, but that wasn't what we paid for. I went to reception same night & he said come back in the morning & we would get a swap, but it wouldn't be on the top floor. So next day, I went to have a look at another room & it was about half the size of the room we had. Apparently we had the biggest room in the hotel with our own balcony with 3 sunbeds & sun all day!! (& 1 double & 1 single bed) So we had to make a decision, to take direct sea view small room or keep the huge room & side sea view we had.
FOOD: Food was good, always something even if it was soup or salad. They do however cater more for Dutch/Belgian/French clientelle. But I never went hungry. The A La Carte restauraunt was apparently really nice, although we never went there ourselves. Evening meal times are a bit of a rush. Evevryone seems to go at 7pm, then sit there until 8.30!! We started going at 8.20ish as it was easier to get a table & get to the buffett dishes. (a lot of TURKEY & chichen dishes) Not much beef/lamb etc. The waiters were rushed off there feet & could not keep up with setting tables. Also people who ate outside take cuttlery off the tables so that was also a problem for waiters. Large outside eating area. Plenty tables.
ENTERTAINMENT: Non-Existant. A couple of arrogant Ukrainian students whom I found quite abrupt at times. Prancing about drinking coffe all day & letting there friends in the hotel during day. They really did not try. There were a few kids but I did not see one kids disco (supposed to start at 9pm) the whole time we were there. They were late or didn't have it. Karoke was 4 times (rubbish) music quiz. (rubbish) it really was poor.
AREA: Brilliant. buses stop right outside hotel & cost is about 80p each to Marmaris. & £1 to Iclemer. Shopping & Haggling in the bazaar in Marmaris.
POOL : Cold!! Plenty sunbeds & parasols. Kids pool also OK. Water slides into main pool.
BEACH: Sand & shingle but very stony in water. Bring some surf/beach shoes for yourself or kids!!
ROOMS: Maid service was good. Bed was a bit small 4'6 double & as someone previously commented, very hard & no top sheet. Blankets were not big enough to keep you both covered, so by night 3, my husband decided to sleep in single bed so that was easier!!
On the whole, we did enjoy it & I really think the huge room helped. Our room was 621 but 619 & 623 also have private balcony/sunbeds, but 619 was next to the lift shaft & 623 had no sea view at all!! So ours was best. Any questions, please feel free to ask. The hotels own website is http://goldenrockbeach.com/ if anyone wants it. I would consider this hotel again, but only if we got same room!!

Room Tip: Room 621 (See Photos) I didn't use spa, but guy was always asking me!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank mrsgg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2012

Wow just wow!

You arrive in marmaris and you drive past other hotels and think there nothing special. You finally get to the golden rock and think wow! It is absolutely amazing from the outside, the glass front the bright golden sign on the front has the look of class.

The hotel inside is brand new, massive check in area which leads easily to lifts, stairs, the bar and outside to the pool. Lovely furnishings and well looked after and cleaned like you would expect.

Our room had the 2 beds 1 double and 1 single, which was no problem we had a room over looking the pool on the 2nd floor with amazing sea views. The room was clean and very stylish. Beds were comfortable and there was plenty of space for suit cases and clothing! I can't see why anybody couldn't have enough space in these rooms! The bathroom had a double power shower again was very clean. The room was cleaned daily and fresh towels as standard. Can't fault the rooms at all.

I have read a lot of reviews on here moaning about the restaurant and having to set there own knifes and fork etc. And not being able to get seated. Have you ever thought about not running in together at the same time and causing havoc and quite simply problems for no reason?? they won't run out off food, and maybe letting the staff have time to clean up after others rather than just rushing around looking for cutlery?

My time in the restaurant again spot on, once you have cleared the selfish and rude Ukrainians/Russians and Belgians there really was no problem at all... The food was off a good standard, always around 15 hot dishes to choose from, there was always different types and pasta, potato, and meats. And always a pizza etc!! If you couldn't find anything which i do not think is possible then there was the choice of 2 soups which were amazing! A fresh salad bar which had everything. Fresh cakes and fruit out all of the time. As well there was a chef there to cook omelettes etc on request.

Outside area... We spend most of our time out by the pool, which is plenty big enough and has 2 water slides! The area is packed with seats, sunbeds, tables, swinging chairs everything! The tables were cleaned constantly and ash trays taking away all the time! Clean as a whistle!

Like I said we spend our time outside by the pool and outside bar again it is fantastic. We got on great with the staff behind that bar, the 3 lads were funny always talking and cracking jokes and just generally nice men, they knew exactly what we wanted to drink and by the 2nd day knew our names and were calling us over to say hello, same with the entertainment team, seen people moaning about them lads, if you had to deal with moody and rude guest every single day I can see why they couldn't be bothered but yet again we made a point to say hello and we got on great. They always tried to do something during the day, and every night there was something going on, we sat a few nights listening to Russian karaoke lol... So gave up and found the nearest bar... Them entertainment crew try to keep everyone interested so at the end of the holiday when more Brits turned up out came the disco and prize bingo etc. Again really good times spend with them.

Other hotel facilities.. Wifi everywhere, Turkish bath and spa sauna etc downstairs, fully equip gym a hair dresses which does everything, I even had a Turkish shave. Again very nice and very cheap. The hotel had its own shop which supplied everything you really need.

So to sum up superb hotel in amazing setting with fantastic staff, brand new couldn't ask for anything else! Already booked for next year........ Just watch for rude guest but I suppose you get them everywhere!

Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
3  Thank allex p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2012

impressive brand new hotel 2012, very contemporary.
clean and comfortable.
free wifi throughout.
gr8 food and good entertainment.
set on lovely beach with views of hills.
shops at front very little hastle from shop owners, all walking distance and on a good bus route.
polite staff.
I WOULD HIGHLY RECOMMEND!

Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Cath T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2012

just returned from golden rock beach. excellent hotel in an ieal location halfway between marmaris and icmeler. a very clean, well run hotel with excellent rooms and bathrooms. found the staff to be more than helpful, nothing was too much trouble, special mention for emin on reception, ferat the restaurant manager and all the bar staff. food was good, something for everyone but restaurant could get very busy and may have trouble finding a table at certain times. pool area nice with plenty of sunbeds and parasols. good outdoor seating area, not a single plastic chair in sight. lovely beach within a few metres again with plenty beds and parasols.
only 2 complaints from us - the nght time entertainment was exceptionally poor and at the time of our visit there were some very rude and ignorant foreign guests who thought they had priority over everyone ( us britsh are too polite for our own good someimes )
overall an excellent stay and would return.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank j0w66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2012

Its been about three months and my wife and I miss this place so much. This hotel is amazing, it has all the facilities required. My wife and i went here for our wedding anniversary. We were not disappointed at all. The whole building is brand new as well as the furniture inside. We spent 10 fabulous days there. The best thing is that the staff were great. The bar tenders, waiters( Burhoin Sakoir), reception, animation team(Selen Ciftlik), the spa helpers, housekeeping (Serap)and not forgetting Ferit the head restaurant manager.
The pool was great as i love water slides and the two there were great. My wife is really picky about the food but everyday the menu changed and the food was too die for. Theres also a separate restaurant were you can book. This was great as I has steak and was cooked well.
Theres a few shops in the hotel so you don't have to go very far. They have the best shop that sells fresh turkish delight, ran by husband and wife,,(We miss you). Also there is a cameraman for them great moments to capture. We had bought all we needed form the shop, and the cameraman also gave a great deal with photos that i purchased. The location can not be any better as this is located in the middle of the high st. All bars and places to see are on the door step. Theres also tight security so no-one from outside can just walk in. The rooms are just great as they have a very modern look with double showers and queen size beds. Big open room with great views of sea and surroundings.

Our holiday was one of the best. Don't hesitate,,just book this place for the time of your life.

Room Tip: Side sea view facing the water slides. Ace
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank AJAYG6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

we passed golden rock we were staying at the halaci up the hill after being moved from lidya park hotel you are moaning about the golden rock if u had been at the lidya park then you would have serious complaints read my review about that hotel, we had to lay our own tables at the halalici so it seems the norm for this kind of hotel at the lidya park there was no food no drinks and no pleasent staff.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rosemary b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marmaris hotels
0.3 mi away
Casa De Maris Spa & Resort Hotel
0.3 mi away
Grand Pasa Hotel
Grand Pasa Hotel
#21 of 234 in Marmaris
2,097 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pasa Beach Hotel
Pasa Beach Hotel
#19 of 234 in Marmaris
621 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
D-Resort Grand Azur
D-Resort Grand Azur
#15 of 234 in Marmaris
1,346 reviews
0.6 mi away
Green Nature Diamond Hotel
Green Nature Diamond Hotel
#25 of 234 in Marmaris
1,381 reviews
0.8 mi away
Elegance Hotels International, Marmaris
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Rock Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Rock Beach Hotel

Address: Siteler mah.Cumhuriyet Bulvari No:41, Marmaris 48700, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Marmaris
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 234 Hotels in Marmaris
Price Range: $63 - $437 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Golden Rock Beach Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 225
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Golden Rock Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing