We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So glad we took the chance to make up our own minds!”
Review of Seler Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Seler Hotel
Ranked #79 of 234 Hotels in Marmaris
Reviewed January 8, 2010

It's really sad to see the bad reviews about this hotel, because we had a fabulous time here.

We looked at the reviews before we went and agreed that the majority of negatives seemed to be about the 'basic' element of the rooms which we decided to overlook. The main reasons being that it was cheap - you get what you pay for - you don't spend much time in your room on holiday - there's a big world out there to explore! - and having been to Turkey 8 times before, I'm aware that a 2 star b&b in Turkey is not usually more than basic!

The location is spot on, lovely and quiet with the beach, bars and restaurants just a few minutes walk away. The rooms are 'basic' but spotlessy clean, as is the whole of the hotel, outside and in. There are 2 swimming pools to choose from with plenty of sunbeds and parasols. We always found the staff to be pleasant and helpful, particularly our mate Mehmet behind the bar! We would often go back to the hotel after we'd been out for dinner etc and have a nightcap (or 2!) at the bar as it has a great atmosphere.

Breakfast is your typical Turkish continental breakfast consisting of bread, cheese, jams, tomatos, olives. Other food is available and when we did plump for something a bit extra it was always tasty.

We were the only people there at the time who had not stayed there before. There were people staying there who go twice a year, stay for 4 or 5 weeks at a time and even people who live nearby for 6 months out of the year who just go to use the facilities and enjoy the atmosphere. People don't do that if it's such a terrible place!

In a way that was the only downside - some (not all) of the people who had stayed there many times before 'took over' a bit, but we just turned it into some classic holiday people-watching fun!

All in all, it was great. I don't tend to like going back to the same places and would prefer self catering but we are considering going back in the near future!

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lozmos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (530)
There are newer reviews for Seler Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

467 - 473 of 530 reviews

Reviewed November 15, 2009

This is our 4th visit to the seler hotel in marmaris, we like the people that work there, except a few but we cant mention who? the hotel is very basic, but very clean. We have our beds change everyday without a doubt. If we want any extra blankets, or pillows, all u have to do is ask, and they get them with no problem. We recommend anybody that wants a cheap hotel, is to give the seler a go, we never look back now, we will be there again in sept 2010.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kimberleygilmour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2009

I've just returned from the Seler again, 2nd time this year, first time being june and 2nd time being october. It is still the same friendly atmosphere as to when i went in june. Everybody that is moaning about the seler, A holiday is what you make it, and the people you travel with, and at the seler the staff are friendly and always help too which is a bonus.
**If you want 5*luxury, the grand azur is down the road, but i can assure you that you wont have as much fun there!! you get what you pay for!!
Had a fantastic 2nd holiday to this hotel, met some great people, and will be going back next year!!!

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jenz_nottm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2009

just getting bk from holiday in the seler hotel,was a bit concerned bout the reviews that i read bout the hotel,but to my liking it wasnt nearly as bad as the reviews.atmosphere was good on a daily basis,food was nice and the staff was brill with all the guest.cleaners was in the rooms on a daily basis,nothing was a problem any time.we are alredy booked to go bk next yr.dont always believe what you read just see for yourself.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lynchy39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2009

first time abroad & wont be going back,well not to the seler anyway,a couple of the staff were really nice,the rest just full of themselves. has actually put me off ever going back to turkey

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank annoyedtraveller95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2009

Me and my family have just arrived back from marmaris. It was our first time in Turkey and we are already planning to go back. After reading the reviews on this site we were wondering what we had let ourselves in for. But when we arrived at the hotel we were greeted by really friendly staff who were helpful for the full 2 weeks we were there. The rooms WERE CLEANED EVERYDAY. I travelled with a party of 5 of us and the room was plenty big enough for us as we are not ones to go on holiday and spend the time in a hotel room. Everyone I spoke to in the hotel said the same thing, that the rooms are basic but everone seemed to be enjoying themselves.

I hope you find this review helpful and hope you have a great holiday!

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank unknown2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2009

Hi Guys

me and my partner josh stayed at this hotel for 2 weeks, seler 1
we had a fantstic time, the room was no 303, we even had a double bed, our room was cleaned every day, the 2 cleaners were fantastic.
mehmet is the best bar man, very nice guy.

all the staff were brilliant and would go out there way to help u, my only fault with the hotel was the pool it was a bit dirty looking, could do with a bit of paint,

over all though fantastic holiday.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank susanjosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marmaris hotels
1.2 mi away
Hermes Hotel
Hermes Hotel
#44 of 234 in Marmaris
747 reviews
0.9 mi away
Aloe Apart Hotel
Aloe Apart Hotel
#122 of 234 in Marmaris
120 reviews
0.5 mi away
Melodi Hotel
Melodi Hotel
#58 of 234 in Marmaris
435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Ekin Hotel
Ekin Hotel
#69 of 234 in Marmaris
296 reviews
1.0 mi away
High Life Apartments
High Life Apartments
#54 of 234 in Marmaris
208 reviews
1.0 mi away
Apart Green Park
Apart Green Park
#25 of 234 in Marmaris
381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seler Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seler Hotel

Address: Sirinyer Mahkraranfil SOK 26, Marmaris 48700, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Marmaris
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Best Value Hotel in Marmaris
Price Range: $13 - $28 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Seler Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Seler Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seler Hotel Marmaris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing