We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Trust Me”
Review of Seler Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Seler Hotel
Ranked #70 of 234 Hotels in Marmaris
south yorkshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Trust Me”
Reviewed September 21, 2009

Me and my family have just arrived back from marmaris. It was our first time in Turkey and we are already planning to go back. After reading the reviews on this site we were wondering what we had let ourselves in for. But when we arrived at the hotel we were greeted by really friendly staff who were helpful for the full 2 weeks we were there. The rooms WERE CLEANED EVERYDAY. I travelled with a party of 5 of us and the room was plenty big enough for us as we are not ones to go on holiday and spend the time in a hotel room. Everyone I spoke to in the hotel said the same thing, that the rooms are basic but everone seemed to be enjoying themselves.

I hope you find this review helpful and hope you have a great holiday!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank unknown2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

516 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    283
    101
    41
    28
    63
See reviews for
122
148
21
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
glasgow
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 17, 2009

Hi Guys

me and my partner josh stayed at this hotel for 2 weeks, seler 1
we had a fantstic time, the room was no 303, we even had a double bed, our room was cleaned every day, the 2 cleaners were fantastic.
mehmet is the best bar man, very nice guy.

all the staff were brilliant and would go out there way to help u, my only fault with the hotel was the pool it was a bit dirty looking, could do with a bit of paint,

over all though fantastic holiday.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank susanjosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
croydon
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2009

I agree 100% with woodzybear. When i read the reviews on this holiday it stated the rooms were small and basic and to be honest the price i paid for me and my 18 year old daughter it was to be expected.
As far as i'm concerned a holiday is what you make it and if you are going to look for problems then you will find them so you only have yourself to blame. The hotel is rated as a 2 star so why do people book it when really they are looking for a 5 star. Our room was cleaned daily the towels were changed every other day. I never saw any cockroaches, the breakfast was a traditional turkish breakfast, again we were told this from the start and accepted it, the food we did eat at the hotel was very pleasant. The staff were very friendly and could not do enough for you, the feeling and atmosphere of the hotel was the highlight for us and was priceless. There was signs asking you not to consume food and drink brought from outside the hotel around the pool and bar which is understandable and out of respect you shouldn't do it, but you were allowed to take it to your room.
Personally i think some people feel they are above others because they have different ideas on how to enjoy thier holidays.
We had a couple moved to our hotel from a 5 star hotel on the beach front and they couldn't of been happier because of the atmosphere.
The turkish night is not to be missed it was fantastic.

Remember when your on holiday, your on holiday, let your hair down, go with the flow and stop looking around and at people to find problems because trust me thats what ruins your holiday.

If you want 5 star rooms, food, cleanliness, location then pay for 5 star. For some of you who may think that i am not fussy well trust me i am but i believe in you get what you pay for and your holiday is what you make it.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lazybuggers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hartlepool
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 11, 2009

We have just got back from tyhe Seler Hotel in Marmaris, Turkey. We stayed there for 2 weeks, and when we first arrived everything seemed ok, then it all changed. The rooms are small and they where not cleaned every day, and when they where cleaned the towels were not always changed and the floors where never mopped until the day before we came home. the shower ceiling in our room was falling in and I told someone about it and I am still waiting for someone to come and look at it. My son went into the shower one night to find cockroaches running around on the floor, and coming through the drains. The staff are friendly enough but if the centre of attition is not on them they have to take it away so it is all about them.

While we where there the prices of water went up and down, one day it was 1 lira the next it was 1.50 lira, dont think they knew what to charge.

The noise in the hotel was very quite through the day but on a night it was terrible, after 12am the music would go up and people would through themselves into the pool at 3 in the morning. There was one nite when me, my son and daughter didn't get to sleep till 4am, and when you said something to one of the waiters all you got was " well people are on their holidays."

I have been to Marmaris for the last 3 years and stayed in all bed and breakfast hotels and this one was the worst i have ever stayed in, and I will not be going back to the seler again.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank belle73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
birmingham
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed September 6, 2009

this so called hotel is located in a residential area and when i went on the balcony i was face to face with turkish men asleep on their balconys. the room was said to be basic this is an understatement there is just the beds a wardrobe and a mirror there is no kettle no hair drier the towels were stained and dirty grey. the staff were miserable and there was no holiday atmosphere at all. by the 7th day we could no longer stand the thought of going back there so i paid to stay at another hotel. the breakfast was not edable there was no eggs they charged 1.50 TL for each one also it was 3TL for cereal. the staff would look around to check that u hadnt bought any food in from outside as this was not allowed you could not even bring in water to drink by the pool or in ur roomon several occations staff would shout and swear at holiday makers for bringing in water by the pool that they had bought from the shop you are to buy all food and drink from their bar this is more expensive than the shops. i would not recomend anyone pay to stay at this hell hole i have made an official complaint to thoms cook

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nursichris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle ,U.K
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2009

Please take my advice and do not go to this hotel! Myself my girlfriend and my moter in law had a disgusting experience at this hotel it was the pitts.
Take into consideration that we have stayed in many third world no frills countries like India, Morrocco, Egypt and so on, our expectations were not high and having been 8 times to turkey between us we knew the rooms would be very basic and clean.

This was not the case at this hotel. To sum up our problems I've bullet pointed them, ( any futher qu's just ask! )
*Room was filthy falling to bits,
*staff washed used forks with a serviette and handed them to us to our astonishment!!
*Room was like a shed top floor 8 sets of stairs no lift??
*Balcony was unsafe, as was the dripping roof of room!
*Window sills covered in dead insects
*Bed contained dirty stains and pubic hair on floor in corner of bathroom and clogging the plug! I kid you not :(
*Pool was tiny
*Food was warm and not fresh or even edible.
*Caters for 18-30 low lives who want to drink 24/7..harsh but true
*If you like benidorm, malia or binge drink hot spots you will love it here, if you have kids or want more than the culture to be found at the bottom of a shot glass then stay well clear please!!

In conclusion it took us an extra dayof our holiday and £300 to move from this ***hole, usually i would begrudge paying this but we were desperate to leave it was very destressing being there.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ThomasDavis2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2009

When we first booked this hotel we read some of the reviews and it was mixed reviews but we were aware that the rooms would be small because through these reviews we had already been told but apart from that the place was fantastic.
There were only 2 of us that went both aged 20 but we weren't looking for the clubber holiday. The transfer took a while to get to the hotel and usually one of the last drop offs so it can take between 2.5/3 hrs transfer from dalaman airport. We arrived at about 6 o clock at night and unfortunately were on the 7 th floor, I will point out there is no lift at this hotel. Mo ( a member of staff) carried our luggage up the stairs. The room was fairly small and basic but that was what we expected. Twin beds, wardrobe, small balcony, shower room.

The location of the hotel i think is awesome. It takes 5 mins to walk to the beach and bars/restaurants which are all along the beach front but it is also out of the way of the main road and main area so it is quiet too. The only thing i would say that as 2 young girls we never left it too late to walk back to the hotel, as it is off the main street there are no street lights and you do get some dodgy men but i think you also get that back home its just common sense. We always went out for some food just to have a look around the area. We came back to the hotel around 12ish and sat around the bar for the rest of the evening. The bar staff will always stay until the last person goes to bed.

The breakfast is basic, they do other food but you have to pay for them, but it is a small buffet consisiting of bread, butter, cucumber, tomatoes, cheese and honey. Not fantastic but depends what food your in to. We only got up once for the breakfast, greasy spoon down the road is a fantastic place for food and cheap too.

The staff made this holiday for us, they all spoke excellent english and would do anything for you. As it is only a small hotel they made every efforst to know everybody and help in anyway. Guwan (pronounced iwan) Mo and mehmet where fantastic, they had a laugh kept us enetertained and we do miss them!!! Im already planning my next holiday back there!!!

On a thursday night they do turkish night and i would highly recommed it. They have acts that come in and perform and then have music and dances that include the auidence. I cant believe some of the bad reviews that this place has had and i think that everybody makes the holiday how they want it. I probably wouldn't advise it to people who care what there rooms are like or people who pick at everything and actually want a 5 star hotel. This is a 2 star hotel but we loved it!!!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Woodzybear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marmaris hotels
0.3 mi away
Orkide Hotel
Orkide Hotel
#37 of 234 in Marmaris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
0.9 mi away
Ekin Hotel
Ekin Hotel
#65 of 234 in Marmaris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hermes Hotel
Hermes Hotel
#45 of 234 in Marmaris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 707 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Adonis Hotel Marmaris
Adonis Hotel Marmaris
#53 of 234 in Marmaris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kaan Apart
Kaan Apart
#86 of 234 in Marmaris
3.5 of 5 bubbles 446 reviews
1.7 mi away
Ozturk Apart
Ozturk Apart
#47 of 234 in Marmaris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seler Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seler Hotel

Property: Seler Hotel
Address: Sirinyer Mahkraranfil SOK 26, Marmaris 48700, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Marmaris
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in Marmaris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Seler Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, Priceline, HotelQuickly and Booking.com so you can book your Seler Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seler Hotel Marmaris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing