We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“home from home”
Review of Seler Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Seler Hotel
Ranked #74 of 234 Hotels in Marmaris
Morpeth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“home from home”
Reviewed September 24, 2011

I have been going to seler hotel since i was 3 years old and have never had a bad experience. The staff there are very friendly and helpful and try to make every customers stay comfortable and enjoyable. Nothing is too much trouble for the staff who will go out of their way to make sure you have a fantastic stay at Seler, there was never a day go by without having a good laugh with the staff. The entertainment on turkish night at the hotel was outstanding, very varied acts and had a very good atmosphere with excellent service of the meal included in the price. The cleaners do a fantastic job of keeping the hotel very clean. The food was of high standard and catered for all needs. my sis took ill whilst being at seler and mehmet was a fantastic help as he rang the doctor and made sure she was comfortable until he arrived. Love all the staff at Seler like family and cant wait to go back and see them all very soon missing them loads.
Love amanda and family
xxxxxxxxxxxxxx

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amanda O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

517 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    284
    101
    41
    28
    63
See reviews for
122
148
21
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 20, 2011

I went expecting the worst after reading the reviews, but god was i surprised. Yes the hotel is basic but its very clean. The rooms are cleaned everyday and i must say the cleaning staff are very nice people, the pools and pool areas are cleaned all the time. We ate at the hotel alot of the time and found nothing wrong with the food or the way it was cooked. The staff at the hotel are amazing people, My husband and i never stopped laughing the whole holiday. If something isnt to your standards they will bend over backwards to help you. the location is really good for the main street and the next street behind that is the beach front, so not far to walk at all. If its boat or any other trips you want just speak to the staff and they wil sort it out for you so you get picked up from the hotel. My best tip for you is just take five minutes out just to get to know the staff and you will have a laugh the same as we did. Thankyou so much for all the great staff and people we met see ya soon Ant & Marie x x x

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ANTandMARIE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2011

Requested low floor due to disability and was given 7th with no lift - looks like only 4 in brochure but some rooms at front and some rooms at back as you climb the stairs. Room very basic but a bit shabby also - tried to shower but water wouldn't go down so gave up - was moving to different hotel that first day anyway so didn't say much to them. Owner was really nice as were bar staff - he gave us lift to other hotel so I can't fault the hospitality. Not 200 meters from beach as stated - didn't go all way down to find out but quite a bit further than that. Breakfast was even more basic with just one cheese - no egg or salami - jams - the normal bread, cucumber and tomato and i think black olives. You really only get what you pay for and if you book it with hotel direct I think it's only £5 a night so it's not fair to expect the Ritz. I know previous people have complained about the cats but they do have a pet cat and dog there - both gorgeous and others are around the place as they are in the rest of Turkey - remember they live their too so don't diss them for it!

Room Tip: If you don't mind being far back from beach and want a cheap budget deal and don't expect th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TLockettManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fivemiletown
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2011

We went to the Seler Hotel last year on our first holiday to Turkey. We arrived in the middle of the night after being delayed 12 hours and we hated the place! Everything about it seemed horrible, horrible dirty rooms, horrible people everything!! After getting sleep and waking up the next morning we realised the hotel was fine and the people were so nice! We had a great time at the Seler, you get what you pay for! Rooms cleaned daily with fresh towels. The pool area was great as there is two pools so plenty of choice! Close to everything so your within walking distance. Wide selecting menu and the food was nice so we ate here a few times. The staff at the Seler are brilliant and def made our holiday as there was entertainment everynight and the rep was brilliant gave us plenty of info. All in all a great time and would recommend anyone to go here.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trace_710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grimsby, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2011

we was at seler late aug we got there at about 3 in morn after the welcome which we always recieve although the food was closed mehmet offered to get take away in for us all which was great after travelling all day.weve been coming to seler on and off for 11 years now its like coming home for us. they treat u like there family nothing is ever to much for any of the staff we even took william on a boat trip wiyh us on the bosses boat for the day. we will be back next year missing the seler an everyone already only been home a week.

Room Tip: ground or 1st floor to save the stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank yorkyneil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2011

Rooms and linen were clean, although both were dated but serviceable.  Air-conditioning cost £30 per week but was functional - although we had problems with ours which in the end required a room change which we were left to do on our own.  Reading the diverse reviews on this hotel I can see both views.  On the one hand if you stayed by the pool and used the hotel bar and restaurant you were well treated and the staff were fine be clear they do want you to stay in the hotel at all times.  We went out every day and night and did have pressure put on us to stay in the hotel which we politely refused.  I accept some hassle from bars and restaurants outside the hotel but I do think your hotel shouldn't hassle you the same way.    At the end of the fortnight it was clear that our rebuffing of their requests did result in indifference from the staff to our presence, not rude just indifferent, which was fine for us.  So if you do go out rather than stay in just be polite and stick to your plans and they get the message eventually and leave you alone.  On the subject of noise - you should be aware the bar is open 24/7 and depending on guests can be very noisy, its not a big hotel so you cant block it out, luckily the air conditioning does drown out some of this.  The issue is if you enjoy staying up until the early hours of the morning partying (noise from the bar was common until 4 or 5 am) then this is for you.  If however, you go to bed around 12pm or 1 am you will have to deal with the noise, it's not offensive (although there were a couple of nasty domestic arguments and one instance of domestic violence but that's down to clients not the hotel) just loud.  Bottom line if your looking for a quiet family or couples hotel this isn't for you if however you like staying in the hotel and like a lively hotel it's probably good value.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Osyth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 21, 2011

I never usually do reviews but after having read the load of crap people have to moan about i couldnt help it.....I have just arrive home from a two week holiday at the Seler hotel with my older brother and his girlfriend, and i honestly do not know what the fuss is? The staff were so helpful when we arrived at 5 in the morning and took us straight to our rooms so we could rest. We spent the whole two weeks round the pool, which would get a few leaves and servettes blown into because of the wind so unless the staff are watching it 24/7 then they cant make a difference. We saw the pool man there every day so it was definitely looked after.
We ate at the restuarant throughout every day for lunch and Iam proberbly one of the most fussiest eaters ever yet they were extremely patient with me and never made me feel pressure to buy anything from them. All the staff are amazingly friendly, and there was a big group of pretty girls staying at the same time and i never saw the turkish male staff hassling them, people obviously think that any conversation being a turkish man and english woman is being 'hassled'. Dont flatter yourselves loves. And as for the people who commented that the bosses sons would just sit round all day and hassle girls, you should be ashamed, the poor boys have autism and are only at the hotel so they are actually doing something helpful, not just being stuck in their home because of their disabilities. The staff were very good and made sure the boys would not be making anyone feel uncomfortable but all of the guests would be very patient with the boys and try to talk to them or give them the satification of making them think that they pushed them in the pool for a laugh.
There was brilliant entertainment every night, but they would never make you feel pressured to stay there, if they saw you were going out they would wish you a good night out.
My boyfriend is turkish and when we would come pick me up or visit me at the hotel the staff were so welcoming and friendly to him that even he couldnt believe they were so nice to him! So shows that the staff are not only friendly for money but are genuinely nice people who will help with any problem you have what so ever.
The hotel rooms were extremely basic but for the amount of time actually spent in it, it was perfectly fine. Someone on here complained the soap wasnt enough to wash with? Thats because you take your own toiletries. People are very quick to complain, when really the hotel and staff should be praised. From reading reviews before going away i was horrifiied of what we were gettin ourselves into, but were pleasently surprised when realised that al the reviews were so far from the truth. The dog has belonged to the hotel owners for over 16 years, and there are only 3 cats that just sleep under the corner tables throughout the day and are hardly ever seen at night because of the music and people dancing that they are scared off.
Would definitely go back to the hotel, not just for the amazing staff, but the quiet and friendly area, lovely food, great entertainment, and so much more.
If you have read this, sorry for the extremely long review but i feel that the hotel needs good reviews, not all of these petty complaints where people obviously expected amazing rooms with sea views or something, its a 2 star, but in my opinion you get much more for your money.

Room Tip: Try to get a room around the back of the hotel, get a much nicer breeze if you have decided not to g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rebecca f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marmaris hotels
0.9 mi away
Ekin Hotel
Ekin Hotel
#69 of 234 in Marmaris
286 reviews
0.4 mi away
Banana Apart
Banana Apart
#59 of 234 in Marmaris
118 reviews
1.7 mi away
Ozturk Apart
Ozturk Apart
#42 of 234 in Marmaris
344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Aegean Princess
Aegean Princess
#32 of 234 in Marmaris
445 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hermes Hotel
Hermes Hotel
#46 of 234 in Marmaris
714 reviews
0.7 mi away
Club Amaris
Club Amaris
#36 of 234 in Marmaris
315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seler Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seler Hotel

Property: Seler Hotel
Address: Sirinyer Mahkraranfil SOK 26, Marmaris 48700, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Marmaris
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Best Value Hotel in Marmaris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Seler Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Priceline, HotelQuickly and Booking.com so you can book your Seler Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seler Hotel Marmaris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing