We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“worst hotel ever stayed in”
Review of Melodi Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Melodi Hotel
Ranked #62 of 234 Hotels in Marmaris
Reviewed September 1, 2009

where do i start, The food was rubbish very little choice and not much of it either 2 small tables for the buffet, a la carte yeah right, we ate out every night apart from two when we look at the food and didnt eat none of it chips chips and more chips. as soon as we got there it was 45 pound for the air con that didnt work all that well and safe box, didnt get any choice whether we wanted it or not. The room was alright maids nice cleaned every two days had to ask for toilet roll though didnt leave any, the bathroom roof leaked and looked like it was all going to fall down, shower curtain too short water everywhere, no plug for the sink. one night we heard a big crack and went outside on to balconey and that was leaking as well. NOT allowed to take drinks or food up to room as they want you to buy from their shop in hotel which is quite expensive supermarket is alot cheaper. Towels stayed on sun loungers all day even though noone on them so couldnt use them towels should be taken off after an hour if not being used then other guests can use them. Pool is quite small, staff cant speak english. have to pay two lira for every phone call that you make all we used it for was to confirm transfer and flight and it was two lira each. i would not recommend this hotel to any one it should be a no star hotel, very very basic and we got nothing for the money that we paid, this hotel looks good on paper as it has its own website but its really not if you do come to this hotel do not get half board. stay away from this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank krisx49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (437)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

405 - 411 of 437 reviews

Reviewed July 28, 2009

very clean room,clean white bedding twice a week,bathroom is very dated and needs doing up,clean white towels every day ,balcony overlooks waterpark then the beach .2min walk from hotel.don't go half board as we did as the food is rubbish and it is cheap to eat out up on the main street which is behind the hotel.air cond.and fridge you have to pay extra for but we needed it as it was very hot.nice around the pool sometimes music got too loud but turned it down when i asked.staff are all brilliant and chatty and the turkish night at the hotel is fun and food good.night life just around the corner what more can you ask for. maureen and allan, aberdeen,scotland

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank waltzingmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2009

The other reviews were pretty shocking to be honest!!!! You basically get what you pay for. You can't expect to stay at a royal mansion for the low price you pay. I had an amazing time. The pool was clean, the room was clean and the staff were really helpfull and friendly. Me and my Mom went for a week half board and the food was lovely. Breakfast was a typical Turkish breakfast - Tomatoes, Cucumber, Eggs, Cheese, Meat and Bread. If you asked for toast or fried Eggs, the hotel staff were more than happy to specially prepare food for you. Evening meals were three course meals and the pudding's were mainly fruit (which I liked) You do pay extra for the Aircon and Safe, I paid £35 for the both for the week. Aircon worked fine even when one day peaked 45, a couple of nights I had to turn it off as it got too cold! Room was basic but clean (cleaners cleaned everyday and gave us fresh towels) and when you take a shower the water does go everywhere (even with the shower curtains) but there is a floor drain next to the sink and the water runs into that and with the heat it soon dries out. No hairdryer in room but you can hire one from reception. The staff were really nice, Eddie, Muss, Aziz and Nick. They spoke really good English too. Not much entertainment at the hotel of an evening, only once a week (Turkish night) but the hotel is situated literally 5 minutes from Bar Street which is jammed packed full of bars, pubs and clubs. Excellent location, close to shops, pubs, the beach and a water park. Food, drink and ice creams are really cheap at the hotel. I am hoping to visit again next month as I am missing everyone x

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VWstush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2009

On our arrival every thing was as usual, we where offered Air Con and a safe at our expense. The night receptionest is capable of speaking english but not that great, the receptionest in the day cant speak english at all i think. Staff where friendly, not everyone could speak english but thats understandable. The late shift Barman has fluent english and very friendly. Our room was supposed to be for 3 ppl, it was a double room with a double bed and a single bed. Note that there where 3 lads staying in this room, so 2 had to share the double, after all the hotel wasnt able to sort this problem out due to lack of single beds i think.

ROOM: was ok, little run down, the bathroom door wouldnt shut or lock without having to fight with it. Shower was tiny and the bathroom would get flooded everytime the shower was used due to awkward set up of the shower curtains. The shower could be cleaner or probably newer I should say. We where able to open our room door with a credit card as we got locked out one night. But that was only this room, as on our last day we changed rooms due to extending the stay. The second room was much better and more up to date, probably a fresh paint job and a proper door too. No TV and NO fridge.

AIR CON: Kind of useless, very slow and rather than blow you away it just idle's. However the room does get cold enough to use the covers, but it takes a little while. Also unless the balcony door is shut it wont work.

MAID: service was OK, there are 2 maids. They came in every day and changed towels, cleaned etc. Only thing was we kept getting 2 towels rather than 3. Also the hand towel in the bathroom was never changed during our weeks stay.

FOOD: it was nice. Some night traditional local food, not everyones taste. Some nights barbecue and english nights(COD & CHIPS). Breakfast was turkish style buffet, slices of cheese's, salami, salad stuff, etc.

HOTEL: very good location, right in front of the Aqua Park and 2-3 mins walk to the shops or the beach front where all the bars are along the beach. For those of you that are young you may find this hotel slightly boring as most of the guests are more middle aged. So lads dont go there hoping u might find young pretty girls. By the way you are not allowed to bring any form of guest to your room, its ok for them to use the pool or bar but cannot go in to the rooms.

POOL: Very clean, and highly maintained, Not very large but still a reasonable size for the hotel to have pool parties.

NIGHT LIFE: Beech Club, Bar-X and Turtle Bar where the best. Turtle bar does karaoke in the evening, a little later it then starts to become more of a partying place, around 2:30-3:00am, they have a foam party every night.


Overall its a great little hotel, family run and they are very keen on pleasing the guests. Just dont be ashamed to ask or tell them of any issues. If i where to go to Marmaris again, I probably wouldnt stay at a 3* like Melodi, I would rather be at a 4* as we visited friends we saw how much better the hotel quality was, however most of these hotels service wasnt as friendly as Melodi Hotels staff.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SkyeBlueLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2009

hotel very basic, but good location, right in the center, staff very friendly, maids clean rooms every day, nice white clean sheets and white towels, towels made into different shapes every day, eg hearts, sweets. food is just the normal grub, set menu every night, start with soup & bread, meatballs, fruit salad, its ok. full english breakfast you can buy from the hotel very nice, for just a few quid. only a 5 min walk to night life, all the bars along the beach front. a good hotel if your just wanting the basic, ideal for the little money you pay, remember you only get what you pay for.

from raina & kev newcastle upon tyne denton burn

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rubyheidi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2008

We have just arrived back from holidaying in Marmaris which eventually had a wonderful time but please do not book yourself in to this hotel, it was absolutely filthy, there was excrament on the bins, we did not stay the first night, seeing that was quite enough. When told them about it they tried to place us in another room but it wasnt much better, it really is in need of pulling down and strarting again..... I would not write this if it wasnlt true so please be warned...... the manager was very nice but as he couldnt understand Englsih at all he had to use his barman for translation who was quite rude to us, thank heavens for the Selen 1 hotel who quite literally saved our holiday. Had we not managed to get booked into another hotel would have quite literally turned around and come home. The carpet in the lobby/eating area was sticky and even the tablecloths were dirty, they made us a meal whilst we were waiting for Triton to come back to us and couldn't eat it, the chips were full of grease (no potato inside) and the chicken was so overcooked was like shoe leather. Try the Selen 1 :)

Stayed: October 2008
Thank Susan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2008

Dreadful place. 6 of us inc 3 children went- all family but separated; was VERY unhappy about this. 1 room on 4th floor, 1 on 5th. Went B & B. Rooms basic in the extreme. 3 of us in our room, 1 narrow wardrobe, 2 small drawers. No plug in sink, shower curtains completely useless, floor soaked. No facilities for drink making and officially not allowed to take drinks into the hotel--all drinks to be ordered from reception. (I bought kettle etc anyway) Air conditioning £21 per room for the week. Breakfast buffet (small) same every day, and no cooked food except for cold boiled eggs. Other meals not bad but we ate out most days, more choices and cheaper. No entertainment of worth but 1 brilliant night when we had pool party. Staff joined in, not all, but well done Yusef ! Kids loved him. Communication a problem English not understood or spoken very well. I found this terribly frustrating. The lift broke down for several hours, the master key to the safe boxes was lost (my passport was in one but got it back). Some staff surly and never cracked a smile all week. Music VERY loud, had to shout to have conversations. Overall didn't feel welcome and there was an 'atmosphere'. I exercise my right to complain wherever i am but felt that i was seen as a nuisance. Apart from the hotel experience, i had a great time! Love Turkey and would go back. If you go to Marmaris, make sure that you do a 'jeep safari'. This will make up for anything negative about your accomodation. Good Luck! (Pay the extra and stay somewhere 'classy') Munchkin Birmingham

Stayed: August 2008
Thank munchkinWestMidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marmaris hotels
0.3 mi away
Blue Palace
Blue Palace
#42 of 234 in Marmaris
425 reviews
0.1 mi away
Maris Beach Hotel
Maris Beach Hotel
#55 of 234 in Marmaris
440 reviews
0.4 mi away
Yunus Hotel
Yunus Hotel
#56 of 234 in Marmaris
208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
JDW Design Hotel
JDW Design Hotel
#59 of 234 in Marmaris
131 reviews
0.2 mi away
Poseidon Hotel
Poseidon Hotel
#37 of 234 in Marmaris
397 reviews
0.7 mi away
Apart Green Park
Apart Green Park
#26 of 234 in Marmaris
394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melodi Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melodi Hotel

Address: Kemal Elgin Bulvari 209 Sk. No: 23 Uzunyali, Marmaris 48700, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Marmaris
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#13 Best Value Hotel in Marmaris
#31 On the Beach Hotel in Marmaris
Price Range: $13 - $43 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Melodi Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Melodi Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melodi Hotel Marmaris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing