We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Peaceful, relaxing, but somewhat overpraised…”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
TUI Sensimar Marmaris Imperial Hotel
Ranked #10 of 234 Hotels in Marmaris
England
Level Contributor
305 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 280 helpful votes
“Peaceful, relaxing, but somewhat overpraised…”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2011

With the intention of making this review as useful as possible to future guests I am listing both positive and negative aspects. Overall I rate this hotel highly and stress that the negative points should not be considered to be of more significance than the positive ones.

This is the first holiday booked with Thomson for over four years, after a shocking experience of company indifference to problems encountered on a previous holiday. It was therefore with a degree of trepidation that the decision to go with Thomson was made.

The journey to Marmaris was excellent, from check in to arrival at the Marmaris Imperial. The pre-booked taxi was waiting, was new and was comfortable. Incidentally, costing around the same as a taxi booked locally. Previous experience led us to conclude that the extra cost for what is a good 90 minute journey from airport to resort is well worth it.

First close up of the hotel was somewhat marred by rather hideous and massive Thomson Couples signage. Very tacky and not in keeping with what is actually not a tacky hotel.

Check in was smooth and we were taken to our room (804), by golf buggy. We had booked a suite, purely because there were no rooms available. The suite was ground floor, with a very limited sea view. In my opinion ‘suite’ is somewhat inappropriate. I deduced that the suites are in fact former ‘family rooms’. Our suite comprised fairly small main bedroom with en-suite bathroom (no bath, just large bath shaped shower tray); lounge area with two sofas, coffee table, small TV, tea and coffee making facilities; smaller bedroom with twin beds and smaller separate bathroom. Décor is simple, it is not by any stretch of the imagination luxurious.

The air-conditioning is not good – there are two units, one in main bedroom and one in lounge area – both controlled with remote, but old fashioned and not very efficient. I was too hot even with the air-con on. The en-suite bathroom was very hot, with no extractor fan. I would not like to stay in this room in peak season when temperatures are at least 10 degrees higher.

We had dressing gowns and slippers, the dressing gowns were not of a generous size and were certainly not big enough for my 6 foot husband. Nescafe sachets and Liptons tea bags, coffee mate and sugar were provided, as were plentiful bottle of local water. Mini fridge contained only water.

In terms of toiletries, large dispensers of liquid soap, shampoo and shower gel were provided in each bathroom. No conditioner, soap, moisturiser, tissues (things that I would expect in a 4/5 star hotel, particularly in a suite. Showers were very powerful and water temperature easy to control.

Bedding was supposed to be changed every day, but often dirty top sheets were just folded and left on the bed (rather bizarrely the bed was only made completely prior to arrival), towels were changed every day.

Location of our room was good – only a couple of minutes stroll to sea, reception, bar and restaurant. Some rooms are very high up and far away, though golf buggy transport is available. This place is certainly not for those with mobility problems.
The ‘set up’ of the hotel is good. Very spacious and doesn’t feel overcrowded. No sunbed fighting required, plenty of places with shade or sun. Two swimming pools, the quiet ‘Relax’pool which was close to our room – had a bar and no music or activities. The main pool is adjacent to the main bar and has music and activities, though not over the top and no pressure to join in. Sunbeds on the beach and along the sea front, with good views towards Marmaris and Icmeler.

Main restaurant. Nice choice of places to sit – inside and outside. Lovely views in the evening of setting sun over Marmaris. Never had to wait for a table and no queuing for food. Drinks served to table or help yourself as frequency tended to vary. House wine drinkable – which cannot be taken for granted in all-inclusive hotels.

Food is not exceptional. It is plentiful, but for lunch and dinner focused very heavily on chicken. Fish was full of bones (even salmon trout fillets) and suffered the fate of much of the other food, in that it is way overcooked and dried out (and we like our food well done and not rare). The impression of mass catering with cheap ingredients is given, but without the slow cooking necessary to render, for example, cheap cuts of veal edible.
An extensive array of salads is provided. Soups were usually good. Good fresh bread is provided. At lunch and dinner the Turkish bread with spicy mince was very good. Deserts were very ‘samey’ and often difficult to work out what was what. Fresh fruit was always provided. I don’t want to paint too black a picture of the food – it was good, but not great, but it was always possible to find something to eat. Breakfast was good, though the omelette chefs were a little heavy on the oil.

The process for booking the two a la carte restaurants is silly – you have to go to reception the day before, between 9 and 12 to make a reservation. Although information given to us states that each a la carte is open six days a week, this changed by our second week to each being open only three nights each and of subject to suitable weather (both outside with no cover).

The a la carte Mediterranean restaurant has a very nice setting on the water’s edge. Unfortunately that is the only good thing about it. We arrived a few minutes early, thinking we could have a drink. When we requested a drink we were pointed to the tea and coffee machine, we asked if we could have a glass of wine, waiter said yes and then didn’t bother to get us one. Eventually at the time we had booked we walked towards the tables and were allowed to sit down. Pre-prepared starters and salad were already on the tables (before guests had arrived), not good in 30 degree heat. Service was awful, the worst thing being that it was unfriendly. It became clear that we had to wait until all guests were present. There was nothing a la carte about this apart from choosing a hot starter and main meal – the sullen waiter insisted that we chose our desert before we had eaten anything. Nice. My husband requested that his sirloin steak was medium to well done, pointless as the steak was not sirloin, was tough, overcooked – everyone who ordered steak got the same – school dinners sprang to mind. Anyway, the setting was good, but didn’t bother going there again.

The a la carte Turkish restaurant was a much more pleasant experience. On the roof, there was a lovely view and most importantly, friendly staff. It also helped that the food was freshly cooked and good to eat. Highly recommended.

The entertainment – bit of a misnomer really. Thomson really do need to get this sorted out. The Couple concept is excellent, but falls down when it comes to entertainment.

The resident duo were called Willjamin. The first time we heard them they were a refreshing change, two men in 20s with guitars and gravelly voices – bit Coldplay/Snow Patrol ish. Thought they were guest band and suited as such. (They were on 3 nights a week). As resident band they were not good. Repertoire limited, too narrow and little rapport with audience. Songs were not introduced and only chat was bit of banter between the band. Couple of inoffensive ‘posh’ kids really – not really sure what Thomson were thinking.

However, things were worse on 4 nights of the two weeks we were at the hotel Clover, a truly dire band, comprising a nasally singer and two backing men, appeared. All music seemed to be supplied by synthesisers. Again, no rapport with audience – not even song introduction.

Willjamin and Clover were the only bands. Two nights there is not even a band. ‘Shows’ are held in open air amphitheatre and include films (instead of live entertainment) on a projector screen.

Where the hotel really falls down is when weather is bad. Storms meant that a la carte restaurants were closed, entertainment cancelled and only thing for guests to do was huddle in the main bar – with promise of band playing from 10pm in the restaurant. In the day we were entertained by the odd quiz and a film shown on the aforementioned projector screen. The hotel has no provision for inside entertainment and really should have when it is open until November.

Local buses (dolmus) run regularly into Marmaris and are the cheapest (by far), way to get into town. Marmaris itself is really rather horrid, with a souk full of homogenous poor quality goods being offered by pushy and occasionally unpleasant salesmen. Name of one shop sums up the products – ‘Genuine Fakes’.

The hotel offers a water taxi to Marmaris and Icmeler on market day), which is cheaper than the local taxis which charge equivalent of about £15 each way for the 15 minute journey into Marmaris. It is only £50 to the airport which is 90 minutes. Needless to say the only taxis we saw were parked in taxi rank and not on the road to the hotel.

Wireless internet is available free in reception and in the main bar – reception extends to some areas of main restaurant and the see front. Have to put room number and last four digits of passport in. There are also two laptops in reception for use by guests. Dislike of this ‘big brother’ approach was overridden by desire to get online to use Skype etc. Would be nice if the service was extended to rooms.

Staff are mostly friendly, with a few exceptions unfortunately. What was very surprising in a hotel of this rating was the poor standard of English spoken by many staff. While not critical in some roles, it was a problem when waiting staff had little grasp of English. The problem got worse as our holiday progressed, leading me to conclude that many English speaking staff were students who had started or returned to university.

Although a safe is available in the room, it is charged at 1 Euro per day. Obviously guests need to lock up valuables and so this is guaranteed money for nothing for the hotel.

Return taxi was not impressive. When it was ten minutes late, hotel called Thomson and were advised that it had been ordered 15 minutes later than we had been advised (which would not have been a problem had someone told us). What eventually arrived was tour minibus which sadly seemed to lack decent suspension. Big contrast with taxi on arrival.

Overall very relaxing holiday. The new ‘Couples’ concept is a good one. The lack of children contributing significantly to the peaceful atmosphere. However, entertainment and bad weather provision needs a lot of attention though before I would return to this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank JJEnglandUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,056 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,123
    645
    224
    52
    12
See reviews for
169
2,469
11
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,096)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
tunbridge wells
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2011

This was our fourth visit to this resort. Now it is run by Thomsons, Magic Life having gone bust. The resort is still very good but its branding has now changed to 'couples' and the clientele are largely English rather than the previous eclectic mix of Germans, Austrians, Dutch and a small contingent of English. One of the things that went with Magic Life was the superb entertainment and brilliant bunch of animateurs. Their replacements are a poor shadow.But the format is otherwise much the same. As a place to just chill out it remains excellent value. The staff are still outstandingly good, the food is less ambitious but still plentiful and wholesome, and for the most part it is hard to beat. My view is that the 'couples' branding does not entirely work, probably because the vast majority of customers are elderly OAPs and the impact of so many of them wandering about the site holding hands like teenagers is rather disconcerting if not 'stepford wives'. The loss of clients from a wider cultural mix has resulted. in a rather less demanding customer base and in my opinion the resprt will suffer if it continues to pursue this policy. But overall it remains good value for money albeit a bit more downmarket than it used to be.

Room Tip: If you have any difficulty with climbing steps choose a room near to reception. Otherwise there is a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JulianTunbridgeWells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lymington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
111 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2011

We arrived just before midnight so after checking in & dumping our bags we went to find the bar for a quick drink, great beer, lovely bar area & ideal way to settle in!
There are lots of steps but we wanted to be high up away from the main areas & we soon found the best pathways to & from our cottage, number 329. It was comfortable & very clean. Great to have tea making facilities! The bed was indeed a bit hard for my liking but I asked for extra blankets & put them under the sheet, my husband didn't mind the bed though. The view was fab!
Loved the double sunloungers! Loved the view from the restaurant on the outside terrace looking across the bay to Marmaris! Loved the food & the wine was quite good for an A/I.
We'll definitely go back! This was a really great chill-out holiday in a lovely setting, well away from Marmaris & its bright lights but with everything you needed on site to make for a perfect holiday! Thanks to all the staff!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LindyLooe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south shields
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2011

Myself and my partner have just returned from a week at this hotel following a week's cruise and found it to be just what we wanted, totally relaxing!!
Yes it is off the beaten track but with easy access to marmaris centre if you want it by dolmus, water taxi or normal taxi (dolmus very cheap).
The food was wonderful, plentiful, always hot, very varied and with lots of "show cooking", (as good as on the ship).
Rooms I would say not 5 star but very clean and comfortable, yes a lot of steps but we knew this from the brochure and we had a fab view because of this.
Staff were very good especially Umut in the Olympos Restaurant, he always stopped for a quick chat and kept the tables clean, fetched drinks etc.
We did the walk to the cave with Sara which made a nice change.
If I had to nit pick, it would just be that the beer was watered down, and my other half would gladly have paid for a couple of bottles of Efes but they don't sell it!
The hotel is set in beautiful grounds with it's own beach, hammocks in the gardens, plenty of sunbeds etc.
Entertainment low key but we don't mind this at all.
To finish, I would definitely recommend this hotel, and it's not often I say I will go to the same place twice but we've already checked out the prices for next year!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maureenroach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2011

My partner and I have just returned from a much needed and well earned 9 day stay at the Marmaris Imperial and we could not have been happier with our choice of hotel.

We chose it mainly due to the fact that it's adults only - they advertise it as couples but i don't think this is a hard and fast criteria - and, whilst this won't appeal to all travellers, it certainly appealled to us.

We arrived at the hotel at about 5.45am after an absolutely seemless transfer from Dalaman airport. I know that the purpose of Tripadvisor is to review the hotel but as it's exclusive to Thomsons in the UK i thought it worthwhile to mention. The total transfer time is probably not far off 2 hours as it's about 1.5 hours from the airport to the centre of Marmaris and then a further 15-20 mins by private taxi to the hotel. We were the only couple travelling to the Imperial and sure enough as soon as we pulled up in Marmaris there was a taxi waiting to take us to the hotel (this is all paid for within the transfer so don't panic). We arrived at the hotel to find the receptionist waiting for us along with a bell boy. Check in was so so swift and then we hopped onto the waiting golf buggy to take us to our room.

The other reviews are quite correct, it's a VERY hilly resort. We were in Room 443 and didn't bother to count the number of steps - suffice to say it was many. However, the view was STUNNING. No matter how weary we were from travelling, seeing the sky turn pink as the sun began to rise when we walked onto our balcony that first morning made it all worthwhile!

With regard to the steps, yes there are loads and it's probably not for the faint hearted but if you simply can't bear the thought of walking too and from your room then there's a regular golf buggy service on offer. Just keep your eye out for the timetables which are listed all over the complex. From memory it starts at the top on the hour and then every 30 mins all day long... We chose the "keep fit" routine and walked more often than not although this did restrict my use of stilettoes!!!

The rooms are spacious and well appointed, ok so there are no nice Molton Brown (or similar) toiletries in the rooms but really, whilst these may be convenient for the odd night at a hotel, realistically we all want to use our own preferred brands when we're away on holiday for a week or more!! There are robes and slippers in every room along with spare pillows and a blanket (the beds only have a sheet for a cover), if you need more of either then call reception. Similarly, the beds are fairly hard - for us this was fine as it's what we're used to - but again, if it doesn't suit you then ring reception and they provide mattress toppers. The fridge is regularly stocked with bottled water which is also available freely all over the resort. This was unlike other all-inclusive hotels who have tended to restrict the amount of "free" bottled water available. The point i'm trying to make here is if you want something then ask reception and, wherever possible, they're only too happy to help. For people who want the Savoy then prepare to be disappointed because it's not! It's a fantastic all-inclusive holiday resort. I've stayed at the Savoy (and some claimed "7*" hotels) and they just don't do all-inclusive so why go to an all-inclusive expecting that sort of service?? Especially for the prices of the Imperial!!

The staff are all really friendly (well, we didn't experience any unfriendliness) but they don't all have a fantastic grasp of English (though their English is way better than my Turkish) and this can often come across in quite a curt and abrupt way. But it's not the case, they don't grasp the pleasantries in our language, they use OK as a catch all for hi, bye, thanks and please. It's definitely worth learning a few basic Turkish phrases like please and thankyou and hello because they definitely appreciate the effort. The chefs in the restaurant also seemed to enjoy learning english pronunciation if you can spare the time to talk...

Around and about the hotel and grounds are many beautifully tended garden areas and walk-ways. All spotlessly clean and all with many recycling bins (the hotel makes no secret of their desire to be as eco-friendly as possible). There's also an eco-garden where they list the fruit and vegetables being grown - we even saw the chefs picking chilli's on several occasions!! As with the majority of Turkish hotels, there are cats around and about. But if you don't like them then just don't go near them. They're not particularly pestery but, if you do like them then they're mostly quite approachable. Again, the hotel have accepted the fact that there are cats within the complex and so they've sectioned off a "cat cafe" near the shops and this is regularly topped up with fresh food and water so the cats don't scrounge off the guests or try to get near the restaurants.

Talking of the restaurants, there are 3 to choose from. The main buffet restaurant and 2 a la carte restaurants. The choice of food at the buffet is staggering. For breakfast, lunch AND dinner there's an overwhelming range of foods on offer and i'd be amazed if even the fussiest of eaters didn't end up full!! At all 3 sittings, there are hot and cold options along with freshly cooked alternatives. Try the omelettes at breakfast because they're lovely! The 2 a la carte options are "Harmony" a Mediterranian restaurant sat on stilts just over the shore and "Gunes" a Turkish restaurant which is tucked away above the main buffet restaurant. At the time of our stay we were able to use each a la carte once. But i believe they're amending it next year to just 1 visit to 1 restaurant per stay. If this is true then i recommend the Turkish restaurant Gunes. We saved this for the last night as it was my partners birthday and we weren't disappointed! As both a la carte options are completely outside, they do tend to keep the sittings to earlier in the evening (our reservations were for 7pm both nights) but it's worth it even if you're usually a late diner! The menu's are both fixed with a few options for each course along with a cold starter and a salad course but as there's no a la carte supplementary charge then there's no harm in trying new foods. If all else fails and you hate it, then you can still go to the buffet restaurant for something you do like!!! There are also options available outside of the set meal times. These include the beach bar where a lady sits every afternoon making fresh Turkish pancakes, sweet and savory and they're very more-ish! I had more every day! The Harmony restaurant is a snack bar during the day with pizza and burgers and chips on offer and there are also cakes and little snacks down in the Breeze bar at 4.30pm ish every day. In addition, if you're going on a day trip or out for a few hours then there are a few fridges stocked with fresh sandwiches every day.

I've read many comments about the drinks being weak and i really can't agree (neither can my hangover!!). The beer isn't Stella strength, it's middle of the road lager but as it's available from 10am till midnight, it'd be lunacy to have super strong lager because getting drunk in the sun is never particularly clever (especially when the pool and/or sea are in close proximity). The wine is acceptable, again, if you're expecting Chateau Neuf Du Pape then why are you going to an all-inclusive hotel because that's just not what you get!!! We ordered a bottle of champagne for our last night and it was ready and waiting in an ice-bucket at our table and was more than acceptable. The spirits offered as part of the all inclusive are all local brands but again, they're absolutely fine. However, if you can't stomach anything other than Gordons Gin with your tonic (which is always Schweppes) then you can pay for it but honestly, the local stuff is fine! The free cocktails aren't great but the mojitos which you can buy really are as good as i've had anywhere! The only thing to note is that the beach bar and Harmony bar only have beer and wine (and the usual soft drinks) not spirits! I do agree that they could have a better range of fresh fruit juice but this is only a minor point! The hidden gem is the terrace bar upstairs adjoining the Turkish restaurant. It's not really advertised so we didn't find it until the last night but it was a lovely and relaxing place to sit and enjoy a drink whilst watching the sun set!

The Thomson's rep was fine, we booked 4 trips with her and she sorted them all out straight away and nothing went wrong. I make this point as i've had issues with other tour operators mixing up day trips in the past...

If you want to get out and about then you can, there's a Dolmus every 30 mins from the hotel entrance and it costs about 3 lira to get to Marmaris. Alternatively, there's a water taxi from the pier twice a day. If you do decide to try a day trip then they're all worth it. We did the village tour for a taste of "real" Turkey, a day trip to Rhodes (a bit of a faff getting through customs there and back) which was enjoyable, a day trip to Dalyan including mudbaths and a chance to see loggerhead turtles and the amazing Lycian rock tombs and finally Ephesus which was a very long day (3.5 hours each way) but well worth it if you're into ancient history. We also booked a 2 hour speedboat tour of the bay around Marmaris. This was booked with the watersports centre at the hotel and was excellent value for money. Sarah, the entertainment coordinator also does a 2 hour walk around the peninsula every Saturday at around 4pm. It's not particularly hard going though it is a bit hilly but it's very interesting and takes in a nearby cave along with some more stunning views.

Talking of entertainment, this was the one area that the resort could do to improve on. The resident due Willjammin aren't great, ok they're not terrible, but they're average! They don't seem to play to their audience. We worked out the average age to be around 50 yrs old with plenty of guests well over 60 and i really don't think they want to listen to covers of Stereophonics and Oasis!!! Equally, the DJ isn't a DJ - it's a guy standing there playing dance music (again, probably not to most guests taste) with absolutely NO audience interaction whatsoever. That said, it's not too "in your face" so it's easily avoided. The entertainment in the Amphitheatre is much better, the Mongolian acrobats are AMAZING!!

In summary -

Good bits:

1 - the stunning views
2 - quality and variety of food
3 - the location
4 - the lack of kids (ok so this is a personal thing)
5- the variety of things to do
6 - the Terrace bar

Bad bits:

1 - The entertainment


Seriously, it's that good! I do think that some people go away looking for things to moan about and are only happy when they succeed and if that's the case then so be it. But for the majority of us who just want a pleasant clean and friendly resort then this really is first class.

I could go on and on and ON waxing lyrical about this gem of a hotel but i'll finish here. However, if anyone wants to ask a specific question then please do as i'm only too happy to answer!

Room Tip: If you don't like steps then request a room lower down but accept that this limits your view. If...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Kazzy76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2011

Stuning views ,food very good ,room brilliant (425) plenty of steps but needed after all the food and drink, maid service brilliant flowers on bed and she made a little boat out of towel near to last day very cute.

Food good variety and friendly waiter service for drinks in non smoking terrace in the restaurant.

Downside ,stops at feeder station half way going and coming back from airport.

Little to do at night other than walk around the grounds but having said that Dolmus bus which stops at gate very good and cheap into Marmaris and also hotel boat taxi.

Entertainment (apart from acrobatics ) not very good .
Drinks were not very strong.

Overall nice relaxing holiday.

Room Tip: Room 425 nice view but quite a few steps and no sun on balcony .
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank markmTaunton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsash, Southampton
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2011

We stayed here for two weeks from the 26th Aug and had an absolutely fabulous time. We were in Rm305 (only 84 steps) and an absolutely cracking view out across the marina and towards Marmaris. The sunsets were so magnificent that I think we must have taken at least three shots per day for all of our stay. The slippers and bathrobes were a lovely touch though by 6ft 4 partner struggled a bit with the 'one size fits all' - certainly couldn't open the door to the maid in it!

The room was clean and the housekeeping was to a good standard. On the whole we found all of the staff to be helpful and really friendly with only one slightly miserable exception! We made an effort with our limited Turkish and in return our maids, the grounds staff and all the waiters tried to teach us more.

The double hammocks down past the watersports area are a lovely place to relax in the dappled sunshine and get away from the heat. We understood from the Manager (who is also very approachable and works really hard) that she is getting cushions made for all of the hammocks – though to be fair they are very comfortable without.

The beach area has plenty of fish if you like snorkelling, not exotic species admittedly but interesting to watch. There is always somewhere you can go if you want some solitude and even the pools and beach areas are not too crowded with no issues getting a sunbed (or one of the lovely padded double ones).

We went on a boat trip organised by Thompsons to Turunc and had a really enjoyable day out on the water. Excellent lunch (though you can’t take your own drinks onboard – even water)

The two reps were both really helpful and approachable, trying their hardest to please the diverse range of holiday makers they have. We didn't use the motorised watersports but did go canoeing a lot and really enjoyed paddling out across the bay.

The entertainment is low key which is exactly what the brochure said and just what we wanted, night time acoustic sets from Willjammin (terrible name but good performance!) whilst sat in bean bag chairs with coloured candle lights. They also do more ‘full on entertainment’ such as quizzes, belly dancers and the unbelievable Mongolian acrobats (honestly they are amazing!)

In the daytime the entertainment is there if you want it but neither the relax pool or the main pool is hectic. We spent our day times split between the hammocks and the beach mainly, returning to the Breeze bar for a cheeky beer or two before getting ready in the evenings.

Do make sure you go on the walk to the cave (Saturday at 1730) as it is not a hard walk at all and the cave is much more impressive than you will be anticipating – really is a ‘wow’ factor and also nice and cool in there.

We found the food very varied with freshly made salads, and daily specials. We would have liked even more Turkish food but they have to cater for the more unadventurous amongst us. I defy anyone to not find something they like to eat at each meal. At breakfast please do try the fresh honeycomb, its absolutely gorgeous. Lunches in the main restaurant can be as big or small as you want and sandwiches are available at the beach bar as well or a slightly larger lunch at the Mediterranean restaurant. Again at dinner there is a wide selection of salads and meat with bread and desserts and I must have eaten my body weight in Baklava!

Our only real comment is that it would be nice to have the bar by the Mediterranean restaurant open during the day (and not just at lunchtime) so you could get a beer or other drink down in the hammock area.

The hotel provides beach towels so you don't need to take any and the gym is very good (if somewhat hot). There is a lovely small roof top bar above the main restaurant which is open at night and generally very quiet.

Free wifi is available in the Breeze bar and there are two laptops you can use if you can't bear to be away from it all!

Finally make sure that you have food to take with you to Dalaman airport (you can take it through with you) as the airport is so ridiculous expensive.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank triphappyWarsash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marmaris hotels
3.9 mi away
Casa De Maris Spa & Resort Hotel
3.7 mi away
D-Resort Grand Azur
D-Resort Grand Azur
#11 of 234 in Marmaris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,165 reviews
3.7 mi away
Blue Bay Platinum Hotel
Blue Bay Platinum Hotel
#19 of 234 in Marmaris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Elegance Hotels International, Marmaris
3.8 mi away
SunConnect Grand Ideal Premium
3.9 mi away
Hotel Cettia Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TUI Sensimar Marmaris Imperial Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TUI Sensimar Marmaris Imperial Hotel

Property: TUI Sensimar Marmaris Imperial Hotel
Address: Adaagzi Mevkii | Yalanci Bogaz, Marmaris 48700, Turkey (Formerly Marmaris Imperial Hotel)
Location: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Marmaris
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Marmaris
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Marmaris
#3 Luxury Hotel in Marmaris
#9 Romantic Hotel in Marmaris
#29 Family Hotel in Marmaris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — TUI Sensimar Marmaris Imperial Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 281
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your TUI Sensimar Marmaris Imperial Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Magic Life Hotel Marmaris
Magic Life Marmaris
Marmaris Magic Life Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing