We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“dont see what the fuss is about!!!!!!!!!!”
Review of Club Dorado Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Club Dorado Hotel
Ranked #91 of 234 Hotels in Marmaris
Reviewed October 28, 2013

I visited club dorado three times this year!!
I cannot see what the fuss is about, really really annoys me people who slate this hotel just because it isn't a 5*. If you want 5* treatment don't go for a budget holiday, you get what you pay for. The staff are lovely and very welcoming. Food is absolutely fine, rooms are livable and fine too. Yes the pool doesn't get sunlight much BUT the beach is literally five minutes walk down the road to the right is a beach where you get no hassle and don't have to buy a drink to use the sunbeds, OR you could go and turn left and pay for a drink to use the sunbed all day. I cannot fault this hotel what so ever i will defiantly return to this hotel when ever i come to marmaris!! I enjoyed it that much that i am hopefully working their next year for the season April - November so if you return you will see my smiley self :) Please don't let the bad reviews put you off!!!!! :)

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank claire w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ibrahim s, General Manager at Club Dorado Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2013

Dear claire w
Thanks for your review and the kind comments about the hotel. You make a fair point about the rating and we will continue to strive to offer a value for money proposition to those whose budget does not stretch to afford 4 or 5 star luxury. Glad you enjoyed the food and found the location good for beach access. We hope to see you again in 2014.

Kind regards from the staff and management at Club Dorado.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (790)
There are newer reviews for Club Dorado Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

337 - 343 of 790 reviews

Reviewed October 27, 2013

ok its not the best but its not the worst iv stayed at the food is better than some we stayed at before with a good choice 7 year old granddaughter always found some thing she liked as did 16 year old the pool is cold as you have to chase the sun all day to get a tan the noise of some guests does need to be looked at as its not fair on others the main bar only opens at night so walking to get a drink is a drag so is the plastic glasses all in all not bad for the price you pay so don't be to to put off at other reviews its a clean tidy place

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EastYorkshire62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ibrahim s, General Manager at Club Dorado Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2013

Dear paul g
Firstly we would like to thank-you for your review heading, ‘value for money’, that is our mission statement! We are pleased to note you have reviewed lots of hotels and that you found ours to offer food that was enjoyed by your grandchildren. Nice to know that you found the hotel clean and tidy. Sorry about the plastic glasses but they are required for safety around the pool area. We have tried various designs this year and the ones we use seem to be the most suitable for dishwasher use. Thanks for mentioning the noise issue, hopefully future guests will read your comment and pay more respect to the needs of their fellow guests. We will ensure our welcome pack makes mention of this. Thanks for taking the time to write your review.
Best wishes from all at Club Dorado.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2013

7 of us have just returned from the hotel after a 2 week holiday, we had a great time, we came last year at the same time and enjoyed it so much we came again.
The hotel is spotless, the maids clean your room every day and put in fresh towels daily.
The meals are great, good choice every meal, people are commenting that you dont get full english, what do you expect for what you pay, but for 6 lira they will provide you with one.
Lots of people complain on here, why not complain while you are there , where it can be easily sorted out.
The staff are amazing cant do enough for you.I have seen comments that they perv on teenage girls, well we went with 3 teenage girls 2 at 15 years one at 17 and never once did any member of staff harass them, they were real gentlemen.
The only complaint I have about my holiday was the rude english people that spoke to the lads rudely, that tried to provoke fights with them, that brought in there own drinks when all inclusive had finished despite the drinks being dirt cheap, really makes you feel proud to be british doesnt it,
Why not try the Dorado for yourself, I guarantee you will have a great time, its like home from home , where the staff treat you like a member of their family and not a guest.

Room Tip: Top floors have amazing views
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Les J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ibrahim s, Owner at Club Dorado Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2013

Dear Les J
Thanks Les for your review about your holiday in October. We are pleased you found the hotel clean and comfortable and make a fair point about people making complaints when they are here. We listen very carefully to any complaints and note that very few people report that their issues remained unresolved after reporting them to the local management. Thanks for your kind comments about our staff. You make another fair point that respect and manners should be mutual and that extends to the type of poor behaviour you have detailed when some try to operate their own bar after the all-inclusive one has finished. We are pleased you would recommend us for families and look forward to serving you and your family again in the near future.
All the very best from the owners and staff of Club Dorado.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2013

Have just got back from a weeks stay.....first time in marmaris.

Good points:

Marmaris is lovely...met some lovely people.
Check in was swift
Cleaners did a good job

Bad points:

Where do I start.....first stating I am no snob and have been to 3 stars before but this is just getting a 2 in my opinion. Firstly me and my boyfriend arrived at 4:20am no double room we booked just push ur beds together. In the room the lights were flashing and went off...was half painted. ..shower leaked everywhere was dirty and moth hole bedding. Complained in the morning and where moved to a double which was a little better.

Food- absolutely awful....ate out 90% of the time and when I did eat there I ended up in hospital. Chef puts the bins out with his apron on. They serve porridge and what looked like hotdogs for breakfast....chicken nuggets for dinner and mostly chicken for tea time.

Drinks- watered down big time.....beer, gin or vodka with rola cola. Served in a kids plastic cup.

Staff- mostly young boys who hit on young girls. Dont really care will keep u waiting so they can mess about.

No entertainment which probably because of end of season.

Poolside- sun does not go on the pool and definitely does not stay all day by 2/3 gone entirely.

Would definitely not recommended going to this hotel. Would not go back if I was paid to. I went because I read reviews on here and they were good which is deceiving.

If you do go.....go across to 7th street restaurant staff are lovely and food and drink great.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jane2887
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ibrahim s, Public Relations Manager at Club Dorado Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2013

Dear jane2887
Cheers for your review and for the positives at the outset. You asked for and were provided with a room exchange so we consider that we provided a satisfactory solution to the problem that was reported. Not sure what to make of the comments about the food other than you were disappointed. It is impossible to determine accurately what the source was that caused your illness but if you ate out 90% of the time it is more than likely not to have been caused by anything consumed at our hotel. The selection of foods offered are as good if not better than most similar standard hotels and our kitchen staff comply with all health and safety requirements. They have to as hotels are regularly inspected both by local government and by tour operators to ensure standards are maintained. Drinks are served around the pool area in plastic glasses for safety reasons and we do not dilute any of the drinks provided at any of our bars. Many of our guests have reported the generous measures they receive both at the all-inclusive and pool bar on this website. Entertainment is less available in late season due to the performers returning to education and we have clearly stated in many responses that the sun exposure in October is limited at the hotel but we provide free transport to and from a local beach daily. It’s a bit unfair to state that other people’s opinions are deceiving because they do not match your own. All opinions are valid and we take account of all serious comments made on this and other websites from our customers. We wish you luck with your future trips and hope you are more satisfied with future accommodation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2013

This is the second girls holiday I have been on to turkey, my first time at this hotel. I have to say i couldn't have wished for a better holiday! We stayed from 8th Oct for 7 nights. There is plenty to do surrounding the hotel with different bars and shops to go to. You do get what you pay for, the rooms are very basic but who stays in the hotel room when on holiday anyway?! There was plenty to choose from food wise, they served something different everyday. The staff were very pleasant and looked after us well! We did have a mishap with our shower curtain as it kept falling down but once we reported it, the staff couldn't help enough and we had a brand new one put in by that afternoon. I also had my phone stolen by one of the guests but, again, the staff couldn't help enough and after a couple of hours these guests then handed my phone into reception. I was extremely grateful for the way the staff handled it and the help they gave me!
Admittedly, when it comes to the all inclusive drinks, there wasn't a lot on offer and it wasn't the branded stuff such as coca cola or fanta etc but it was drinkable, and as for the beer, I have seen some reviews slating it.. It really wasn't that bad! As I said earlier on in the review, you get what you pay for! You can't expect 5* qualities in a 3* hotel.
The evenings were quite cold and we had to buy ourselves jackets but at the time of year we went, I suppose it was to be expected as it was approaching their winter time.
Us 3 girls really enjoyed ourselves and thank you to the rep Ray, and waiters Amet, Jaheed, Engin and barmen Simon and Mahmut. Our holiday wouldn't have been the same without you!!
We will more than likely be coming back again next year. Thank you for such a great week!

Room Tip: There wasn't a fitness centre and we didn't use the spa so couldn't rate them! We stayed...
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sofie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ibrahim s, Owner at Club Dorado Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2013

Dear Sofie S
We are pleased you had a good holiday with us in October. Nice to know you felt the food and accommodation met your expectations. We are pleased you got good service from our staff and that they handled a difficult situation to your satisfaction. We are glad that you liked the drinks and you thought the beer was OK! You make a very fair point highlighting the difference between the star ratings of hotels and we aim to provide a good standard of service for the price guests pay. Thanks for the mentions for the staff. We think they work quite hard for long hours every day and they will appreciate your kind words. We look forward to receiving your booking for 2014 and hope we can provide you with another memorable holiday in Marmaris.
All the very best from the Club Dorado staff and management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2013 via mobile

Stopped for a week.
Had my jacket stolen on 2nd night.
Never found food good enough to eat.
Drinks watered down unless you pay at bar for proper drinks. Rooms are basic.
Balcony door wouldn't lock.
Toilet broken and held together with insulation tape.
Staff ignorant.
Not really any sun over pool terrace for sun bathing.
Shower dribbles out iv stopped in a lot better in marmaris.

Wouldn't come back here.
Not worth the 250 we paid at all.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ibrahim s, Director of Sales at Club Dorado Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2013

Dear John H
It never ceases to amaze us how different opinions can be from guests visiting the same hotel at the same period. Our drinks are not ‘watered down’ and the same local brands are provided at the pool bar as the all-inclusive. We have a full selection of imported spirits of course at our pool bar. Sounds like some room maintenance could have fixed the issues mentioned and had they been reported they would have been attended to swiftly. The sun as others have stated is limited in October but we provide a free bus to a local beach for those who enjoy long day’s sun bathing. £250 per person is not a high price to pay for a holiday including flights from the UK to Turkey, transfers, accommodation, entertainment, food and drinks! Perhaps you should consider paying a bit more next time if you want a 4 or 5 star experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2013 via mobile

Do not come to this hotel. The beer was awful, no service at bar, food was awful. We was ill for 4 days from the food and drink. The whole place was so noisy and echoed around everywhere. Room was ok, basic. Nowhere near enough sun loungers around the pool

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Wade1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ibrahim s, Public Relations Manager at Club Dorado Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2013

Dear Wade1960
We were disappointed that you did not find the hotel service poor. As has been stated previously we are not able to completely control the noise levels and rely on guests respecting others to avoid disturbance. We cannot comment about personal illness but note that there was no report of any others affected at the time of your stay. Each year 1000s enjoy the beer here but it’s a matter of personal taste, of course! Comment has been made about sun lounger availability previously and it is something we are trying to find a solution for with the limited space we have available around the pool area. We will do our best and hope you find a holiday that more suits your needs next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marmaris hotels
0.8 mi away
Hermes Hotel
Hermes Hotel
#44 of 234 in Marmaris
747 reviews
0.8 mi away
Adonis Hotel Marmaris
Adonis Hotel Marmaris
#64 of 234 in Marmaris
49 reviews
0.7 mi away
Aegean Princess
Aegean Princess
#40 of 234 in Marmaris
462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Oasis Hotel
Oasis Hotel
#80 of 234 in Marmaris
73 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ekin Hotel
Ekin Hotel
#69 of 234 in Marmaris
296 reviews
0.4 mi away
Soykan Hotel
Soykan Hotel
#180 of 234 in Marmaris
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Club Dorado Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Dorado Hotel

Address: Merkez Mahallesi Sehit Ahmet Benler Caddesi Sayar Sokak No 2, Marmaris 48700, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Marmaris
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #91 of 234 Hotels in Marmaris
Price Range: $18 - $56 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Club Dorado Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Club Dorado Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ares Hotel Armutalan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing