We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“needed a good clean”
Review of Karatas Apart Otel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Karatas Apart Otel
Reviewed September 9, 2012

We do not expect 5 star accom for what we paid but i am sure everyone expects there holiday accom to be clean,first of all the location is great,the pool area was clean and the barman was friendly.
As for the actual apartment,the bedroom furniture was disgusting and net curtain was the same,towels actually looked like they had never been washed it looked like blood stains on them.
Bathroom was filthy,then in the living area there was the dirtiest carpet with cigarette burns on it,no cooker but a cooker hood? the only good thing was a new fridge in it,on the balcony the ashtray was over flowing and the floor was filthy.
We went downstair to complain but they were not interested so we called the rep we said just change our room and as long as its clean we will stay but still no luck from the hotel management,The rep could not find us another place to stay so we ended up buying bleach and we both scrubbed the place and put the carpet out the door.
To be honest if the management had done this we would have been ok about it all but they did not care and it took 3 days for them to get us a new 2 ring cooker.
We have stayed many places all over Turkey but Karatas is the dirtiest place we have ever been,i am sure other aparts in the block were much better or cleaner than ours and if the management had even said they were sorry and cleaned the place then that would have been enough for us but their attitude was could not care less which is a shame because like i said the location was great and if they spent a bit of money on refurbing they could
make more money and people would come back..
I rated 1 for the location certainly not for cleanliness or the management or owner as they need to realise people will complain if they are not happy and in tourism you have to listen to your customers.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
3  Thank yazz73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (46)
There are newer reviews for Karatas Apart Otel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

34 - 40 of 46 reviews

Reviewed September 7, 2012

I have just returned from these apartments and whilst I like to write as positive a review about most places I stay in regular in Turkey it is hard for me to find much good to say about here along with a hotel I spent 2 nights in of which I will review after this.

When a hotel takes a booking and its stated clearly the guest is ill/disabilities the last thing you do is drive them mentally insane by placing them in the apartment by the pool and bar where every single night for 2 weeks we was kept awake by the very loud large family who took over the bar area along with the waiter and blasted out the music until 5am every morning and were so loud it was not reasonable. I appreciate people want a holiday and fun but that was too much. It is unreasonable when everywhere else turns the music down at midnight and guests and bar staff stayed up so long it left us needing to sleep during the day through lack of sleep during the night every night. They were so loud it was shocking and the apartment managers and owners did not deal with it probably because they were more interested in making money from the bar than anything else. The waiter was eventually sacked almost 2 weeks later and still they were awake at 7am one morning after he was sacked and they were still going strong and being served drinks and making a lot of noise.

I was even more disgusted at 2 women messing around is the polite way of putting it with 2 men they met that night outside my bedroom window. 4am in the morning and doing what i consider to be disrespectful things in a public place down the side of the apartments for all to hear especially us as it was directly outside the bedroom window. I was shocked when the staff asked me who it was and to describe them and I told them I was not so stupid as to pop my head out of the window and take a description of who was having sex outside my window. Another guests also complained at hearing them as it went on long enough and she was very upset because she had a young child. I ended up having 2 cups of tea and putting on my mp3 player just so I didnt have to hear it any longer. Im not sure if my mp3 player ran out before they did but they then went onto have yet more drinks.

The hotel didnt inform me my holiday company had tried contacting me several times as I wanted to be moved and the hotel then offered me an apartment at the top of the building and I could barely walk. When I said it was not appropriate the young lad working there told me I was offered a change and I was being un acceptable for not accepting it and I pointed out as they had no lift how did he intend for me to walk up all those flights of stairs every day with a disability that affects my waking,. He was rude and showed no care.

The apartments are run down and very ill equipped. The bedroom door was rotten all at the bottom. The kitchen had just 2 knives and forks and no knives for cutting and no bowls, just one frying pan and no other pots or pans at all. It is the worst equipped self catering apartments I have stayed in and ive stayed in a few. The bedroom window did not open and when forced open it nearly fell off and then we couldnt close it which was a disadvantage on the night of the above para. The apartments need repairs done and im shocked they have not been repaired as they are clearly long term outstanding repairs. I came back to my apartment several times to the front door open and still unsure why. I know it was locked when I left. Maybe a faulty door lock. The net curtains were extremely dirty and the curtains that are supposed to give privacy were so broken they were hanging up by 2 clips and it fell off by the maids hands and she left it on the sofa. We had no privacy at all so every night we could be seen by all at the pool and bar if we had the lights on.

One day whilst familiar with the extra taps ie bidet I noticed a leak behind the toilet and I was stupid enough to try and tighten it and that was a mistake. The tap fell off in my hand and water was like a mini fountain that shot out over the toilet and onto the floor and I couldnt stop it as the tap was in my hand. A little while later, a flooded bathroom floor that I skidded on whilst trying to seek advice from my FB friends on my mobile on how to sort it out and finally i replaced it and turned it off.

The plug sockets are dangerous and sparked when taking out plugs and hanging off the walls and need urgent repair and renewing.

The wireless didnt work most of the time and every day they said they were getting it repaired or they said everyone else had the same problem with their wireless which wasnt true and just a brush off. the staff were not very good although a ladies husband spoke good English and was very helpful with my computer. he was very polite and nice.The only decent one there with his great young son.

The reception lady contacted my holiday company after i got worried as to why they still hadnt tried to contact me back after all that time only to find out they had and the staff didnt tell me they had contacted me. She then tried to charge me for the privilege of calling the holiday company which she didnt want to do and probably because she knew they had tried to contact me and i wasnt told. She then called a rep on her mobile whilst I was on the phone and he turned up and I dont know who he reps for but he was awful. He arrived during the call to my holiday company i booked with and I had to ask him to not interrupt my call as he kept interupting. After my call he bullied me and demanded to take me to the police station because I stated i was on morphine as he refused to believe I was ill even though it was stated on my booking and he felt I should take a trip with him to the police for using a controlled drug. I then had to get him my medical letters partly soaked by the noisy guests children who soaked my bag. I gave him the medical proof and i was so distressed I walked off and left him standing there. Very rude man. He wasnt even my rep so not even sure why he decided he had a right to get involved in my situation. He wanted me to withdraw my complaints. No chance.

I extended my stay elsewhere as I was so ill by the time my due day home arrived from lack of sleep and I will never recommend this place unless you want chaos. Its cheap and poorly managed but theres many cheap places that are well equipped and good places to be, Its just a shame they were fully booked at the time I booked to stay here as a last resort. The owner lives on the ground floor and was useless and cant speak hardly any english at all which was a general problem with the staff.

If you want an uncontrolled drinking party this is the place for you.

Room Tip: book somewhere else
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tess333England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

just back from these apartments had a great time
loved our room overlooking the pool
the cleaning staff where great, and the management and bar staff where very hospitable
its in a great location with lots of great places to eat,

Room Tip: we liked rooms overlooking the pool buy air condition , and request non smoking room if this appli...
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank 504mary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2012

In a party of 4 we travelled to marmaris 18th june 2011,we were supposed to be staying at The Myra but there was aproblem with room,so we were put over the road into these apartments.
We found them clean and spacious, there was air con paid locally.The pool was great we were the only ones around it for two days but it was never full sun all day long round pool .
Alin was runing aparts he was very helpful asked what drinks we liked and went and got them put behind bar ,it was one of our partys birthday while we were there, Alin and the owner put some fresh fruit out on bar for us and brought us a drink,very thoughtful.
We would definetly stay here again,it was quite to sleep on a night but close to beach and all bars and restarants.

Room Tip: rooms overlooking pool are a bit quieter,although rooms at front were ok as music was turned down at...
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank beverley t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carina A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: June 2016, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Alpharooms
1  Thank Karsten K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2015, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Merel d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marmaris hotels
1.0 mi away
No photo provided
Guldal Hotel
#172 of 234 in Marmaris
9 reviews
1.1 mi away
Kamelya Apart Hotel
Kamelya Apart Hotel
#126 of 234 in Marmaris
10 reviews
1.1 mi away
Julian Marmaris
Julian Marmaris
#50 of 234 in Marmaris
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Blue Palace Apartments
Blue Palace Apartments
#46 of 234 in Marmaris
396 reviews
1.1 mi away
JDW Design Hotel
JDW Design Hotel
#65 of 234 in Marmaris
122 reviews
1.3 mi away
Blue Bay Platinum Hotel
Blue Bay Platinum Hotel
#23 of 234 in Marmaris
2,709 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Karatas Apart Otel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Karatas Apart Otel

Address: Kemal Elgin Bulvari No: 56, Marmaris 48700, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Marmaris
Hotel Style:
Ranked #62 of 98 Specialty Lodging in Marmaris
Price Range: $13 - $27 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Karatas Apart Otel 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Karatas Apart Otel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing