We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Charming hotel we want to revisit”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Dost Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Dost Hotel
Ranked #1 of 81 Marmaris B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Seville, Spain
Level Contributor
55 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Charming hotel we want to revisit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

We loved this hotel. It is a relatively small hotel run by a couple (he Turkish, she British). We got there fairly late in the evening (22:30-ish) and the adorable young man who was on duty helped us into our on-site parking, carried our bag, and was generally quite welcoming.

The hotel room was nicely appointed with a larger-than-usual bathroom for small Turkish hotels. The usual caveats about Turkish hotel toilets and bedding apply: Turkish toilets generally are not the best on flushing things down, especially toilet paper, and you are instructed not top put paper into the toilet. Rather, the toilets typically come with a bidet nozzle that you turn on to clean yourself rather than wiping. Toilet paper is used only to dry your bottom after washing with the bidet jet. The toilet paper is put into a covered waste container rather than flushed down. (This pertains to western-style sit toilets, not the Turkish eastern squat toilets you will sometimes encounter in public W.C. facilities, where the ritual is a bit different.) Typical Turkish hotel beds have bottom sheets but no top sheet. Instead there is some sort of light cotton blanket or coverlet that functions as blanket and top sheet.

The hotel is very conviently located three doors down from the central square of the town, and two blocks from the beach. Close enough to everything, restaurants, shopping etc. but with the cozy feel of an intimate and personal experience. The hotel building is surrounded on three sides by a wonderful pergola lush with bunches of ripening grapes and even watermelon blossoms (I’d love to see watermelons dangling from the arbor) underneath which are the seating areas for eating and drinking.

While we were relaxing over beers, the owners showed up, introduced themselves, and we had a good chat about the recent unrest in Turkey and the general economic situation in Turley and Europe. They were delightful hosts.

Our stay in the hotel was brief: Just overnight before catching the ferry to the Greek Island of Rhodes for several days visit. We needed to leave for the ferry about 7:30 whereas normal breakfast hours start at 8. The owners insisted that we have breakfast at 7. It was the usual Turkish breakfast buffet: olives, meat slices, cheeses, tomatoes, cucumbers, watermelon, bread, spreads, yogurt, and beverages augmented by cereals and wonderful just out of the frying pan fried eggs sunny-side up with runny yolks (safe to eat in the EU and Turkey but not in the USA)—a wonderful treat for me.

Our only regret about the hotel is that we did not stay there longer. We hope to return again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    40
    15
    2
    1
See reviews for
41
75
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Caloundra, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

This hotel has a great atmosphere and location being right in the middle of the happenings in Marmaris, although we did wonder if the traffic ever stops, the view from our balcony was ever changing. The breakfast mmmm the greek yoghurt was a hit with me, with honey on top mmmm

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank allenred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KwaZulu-Natal
Level Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2013

After spending a week on a Gulet cruise, it was a wonderful surprise to see the size of our room, we had booked a suit with balcony (room 205), it was immaculately clean, comfortable and sunny, the en-suite bathroom had a very large shower with plenty of pressure. The Manager was so helpful and very kindly collected us from the harbour upon our disembarkment from the Gulet. Breakfast was typically Turkish with a variety of cheeses, fruit, yoghurt, olives, eggs, bread, tomatoes, juice, tea and coffee etc. just right for starting your day. The room rates were reasonable and all the staff were very friendly. Would not hesitate to recommend this Otel and would certainly return if visiting Marmaris again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zini6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

Stayed here for one night before our cruise on 3rd June. The owners and staff were very friendly and so helpful. Delightful rooms, clean, fresh and very welcoming with lovely comfortable beds. Breakfast served on the front terrace which is covered with grape vines, serving cheese, fruit, bread, olives, tomatoes etc, with tea, coffee or juice. This hotel was certainly a good find and I would definately recommend it.

Room Tip: Rooms to the back of the hotel are much quieter as there is a main road at the front of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Loobi_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Wales
Level Contributor
56 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013

We spent just under a week in the Dost and will most definitely be returning!
The location is central, roughly two blocks from the seafront. The family and staff are friendly, welcoming and knowledgeable.
Our room was lovely, tastefully decorated + spotlessly clean, with a balcony, kettle, mugs, fridge, hairdryer, safe, air con, flat screen tv & satellite all included + Wi Fi.
In addition, an extra touch was sachets of complimentary tea & coffee and 'otel dost' slippers individually wrapped. Our sheets & towels were changed every day.
Great water pressure & lots of hot water in the shower.
Breakfast is served between 8-10 and was lovely, there was cereal and a selection of fresh fruit, tomato, cucumber, cheese, olives, jam, honey, meat, eggs boiled or fried, fresh bread, juice, tea, coffee, very nice.
The Dost has a swimming pool, which is located just over the road, above the shops. Again, a lovely pool and bar, where you can relax & enjoy cold drinks and perfect, fresh, tasty food that is prepared & served by Natalie for a very fair price.
Natalies' Tuna melt is one of our favourites and lovely ham salad sandwiches, no one makes them quite like her! ;)
A perfect, relaxing break, thank you Ibo, Nat, family & staff.
We will definitely be coming back!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MMooNorthWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria. Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2013

Spaced out with jet lag after a straight 36 hours journey, we arrived at Hotel Dost wanting nothing more than a clean bed and shower that worked. What we found was an unpretentious little hotel and a friendly bloke who insisted on carrying both our packs up three flights of stairs to our modest but meticulously clean room with ensuite and balcony.
The bathroom was small, sparkling and newly renovated. The bed was crisply clean and comfortable, slightly on the firm side but relief to an aching back and the doors and windows fully opened allowed for a refreshing night's sleep without having to resort to air conditioning.
Hotel Dost is very much a family affair, with three generations contributing to make it a welcoming, pleasant base for countless returning guests. We were told by a young family member that the name simply means "Friendly" and that's just how we found it.
There's a cool vine covered meals area where we enjoyed a tasty breakfast each morning (sensational yoghurt), free wifi and a location just minutes from the beach promenade and an easy stroll to the centre of bustling Marmaris town. There is a lane to the rear that is a perfect park space if you have a car and you only have to wander past Grandmother's veggie patch to get there.
Do be prepared to be a little creative if you want to use the in-room mini fridge as the electricity is switched off when you remove your key from the slot. However there are chilled beers available at reception at a very fair price.

Room Tip: Our room was perfectly adequate for short stay but if you're planning a longer visit then you ma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Biniberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2013

We spent a week in this lovely hotel. The staff were very friendly, and the rooms were great - no extra charge for air conditioning or the use of the safe. Nice TV in the rooms which we didn't use, but it's there if you want it - and you don't need to pack a hairdryer. The breakfast was basic but very nice and the breakfast area is very cosy, on a patio covered in vine leaves. Also felt safe as there was always a member of staff on duty at the bottom of the stairs leading up to the rooms.

The promenade is just a few minutes walk away. We can recommend turning right when you reach the seafront and spending time on the beach loungers in front of a bar/restaurant called Bono. Sunbeds are free and although you are not obliged to use the bar, it is polite to do so. The food is lovely and not expensive. The waiters are really friendly and you can order to eat on the beach or in the trendy outside bar area which even has fans spraying a fine mist to cool you down.

We can't wait to come back.

Room Tip: Liaise with the owner about the type of room you need. He is very helpful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon190786
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marmaris hotels
1.7 mi away
D-Resort Grand Azur
D-Resort Grand Azur
#11 of 234 in Marmaris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,164 reviews
1.0 mi away
Supreme Hotel Marmaris
Supreme Hotel Marmaris
#43 of 234 in Marmaris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 484 reviews
1.1 mi away
Club Viva Hotel
Club Viva Hotel
#39 of 234 in Marmaris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Blue Bay Platinum Hotel
Blue Bay Platinum Hotel
#19 of 234 in Marmaris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,399 reviews
2.3 mi away
Casa De Maris Spa & Resort Hotel
1.9 mi away
SunConnect Grand Ideal Premium
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dost Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dost Hotel

Property: Dost Hotel
Address: Org. Mustafa Muglali Cad. No: 74, Marmaris 48700, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Marmaris
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 81 B&Bs / Inns in Marmaris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Dost Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Dost Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing