We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely pool and service”
Review of Dost Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Dost Hotel
Ranked #1 of 78 Marmaris B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely pool and service”
Reviewed July 14, 2012 via mobile

Me and my partner didn't stay at the otel dost, however we did use the pool on numerous occasions throughout our holiday. We found it fab, the pool was very clean and the service was superb. No hassling, and when you wanted food or drink the barmaid was more than happy to provide this. Lovely friendly staff and a great place to chill out. I would definitely recommend it here :-) happy holidays

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Kyle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    44
    16
    2
    1
See reviews for
45
79
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2012

While this hotel looked quite good on the website, it is very outdated! 70's style decor, tiny bathroom, stairs up to rooms (no lift available), quite noisy and no outlook. The pool to the hotel is across the road - I presumed shared by another hotel. We didn't go there to swim, but on the website the picture of the pool makes you think that the hotel surrounding it is actually Dost Hotel - its not! Breakfast is very basic. Its only about 1 block walk down to the harbour area of Marmaris, so location is quite good. We were only there 1 night on our way to take the ferry the following day to Rhodes - so it was bearable.

Room Tip: Our room was 2nd floor, stair up to room from ground level, tiny balcony but too noisy. Not sure if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cathy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sighip
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2012

Stayed here 1 night in June, we wanted a cheap place to stay before catching the ferry early the following day.

Rooms: What we weren't expecting were the wonderfully large and modern rooms. It felt like a recently done modern flat in a western europe country, nothing at all like a hotel or B&B. Aircon worked great; controller let you set the temperature rather than just on/off. The bathroom was just as modern as the bedroom & living area, and the shower had great pressure and temperature. Beds comfortable; you'll get a good night sleep here.

Cleanliness: Only stayed 1 night, so can only comment on the cleanliness upon arrival, which it was. Nothing was dirty.

Location: About 3 blocks back from the beach, in an area that's about midway along the beach of Marmaris itself. So a 8-10 minute walk to the Marina, which isn't too bad. To the nearest beach it is about 1.5 mins away. There is a supermarket about 30 seconds walk around the corner, whose prices are for locals not tourists.

Service: The guy who greeted us was very nice, and so to was the person operating breakfast. We arrived late at night intending to catch the ferry the next day, and the man arranged for tickets to the ferry. At first we thought he was going to charge us too much, but once we got to the wharf we discovered the price was about right (42 EUR one way). Only gripe is not to do with hotel service, but with their ferry service where they said they provide a free shuttle. This isn't the case for one way bookings, so we were left waiting for 15-20mins for a shuttle that never arrived and ended up having to take a taxi (15 Turkish Lira).

Breakfast: The breakfast was above average compared to most Turkish hotels I've stayed in, although just average by western standards. That being said, I wouldn't (and didn't) complain.

Value: Great. SO much cheaper than a upmarket hotel, and yet far better quality rooms (a world apart, in my opinion).

Overall: It's a no-brainer, we'd definitely book here again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sighip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2012

Best bit about this hotel is the very friendly staff, I even had a lift to the port to catch my ferry at the end of my stay. The hotel is in a good location 10 minutes walk to the bazaar and the marina and only 5 minutes walk the opposite direction to the bars that line the sea front. There is also a big supermarket opposite the hotel and an excellent small shop nearby that does lovely half roast chickens on a rotating spit for take away. The rooms are fine, however when I was there I did have to move rooms due to a noisy water pump on the roof. The owner said he was getting it replaced so that should not be a problem in future. Breakfast was ok. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: There is a main road to the front so try to get a room at the side. The ones facing west have nice b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank chris l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2012

The Hotel Dost punches well above its weight. Our room was larger than you would expect at these rates, very clean and well presented. Bathroom small but functional, and there was even a balcony! Our host, Ibrahim, was genuinely friendly and always helpful. Breakfast was simple but adequate, and served in a delightful area under a grapevine.

The location is very handy, there is a supermarket and pharmacy across the road, and you are a five minute walk to the waterfront with the market area another five minutes and lots of restaurants from which to choose. The pool across the road (part of the hotel) was not open while we were there (early June) but from other reports, we could see it would be good.

Really excellent value all round.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Greg B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 10, 2012

A lovely place with a balcony and room to move around in. Didn't have to be on to of each other. Breakfast standard Turkish breakfast but close to everything without having to pay the big amout. Great value and lovely people running it

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Idreeve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2011

We decided on hotel dost because of the price and were lucky that the hotel was so close to the water and the bazaar. The hotel is very neat and clean. The room is small but since we were there only to sleep as we were out all day it did not matter. The hotel is conveniently located and the owner is wonderful and very helpful. It was because of him our stay in Marmaris was great and comfortable. I would definately recommend this hotel to anybody who wants to be close to all the hustle and bustle.It was a great experience.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank anju c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marmaris hotels
0.5 mi away
Club Aida
Club Aida
#2 of 234 in Marmaris
1,462 reviews
0.1 mi away
Supreme Hotel Marmaris
Supreme Hotel Marmaris
#50 of 234 in Marmaris
511 reviews
1.0 mi away
D-Resort Grand Azur
D-Resort Grand Azur
#14 of 234 in Marmaris
1,281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Club Anastasia
Club Anastasia
#7 of 234 in Marmaris
1,985 reviews
0.3 mi away
Yunus Hotel
Yunus Hotel
#46 of 234 in Marmaris
197 reviews
0.7 mi away
Poseidon Hotel
Poseidon Hotel
#33 of 234 in Marmaris
372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dost Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dost Hotel

Property: Dost Hotel
Address: Org. Mustafa Muglali Cad. No: 74, Marmaris 48700, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Marmaris
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 78 B&Bs / Inns in Marmaris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Dost Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Dost Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing