We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Adakoy”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Club Adakoy Resort Hotel
Ranked #27 of 234 Hotels in Marmaris
Reviewed July 7, 2013

This was my partner and I's first Neilson holiday and first visit to Turkey. We arrived on the Birmingham flight around 9pm on the Saturday evening. After an initial mix up with buses and passenger numbers we got on our way to Adakoy- about an 1 hr 45 min drive. The driver was... erratic to put it politely, but is to be expected. After arriving at the hotel we were offered a welcome drink and a sandwich (which would be charged to our room if we wanted it) which we declined and went to settle in. Our room was fantastic- beautiful views out toward the bay and the pool with a huge patio. Many people have complained about the hardness of the bed which the management must have taken into account as our beds already had mattress toppers on when we arrived and I admit- slept like a log every night, partially due to the amount of activities we had done during the day and the comfiness of the bed.
The rooms are more than adequate, but you should not expect plush 5* luxury hotel rooms- they aren't and nor are they needed due to the little amount of time spent in there. There were 6 big bottles of water in our room on arrival, although, those too were to be charged to the room.

The food was of ok quality, lovely fresh salads and fruit available at each mealtime, there were a couple of days where there could have been more available i.e more meat but again the food was of a good quality, and freshly prepared, healthy and filling. The deserts are to die for!

My only niggle with the restaurant were the staff- some really did look like they didn't want to be there and would often just stand there staring at you which was quite off putting especially when trying to enjoy a meal with my partner!

Wine by the bottle is typically from 40tl up to 100tl or so depending on the bottle. spirits generally around 11-14tl, soft drinks from 4-8tl and a pint of beer 10tl with a small at 7.50tl. Cocktails are around the 16tl mark and a glass of wine around 12tl. They do put a chilled bottle of water on every table for lunch and dinner which you were not charged for (hooray!)

On the non inclusive nights we ventured into Marmaris, at 50tl for 2 people on a return journey it would be reasonable to visit anymore frequently. We had some great experiences there. Yes it's a popular holiday destination for many brits so don't expect it to be all culture. The locals are used to it, and the majority have a good understanding of English. We ate at a restaurant called Pineapple and the food, the view and service were all great.

On these non inclusive nights the timetable for the water taxi differed as they put on a larger boat to accommodate for everybody going over to Marmaris. The problem was that there was 2 times to depart 6pm or 7pm and to come back 9pm or 11pm, so not good if you want dinner, shopping, and a few drinks after, it's not late enough!

Whilst we were there, there was an out brake of Norovirus which the staff were keen to cover up. Rumours circulated as several staff and guests were violently ill and only after the danger of the situation was communicated to the management did they decide to notify the other guests, which in my opinion was too late- we should have been notified as soon as they knew to be able to prevent further infection, as previously mentioned, all meals are served buffet style, perfect opportunity for such germs to spread.

Tennis was my main activity for the week and Jon and Chris were both absolutely fantastic. How they manage to keep their patience and enthusiasm in 38 degree, pushing 40 degree heat is beyond me and they both do deserve a mention. There teaching has taken me from complete beginner to being both inspired and able to come home and sign up to my local tennis club for further practice. I thoroughly enjoyed the course. Although I didn't participate in any other tuition with the other activities, it appeared everybody was having a great time.

Even if you took a boat out to the water on your own, a safety boat would be out on the water also, and on first hand if anything seemed to be going wrong!

Although we don't have any children, but I'd like to praise the work of all of the kids club staff as the children looked extremely well looked after, and didn't stop all day, I wanted to join in myself!

All in all a fabulous holiday, we loved Turkey and the location of this beachclub. Some staff were hit and miss but on the whole were polite and friendly.

The only disadvantage to a cashless system is that in reality it does mean you spend more money because your not physically handing over any cash, and believe me the bar bill does add up- we never went mad or over indulged yet our bill was 1000tl for the week...
It seemed almost everything apart from food and activities you had to pay for- hiring a beach towel (54tl for 2 for a week) bottles of water, water taxis, additional drinks at meal times, tea and coffee facilities, a late check out...

Our flight home was 9.25pm from Dalaman, our transfer was at 5pm and we were expected to vacate our room by 12pm which was annoying. We pay for a week and expect accommodation to last the entirety of our trip- the majority of people left on the morning transfers and there were a small hand full of people on the later transfers with us, it wouldn't have hurt the staff to let us have our rooms until 5pm, we asked at reception but we were not allowed to stay as the next people were arriving, however if we paid 75tl we could have stayed on a later check out- miraculous!


This was our first experience of a Neilson holiday and now we know what to expect we can't wait to start planning (and saving) for our next trip

Room Tip: Pay extra for a sea view- so worth it. Also ground floor rooms have loads more outdoor space, balcon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Wedge123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (487)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

243 - 249 of 487 reviews

Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

The journey. Flew from Gatwick. Journey is grim. Not enough leg room on flight. Better on way back but had to wait at check in desk in queue for 45 minutes at Dalaman

First day. Saturday is one of the three non inclusive nights. They told us we could get a water taxi to Marmaris so we bought tickets at reception. We found out when on the boat that it wasn't a water taxi and it didn't go to Marmaris. It is a ferry which runs at set (infrequent) times and it took us to Demir which is a half hour walk from Marmaris. Marmaris is Blackpool with sun and you will look out of place unless you wear ill fitting clothes and display signs of sunburn. There is a small part which is fine - in a corner of the harbour where the super yachts are. It is beautiful there. You could be in Cannes. The restaurant to go to is La Fortuna

The rooms were fine but the maid didn't appear until between 3-4pm which was far too late and you had to interrupt your siesta to let her make up the room

Food is great, varied and plentiful.

Staff are pretty good but need to be more attentive and more focused on customer service. On the ski pontoon the Turkish instructor would say "how big your feet?", fit your skis the leave you sitting in baking hot sun for ten minutes before your boat arrived to give you a tow. The staff don't show much interest in you

Tennis was good but limited because there are only two courts. Social tennis is busy but is made worse by the participation of staff. Only guest should be taking part when space is limited. There were also too many games involving throwing tennis balls rather than using your racquet.

Aqua aerobics, yoga, Pilates etc were all great

Good spa with excellent masseuses

Great sailing with decent instructors

All in all a fabulous holiday but a few things need attended to which would make it even better

Would go back at the drop of a hat.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stallion20000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2013

The resort is set in the most beautiful place...hidden behind a deserted island away from the hussle and bussle of Maramaris.
The food is amazing..the staff are always smiling and friendly. The manager is so helpful and keen to make sure you have a great holiday.
We went out with the children on a speed boat around the island, they enjoyed it so much...whilst the sun was setting on the sea, the view was outstanding.
This is my second year visiting the compex..we will be back in 50 weeks!!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Scrum D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2013

Everyone writes how beautiful Adakoy is and great holiday provided by Neilson which is absolutely right. We were unfornuate that our 16 month old child was ill whilst we were there. The staff were excellent with offering help. When we decided we needed a doctor he came out within the hour and a member of staff stayed with us. When she did not get any better amd we decided we wanted to get her checked at the hospital, the doctor was again called and within the hour we were taken to the hospital. She was examined by a consultant as soon as we arrived. There was a translator there to help us. My daugher had an xray 10 mins later and within 40 mins of arriving we were in a private room receiving treatment. The staff at the hospital were fantastic. The hospital took our travel insurance details and took care of all the paperwork issues for us. She had to stay in for 3 days but we were able to enjoy the rest of the holiday after this. She was very well looked after, thank you to everyone concerned.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Thomas Cook
2  Thank Philip S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2013

We have been on 7 flotilla holidays now and two of which have been from Adakoy, the latest was the first two weeks in June. V

The yachts are all in good condition although the engineer and skipper were busy most days sorting issues with holding tanks, sail rigging etc etc. Not much different for all the flotillas to be honest. On arrival we found as usual, clean sheets and towels in the cabins. NB The towels are not massive so we take a few bath towels with us too as well as beach towels. The yachts are kitted out with enough cutlery and pots and pans etc.

The weather was great when we were there and the sailing brilliant with winds up to force 4/5 everyday sometimes up to 6's. Everyone managed if not enjoyed sailing in high winds mainly as it was steady, so you once the sails are set and reefed there were no sudden gusts overpowering the yacht. We have had some really unpleasant sailing in the Ionion with winds suddenly gusting so I much prefer Turkey to Greece where it is all or nothing in terms of wind.

Neilson flotilla teams are always supremely helpful and friendly. Friends who sailed with us this year have always previously holidayed with Sailing Holidays and said their first Neilson flotilla was the most professional they have experienced yet.


There is a small shop at Adakoy where you can order nearly all necessities. Fresh bread can be bought in the morning too. Some folk get the water taxi to the supermarket in Marmaris but the taxi is expensive and we were too tired on arrival day to be bothered to. The Adakoy shop sells frozen water for the yacht cool box to keep your beer and tonic cool:-)



The sea water in the bays you moor in is crystal clear and great for swimming, even the own quays had clean sea water as they are strict about boats letting dirty water into the sea,

There were no children on our flotilla but I can see they would love it!!

Roll no the next flotilla

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank familyPalmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2013

Great 2 weeks with our sailing crowd. 1 weeks sailing followed by a week in the resort. The sailing took us to many new small bays that was great for snorkelling and food. The main resort had everything you could wish for. Loved the paddleboarding and tried tennis for the first time with 2 great instructors called john and chris. The food was really excellent and it was real trouble trying not to make a pig of yourself. Lol. Really recommend this holiday for anyone.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kez H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2013

Fantastic time "I relaxed so hard" I could barely walk afterwards, if you love sun, sea, sand and sailing this is the place for you.
Adakoy is a special location which both my wife and I love to return to, we'll be back soon.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Thomas Cook
Thank MarkwalthamCross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marmaris hotels
2.8 mi away
D-Resort Grand Azur
D-Resort Grand Azur
#15 of 234 in Marmaris
1,342 reviews
2.9 mi away
Casa De Maris Spa & Resort Hotel
3.1 mi away
Club Aida
Club Aida
#2 of 234 in Marmaris
1,512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.6 mi away
Angel's Marmaris Hotel
Angel's Marmaris Hotel
#197 of 234 in Marmaris
80 reviews
3.1 mi away
Grand Pasa Hotel
Grand Pasa Hotel
#22 of 234 in Marmaris
2,091 reviews
2.7 mi away
Elegance Hotels International, Marmaris
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Club Adakoy Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Adakoy Resort Hotel

Address: Adakoy Mah. Kizilkum Mevkii No: 76 | Cennet Adasi, Marmaris 48700, Turkey (Formerly Neilson Adakoy Beachclub)
Location: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Marmaris
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Marmaris
#9 Family Hotel in Marmaris
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Marmaris
#16 Spa Hotel in Marmaris
#16 Luxury Hotel in Marmaris
#17 Romantic Hotel in Marmaris
Price Range: $115 - $118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Club Adakoy Resort Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Club Adakoy Resort Hotel is set in Marmaris, 2.8 km from Marmaris Yacht Marina. The resort has a seasonal outdoor pool and fitness centre, and guests can enjoy a meal at the restaurant. Free WiFi is offered and free private parking is available on site. Rooms are fitted with a TV. Views of the sea, pool or river are featured in certain rooms. Extras include slippers and free toiletries. There is a 24-hour front desk at the property. This resort has water sports facilities and car hire is available. The area is popular for windsurfing and diving. Bar Street Marmaris is 12 km from Club Adakoy Resort Hotel, while Karacan Point Center is 5 km from the property. The nearest airport is Dalaman Airport, 100 km from the property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Club Adakoy Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Neilson Club Adakoy Hotel Marmaris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing