We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Worst Hotel - workers fight!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sun Maris Central Hotel
Ranked #131 of 234 Hotels in Marmaris
Reviewed August 31, 2011

If you are thinking of booking this hotel and are female DO NOT DO IT. A friend and I went for 1 week and we are in our twenties and you will not just get chatted up by the over friendly workers they will also touch you ad invade your personal space. On top of this we had to move hotels as the workers of the hotel had a full blown physical fight with knives less then a metre away from us. We spent our one night there scared and disgusted. A guest also assaulted another guest unprovoked and the hotel did not see this as a big deal and would not remove the guest. The hotel chain is owned by an intimidating man who just wanted this situation swept under the carpet. On top of that the swimming pool is the size of a bath and the food is disgusting! You can get much better budget hotels, so not go there!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Glampy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (119)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

67 - 73 of 119 reviews

Reviewed August 22, 2011

What can I say well the reviews here are very true just got back from the Holiday 19 Aug 2011. If your female aged 14 to 25 then be ready to be chatted up 24/7 in this Hotel. Oh I use the Hotel lightly guest house.
Marmaris is quite nice The Hotel been stated many times its where you can sleep. The Drinks on the all inclusive very very very poor. The food very very very............... poor no sorry very poor
We will NEVER NEVER NEVER go back to TURKEY again we will return to our normal Holiday in SPAIN. The all inclusive Holidays in Spain are 8/10 instead of the 1/10 in TURKEY. I can say this because we have been to Spain for the last 7 Yrs with no complaints.
If you go to this Hotel and think the same write your thoughts here wish Id checked them out before booking my Hols. As they say learn by your mistakes and im 50yrs old.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Philip123456789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2011

Arrived at the hotel early in the morning, the reception area is okay, only a small hotel with some outdoor seating at the front and rear of the building. Hotel porter hung around for about 10 minutes expecting a tip, we stood on the balcony until eventually he had left. The room itself was nothing special, one double bed and one single, seemed fairly comfortable, aircon was fine, balcony door didn't lock which seemed strange. Cleaner did visit every day to change towels and make the beds, beds were changed every few days.

The first morning we had breakfast and were totally disappointed to say the least, there were 3 hot plates with different dishes available, along with a lot of salad which was just covered throughout the day, and a very small selection of fruit and cereals. Lunch was always chicken and fish and one again there were only 3 hot dishes to choose from, dinner was the same, most of the time different dishes but only 3. Chips were available ONE day out of the 7 we were there. The food was disgusting, bones in the fish, chicken always had vile sauces all over them, I wouldn't even touch the salad seeing as it just got covered when the buffet was closed. There were very specific times when the all inclusive food was open, normally hotels have a late lunch, or breads available all day, not here. We litterally ate our dinner here on the first night and didn't touch is for the rest of the week, we lived off pizza's on the beach and a mcdonalds another day. Absolutely disgusting. The drinks were very limited to say the least- beer, vodka and wine were available and were only available on the all inclusive until 10.30pm which is ludicrously early!

The reception area was fine, the tables did always appear quite clean to eat on. The outside area on the front was quite disgusting, with a falling down old 'cabinet/table' with a hole in it which they put the waste food down - it looks really unprofessional and grotty. Cats were always around the outside and the staff were playing with them and picking them up rather than shoo'ing them away from customers. Staff were friendly in a way but being a 20 year and going with one other 20 year old friend (females) we were CONSTANTLY harassed all day and night and the bar staff would always ask us to meet them later at night. How off-putting.

The pool area was seriously shocking, there was sun for about 2 hours a day, there were about 13 sun loungers, the pool was very small and people were eating in the same area on tables. Outside area was ridiculously small, Ive never seen anything so bad in my life. When you go on holiday you expect a big nice pool with lots of seats and some kind of entertainment, literally NO entertainment at this hotel! Do not under any circumstance take your children here it is 18-30's with nothing at all for the children to do.

It is a good job the hotel was located about a 1 min walk to the beach so we could get away from it. We actually had an amazing holiday despite all this and managed to put up with what we had while we were there. Marmaris is a lovely place and it hasn't put me off going back, I will definitely NOT be stayed in the Sun Maris Central again though, and none of the other sun maris's.

I hope this has been informative to anyone looking to stay here!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank anonymousdf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2011

july 2011.. the first night we got there we where taken to another sun maris hotel because our room was not ready...
arriving at 3am we where all tired ...
you will be collected first thing in the morning they said...
we did not unpack and waited round ready to be picked up....
2 days later... what a joke....
no apologies and back at the original hotel the porter wouldt leave till i tipped him..
( dont drink the water i said ) best tip i could give him...
im giving it a 1 star rating and thats pushing it...
food was below average, drinks ok if you like cheap nasty lager fanta and sprite..
beds hard , balcony door wouldnt lock , air con toooo noisy to have on...
got up for breakfast with tables covered in cigarette butts and bits of food from previous night... lazy staff...
ive been to turkey a lot but this hotel took the biscuit and the food out your mouth if you eat with your mouth open....
be warned any hotel with the name ... sun maris ... in it please avoid as they have 9 hotels in total... having stayed at 2 and the first was a 5* star... as if ...
youd be better off sleeping on the beach and im sure some one would give you a slice of pizza..
we go back to turkey in october 2011 but not to this bernard manning hotel sun maris group.. what a joke

Room Tip: dont book at any sun maris hotel group
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank garyknight1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2011

First night their staff were rude not very welcoming, were given 2 towels between 3 of us when asked at reception they were very argumentative an basically told us to go away an wait for the cleaner in the morning!

Food well if you like your chicken you will love this place as all you get is chicken in the evening an the left overs for next days lunch. if it wasn't chicken it was plain pasta and burgers the size of a 10p piece an then you only got 2 of them! The dining tables were never cleaned an the table clothes were just turned over never changed as you could see food spills not very hygienic at all.

Rooms were not cleaned every day an fresh towels were not given everyday, none of the staff knew english so explaining something was a mission.

All inclusive booze was not the best, beer was flat an the only spirit that was provided was a cheap vodka which the measurement was the size of your finger nail topped with mixer you could not taste the vodka.

Swimming pool not cleaned as you could see hair an leaves in their also the pool an sunbeds had time limit from 10am - 6pm.

The only good thing i have to say is we had hot water!!!! to shower with.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Satty12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2011

Probably one of the worst hotels ive stayed at!

quality of the food was very poor, ate all most the same/similar stuff everyday. the all inclusive starts at 10.30 so you dont even get to have any drinks ( even coke or fanta etc) with your breakfast. it also ends at 10.30 wich is pointless as when your on holiday you expect to be up til late and enjoy yourself. they had alot of meat dishes and when we asked them what meat it was most of the time they didnt know! the chicken that was given to my group of friends was uncooked and pink!

Great lack of english, some of the staff dont even speak english. we decided to order a vegetable pizza from the bar which we paid for as the food was poor, we had carefully pointed it out on the menu and they made us the wrong one. we went back and told them and they said they cant do anything about it or make us another one! absolutly pathetic.

the bar staff are very perverted and just hit on any girl they see one after the other, this is shocking as they do it so openly. they do not have any respect for families or other members who are staying in the hotel.

The rooms are ok, its bearable for a week. it was very clean and also had air conditioning which saved us in the 40 degrees heat. the bathroom is in an ok condition too, just like a travelodge toilet in the UK. most of the rooms have balconys so it was always nice to sit out there in the evening

the location of the hotel is very good as it is next to the beach (5 min walk) and their local shopping centre/highstreet. they do have a mcdonalds and burger king near by giving american size portions. they also have the equivilent of a tesco called tansas and a shop called 'CARREFOUR' this is a 5 mins walk behind the hotel.. it is also a francise so you will get food and drink for good value without being ripped off in the little corner shops.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank R_Kesh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2011

Was worried after reading all the horrendous reviews people wrote on here but was very very surprised to arrive at a clean hotel with a friendly receptionist and a nice bright clean room equipped with a fridge and air conditioning!
The food was acceptable - let's face it any all inclusive deals for this price aren't exactly going to be 5* fine dining but there was always something there to eat and 9 times out of 10 it was tasty!
The hotel had a great location being one street away from the beach and 10 min walk to bar street!
The staff were friendly - couldn't speak great English but were still able to communicate and get everything we needed!
I would definitely stay at this hotel again as i feel that it is great value for money and in an excellent location!

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank davemcb25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marmaris hotels
0.3 mi away
Yunus Hotel
Yunus Hotel
#52 of 234 in Marmaris
210 reviews
0.3 mi away
Marmaris Beach Hotel
Marmaris Beach Hotel
#83 of 234 in Marmaris
164 reviews
1.5 mi away
Ideal Prime Beach
Ideal Prime Beach
#16 of 234 in Marmaris
2,802 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Blue Bay Platinum Hotel
Blue Bay Platinum Hotel
#20 of 234 in Marmaris
2,811 reviews
0.6 mi away
Apart Green Park
Apart Green Park
#26 of 234 in Marmaris
395 reviews
1.2 mi away
D-Resort Grand Azur
D-Resort Grand Azur
#14 of 234 in Marmaris
1,351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sun Maris Central Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sun Maris Central Hotel

Address: Cildir Mah. 107 Sok. No 7 | Sokak No: 7, Marmaris, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Marmaris
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #131 of 234 Hotels in Marmaris
Price Range: $17 - $1,251 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 88
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Sun Maris Central Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing