We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fawlty Towers in Marmaris”
Review of Marsyas Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Marsyas Hotel
Ranked #158 of 234 Hotels in Marmaris
1 review
“Fawlty Towers in Marmaris”
Reviewed September 21, 2012 via mobile

Not good service. No hot water for shower. No fridge or TV in the room. Only air con if you pay money. Breakfast & Dinner is awfull. Not happy at all. The hotel was empty and I understand why it was so empty. The destination of the hotel is good not too far from the beach.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FizzahKhan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    30
    14
    22
    16
See reviews for
34
49
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Pontefract, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2012

We were moved to this hotel 2days before we were due to travel due to problems with the hotel in our original booking. The original booking was for bed and breakfast but we were given half board here for the same price. The food was a revelation. Although no choice was offered the food was excellent and we probably tried many dishes we wouldn't have known to order. I wouldn't even know what the dishes were called but they were delicious! The rooms were basic but clean but the thing that made this hotel so attractive was the ambience created by the family that ran it. Nothing was too much trouble. Salman never seemed to sleep!!! I would happily stay here again and would recommend it to anyone with a limited budget!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Gill W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayr, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2012

We looked at this hotel before we went however decided against it because of the location, thinking that it was a bit far out. Due to circumstances we were moved to this hotel and I'm glad that we were. The owners and staff were extremely helpful sorting out our reservation issues and then transfer details etc., and just generally being friendly and helpful, taking time to chat to you and spend time with you. Mama even made us some cookies for the airport journey.......very nice they were too :)) The accommodation is basic but clean. Hotel rooms are generally only one room and a shower so not sure what some people were expecting. Air condition is always charged separately as are safety deposit boxes and hotels never have fridges in their rooms anyway so...... Its right next to the Thursday market so handy for any shoppers. I will definitely be back next year!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Gillian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayr, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2012 via mobile

Totally disagree with all the bad reviews!! We arrived at this hotel after having to change hotels. The staff are extreamly helpful and friendly! Anything they can do to help they will!! Yeh it's a basic hotel but it's clean so what more do u need!! The pool does get shade at certain times of the day but what pool doesn't and air con.. U need to pay at most hotels!
I will stay here again next year and would recommend to anyone :))

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank laura_h83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2012

We stayed here for 2 weeks in July 2012. We chose it because it was the one hotel in our price range (cheapish) that did not have reviews mentioning dirty conditions or lecherous staff. So far so good. The rooms are dated (bar 2 new refurbished) and are cleaned adequately every other day. The shower is poor and there is no television. The breakfast was OK as a Turkish meal, but they often had no tea or coffee left, or no cups, and often no staff to dish out the meal. The pool was small but adequate and the poolside furniture was OK, if a tad worn and stained.
If you marked this as a 5 star I can only assume that your previous holiday experiences have been in a chalet or caravan! The family do not seem sophisticated enough to write their own reviews.
Beach and bazaar nearby but hey are crowded and too much hassle. We will look for a larger pool next time.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the refurbished rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Norman W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Marmaris hotels

Stockport
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2012

This is our fourteenth time in Marmaris and have never been in a hotel of this low standard before. We arrived late at night, when walked to hotel reception I thought straightaway this is an old and dated hotel. We were told where our room was and had to go up with all our luggage ourselves, which you don't expect. When we opened the door of the room straightaway we wanted to change rooms so we asked for an upgrade to one of the newly refurbished rooms, we were asked how long we were here for, we said a week and was told no new rooms left. They then suggested we have a pool view room which we said yes, that room was just as bad. Where do I start, well,no legs on the bed, sticky stains on the coathangers, not enough room to swing a cat, dirty marks on mirrors, sink dirty, shower cubicle dirty, shower was a glorified tap and the water came out of it like a tap aswell and it soaked the whole bathoom once you got under it this is probably because the shower curtains did not even go anywhere near the bottom of the shower.
We stayed half board got up one morning for breakfast but never went for the breakfast again it was awful. Evening meal was a case of you got what you were given and not a lot of it either. We were told we could change to something else that was on the menu if we did not like the evening meal, there should be a choice regardless.
Air con is £30 per week or £50 for 2 weeks. Mamma did a couple of her specialities which we did not rate as anything special and we both like Turkish food. The sunbeds were material and these were stained so you had to put your towel on them, no umbrellas at all. The cleaners if you can call them that, literally just swept and mopped the floor, the mirrors, sink, units, well everything except the floor were dirty and dusty. On one occasion we were not given any toilet roll so we asked for it, we were sat in the room, the cleaner opened the door and threw it at us. On another occasion they took the dirty towels out and never replaced them so we had to go to reception to get them ourselves, oh by the way, the bedding was never changed and the towels only changed once in the whole week.
We actually picked this hotel because of the reviews on Trip Advisor but we will not be looking at any reviews again.

Room Tip: Do not always go off the reviews, we have learnt our lesson on this one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JUEStockport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merseyside
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2012

We stayed at the Marsyas 3-18th August 2012. Having booked a 2 star hotel we were prepared for the hotel to be basic and were not disappointed. From the moment we arrived it felt more like a guest house than a hotel. We had a family suite which was a good idea but the standard of the rooms was very poor. We constantly had to ask for clean towels (to mop up the shower water that flooded every day) and toilet rolls. The rooms were cleaned every couple of days the first week and then once in the second week. The beds were very uncomfortable to say the least. We all had upset stomachs during our stay. My eldest daughter has since been diagnosed with a nasty bacterial infection (commonly found in dirty swimming pools).

The service was either non existent at breakfast (we gave up in the end and ate out for breakfast most days) or very good at the bar and we had no problems at evening meal times.

All I can say is you definitely get what you pay for and in future we will not stay in another 2 star hotel. This was our first trip to Turkey and we have not been put off by our bad experience. Next year we are returning but to Side, staying in a 4 star and saving all our pennies!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tllymint35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marmaris hotels
0.4 mi away
Ekin Hotel
Ekin Hotel
#69 of 234 in Marmaris
286 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rosy Hotel
Rosy Hotel
#118 of 234 in Marmaris
22 reviews
0.3 mi away
Aegean Princess
Aegean Princess
#33 of 234 in Marmaris
445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Club Dorado Hotel
Club Dorado Hotel
#91 of 234 in Marmaris
783 reviews
0.2 mi away
Park Mar Apart
Park Mar Apart
#136 of 234 in Marmaris
18 reviews
0.4 mi away
Blue Lagoon Hotel Marmaris
Blue Lagoon Hotel Marmaris
#164 of 234 in Marmaris
344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marsyas Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marsyas Hotel

Property: Marsyas Hotel
Address: Kemeralti Mah. 120 Sok. No:19 Marmaris Merkez, Marmaris, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Marmaris
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #158 of 234 Hotels in Marmaris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Marsyas Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Marsyas Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing