We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“If you want up to date and modern do not stay here.”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Marsyas Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Marsyas Hotel
Ranked #160 of 234 Hotels in Marmaris
Stockport
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“If you want up to date and modern do not stay here.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2012

This is our fourteenth time in Marmaris and have never been in a hotel of this low standard before. We arrived late at night, when walked to hotel reception I thought straightaway this is an old and dated hotel. We were told where our room was and had to go up with all our luggage ourselves, which you don't expect. When we opened the door of the room straightaway we wanted to change rooms so we asked for an upgrade to one of the newly refurbished rooms, we were asked how long we were here for, we said a week and was told no new rooms left. They then suggested we have a pool view room which we said yes, that room was just as bad. Where do I start, well,no legs on the bed, sticky stains on the coathangers, not enough room to swing a cat, dirty marks on mirrors, sink dirty, shower cubicle dirty, shower was a glorified tap and the water came out of it like a tap aswell and it soaked the whole bathoom once you got under it this is probably because the shower curtains did not even go anywhere near the bottom of the shower.
We stayed half board got up one morning for breakfast but never went for the breakfast again it was awful. Evening meal was a case of you got what you were given and not a lot of it either. We were told we could change to something else that was on the menu if we did not like the evening meal, there should be a choice regardless.
Air con is £30 per week or £50 for 2 weeks. Mamma did a couple of her specialities which we did not rate as anything special and we both like Turkish food. The sunbeds were material and these were stained so you had to put your towel on them, no umbrellas at all. The cleaners if you can call them that, literally just swept and mopped the floor, the mirrors, sink, units, well everything except the floor were dirty and dusty. On one occasion we were not given any toilet roll so we asked for it, we were sat in the room, the cleaner opened the door and threw it at us. On another occasion they took the dirty towels out and never replaced them so we had to go to reception to get them ourselves, oh by the way, the bedding was never changed and the towels only changed once in the whole week.
We actually picked this hotel because of the reviews on Trip Advisor but we will not be looking at any reviews again.

Room Tip: Do not always go off the reviews, we have learnt our lesson on this one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JUEStockport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    30
    14
    22
    16
See reviews for
34
49
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Merseyside
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2012

We stayed at the Marsyas 3-18th August 2012. Having booked a 2 star hotel we were prepared for the hotel to be basic and were not disappointed. From the moment we arrived it felt more like a guest house than a hotel. We had a family suite which was a good idea but the standard of the rooms was very poor. We constantly had to ask for clean towels (to mop up the shower water that flooded every day) and toilet rolls. The rooms were cleaned every couple of days the first week and then once in the second week. The beds were very uncomfortable to say the least. We all had upset stomachs during our stay. My eldest daughter has since been diagnosed with a nasty bacterial infection (commonly found in dirty swimming pools).

The service was either non existent at breakfast (we gave up in the end and ate out for breakfast most days) or very good at the bar and we had no problems at evening meal times.

All I can say is you definitely get what you pay for and in future we will not stay in another 2 star hotel. This was our first trip to Turkey and we have not been put off by our bad experience. Next year we are returning but to Side, staying in a 4 star and saving all our pennies!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tllymint35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Marmaris hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2012

Wonderful Turkish experience, if you're after a British Turkish experience then you'll be disappointed....however, if you are going to Turkey to experience the wonderful family hospitality, cuisine and genuine kindness, then you will have a perfect holiday.

Location is ideal, but, ask for a card because no taxi driver knows where the hell this place is, the bazaar is 15 mins, beach 5.

Good hotel facilities and nothing is any trouble...aircon payable locally, wifi free in bar, if you do wish to have something different to eat, just ask.

One of the best hotels I have ever stayed in, in Marmaris, you can keep the 5 star impersonal experience. I will be returning to this lovely hotel.

Room Tip: If you prefer something less basic there are 2 rooms which you can pay extra per day for which is a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pinkfairyqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2012

Lovely friendly people, didn't notice anybody being left out or being treated differently as mentioned in one or two of the other reviews. Fairly basic but clean and our one maintenance issue was sorted within a day. Interesting comment about feeling as if you are staying in someone's house - this is a small, family run business so it does have a very personal touch about it. To me that is a positive and makes a pleasant change from the indifferent staff I have met at some of the five star hotels. Good location as you can walk to the beach in 5 mins and the bazaar in about 15 mins.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Janice S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Motherwell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2012

Stayed in The Marsyas 21/8/12 for 2wks. This was our second year here and i am delighted to say it was just as good as our first time. We were given one of the newly refurbished rooms are were impressed with the standard of work. The hospitality was again excellent, breakfast lunch and Dinner were superb. Mamma can cook anything you desire. The hotel were short staffed for a while during our stay but this did not stop the great service even though they worked very very long hours we were always greeted with a smile, mamma even made T-bone steak and gave it on the house. We met some lovely people during our stay and had many great days and nights around the pool bar (some into the wee small hours) The hotel is currently 2 star but believe me it has qualities that you would never get in a 5 star. Selman and Halim worked the bar and were only too happy to serve us, we loved their cocktails and special vodkas. During our stay there was an adittion to the family a lovely boy which we all celebrated. we went to the Turkish night great value at 20 lira. Try mammas chicken donner 5 lira absolutely delicious. We loved this wee place, yes there are areas of improvement but they are getting there and i do not hesitate in reccommending The Marsyas.. Idea for couples and families..or even a shirley Valentine.

Room Tip: Try for a upgraded room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pedmcginn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2012

Holiday in Marmaris - Me (42), wife (44), daughter (22) & son (15) originally booked to go to the Club Secret Gardens (all inclusive) but changed our hotel to the Marsyas (pronounced "Mar-see-uz") half-board solely on the basis of the reviews on Trip Advisor and I was glad we did.

The hotel is in need of updating (apart from the refurbished rooms - you need to pay a little more for these but worth it), but after meeting "Mama" and the rest of the family we knew we had made the right decision. We were treated extremely well and felt like part of the family.

Mama's cooking was traditional Turkish food and tasted great (even the yoghurt soup), we had something different almost everyday of our 15 night stay, we asked if we could have T-bone steak and Mama went to the local market and bought it for us and it only cost us 13tl extra (the steak was HUGE).

Our room was cleaned regularly & if we needed it cleaning in-between we just asked and it was cleaned.

The breakfast is basic (tomatoes, cucumber, cheese, bread, butter & jam) but we only had this on 3 occasions as it was served between 8am-10am but we were usually still asleep lol), if we wanted an English breakfast we just went to the Smoothy bar (next to the Queen Vic) as it was just 1.5tl (55p) for a full breakfast (well recommended as the owners are English too)

Shopping (what can I say), HAGGLE HAGGLE HAGGLE, everything is fake so don't pay a lot, Rayband sunglasses 10tl (£3.50), Perfume 10tl (£3.50), large bags 40tl (£14) - if you buy a few of one thing haggle even more, I bought 15 pairs of Rayband sunglasses for 100tl (£2.34 a pair - WOW)

Don't take Turkish Lira as the Turks like English money, just go to any of the small shops of supermarkets and ask if they exchange money, they will give you around 2.85tl to £1 so you get a better rate than you would in the UK.

If you are going to take cigarettes of alcohol back to the UK don't buy them at the resort, buy them in the departure lounge at the airport as the are about 66% of the cost (600 cigs are £45 compared to £60 in Marmaris)

Finally - I would recommend the Marsyas to anyone but just remember it is a 2* hotel so don't expect the Ritz but you get 5* treatment by all the staff, if you go I would ask for one of the refurbished rooms and pay the extra & go "bed & breakfast", Mamas food is great but it is so cheap to eat out you can choose whether to eat in the hotel our out, cheapest beer is at the "George and Dragon" 2.9tl (£1) just down the road from the Marsyas on the left-hand side of the roundabout, most bars charge 6tl (£2) - last but not least you MUST go to McDonalds on the main road and get a "MEGAMAC" supersized, they are about £6 but well worth it

On a leaving note Mama baked us some cookies and small buns for our journey home and also gave us some bottles ice cold water, that is the type treatment we received. I we go back to Marmaris I would definitely go back to the Marsyas

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2012

We stayed here for two weeks in August. Had to move rooms 3 times, first room was overlooking derelict land where some wild chickens were making their home. Second room the bed only had 2 legs so we were sleeping at an angle which was an unusual feeling. Third room was average although at the time felt like the Hilton in comparison. The shower wets everything except your body and the temperature is very temperamental. It ranges from 3rd degree burns to Antarctica.

Aside from the room, the pool is in the shade for 90% of the day so don't expect a tan on your lilo! The decorating is VERY dated with the whole of the outside floor painted dark green, there is an old sofa at every corner you turn. Very random outside! The Sunbeds are covered in stains from peoples sun
cream and have clearly never been
cleaned.

As for the food, it is very confusing first of all it is stone cold EVERY night (it's not supposed to be) but they will bring you a plate of potatoes and rice and you think it's the starter, then ten minutes go by and they will just bring you a piece of meat, you were supposed to wait but by this time everyone has eaten their side so we were all just eating meat on its own. Not good! The food is average using the cheapest produce and portion sizes similar to a happy meal and you have to go to the bar for a drink they do not serve you even at dinner time. Desert is almost always fruit which seems like a poor effort although it's definitely better than some of the more unusual deserts they served, which I am sure would not be to everyone's/anyone's taste.

They don't talk to you if you are not constantly at the bar drinking efes! It also feels like you are in a football bar as this is what is constantly on... Even through your evening meal which I think is so rude!

They do not clean your room they only change the towels every couple of days, as you can imagine after two weeks with a shower that soaks the place the floor is filthy! They cleaned it on our last day, too little too late.

The bar staff are just two young guys and they are really nice and helpful and very polite. They work very hard and are there every day!

As for mama, she seems like she could be a lovely lady but she only speaks to the people who are round the pool every day, which was definitely not us! We were at the beach most days even though it's like Blackpool and we saw a floating disposable razor on our last day! It's still nicer than being round the pool.

This place is run by emotion rather than professionally, it almost feels like you are staying in someone's house for 2 weeks which is not a nice experience if they don't like you!

Stay here at your own risk!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bellamurph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marmaris
0.3 mi away
High Life Apartments
High Life Apartments
#61 of 234 in Marmaris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 197 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rosy Apart Hotel
Rosy Apart Hotel
#79 of 234 in Marmaris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
0.6 mi away
Epic Hotel & Apartments
Epic Hotel & Apartments
#7 of 28 in Armutalan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 795 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hotel Palmea
Hotel Palmea
#58 of 234 in Marmaris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
0.4 mi away
Club Anastasia
Club Anastasia
#4 of 234 in Marmaris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,904 reviews
0.1 mi away
Club Karakas Apart Hotel
Club Karakas Apart Hotel
#13 of 81 in Marmaris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marsyas Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marsyas Hotel

Property: Marsyas Hotel
Address: Kemeralti Mah. 120 Sok. No:19 Marmaris Merkez, Marmaris, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Marmaris
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #160 of 234 Hotels in Marmaris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Marsyas Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Marsyas Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing