We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A1 FOR ANGEL .....EXCEPTIONAL CUSTOMER SERVICE AT ANGELS INN”
Review of Angels Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Angels Inn
Ranked #26 of 79 Marmaris B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 12, 2013

An enormous thankyou to Murat, Aiysha, Adam, TJ and all the staff at Angels for a wonderful stay. We left booking late and have never been to Turkey before so we picked this hotel precisely because of the 5 star ratings on Trip Advisor. We were not disappointed. This is an exceptional two star hotel and great value for money. Having read the reviews we can say that the Angels Inn is despite only being a2-3 star hotel in terms of its facilities is every bit as good as the 5* reviews, it gets and its customer service is exceptional.

SO WHAT'S GOOD ?

CUSTOMER SERVICE / MANAGER AND STAFF Top marks for outstanding customer service. This is a family run business and although they don't own the hotel they do the very best they can with the facilities that are provided. Murat is a great guy. Very charismatic , very witty , very helpful and has a great rapport with all the guests both men and women often found running the bar in the evenings. His sister Aiysha is very sweet and caring, nothing is too much trouble. Adam, TJ and other staff are all very kind, funny and friendly. It was our first ever trip to Turkey and Marmaris and they made us feel so very welcome. We have been to many hotels and BmBs around the world and this stands out for its warm welcome and friendly atmosphere.

LOCATION

Angels is literally 5-10 mins straight walk to the dolphin fountain and centre of the sea front from this you can go either way along the superb boulevard lined by palm trees ..... Its all here sea, sunbeds, boat trips, parasailing, speed boats inflatable bananas and donuts, restaurants, some doubling as nightclubs. You can stroll down to the marina and old town and there is even a free outdoor gymn and a childrens play area on the way. Unlike some places on the Med there is not very loud music blaring out everywhere but if you want that go to Bar Street. Its all very clean. The road behind running parallel to sea front contains shops and if you go left you will end up at the town centre and old town.

A short taxi ride to the harbour and old town with all their roof top restaurants costs about 15 turkish lira which is a fiver but buses are even cheaper and unlike most places in. England very regular,

Angels is coloured with a distinctive blue wash and cannot be confused with anywhere else in the resort, although we think there must be another Angels in the neighbouring resort of Ichmelar so make sure you get the right one

Most excursions will pick up and drop off at the hotel so you can sit at the bar and have an AppleTea or one of Murat's cocktails while you wait.

MURAT's BAR

This is where most of the action takes place .... And you can sit on comfortable sofas, have a drink or a meal and watch the world go by. There is a steady flow of customers but never packed so has a very nice relaxed atmosphere. Murat and his staff always engage with their customers and speak very good English ( Murat lived in the UK for 5 years) so not knowing any Turkish it was nice to be able to engage in some decent conversations beyond the usual shopping or travel needs. Infact everyone in Turkey seems to speak very good English which was impressive considering we spoke no Turkish.

The bar is not especially noisy although there area two large screens playing MTv. If sports bars are not your cup of tea (and they are not ours) its actually not a problem as they are not too loud or intrusive. Very occasionally noticeable was the smoke but having given up over 5 years ago and being used to non smoking pubs and restaurants everywhere in England now we may be more aware of this that others. Given the dangers of passive smoking it would be nice to have a designated non smoking area at the bar but in fairness it is all open air and smoking sadly is still popular everywhere in Turkey.

FOOD

Breakfast is served between 8 am and 10 am in the restaurant next to the bar and is a traditional Turkish Breakfast consisting of Feta style Cheese, juicy beefsteak tomatoes, olives and toast, Honey or Jam are provided . With Coffee or tea. We were either on excursions or up too late that we rarely needed it. Also available is the ubiquitous all day English Breakfast which seems to be served everywhere to cater for English Tourists and is a bit of standing joke for Turks and English alike especially those who get away to Turkey to immerse themselves in all things Turkish. We didn't try it but Are sure it would be very good.

LUNCHES and EVENING MEALS

Excellent. Food here is competitively priced and extremely good. We often had enormous ham, cheese and tomato omelettes made from free range eggs. The pasta was also superb. Try the tagliatelle carbonara or spaghetti bolognese !!! Sadly it was difficult to find a restaurant in Marmaris dealing almost exclusively in Turkish home cooking as in other Med countries they seems to think they have to provide English food for English Tourists. In fairness this may be the case for a certain section of society who usually come here but there is a real opportunity here to specialise in traditional turkish home cooking.

In terms of its setting Angel's may not be able to compete with sea front restaurants or romantic roof top restaurants around the port where you watch the sun set over the sea and mountains but the food here is everybit as good and competitively priced. Murat and Aiysha's sister and husband Bob actually runs a superb Steak House restaurant on the seafront with their own beech and jetty and sun beds .... Ask for directions . You will be very well looked after, if alone you can leave your stuff here while you swim... Also in the family is the lovely Linda - a former excursions rep from the UK, she is very kind and has a great sense of humour and a mine of information about what do to and where to go.

POOL.

The pool, like everyone else's is small but warm and sunny and great for an early morning dip of an afternoon lounge with a cocktail.. There are plenty of sunbeds and an outdoor shower. WCS are very clean and situated conveniently close by on the ground floor of the hotel. The restaurant is also immediately at hand for a lunchtime snack. Pool closes at 6.30 pm

Wifi

Free Wifi is available in bar area and breakfast room there are plenty of tables and sofas to work off a laptop sadly you cant get it in the hotel rooms yet but this is standard in many places we have visited.


CONCLUSION

If you want exceptional service and value for money prices go to Angels Inn.
What makes the Angels exceptional is Murat's family run staff and management

The truth is Marmaris is having to compete with other tourist areas in the Med and even Croatia. Turkey is clean, the food is good, the people lovely and great fun. But with a £ worth almost 3 TL the exchange rate makes this a very attractive tourist destination for English and EU tourists. Turkey is a secular not a Muslim state and if it eventually joins the EU it would be advised not the do what Greece has done and join the Euro.

The hotel owners have an excellent 5 star rating precisely because of the superb customer service provided by Murat, Aishya their staff and family .... This is the ANGEL's USP and something they need to capitalise on in their marketing. With Murat's family run management and a bit of investment for an upgrade to 3-4 star facilities and perhaps a reputation for specialising in turkish cuisine, the Angel would be even an more popular travellers' destination.

Room Tip: Our rooms over looked the pool and were not directly fronting the main road. It may be the one pe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Adam C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (163)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

40 - 46 of 163 reviews

Reviewed August 6, 2013

The Angels Inn was such a nice hotel. The staff were so lovely especially the owner Morat and Simon, had such a laugh and really interesting chats late into the evening. Would definately recommend it as a good B'N'B to stay in, actually ended up coming to the hotel after moving out from another one 10 minutes up the road which was the worst place in the world 'Rayon Apartments' = NEVER STAY THERE!!! But Angels Inn was the complete opposite and I had such an experience!!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tasha G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Stayed for 2 weeks price was ideal as well as location. Murat and simon really helpful friendly people. Food was good and rooms standard but for a b and b you cant really complain at all. Only bad thing is the showers dribbling out not really a power shower. Marmaris is a lovely place and we will be back next year.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tubzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013

I have been coming to marmairs for the past 7 years and for the last 4 years we have been staying at the angels the staff are so friendly and the manager Murat is lovely and he talks to everyone, the food is wonderful and there is lots of choice to choose from and the drinks are priced very well, don't believe the bad reviews please it a good place to go for a relaxing holiday.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kel311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2013

After a four and a half hour transfer with 'Koral' transfer service - due to the driver and his helper not knowing where any of the drop-offs were - arrived for my stay from 1/7/13 to 8/7/13.

Location - a five minute walk from beach and bar street; noisy with traffic most hours of the day as on busy road junction.

Room - small but okay; clean; in refurbished block at front of hotel; no views; shower only with toilet situated in shower space - you could have sat on loo while showering if water pressure had been good enough ;-) ; toilet roll rewound from odd pieces; list of many rules on door; be aware you have to slam the door to lock it on leaving the room - so noisy; cold water from hot tap and visa versa; shower mixer tap did not work so had to have a boiling shower or cold shower - plumbing done by Murat I think.

Food - made the mistake of booking half board which worked-out at £6 per day, but this is not worth it as you only get one course from a very limited choice of pizza/pasta/chicken dishes/oh and one meatball dish! You can get a lot more for your money outside the hotel. Drinks 6.5TL Efes/8TL medium glass of wine/10TL for a 50ml measure of spirit/14TL+ for bogof cocktails which are over-priced anyway.

Staff lovely. Management need to do some work, especially Murat - instead of chatting-up the girls, drinking and giving orders!

Aircon and safe available @ £5 and £2 per day respectively or pay £10 for one course dinner, one drink, aircon and safe.

When booking I asked for a non-smoking quiet room - I got one of the noisiest rooms in the Inn next to virtual chain smokers who even smoked on the toilet - their admission! Rooms are actually all non-smoking!!!!! Noise from traffic and bar area goes on throughout the night til 9 am in morning one 'night' - you cannot leave your balcony door open to keep cool because of this.

Pay your bar bills at least once a day as both blocks have the same room numbers and you wiil end-up with someones elses bill on your tab - good excuse for a scam!

Front block costs more to stay in and is nicer than rear - you are recommended to move to rear block if you complain about noise - so this means your room can be sold again at the higher cost - another scam!

If you leave the Inn you are asked where you are going - all those TLs walking down the street!

After three complaints (should have been more) about the noise from the bar I was told by Aysha that because younger guests predominate the bar had to stay open for them and to attract passers-by leaving bar street in when that eventually closes. Nice to know that a drunken passer-by was thought of more highly than a guest of the hotel.

There were a number of Turkish men coming and going at the bar especially when there were women about who were unaccompanied by men - we all know why!

Overall the Inn needs to be run more professionally with all guest being equally important.

Room Tip: None of rooms are quiet - just less noisy in old block.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Fyldefolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

What a fantastic place to stay and have a laugh the place is the best in Marmaris the staff are all so lovely and friendly and will do anyting for you there meals are excellent there rooms are clean
i would tell everybody everybody i know what a great place this is
We have been going here now for 7 years we love it
So why not give it a try xxx

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tinamc58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2013

Been here 7 days and they have been wonderful, the staff are all super friendly and attentive, breakfast (which was included with the stay) was always great :D When we ate here in the evening the food was fantastic and the cocktails went down a treat, sister in law has been here for three weeks and she has had an equally fantastic experience, would highly recommended to friends and family :)

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GerardBMc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marmaris hotels
0.2 mi away
Ekin Hotel
Ekin Hotel
#70 of 234 in Marmaris
297 reviews
9.5 mi away
Angel's Marmaris Hotel
Angel's Marmaris Hotel
#197 of 234 in Marmaris
80 reviews
0.6 mi away
Aegean Princess
Aegean Princess
#43 of 234 in Marmaris
471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Reis Maris Hotel
Reis Maris Hotel
#30 of 79 in Marmaris
154 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dost Hotel
Dost Hotel
#2 of 79 in Marmaris
193 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel London Blue
Hotel London Blue
#10 of 79 in Marmaris
228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Angels Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Angels Inn

Address: ismet Kamil oner cad no.38, Marmaris, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Marmaris
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 79 B&Bs / Inns in Marmaris
Price Range: $23 - $72 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Angels Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Angels Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Angels Hotel Marmaris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing