We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“the worst hotel ive ever stayed in” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gizem Apart

Gizem Apart
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Marmaris
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Gizem Apart
Ranked #209 of 233 Hotels in Marmaris
Strood, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“the worst hotel ive ever stayed in”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2011

no welcoming when u arrive straight on to trying to sell u things, if u refuse to buy there rude and un helpful, the food is the worst food we had while we was in marmaris, they supply you with 1 toilet roll the rest you have to buy, the rooms only cleaned when you request and pay for it to be done, no showers around the pool which closes hours before the sun goes in, the rooms are not the cleanest and its beds are like sleeping on wood with one hard pillow.
on the plus side it has a fridge, and a shabby old air conditioning unit that cost £20 a week

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank giggsy1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    11
    6
    1
    27
See reviews for
21
17
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
West Bromwich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2011

This was our first time visiting Marmaris and had booked to stay at the Gizem Apartments (Club Sunset). After reading the reviews we were a little anxious on our arrival, however we were welcomed and greeted with a drink.

The room that we stayed in was basic but had everything that we needed in terms of a shower and a bed. Alot of the reviews stated that Archie & Sharon were unfriendly and unhelpful - this is not the case, we asked for an hair-dryer to be fitted on our arrival and this was done in 10 minutes without any hassle at all.

The pool is clean and well sized, with a shallow and a deep end. The bar is also well equipped and the staff were very friendly.

The food at the apartments was fine and well priced, not as nice compared to a few other restaurants in town but the half board deal came in handy when planning for an expensive day/night out!

At the end of our holiday we were given our deposit without having any questions asked or room checked.

A number of the reviews are unfair and do not truly reflect the apartments & staff. We had a great holiday and would definitely consider staying here again if we decide to visit Marmaris again in the future.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LukeandLaura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2011

JUst a fabulous place and Sharron and Archie he perfects hosts.
I am looking forward t o my returning here.I havr been coming to Marmaris for 15 years and this i my favourite hotel.
Please erase the libelous photos from 2009 which do not reflect Azthe hotel to-day if they ever did.
Michael Curran
Tour Manager

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank laertesgreece
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2011

I can sum these apartments up in one word, fantastic. Been here 3 times this year already and going to be back many more times in the future. Very clean and comfy and I would certainly recommend to all. Sharron and Archie and the bar staff are brilliant, always very friendly and are always there to help with anything. We are always made to feel like family whenever visit. Food is very tasty and excellent and even if it isn’t on the menu it will still be served for you. The pool area is pleasant and relaxing, you don’t get any hassle off the bar staff to buy anything but it is always great service when you do want something. Thanks for a great time Sharron and Archie and we are really looking forward to be back in the summer. From Lisa and Zara xx

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ltzt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2011

These apartments have been renamed as Club Sunset Apartments.
There is also other accommodation in the region with similar names ( eg Sunset Gardens)
When reading reviews, please take care that you have identified the correct premises.

This is a basic hotel and accordingly rooms lack TV and soft furnishings etc. However although the room was in need of repainting and updated curtains it was clean and offers very good value (depending on price reduction from brochure price). It has a very adequate pleasant pool area with a few trees and sunny exterior building walls. The childrens' area is minimal.
With friendly bar staff. Sharon (management) is charming and chatty. Bar snacks and meals are available, together with conversion to half board for those on self catering. !This may be an appealing budget option to those with children, so investigate on arrival.) British breakfasts are excellent value and tempt those who might normally settle for coffee & toast, as the price structure is not logical!

The surrounding area is uninspiring but whilst a 15 minute walk from the beach, and a long way from the harbour central area, there is an excellent Dolmus service close to the hotel. (1.5 TL) Local bars and restaurants are available in more than adequate amounts.

Overall, a fair deal for budget conscious travellers who have expectations realitic with that budget.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank UKVacation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2011

when we arrived a pill was left as the place had not been cleaned. we had to ask to have sheets and towels changed after a week. Archie & Sharon were nice but to many family members their.he has to make the rooms better.never mind getting drunk.we were their
in may 2010 for 2 weeks . just found where to find the review place. Mrs H Suttie

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank crosslaw17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Marmaris hotels

wigan
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2011

What can I say had a brilliant holiday now called sunset apart is aperfectly located hotel the rooms was beta than we expected. The staff are second to none archie sharon and rico.will.go out of there way to help.you if you have a problem it will.get sorted staight away I had two children with me and they loved it they didnt want to come home. It is very reasonably priced for food and drink we even upgraded to there half board menu as the food was that good and.kn its far cheaper to eat in the hotel than in marmaris. we cant wait to go back had a brilliant holiday but the staff definately made it thanks archie and sharon we will.be seeing u next year xxxx

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank melinaWigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marmaris hotels
0.6 mi away
D-Resort Grand Azur
D-Resort Grand Azur
#11 of 233 in Marmaris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,157 reviews
0.4 mi away
Dost Hotel
Dost Hotel
#1 of 81 in Marmaris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
0.2 mi away
Angels Inn
Angels Inn
#17 of 81 in Marmaris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Blue Bay Platinum Hotel
Blue Bay Platinum Hotel
#19 of 233 in Marmaris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,331 reviews
0.5 mi away
Casa De Maris Spa & Resort Hotel
0.2 mi away
Supreme Hotel Marmaris
Supreme Hotel Marmaris
#44 of 233 in Marmaris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gizem Apart? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gizem Apart

Property: Gizem Apart
Address: Merkez Mah. 218 Sk. No.12, Armutalan, Marmaris 48700, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Marmaris
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #209 of 233 Hotels in Marmaris
Number of rooms: 121
Also Known As:
Gizem Apart Marmaris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing