We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absoloutley Fantastic :)”
Review of Seren Sari Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Seren Sari Hotel
Ranked #102 of 234 Hotels in Marmaris
Reviewed June 30, 2009

After reading the reviews on this hotel after we had booked it, I was feeling rather aprehensive about staying there. But we booked it as a base and got it very cheap so we weren't expecting a lot anyway, we got a lot more than we expected.

Our room was very basic but clean and nicely decorated. The maids came round every day, but at different times which got quite annoying as they would not come back later if you were in.

One day, I was in the shower and my friend answered the door so they just swept the bedroom and didn't come back to empty the bin in the bathroom (which really needs to be done everyday!!)

One day they came at 9am and we were still asleep so they didn't bother coming back all day. Also, our room was right next to the maids closet and every morning at 7:30 when they started work they would be shouting at each other right outside the door.

We had clean towels and bedding every 2-3 days.

The pool is small but fine for a swim. Not really suitable for children though as is 1.90m deep, however the pool at the sister hotel which you have use of starts at 1.25m and goes to 1.90m.

The restaurant attatched to the hotel (Il Piatto) serves amazing food and is really cheap. Also hotel guests get discount.

Most of the staff are lovely, especially Oscar, Ahmet and Mustafa. There are a couple of them to be very very careful of though. We had a very bad experience with one of them.

It's really close to the beach and local shops, the shopping bazaar and harbour aren't too far away, 2 minutes on the dolmus or about 15-20 minutes walking.

Overall we had a very enjoyable stay at the Seren Sari and we're going back in October!

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Debztn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (125)
There are newer reviews for Seren Sari Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

100 - 106 of 125 reviews

Reviewed February 13, 2009

I went on this holiday in 2007 but there are not many reviews on Trip Advisor for this place so here we go:

We flew with Onur Air - I'm almost lost for words in trying to describe this so-called 'airline'! We were booked to fly from Stansted on 23rd Aug at 9.45pm - we actually flew at approximately 6am the next morning from GATWICK!



Apparently the pilot was not qualified to land in foggy conditions as he did not have enough flying experience therefore he had to land at Gatwick; so after hours of hanging around Stansted with not a clue as to what was going on we had to reclaim our luggage and board coaches to Gatwick. On the way home we were delayed by 4.5 hours too ! No explanation as to why at all!



Anyway, we got to the Seren Sari at 2pm on 24th Aug - hotel is extremely basic and in need of extensive modernisation. Our room was OK for our needs but if we were the complaining type then we would have done.



We were in room 410 - it faces onto the main road which was very noisy all day and night. The balcony was the size and shape of a Dairylea Cheese Triangle! The air-con fan was on the wall of the balcony and (when it was working) blasted you with red hot air so you could not sit out on it. We paid £3 per night for air-con but it did not work for 3 days and leaked a bit too.



The nights that the air-con did not work we literally could not sleep as it was approx 33 degrees by night and we could not open the balcony door because of the noise! By the way - massive crack in the corner of the balcony door too so could be potentially very dangerous. The bathroom was very rough around the edges!



The door frame was loose, the shower leaked when in use and there was no shower mat so it was really slippery when you got out. On a good point though the shower was very powerful and there was plenty of hot water. The cleaners were brilliant - they worked really hard and cleaned our room well every day.



They also changed the sheets and towels (towels were like sandpaper though) and were quite friendly too. There was a TV in our room which was free and it had BBC PRIME which was great. The TV though was on a bracket on the wall which was about 5ft high so we had to dodge it as we walked passed it so we did not get brained!



The hotel lift is scary! You can fit 2 people in it and it was like a furnace inside. The floor numbers go up and down while you are in it so you don't know where you are. I preferred using the lift though as the stairways are a death trap! It looks like the hotel nicked the carpet from another hotel and bodged it badly so that it covered the stairs and hallways.



The carpet actually moved sometimes while you were going down the funny shaped steps so make sure you hold onto the banisters if you don't want a broken neck! I must say though that the lady on reception is lovely and I did feel sorry for her as everyone was moaning at her all day long.



The pool is small but adequate but very very dangerous to walk around. Please, please be very careful as it is extremely slippery.



The music around the pool was so loud and distorted sometimes that it hurt your ears - the choice of some of the songs were totally inappropriate for youngsters and adults but they were played anyway over and over again. I was actually embarrassed to be lying there while they were playing because people walking past could hear them too.



The food was really nice though and we enjoyed it - prices fluctuated though quite a lot and sometimes your change was taken as a tip without you even saying that it was OK. Staff at the restaurant were really friendly too (bit too friendly though sometimes with the young girls). We met some lovely people around the pool though and did have a great time.



Marmaris itself is gorgeous and we never had a bad meal and eat somewhere different every night. The beach was nice but the sea had a bit of rubbish in it now and then. The marina was my favourite - lovely bars and restaurants and a bit quieter there too.



You must try the lazy day boat trip - we paid £7 each for the day and it was the best day of my hol. We stopped off at beaches to swim and we saw dolphins which was magic! Lunch was included too and was very nice.



My tip is - don't fly with Onur Air and don't touch Gold Trail with a barge pole, they are crap !! Never even saw a rep the whole time we were there! Remember to confirm your transfer back to the airport a day before you go too.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tabitha1pink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, traveled with family
Thank Aysello
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank ENGİN A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
114
Reviewed August 17, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank jackalto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2016, traveled solo
2  Thank İsmail F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marmaris hotels
0.0 mi away
Oasis Hotel
Oasis Hotel
#81 of 234 in Marmaris
73 reviews
0.0 mi away
Han Palace
Han Palace
#197 of 234 in Marmaris
21 reviews
0.5 mi away
Adonis Hotel Marmaris
Adonis Hotel Marmaris
#66 of 234 in Marmaris
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Sinem Hotel
Sinem Hotel
#74 of 234 in Marmaris
316 reviews
0.4 mi away
Soykan Hotel
Soykan Hotel
#180 of 234 in Marmaris
62 reviews
1.0 mi away
Marsyas Hotel
Marsyas Hotel
#152 of 234 in Marmaris
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seren Sari Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seren Sari Hotel

Address: Kemal Elgin Bulvari, 244 Sokak No 1, Marmaris 48700, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Marmaris
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #102 of 234 Hotels in Marmaris
Price Range: $22 - $41 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Seren Sari Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 240
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Otel so you can book your Seren Sari Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing