We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First time to Marmaris.”
Review of Seren Sari Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Seren Sari Hotel
Ranked #128 of 234 Hotels in Marmaris
Hook, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“First time to Marmaris.”
Reviewed October 19, 2011

Well, first of all myself and my friends were not meant to be staying in this hotel, we had booked to stay in another hotel on the beachfront to be told they had over booked so we ended up here.......

The hotel is dated and very basic, our room was right above the kitchen and it was ridiculously hot, and all day all we could smell was cooking meat, when we asked the receptionist wether we could have a discount on the air con due to where our room was he basically said No. So we had to pay for aircon. The aircon worked great and was very quiet.

The bathroom in our room was horrible. The toilet is right next to the shower so you have to sit on the toilet at an angle (no very comfortable!) and we only had one shower door so when we had a shower the whole bathroom flooded. Also you can here (when in the bathroom) neighbouring people in their bathrooms word for word! On a plus the cleaners cleaned our room whenever we wanted them too, changed sheets new towels etc.

The pool is a decent size compared to other hotels in Marmaris and the pool guy is lovely and always happy to help you. Plenty of sun loungers and a second pool which is in the shade and FFFrrreeezzzing! But we did spend a few days at the pool relaxing. The hotel has lots of free lilos and other inflatables for you to use at the pool.

The location of the hotel is great, a 1 minute walk to the beach.

If you are on a budget and want convinience and clean but very basic rooms then stay here, do not go expecting wonderful things when you only pay around £3-4 per person per night.

We never ate at the resuraunt here as we ate at 'Always' resturant down the road (excellent value for money and the staff are wonderful!!!!!) But my friends who had been to Marmaris before had said they had ate at the hotel and it was very nice. We stayed B'n'B at the Seren Sari but we never had breakfast as a Turkish breakfast is very different to a full english so again we went to 'Always' where a full english is 3.50 Lira!

Overall we had a great holiday in Marmaris.

Room Tip: Do not stay in room 107 (right above the kitchen!)
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ermth23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    25
    24
    16
    14
See reviews for
21
34
14
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed September 25, 2011

Our room was very clean but run down. We had a double room - the bedroom was quite large with air con (at an extra price) and bog standard furniture. The bathroom however was layed out very stupidly. To go for a wee i had to sit on the toilet at an angle otherwise my feet would have been in shower tray. It was all clean but old fashioned and bits and pieces missing. Also everytime we had a shower, a large puddle of water formed on the bathroom floor - you could see the shower tray was not sealed properly on the outside hence why it would leak everytime.

The bedroom also had a small tv with basic channels on it. Cleaners came in the room 7 days a week and towels and bedsheets were changed twice a week. The cleaners obviously saw my birthday card on the side and decorated the bed with towels in the shape of a flower with flower petals on so that was nice.

The men on reception were very helpful. I would advise a safe at the hotel though as we had one but i forgot to put my driving license in and it was stolen out of my bedroom. God knows why i took it! i don't know, but nevermind.

Room Tip: not sure how to advise on rooms because didn't get to see any others.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Natasha L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stevenage, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2011

I booked this hotel because it was so cheap and seemed to be the near the beach. I read the bad reviews with an open mind, after all it was so cheap you cannot possibly expect luxury. We arrived at the hotel at 6am and stupidly I hadn't booked from the previous night and expected to have to wait indefinately to be allowed to book in. This was not the case and we were given our room immediately!

When budgetting, you need to allow £35 per week for air con and £20 for security boxes. We didn't bother with either and just slept with the balcony door open.

The room itself was on the first floor, and very basic - with twin beds, wardrobe, tiny tv and small balcony. The bathroom was EXTREMELY dated with black mould around the sealant on the shower but the shower itself was wonderful, great water pressure and always lots of hot water. You did have to be careful when getting out of the shower as half the door was missing so water slopped on the floor. There was also a working hairdryer which amazed me.

The towels and sheets are changed twice a week and the room is made up every day. The maids are very friendly although didn't speak much english. All staff at the hotel were always on good terms. The waiters did get a little stroppy when we didn't eat in the restaurant but we didn't let that stop us and they eventually gave up badgering us.

I wasn't impressed that you weren't allowed to bring food/drink from the outside into the hotel or by the pool but that didn't stop us doing both and no-one stopped us.

The Hotel is on the main drag but set back slightly from the nightclubs so noise was really only from the nearby road. The location is excellent, although at the opposite end to the Marina, a dolmus bus stops wherever you flag it down and it costs around 80p to go where you want. The beach is only a 3-4 min walk but we stayed by the pool most of the time, plenty of sunbeds, lilos were provided by the hotel to chill out in the pool and generally laze around. Everything is within walking distance - the shops, restaurants and markets etc.

All in all, we had a fabulous holiday on a miniscule budget and I would certainly happily return to the Seren Sari and will be recommending it to any of my friends who fancy a visit to Marmaris!!

Room Tip: Rooms to the back of the hotel, overlooking the pool would be quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tessie38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayr, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2011

I stayed in the hotel with my boyfriend, we booked the holiday last minute and after reading the other reviews i wasn't expecting much.

On arrival the outside of the hotel looks outdated however the reception area was nice enough although the carpets bring it down a little. The gentleman on reception did not speak much English but I wasn't too bothered. Our room was on the 4th floor and the lift is tiny we managed just to squeeze ourselves in with our luggage.

The room was clean and basic, balcony was small but nice. Bathroom was dated but everything was in working order.

The hotel bar staff are extremely nice and very helpful and the rest of our holiday passed by with no other issues.

However on the last couple of days we were advised that our holiday company had went in to administration, we contacted our travel agent back home who advised us that yes it was true but everything is fine as we were covered by ABTA. We were told under no circumstances were we to pay again for our hotel and that our flights and transfers were all safe. We continued our holiday as normal and no one from reception contacted us until the last night. The older gentleman on reception demanded that we pay our hotel again and we tried to explain to him what we had been told but due to his minimal english he couldn't understand another couple in the same situation as us had paid and they encouraged us to do the same. However we decided we would wait until the rep turned up on the shuttle bus. On waiting for the shuttle bus 6 of the hotel staff surrounded both me and my boyfriend demanding that we payed them or they were going to take our bagage and not allow us on the shuttle bus i immediately began to panic. I removed myself and my luggage from the circle they had made around us and went and stood by the roadside awaiting the shuttle bus. While my boyfriend continued to try and explain to them but they continued to demand money. On the shuttle bus arrival one of the man ran over to the rep before i could speak to him however the rep was very nice he spoke to the man and they all left and we were allowed to travel.

I had enjoyed my holiday at the hotel however the reception staff let themselves down with there threatening behaviour on the last night. For this reason I would not return to this hotel however marmaris was very nice and i would recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AJ1992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2011

me and my girlfriend and my 7 month son arrived here at 130 in the morning we was met soon as we got off our coach who then helped us with our baggage and took us to reception i tipped him cos he was standing there waiting for it i think do i did, we was then met by a young lad who dealt with us, we had to pay 75turkish lira roughly 30pound max for air conditioning as it wasnt provided otherwise.
we was then taken to our room it was big and spacious but very basic just a bed and a cot with a wardrobe, no fridge or kettle nothing atal they did have a dated tele from 20years ago, our balcony was small but a decent view of the mountains, supermarket and restaurant downstairs and other local bars.our shower only worked with cold water never hot for some reason, but with temperature outside it didnt bother me too much cos it was alwiz minimum of 40degrees,rooms cleaned everyday too... thats the negatives done now for the positives... staff very friendly always did anything you wanted especially alex and inigen, food at restaurant always nice and tasty and cheap too 5 courses for 7enflish pound thats with a steak included you can also get a full english for 2pound too and its all english produce they use too!well thats what they said anyway its always busy in there too hardly ever an empty chair.
its roughly a 1 minute walk to the beach from the hotel where there are numerous bars and restaurants at cheap prices for anyone... i would go back to the seren sari again but ask for a room that is quiet with a bigger balcony

Room Tip: ask for a top floor better views and quieter...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank diego02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2011

Well we stayed in May Via Holidays 4u this year & it is Sad that they have folded now, We have spent 15yrs In Marmaris & this Is the 2nd of Our Tour Operators to Close Down.
Goldtrail was always a good Holiday & Tour Operator for Marmaris.
The Seren Sari was just Our place for crashing down, Good location, minutes away from Sea Front & straight on to The Main Street for The Shops.
The Staff were great @ The Seren Sari & The Sunday Roast Dinner Is To Die For, Do Not Miss Out On That, honest it is as good as any roast dinner you will get back home in The U.K.
If you get a room located on The Side Of The Seren Sari,then ask to be in the rooms near to the rear of the hotel, Reason Being,there is a large Television Screen on The Corner @ the junction of the main road outside & It is on 24hrs & if you are a light sleeper,then you will be annoyed by the constant images flashing up on to The Bedroom Ceilings from it HaHa, other wise Enjoy.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SteveDowning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2011

after reading some reviews on this hotel (seren sari) i was kind of put off but once we were there we seen for ourselfs that it wasent so bad, the rooms were cleaned everyday fresh towels ect, the bathroom was a bit small along with the lift, the mades were nice, the staff were really friendly and made you feel welcome, the pool was clean there also was a sister pool you can use also lilos ect music also played at the pool.. there was service at the pool staff always up for having a laugh by the pool also, the food is nice from the hotel most times they try get you to eat in there and no were else.. 2minute walk from the beach&bars also is at a main road so it can be quit nosey at night times...nice to just have a drink at the bar as the staff speak to you encourage you to get up dancing n show you how to have a good time would reccomnd n deff will be going back to this hotel next year!!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank kerrysmith065
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marmaris hotels
0.0 mi away
Oasis Hotel
Oasis Hotel
#81 of 234 in Marmaris
70 reviews
0.0 mi away
Han Palace
Han Palace
#196 of 234 in Marmaris
21 reviews
0.5 mi away
Club Dorado Hotel
Club Dorado Hotel
#92 of 234 in Marmaris
786 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Seler Hotel
Seler Hotel
#80 of 234 in Marmaris
520 reviews
0.8 mi away
Gold Kaya Hotel
Gold Kaya Hotel
#115 of 234 in Marmaris
86 reviews
0.4 mi away
Soykan Hotel
Soykan Hotel
#150 of 234 in Marmaris
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seren Sari Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seren Sari Hotel

Property: Seren Sari Hotel
Address: Kemal Elgin Bulvari, 244 Sokak No 1, Marmaris 48700, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Marmaris
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #128 of 234 Hotels in Marmaris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Seren Sari Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 240
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Seren Sari Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing