We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok but not as expected.”
Review of Orkide Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Orkide Hotel
Ranked #46 of 234 Hotels in Marmaris
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 11, 2013 via mobile

Heard all about the great reviews so booked, as you might have guessed it was too good too be true.
The hotel is what you pay for so if your looking for cheap, fridge that don't work, awful breakfast, super skinny walls, invasion of bugs by the pool (should have known its in the
name "Orkide Hotel"), non changing of linen and a smell that you would only describe of the word musty(probably used that word about 5 times, an I'm 32) then come on down cos this is the place for your next holiday. BUT!!! the guy that works at the pool bar is v Gd and the staff are quite helpful and its location is Gd. It just wasn't what we were expecting...shame.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
3  Thank Steve31steve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (345)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

117 - 123 of 345 reviews

Reviewed October 8, 2013

Just returned from 10 night stay at the Orkide hotel and was very happy with the poolside bar and the standard of service received from Erdal and Oktay and the rest of the staff.
Food was excellent and more than you could eat, We ate there all but one night of our stay.
Location is spot on and size of hotel is such that you can very easily get talking to other guests.
Rooms are basic but adequate and are cleaned on a regular basis.
Would certainly return

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Johan1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2013

This was our first visit to the Orkide and we would definitely recommend it. We had originally booked another hotel down the road but when we arrived there, they had messed up our booking so we had to find another hotel - at 5am! A Turkish friend took us to the Orkide and luckily they found one room for the three of us, which was basic but clean.
We only intended to stay for one night, but the following morning we met the owner and he encouraged us to stay for the rest of the week by offering us an amazing price, for 3 separate rooms including breakfast and air conditioning. So we had a proper look at the hotel and discovered its charms - nice pool area, restaurant/bar, really friendly staff who speak good English, and a decent Turkish-style breakfast (tip for English visitors - you may not be very keen on the tea that comes out of the machine, but you can get a mug of Tetley tea at the bar!). We agreed to stay and enjoyed a lovely week at the Orkide.
The original hotel we had booked was all-inclusive, but really in Marmaris you don't need to do that because there are so many good restaurants and bars to choose from and everything is cheap for us - this includes the food and drink at the Orkide, which was lovely. The only comment I would make on the food is that it would have been nice to have a few more light, healthy options at lunchtime, e.g. pasta salad etc, and maybe some more fresh fruit. We ate there at night a couple of times too. Try the smoothie cocktails with added alcohol!
As I said, the rooms are basic but comfortable and clean, and while the general decor of the hotel is a little dated, again it is kept clean and has everything you require. Any minor problems we reported - new lightbulb needed, dodgy lock on bedroom door - were swiftly fixed by the staff. On our last day we did not have to leave the hotel until 8pm because it was a night flight home, but we were allowed to keep one of our rooms all day so that we had somewhere to shower etc before leaving.
The hotel's location couldn't be better - it's just off the main seafront 'strip' so you don't get too much noise, but within a couple of minutes' walk there are many bars and restaurants plus a little shop selling beach stuff, souvenirs, snacks and drinks. And it's at the opposite end of Marmaris from the notorious 'Bar Steet' area (although not too far if you did want to go there!)
The staff were always happy, helpful and friendly, even bringing our drinks to us at the poolside once we'd ordered at the bar or helping us to move our sunloungers, and calling us taxis when required. Being a small, family-run hotel, there is a really nice atmosphere, and our fellow residents (mostly English, a few Russians) were also friendly.
It happened to be my birthday during our stay, and the staff must have noticed me opening some gifts. When I popped up to my room, they came over to my friends and said "Why didn't you tell us it was her birthday, we will organise a surprise!" We had already planned to go to another restaurant for dinner but the staff told my friends to bring me back to the Orkide by a certain time, which they did. We arrived back and were having a drink in the bar when suddenly the birthday song came on the stereo and the staff appeared with a cake, loads of sparklers and even flaming torches! I have never seen anything like it. It was a lovely surprise and typical of the hospitality at the Orkide!

Room Tip: If you get a sea view room, the views are amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank IndigoStar79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2013

This was our 4th visit to the Orkide and it won't be the last.

Great service from all the staff including the owner Korkut

Korkut has identified what people going on holiday want,
To be treated with respect
Good food
and great service and a very clean hotel with no hassle at all.

Prices are good and the food as well.

Would I go back

You bet I will

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
21  Thank Tom_The_Tailor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

Hotels location was very good, near by sea and the beach. Hotel is little and cosy, and staff is very helpfull and nice and they speak good english. Breakfast was good, only i missed watermelon. (Turkey have best watermelon of the world). Hotel is old but clean. =)

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AnuKatriina2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

Have stayed in various Hotels in Turkey but this one is far superior so far reasons being the atmostphere of friendliness from all members of dtaff especially Mr Erdil Togac who could not do enough to make our stay pleasant, the food was excellent and out of the 14 days ate in at least 8/9 times extensive menu all of which was of a excellent quality lift to all floors which was a bonus the hotel room was clean and tidy and cleaned every day but Mr.Erdil Togac was brilliant in the way we were looked after not just us but everybody Thank you Orkide see you next June 2014

Room Tip: All rooms would be acceptable but preference would be at the front
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2013

Just back after staying for 14 days and I can only class the Orkide as a little gem. For the last 4 years we have went all inclusive at 5 star hotels thinking that it was best value but its not the case in Marmaris its better going bed & breakfast because its so cheap to eat and drink out.The rooms are basic but clean, that is the only thing thats basic, Erdall in the bar/restuarant is brilliant and caters for all your needs. The food is very good and reasonably priced. We always found a lilo next to the pool each day without any difficulty, the pool was cold but refreshing. It appears that most of those staying have stayed there before its that good. Only a 2 minute walk to the beach and 15minute walk to Marmaris Centre. We have already booked there for next year can't wait .....................very enjoyable

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank briski23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marmaris hotels
0.8 mi away
Orsmaris Boutique Hotel
Orsmaris Boutique Hotel
#50 of 234 in Marmaris
332 reviews
0.1 mi away
Poseidon Hotel
Poseidon Hotel
#37 of 234 in Marmaris
395 reviews
0.9 mi away
Apart Green Park
Apart Green Park
#26 of 234 in Marmaris
394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Myra Hotel
Myra Hotel
#69 of 234 in Marmaris
306 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cle Beach Boutique Hotel
Cle Beach Boutique Hotel
#49 of 234 in Marmaris
400 reviews
0.6 mi away
Yunus Hotel
Yunus Hotel
#58 of 234 in Marmaris
208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Orkide Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orkide Hotel

Address: Kemal Elgin Bulv. 248 Sok. No 7, Marmaris 48700, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Marmaris
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 234 Hotels in Marmaris
Price Range: $20 - $40 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Orkide Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A family run hotel located 30m from the beach and less than 5 minutes walk from the main Marmaris - Icmeler road. We provide accommodation on a bed and breakfast basis in twin and triple/family rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Orkide Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing