We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location fantastic”
Review of T and G Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
T and G Apartments
Certificate of Excellence
Grimsby, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Location fantastic”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

We stayed at the T&G apartments for a week at the end of June 2013. We had stayed at Rosy Apartments 2 years ago but the price had doubled so plumped for T&G. We were in the block over the road from the main block (room 201). The apartment itself is 5 min walk from the beach, supermarket & shops. Although if you want a night out in Bar Street expect a long walk, or taxi (about 20 Lira) There is a shop next door which is open 24 hours. If you want beer tell them you will bring back the bottles & they knock a bit off the price.
The good points, the room was clean & tidy. Towels & beds changed regularly. The pool areas were clean. Staff ok. The pool tables have seen better days but at least they were free! I can't comment on the food as we ate out every day. Beer was the same price everywhere give or take a Lira. Although the week after we left the president put the price of beer & fags up by 5 Lira (from 7Lira to 12Lira for a 500ml bottle of Effes.)
The bad points, the a/c didn't work but was sorted by the rep within an hour, faulty remote was the problem. The room slept 4 but there was only me & my mate, good job cause there was no way you could get 4 chairs on the balcony. We took 2 chairs & the table inside & it was still cramped. If you want morning sun on your balcony it was ideal as are the rooms overlooking the pool in the main block. I prefer late afternoon/ early evening sun when you get back after a day out, chill out with a beer before getting ready for a night out. The rooms in the main block facing the road tick this box & we looked across at them with envy. I don't know the room numbers but maybe a call to the resort may give you the room you want. A picky point but it just makes the holiday that bit better.
The pool doesn't have chlorine in & both of us came back with ear infections. I can't say it was due to the pool as we did both go diving as well but it is common for people to come back with ear problems from abroad.
Excursions are cheap as chips. We booked day cruise. night cruise, scuba diving, quad safari & day in the water park on the front for 90 Lira each. Beware of getting ripped off, one couple paid 300 Lira just for the quad safari. Talking of which, take some old clothes. The muddy water is heavy in clay & doesn't wash out. There are showers there & I rinsed most of it off but it still stained. Oh and there were safe deposit boxes there to leave your valuables in.
Top Tips:
The key fob for the room operates the electric supply, luckily the fridge stays on permanently. We took it off the keys & left it in the wall so the a/c was on all the time. With the bedroom door shut it was heaven to come out the sun into a cold room.
The cheapest place to buy beer is the supermarket. Just look for the place that looks like Asdas or Tescos on the main street.
Take sterling with you & change it there. You get a much better rate & it's a better rate midweek as a lot of tourists arrive at weekends & push the price down, only by a few pence though.
Eating out, Taj Mahal is excellent for curry, with a "famous chef from Bradford"!! Meal for two & drinks, 100 Lira.
Tiffanys does the best & biggest fillet steak ever, cooked to perfection. The sauce de Paris is divine.
The kebab vendors next to the beach are cheap & tasty just right after a trip down Bar Street.
Food & drink are about the same price as UK now.
"Genuine fakes" are still good, 30 Lira for Converse trainers. Make sure you get the better quality ones. Haggling in sterling can sometimes get a better deal.
As I've mentioned the excursions are great value.
Turkey is still good value but getting less so. Overall it cost approx. £350 more than2 years ago.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank paulcraft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

293 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    189
    67
    27
    4
    6
See reviews for
120
80
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Consett, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013

It was our 2nd time here and it certainly won't be our last. I stayed with my mam, 16 year old daughter and her friend. We tried the half board this time and it was excellent value for the money. The food was excellent and no complaints from my fussy eater daughter. staff were always pleasant and very helpful, room was clean and we really appreciated how hard the staff worked every day. There are plenty of restaurants, bars and shops nearby and it only took 5mins to walk to the beach. It is probably our most favourite place in all of the world and we can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lisalightfoot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2013

2nd tlme there. Very clean & staff friendly. Great value.
Ideal for the beach as they are close to it.Many bars and restaurants nearby.Plenty of Dolmas to take you to the centre of town & the Marina
Will go back next year.


  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Low Cost Holidays

Helpful?
2 Thank 1bartram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2013

Just got back from t&g apartments for the 2nd year running, some of the staff have changed but they are all equally as pleasant. These guys work very long hours but it never shows, they are a genuine hardworking bunch attending to their customers every need. The rooms are cleaned daily and are spotless! The food is fantastic possibly the best in marmaris. The reviews on this hotel speak volumes, its a small and friendly little gem, ive travelled all over the world and this is one of my personal favs, being a travel agent i have no worries reccommending the t&g to any of my clients, they have never returned disappointed.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank emma s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2013

all i can say is dirty horrible filthy unsafe rooms with miserable staff who were only interested in the girls around the pool and bar area we had an unsafe dirty bathroom and when moved got a nice bathroom but an unsafe kitchen and bedroom with door handles hanging off nad screws sticking out everywhere and 2 plug sockets hanging off walls with bare wires hanging out and a bathroom light switch with loose bare wires that we dart not use and had to leave bathroom light on for fear of getting electrocuted....and finally at 4am the huge mirror dropped off the wall and smashed the glass top on the dressing table all over the room i went down to reception to tell them as it scared the life out of us and he came up looked at it and said ill tell the maids in the morning and suffice to say they never came to do it ....never again...stay here at your peril

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carlito75_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tg_aparts, Manager at T and G Apartments, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

We read your comments on the Trip Advisor web page and also we got the letter that you wrote to your agency. Every guest has a right to comment about their holiday. We pay attention both negative and positive comments. Every comment is really important for us in order to understand what the guests’ expectations are and how we can make better service.

I remember you very well because I made your room change. You were staying on the ground floor and a pool view room. Your room hadn’t shower cabin and you told us that it might be dangerous for your little son and also you told us that the room is good and you are satisfied with it, but you added that you are anxious about your son. We moved you from 501 to 206. As you remember we checked the room 206 together. There was nothing wrong with the room, you and your family checked it one more time and decided to move that room.

What makes you feel that you were in danger? The important question is ; why did you stay for 14 days if you felt yourself in danger and during your accommodation why didn’t you tell this to your agency and us?

Everyday cleaning ladies go into the room for cleaning. Rooms are checked here by. The problems are absolutely reported and we have a staff for fixing these problems. No one reported us about any electric and socket problem. We haven’t got any report about it. If somehow we missed something in the room it’s always better to speak with the hotel to make your holiday nicer. How on earth your bedroom’s mirror fell down the night just before you C/O. Although the mirror fell down, it wasn’t broken but the glass on the dresser under the mirror was broken. The receptionist came to your room and checked: The nail which we hang the mirror was on the wall, wall dye was clean no scratch on it and there wasn’t any faintest clue about how the mirror fell down. The receptionist cleaned the big glass pieces and told you that he would tell the cleaning and they would make better cleaning the next day but you left the hotel before noon! You claimed that you bought a dustpan and cleaned the glass pieces in your claim letter to your travel agency. Where did you buy the dustpan at 3 p.m. in the morning? Unfortunately everything you claimed about room problems is doubtful like broken mirror problem.

As you wrote your agency about this problem, you were repaid some amount of money from agency. During your accommodation you did not complained any problem, you did not tell anything to your agency and your guide. But after your holiday was over, you wrote these claims to your agency.

Dear sir, what kind of a holiday you would like to have for the next time? Most probably a holiday with full of great memories instead of troubles... and please remember hundreds of people are working in tourism industry to create a great holiday for all holiday makers around the world. We are here to make your holiday better not to turn it into a miserable memory. If you would request anything, we are always here to be achieved it as much as we can both travel agencies and hotels. We do respect to everyone’s opinion, however it shouldn’t be that much easy to say bad things based on doubtful events.

Best Regards
T&G Apartments
Since 1995
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Booked this holiday to T and G on the basis of raving reviews regarding the food, accommodation and staff on Trip Advisor - some of the reports on here are either fabricated or the guests staying here have seriously strange ideas about what makes 'delicious food' and 'amazing staff'.
We saw neither and in fact quite the opposite!
Breakfast is predictable for Turkey, yet the same pre prepared plates of food are put out day after day which gets monotonous. Get there early to get anything remotely decent.
Dinner was pretty poor. Having travelled to and eaten in Turkey many times before this is a poor example of what food can be like. Frozen, processed junk is an accurate description served by faceless, miserable teenage Turks! We had booked half board based on the reviews on here - big mistake! The few dishes we had came served with same sloppy frozen veg & soggy potato wedges. Really disappointing. If you enjoy sloppy fast food cafe type food then this will suit you well.
Just down the road (thankfully) we found a Restuarant called Romance that served very reasonably priced freshly prepared & cooked local dishes as well as an impressive choice of steaks, lamb chops, beautiful fresh fish etc. really tasty & great quality.
There's the usual scrap for sunbeds round the pool which are crammed in so tightly you can barely turn over without knocking into someone. Pool area is regularly patrolled to check if you have brought water or snacks in from local shops.
Pool towels are provided which is good. POUNDING music plays ALL day from 10.30 ish til 7.30 which is tiresome when you just want a doze in the sunshine. The sun disappears from most of the pool area at about 3.30 so then it's a towel scrum to get to the beds still in the sun...!
Rooms are OK - we had 2 spacious rooms but Aircon (Pricey at £30 per room per week) only in 1 room and not the other. Bathroom def in need of updating - it reminds me of places I stayed in 25 years ago! Cleaned daily & fresh towels though.
Location great if you want to be close to the beach & all the shops selling fake designer gear.
Marmaris is seriously rough & I would never choose to return - we felt unsafe and uncomfortable at times being out at night and I definitely would not let my teenage kids out & about on their own as I would usually do on previous holidays.
Marmaris is not somewhere I would recommend for families. It really is like Bognor Regis ( I've never been to be fair but you get my point) in the baking heat with dozens of dodgy shops selling fake bling & naff designer clothes, handbags etc. it's about as Turkish as Liverpool.
Disappointing & I feel awfully misled & will be seriously reconsidering trusting Trip Advisor ratings in the future :(

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TJH29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2013

Stayed at T&G In June/July 2013 10 day trip with my partner and his son and absolutely loved it! Arrived mid afternoon reception staff greeted us, quick check in and then Fartih took our huge suitcase up to floor 3. Apt nice and clean, sheets, towels, toilet roll!! Lovely Pool view room 309. The apts has a huge swimming pool (for turkey) which is nice and clean and also a baby paddling pool there is always enough sunlounger whether you get there first thing or late afternoon. T&G also provide there own Poolside towels which is an added bonus! We ment some lovely people whilst we were there and the staff at the pool bar will do anything to help always entertaining the kids or the adults in our case. We stayed HB aparently it was a new option this year, and we was not disappointed! Breakfast was standard breakfast abroad help yourself, breads, cheese, eggs,bacon,sausage etc Dinner you could chose from the restaurant menu, Pizzas, Spaghettis, Turkish Favourites, english meals etc. We did eat out a few times just to see what it was like as we had never been to Turkey before. If your on SC try Hotel Amore just up the main rd, The steakhouse at the bottom of T&G road- English Breakfast £1.99, Taj Mahal is lovely too. If you book a table via Thomas Cook your supposed to get 10% off but when we got there they knew nothing about it so you dnt really need to but make sure you book a table yourself as it is very busy. T&G is 10 mins from the beach and 5 mins from the restaurants, phamarcy etc and there is a little supermarket over the road. If you want to book trips we booked with Baz at the bottom of T&G road all was very cheap and excellent service he never let us down! The only issues we had was the air con is only in the bedroom which ment moving our 15 year old son into our room so he could get a decent nights sleep as the temp was 35c! The Balcony's are rather small and could only just fit the 3 of us on! Anyway would just like to say Serkan, Ozzy, Akif, Fartih and the rest of the staff thank you for a wonderful holiday and we will defo see you again.

Room Tip: Poolview rooms get the sun in the morning so if you like to sit on the balcony in the afternoon ask...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JenandKev13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marmaris hotels
0.2 mi away
Club Aida
Club Aida
#2 of 234 in Marmaris
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,361 reviews
0.2 mi away
Blue Bay Platinum Hotel
Blue Bay Platinum Hotel
#19 of 234 in Marmaris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,463 reviews
0.2 mi away
Blue Palace Apartments
Blue Palace Apartments
#36 of 234 in Marmaris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Supreme Hotel Marmaris
Supreme Hotel Marmaris
#44 of 234 in Marmaris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 489 reviews
1.2 mi away
Casa De Maris Spa & Resort Hotel
0.1 mi away
Romance Hotel Marmaris
Romance Hotel Marmaris
#49 of 234 in Marmaris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to T and G Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about T and G Apartments

Property: T and G Apartments
Address: Kemal Elgin Bulvari, 210 Sk. No:4-6, Marmaris, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Marmaris
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 94 Specialty Lodging in Marmaris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — T and G Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blending old Turkish architecture with influences of European style, the T&G Apartments are an excellent choice for families,couples and small groups looking for quality accommodation in a peaceful location. These apartments create a pleasant and comfortable setting for a relaxing holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your T and G Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
t And g Apartments Hotel Marmaris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing