We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pity about the cleaning staff”
Review of Hotel Alkan

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Alkan
Ranked #59 of 234 Hotels in Marmaris
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 9, 2013

Visited this hotel for 11 days. Overall the hotel was good the only downside was the cleanliness of the bathroom/bedroom The shower screen looked like it had never been cleaned I ended up going an buying cleaning products and doing myself. The glass on the balcony was also cracked. The room was supposed to be cleaned daily the staff came around but the whole time we were there the floor was never washed or the room dusted (I left my name in the dust on departure. On the upside JJ and the reception staff were very friendly. We eat at various bars during the holiday the best being sen their food was amazing, and the blackpool bar is well worth a visit to see the roxy tart show

Room Tip: Corner room are the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Dee221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (255)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

109 - 115 of 255 reviews

Reviewed October 1, 2013 via mobile

nice hotel,friendly staff,great location.we had a very good one week vacation,stayed at alkan hotel,would stay in it again next time in marmaris.good value of money.
we liked this place but it needed some new dishes on their food menu(half board).
the food was good,tasty,clean.but need a little bit of menu adding.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank onmywaytothemoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2013

We have just returned from the Alkan after a 2 week stay. Must say what a lovely hotel this is, it is our second time at the Alkan. Shortly before we went I e-mailed the hotel and asked if we could have a corner room as people had put good reviews about them. When we arrived we were taken to our room (room 5107 on the 5th floor) and couldnt believe how big the room was and which had two patio doors. It was 1 o'clock in the morning so the curtains were closed but we knew we had a corner room. We opened the curtains to see a wonderful corner balcony which looked out on to the road and views over the rooftops and of the mountains. It was absolutely beautiful, couldnt have asked for anything better. The bathrooms are beautiful with a big power shower. We loved sitting out on the balcony watching the traffic go by and something going on all the time rather than overlooking the pool - people had complained that there is too much noise, but once your patio doors are closed it was fine. Free air con - brill.

We must say the breakfast were not very good. Although only a small variety of food by 9.30 they had run out of sausages on two mornings and the food was only luke warm. There is no toaster.

We found all the staff very friendly.

Wi-Fi available in the lobby not very good on 5th floor.

We drank most evenings right across the road from the Alkan at the Ayhan Restaurant & Bar and also ate there. Lovely food and reasonably priced. A full english breakfast for 5.99 lira (approx £2.00). Highly recommended. Free Wif-Fi. Very friendly staff.

When we were there 3 years ago we found a restaurant called the Corner Cafe run by Nazan and Nazmi and we went and found it again this year to see if they were still there. As we approached they saw us and recognised us and made us as welcome as ever. Visited them on a daily basis for a few Efes.

Boat trip is a must. 10.30 - 4.30. They will pick you up from hotel and take you back. You have about 3 swim stops and dinner and then around 1 1/4 hours at Turunc. Unlimited drink on the boat e.g. pop, beer, vodka, wine (whisky or brandy not included). Each time we have been to Turkey and this is our 6th time we have done this boat trip and it has never gone up in price - £10.00 per person, absolutely brilliant value. We did it twice one year.

Beautiful harbour. The dolmus will take you anywhere for 2 lira - around 70p. The taxi boat will take you to Icmeler for 9 lira - lovely trip.

Will be back next year.

Room Tip: Choose corner room (5107) 5th floor - sun on balcony all afternoon.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank dekja1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2013

My female friend and I have just returned from a 5 night stay here. The location first and foremost is fantastic!! The hotel is really clean. The rooms are big, although the interior is a little dated its very good value for money. Be warned you cannot take food or drink to the pool however its so cheap this isn't that bad. The breakfast here is hideous. The pool area is lovely and clean. JJ who manages the pool area is qualified masseur he is just lovely and simply cant do enough for you. Be warned the water park albeit is very fun its tiny! Also the beach is awful so take a super cheap car down to the next beach along. This hotel is very far from the airport be prepared for the commute. But all in all i will defiantly go back to marnaris and I will stay again at Alkan.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank naz h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2013

we have just returned from 2weeks at hotel alkan in marmaris,what a great hotel spotlessly clean,very freindly staff,nothing was to much trouble.the room was bigger than expected.and a lovely bathroom with the best shower ever.i shall we telling all my freinds how great it was and will be back next year.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Yamhar6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2013

There weren't free drinks on a supper. Pool closed too early, about 6 p.m. There weren't free Internet on the floor. Clean didn't one time per week. Actually, breakfast and supper dishes were good. But some were spicy.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maxim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2013

Me and my boyfriend stayed at the Alkan hotel in August for 11 nights, on the journey to hotel my heart sank as we dropped others off I started to panic at the state of hotels we were dropping at, when arriving at Allan. My first impressions weren't the best until I got to room, we had room looking pool, 2 large balconies was great, room to good 3 star standard, you either get room facing pool or street , I loved pool view however those with street view had sun until sunset and pool view sun was away for 5pm (for me this was :( as I'm a sun worshipper)

Breakfast catered more Turkish style, sausage, scrambled egg, salad, boiled egg, bread, cereal, not much choice

Pool was kept immaculate, jj who looked after pool was such a great friendly man, always making everyone feel welcome, making jokes and making sure everyone had a great holiday
Only downside of pool was sun, not much sun during day due to buildings blocking sun and sun away from pool around 4:30pm

Overall we had a wonderful holiday and made to feel welcomed , great value for money :)

Look forward to visiting again next year
2014 hotel Alkan see you then :)

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KIRSTY_155
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marmaris hotels
0.5 mi away
Hawaii Hotel
Hawaii Hotel
#101 of 234 in Marmaris
205 reviews
0.5 mi away
Yunus Hotel
Yunus Hotel
#53 of 234 in Marmaris
210 reviews
0.5 mi away
Club Turquoise
Club Turquoise
#46 of 234 in Marmaris
516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Blue Palace
Blue Palace
#40 of 234 in Marmaris
426 reviews
0.1 mi away
Poseidon Hotel
Poseidon Hotel
#37 of 234 in Marmaris
397 reviews
0.1 mi away
Maris Beach Hotel
Maris Beach Hotel
#54 of 234 in Marmaris
440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alkan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alkan

Address: Kemal Elgin Bulvari 67 | Marmaris Merkez, Marmaris 48700, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Marmaris
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #59 of 234 Hotels in Marmaris
Price Range: $23 - $97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Alkan 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Alkan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing