We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great holiday”
Review of Hotel Alkan

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Alkan
Ranked #55 of 234 Hotels in Marmaris
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great holiday”
Reviewed September 24, 2013

Me and my boyfriend stayed at the Alkan hotel in August for 11 nights, on the journey to hotel my heart sank as we dropped others off I started to panic at the state of hotels we were dropping at, when arriving at Allan. My first impressions weren't the best until I got to room, we had room looking pool, 2 large balconies was great, room to good 3 star standard, you either get room facing pool or street , I loved pool view however those with street view had sun until sunset and pool view sun was away for 5pm (for me this was :( as I'm a sun worshipper)

Breakfast catered more Turkish style, sausage, scrambled egg, salad, boiled egg, bread, cereal, not much choice

Pool was kept immaculate, jj who looked after pool was such a great friendly man, always making everyone feel welcome, making jokes and making sure everyone had a great holiday
Only downside of pool was sun, not much sun during day due to buildings blocking sun and sun away from pool around 4:30pm

Overall we had a wonderful holiday and made to feel welcomed , great value for money :)

Look forward to visiting again next year
2014 hotel Alkan see you then :)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KIRSTY_155
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    130
    70
    27
    10
    7
See reviews for
38
107
15
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2013

Just back from a week stay at the Alkan hotel with my friend.

Couldn't fault this hotel one bit, stayed in really basic hotels in turkey and this was way above the basic mark with clean rooms, nice bathroom with great shower, clean towels & bedding all the time, they even give you toilet roll & those of you who have been to turkey will know this is VERY rare after the 1st roll has been used lol!!

Balcony was a great size, we stayed at the front of the hotel, loved sitting out before going out having a few drinks watching everyone going by. Couldn't hear a peep when the balcony door was shut.

Free air conditioning! Which is bliss, normally in hotels in marmaris u pay around £40 a week compared to this.

We didn't eat breakfast the week we were there as we aren't so early risers but we did pay 15 lira for the buffet dinner one night & it was nice.

Rooms have a TV which had a film channel in english & music channel which was good for before going out, we brought a dvd player with us & connected it so we could watch some dvds we got over there.

Pool is a good size, best with the sun loungers at the top or left of the pool as they get the longest sun.

Staff were really nice, Jay Jay who works at the pool is a cheeky chap who likes his banter but does not hassle you around the pool.

Location is great just 2 mins from the beach and all bars/restaurants etc, short dolmus trip to icmeler/harbour.

All in all I would defo stay here again, can't fault it at all & that alone speaks volumes, especially for some hotels in turkey. Great value for money & great staff.

See you next year hopefully alkan!

Kelly xx

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lovelifex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wigan
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2013

Stayed here for a week in August, staff not very obliging, we asked for extra pillows has we only had one pillow each, but were told on 2 occasions that we could not have any that the hotel was full and they don't have any spare ones !!! The bedroom floor or the bathroom floor were never mopped all the time we were staying there, in fact I never saw a cleaner with a bucket of water just a dirty mop cleaning everywhere, in fact my daughter went to the supermarket and bought cleaning materials and did it herself. The towels weren't changed they were just folded and put back on the shelf in the bathroom dirty, we wont be using the Alkan again sorry .

Room Tip: ask for pool side, very noisy all through the night sat on balcony 3 nights out of 7 till 5a.m. due...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank anniebWigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Myself and some family stayed here for 10 days in August. We had requested corner balcony rooms in advance (as my sister had stayed here before), on arrival one of the rooms we were given was not great and the receptionist did not understand we wanted to change - however the next day the manager was accommodating and arranged the change of room as requested.

Overall the rooms were a good size and if you can get a corner balcony one then these are very spacious. The main road is busy till quite late so if you are a light sleeper you may want to request pool side but this didn't bother us at all.

The best part of this hotel is the pool - it's a nice size, gets sun more of less all day and the staff aren't control freaks like you find in some hotels - they were happy for people to play volley ball, bat ad ball, mess around on lilo's etc - only saw them once tell a boy to be careful as he was messing about a bit close to some other guests. The pool never seemed over crowded and you could wander down at anytime and easily get a sunbed (be ir first thing, 11 ish or mid afternoon after being out for the day). The bar staff were nice and helpful - if you wanted sunbeds moving etc they would come over and help move them, they were always happy and having fun with the guests by messing in pool etc - although they did have a tendancy to blast the music up every now and again for no real reason.... they also made some good cocktails....
The other big positive to this hotel is the location, just a couple of minutes walk to the beach, plenty of bars and restaurants on the main road and side streets around and the Dolmus stop is virtually outside the door to take you to the harbour or Icmeler.
Prob one downside is the bar that used to be at the front of the hotel has closed down but we heard that they planned to re open this next season. Ayhan bar across the street was great and we used this most of the time as a meeting point - food here was also great but we only tried this on the next to last night - wished we'd eaten there earlier.
We only tried the breakfast one day - it was a basic continental breakfast - it was fine for what it was but if you want to eat full English etc - every bar offers them at no more than about £2.
Overall a good experience here - it's not a 5* hotel but then we didn't pay 5* prices. It had everything we needed and i'd happily return or recommend.

Room Tip: Corner balcony rooms are bigger and have the best balconies - request pool view if you want a quiete...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TraceyM77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hertfordshire
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2013

first visit to Marmaris, b'fast was what we had expected, lge room with big balc. Clean towels daily. Pool cleaned every day, although they did seem to ask people to leave pool around 5.30ish to clean area. Pool bar staff not very knowledgable with drinks. Staff very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Ask for corner room sunny double aspect views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kate869
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North West
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Stayed here for a week aug 2013. Despite requesting a room away from the main road (.. akin to the M6 )as I have a small toddler, we were given a corner room right on top of it.. from which there is no let up from the noise & fumes. Room was large. . 2 single beds with a camp bed dumped in it.. even tho the hotel has triple rooms. The hotel is neither quaint nor clean. I had to request the floor to be mopped after my little boys feet were black within 5 mins of being in the shower.. Despite this there was no change.. granted it is hot but the cleaners need to get their finger out and.. clean! Sheets not changed but flipped over as others have noted.. dirty towels folded to hide stains. . Toilet rolls not replenished.. I had to go out and buy cif to clean the shower screen as it was so minging. We asked for 2 extra pillows but were told abruptly. . No we are full we have no spare! Laughable really. I have been to marmaris 16 times and I'm not prepending to be a snob.. hsrping in about 5 star standard and expecting an English breakfast... I am a realist and this place needs some basic tweeks to make it turkish 3 star. .. NOT english. It would appear the the best rooms with corner balconies are saved for the turkish holiday makers. Ive stayed in worse.. and definitely better

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hallt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 9, 2013

We have stayed here before 3 years ago, the staff actually remembered us, I have stayed in turkey before and rooms and bathrooms are generally basic not the Alkan, power showers with extra jets. Clean towels and rooms cleaned everyday, spotlessly clean through from pool to lobby to dining room. Pictures don't really do it justice, location is excellent and the fact there is a half build hotel out back and a closed hotel next door do not let that put you off it won't spoil your stay. Fab digital in room safes for £2 a day hire and the fridges were a must. The free air con with remote control was a godsend in the 40/50 degree heat....... Yes free. Rooms were so well maintained and after 3 years since my last visit had maintained the high standard of my last visit. i ask for a room facing the road as the sun comes round in afternoon and the balconies are fab nice and big to sit out on/ Staff are excellent cant do enough especially Aran he works do hard. Breakfast is what it says it is Turkish and was nice. There was some choice. Won't go
anywhere else in marmaris now for the price you pay, location is ideal. Don't let any of these reviews put you off you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Samantha C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marmaris hotels
0.0 mi away
Cihanturk Hotel
Cihanturk Hotel
#86 of 234 in Marmaris
147 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cle Beach Boutique Hotel
Cle Beach Boutique Hotel
#43 of 234 in Marmaris
389 reviews
0.3 mi away
Supreme Hotel Marmaris
Supreme Hotel Marmaris
#46 of 234 in Marmaris
507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Yunus Hotel
Yunus Hotel
#47 of 234 in Marmaris
189 reviews
0.6 mi away
Rosy Apart Hotel
Rosy Apart Hotel
#83 of 234 in Marmaris
367 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ekin Hotel
Ekin Hotel
#68 of 234 in Marmaris
287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alkan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alkan

Property: Hotel Alkan
Address: Kemal Elgin Bulvari 67 | Marmaris Merkez, Marmaris 48700, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Marmaris
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 234 Hotels in Marmaris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Alkan 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Alkan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing