We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good for the price”
Review of Hotel Alkan

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Alkan
Ranked #56 of 234 Hotels in Marmaris
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 11, 2012

was there from august 31- september 11
it is my 6th time in marmaris n this hotel was chosen solely bcz the price was the cheapest. travelling from canada I already spent a lot on tickets so I wanted to save up on the hotel. Well it is a good deal for the money. Customers r Russian, British, Dutch, Turkish. It ios a small hotel of about 66 rooms n a maximum capacity of 120 ppl. Located in a good area, not too far from all the fun of bar street but also not too close to it so it is pretty clean. the closer it is to bar street n market the dirtie the area n the beach is. the hotel doesnt have its own beach so u go across the road to the beach of Romance hotel. They will easily give u a sunbed n umbrella. Usually u just buy one drink a day from the bar which is like 5-6 liras. staff of the hotel is efficient although like to talk a lot to u n if u r a girl they will definiotely hit on u. like all turks. so the best thing to do is not to get involved in a friendly chat with them n they will stay away. Plus of the hotel: good clean rooms, it is a relatively new hotel- built 2007 n u can see that everything is working. minus: food is very bad. the choice is soooo poor. I barely attended breakfasts but dinners include like 4 salads n only one hot dish, either chicken or meat or fish cooked in lots of fat. so i ended up eating out after one week of this torture. food is pretty cheap in turkey so u wont add up spending a lot
a hotel has a small pool with sunbeds around it n no entertainment at night. definitely not a family hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sveto4ka88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (255)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

145 - 151 of 255 reviews

Reviewed August 26, 2012

The rooms were basic but clean, had a fridge, desk and a nice bathroom and jet shower. Large balcony overlooking the swimming pool. Would recommend a pool view as this was a lot quieter than a view over the main street. Breakfast was very boring and the same everyday, however the dinner buffet was good quality and the 'main course' options changed everyday and offered a vegetarian and meat option, as well as plenty of salads and side dishes. Desert was usually fruit. The staff were fine but lacked some social skills, they barely greet you when you enter rooms and even when we arrived at the hotel on the first night the welcome wasn't overly friendly! Cleaners were good and came everyday with towel changes every other day. The location of this hotel is very good, at the end of the main strip of restaurants, shops and bars which means they're very easy to reach but tucked away for privacy and quiet atmosphere. Alkan hotel is also very close to the beach which is very nice and full of nice cheap places to eat and drink, and sun beds are mostly free. Would definitely recommend this area of Marmaris and this hotel is a safe option if you are unsure of where to stay.

Room Tip: Choose pool view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Holidays0212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2012

This hotel is lovely staff are fab, air con not the best but it's 48 degrees so maybe that doesn't help it, the staff couldn't be more helpful. We were weary of the restaurant at the front because we have read bad things but it's moved so don't be put off.

Room Tip: The always restaurant down the road is well worth a visit
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank childkaren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2012

Just came back from a holiday in Turkey where we stayed at the Alkan Hotel.
The hotel is a basic hotel and does the job, the staff are friendly and helpful, we arrived at 4.30 am and were greeted with a smile. The rooms were reasonable in size with a balcony and the hotel was clean. Air conditioned rooms which were ideal for the weather 45 degrees plus. The location is ideal to restaurants, shops and the beach is within walking distance and there is a bus stop right outside the hotel if you want to venture out towards Bar street.
Pros- clean, helpful, good location, brilliant shower.
Cons- wifi only avaliable in the reception area, breakfast is average the same each day.
Overall if your looking for a budget hotel with a good location, which is also clean and friendly and you only want to sleep and shower there then its ideal.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MissR21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2012

The rooms are 3*+ standard and I couldn't find a single fault with them. Maybe it would be a little noisy if facing the road at the front, but we had a pool view. The air con worked perfectly and we were actually cold more often than hot! Maids came every day and everything was very clean. A minor point to know is that the hotel next door is derelict and there is a half built hotel out of the back of the hotel. The view from our balcony was the pool and both of these, which weren't ideal but didn't really bother us. However everything else about the hotel wasn't really as high standard as the rooms.
The food was what I assume is traditional Turkish food. Reading reviews before travelling, I couldn't understand people complaining about this, as you are in Turkey not England! But after going for a meal on the first night I understood. There was soup and bread (no butter?), a small selection of salad-type options that were tzatsiki, courgettes, tomato, carrot etc, then a chef serving either chips, rice, pasta and some sort of meat. This was EXACTLY the same every night, with the salad staying in the same bowls and not even being fresh. Everything was in bowls covered in layers and layers of oil which made it pretty much inedible unless you were prepared to stand there for ages to drain some of the oil before putting it on your plate. The chef's selection changed every few days - chicken and chips, sausage and rice, fish and chips, pork and rice etc but the salad was always the same, not great for a 9 night stay. We ate out 4 times in the end because we were so sick of oily salad and chips. Having tasted the evening meal, we didn't see the point in attempting breakfast, and went only once despite being up early on a number of days. This was salad, fruit, bread, cheese, a strange sausage, what looked like vegetable stew and what we would call 'eggy bread'. We didn't go back another day after eating this. It's not too bad though because you can eat in restaurants around the hotel for really cheap.
The hotel staff were also another reason I can't see how the hotel got such a high rating on tripadvisor. In the restaurant, there was only one member of staff who spoke to us at all. One waitor even looked at me strangely when I smiled at him! They all stood around doing nothing and looking miserable. The chef was actually quite scary, staring awkwardly at you and claiming to not speak any English at all when we asked what kind of soup it was, yet a day later managed to say 'It's mushroom soup today' without us even asking! The hotel manager sat in an office in reception and was always around smiling and asking how the holiday was going, so I can't find any fault with him. The reception staff were what really let the place down. We asked a number of questions to them, which they seemed to answer with great effort and not the Turkish charm you experience everywhere else in Marmaris. When checking out, we had a huge problem with the airport transfers we had ordered, as they didn't arrive. We went back into the hotel and asked to use the phone to contact the provider. The receptionist helped a bit at first, speaking on the phone when we couldn't understand, but then hung up and told us the transfer was not coming. She didn't try to solve the problem in the slightest and looked at us blankly when we were obviously stressed about how we were going to get to the airport. We then had to ring the company again to speak with them to reason about why it hadn't came and what was going to happen, as she just hung up without resolving anything at all. The two receptionists stood there the whole time staring at us and talking in Turkish and laughing. We were having the worst possible end to our holiday and looking at the prospect of paying 140 lira to get home and they couldn't have cared less. We then found another number of the transfer company to call and asked to use the phone again. The receptionist took the phone from us and said we couldn't make another call because it cost money to the hotel... hardly providing good customer service when we've just paid them 9 nights stay!! We had no idea what the area code was for Turkey as we hadn't made any overseas calls on our mobile, and spent 10 minutes searching the internet for what we should input while the receptionists stood and watched. In the end, we were told to find our own way to the airport and had to find a taxi. The reception staff asked what was happening as we went to leave, and we told them we were finding a taxi to the airport. We returned to collect our cases and it was only then that they offered to book us a taxi to the airport. We were totally ignored and it seemed they couldn't have cared less if we missed our flight or had to pay a lot more for a taxi, nevermind the long confusing phonecalls with the Turkish people! We weren't overly happy with the food in the hotel but found the rooms OK, but after the absolute nightmare of getting home we would never, ever stay in this hotel again and I suggest the management find new staff, because they are really letting it down! The people who saved the day were the men from the excursion company opposite the hotel, whom we had become friendly with during our stay. They booked us a taxi with a discounted rate, let us pay in pounds as we had no lira left, calmed us down and bought us bottles of water, making the end of the holiday slightly less stressful! If anyone wants any trips while in Marmaris, I'd definitely recommend them!
All in all, good rooms, pool area is good, food is rubbish, staff are not the friendly people you get elsewhere in Marmaris!

Room Tip: A room at the back facing the pool is quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2012

Holidayed here at the beginning of July to the middle. Gosh, it was great weather - HOT - 50 degrees Hot to be exact !

As the saying goes, you book 3 star, you get 3 star. For its standard of its recreational areas, could easily be verging on 4 (As far as the local Turkish Standards are set and comparison with other 3 Stars).

First time in Turkey and impressed. Marmaris would not be my first choice and probably would not stay in the resort again, however this hotel was a great escape from the madness and tackiness which lay just yards from its doors.

The Lunchtime Poolside menu and offers excellent food. - providing you order from the pool bar (the waiters at the main restaurant at the front of the hotel had a habit of charging inconsistent prices?).

Breakfast, although basic, is well presented and the Breakfast and Evening meal Restaurant is very clean and well maintained with its friendly staff on hand.

Staff really friendly also and very welcoming.

A few tips : 1. Walk in the morning, there is no hassle from the restauranters and less people on the beach.
2. They could not cram any more sunbeds onto the beach if they tried, for a quiter beach, head to Icmeler, Turunc or Ohanyie' on the Dolmush. (right outside the door for the main bus station or central Dolmush stop) They offer great little coves to swim in, excellent restaurants and slightly less crowded beaches - paticularly Ohanyie', there was no one else there. One more place to recommend close to here, Turgutt Waterfall, Dolmush from the central Dolmush stop.. Beautiful.
3. Do go to Ephesus with a trust worthy tour company (the £5 or so more per person will go along way and make a difference) - speak to the reps in the hotel and be 'dubiouse about the street touts selling it' - the difference being a Archeologist as a guide or a person telling you to meet the coach in an hour or 2 and make your own way through Ephesus, I heard a few horror stories such as this).
4. The Water Taxi is a great change from the Dolmush and Cooler for Turunc or Icmeler. It can be caught just down from the 'Captains Bar' usually around 10am (10 Lira each) - the Captains Bar is great also for an evening meal and a drink.
5. The White Lion Pub is a good place for a good evening meal and a lunchtime snack. (Just around the corner)
6. Closer to home, Marmaris Castle is a way of exploring 'real Marmaris', as is the old town laid around within and under its walls - it alos forms part of Bar Street at night.
7. Do go to the Turkish Bath in Armutalan, it is about £10 or £20 with a 15 minute massage, the difference between this one and one of the hotels in Marmaris is distinctive.
8. To see more Archeologist sites, go to Bodrum. (3 Hours from the Alkan hotel to its castle on the local bus - Dolmush to Bus Depot, get the bus to Mugla on the hour, let the driver know you are going to Bodrum and he will take care of your changes and everything, hassle free and works the same on the way back - 20 Lira each one way) Sites include the castle and the temple of Halicinarsuss - The Excursion Touts don't offer this.
9. Restaurant Deniz on the port of Marmaris is really good value, good food and good location.
10. Pacha Chan near the Point Centre (Where the locals eat) is great to sample 'Lamachun & Lentil Soup' - a must try. You also pay local prices here therefore i highly recommend this one.
11. When shopping for Souvenirs, the shops in front of the hotel are just as good, if not better than the Bazaar.
12, Icmeler Supermarkets are slightly better value than Marmaris.
13, Ask any restaurant to make you up a Sandwich for the Airport on your departure day. You will thank me for this tip. Dalaman Airport a right rip off, prepare to pay hefty prices (£3 for a coffee or Soft Drink, £5 for a beer / glass of wine or £10 each for a fast food type meal in Euros or get a rubbish conversion rate for any left over Lira you have.

So, heres to your holiday, congratulations on your choice of hotel. Say hello to the Ben Stiller Look alike on Reception and have Fun ! (my only gripe, the radio station playing by the pool bar only played about 8 different songs in my 2 weeks I was there).

Room Tip: Request a Corner Room (A big Baclony with 2 views, always with a side sea view).
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Camos07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2012

Had a great stay at the Alkan. We booked in after walking out of the disgusting Club Dena 25 minutes after arriving. The manager and staff couldn't have been more welcoming and helpful showing us a few rooms and offering us another the next day if that didn't suit. Rooms were very big and well maintained and like a proper hotel. Lovely poolside and easy to get a sunbed all day.
Very centrally situated. Will definitely stay again and worth paying a bit more.

Room Tip: Poolside would be great but if on main road get higher up to avoid road noise. If you can get a corn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank robrob20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marmaris hotels
0.9 mi away
Aegean Princess
Aegean Princess
#43 of 234 in Marmaris
471 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cle Beach Boutique Hotel
Cle Beach Boutique Hotel
#49 of 234 in Marmaris
400 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cihanturk Hotel
Cihanturk Hotel
#95 of 234 in Marmaris
157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Sun Flower Hotel
Sun Flower Hotel
#123 of 234 in Marmaris
49 reviews
0.4 mi away
Supreme Hotel Marmaris
Supreme Hotel Marmaris
#64 of 234 in Marmaris
517 reviews
0.5 mi away
Yunus Hotel
Yunus Hotel
#58 of 234 in Marmaris
207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alkan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alkan

Address: Kemal Elgin Bulvari 67 | Marmaris Merkez, Marmaris 48700, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Marmaris
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 234 Hotels in Marmaris
Price Range: $20 - $100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Alkan 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Alkan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing