We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“food”
Review of Zeybek Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Zeybek Hotel
Ranked #38 of 81 Marmaris B&B and Inns
istanbul
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“food”
Reviewed October 2, 2012

The food me and my friend had in this restaurant was horrible. The a la carte menu was there for nothing. So if you are not staying in the hotel and just went there for the restaurant, you will be surprised to see that they don't have fresh and good food! I realised that when I ordered but then I didn't want to be rude to walk away and cancel my order when I realised that it was gonna be really horrible food.

How can people cook bad and non-fresh fish and meat? This Zeybek restaurant in Turunç can.

I am ashamed to have taken my friend there for the last night of our holiday.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sebnemer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    31
    7
    4
    7
See reviews for
13
33
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
goffs oak
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2012

Stayed at Zeybek a number of times and have always enjoyed it. However this years stay was marred by two issues, beach sun loungers, and the attitude of the management team toward some guests, namely westerners, as opposed to Turkish guests.

The management team (3) just blank, totally ignore westerners, no smiles good morning, nothing, it's as if we don't exist, this exludes the waiters (2) who are friendly and appreciate a tip at the end of your stay, same goes for the two cleaning ladies who do an excellent job.

This attitude toward westerners is in sharp contrast to the smiles, good morning and friendliness shown to the Turkish guests staying at Zeybek. It's not good enough to say management lacks good English skills (I believe they know more than they let on) a Tukish good morming would be very acceptable, and lets face it, a smile is universal.

The owner of the hotel reportedly will Not allow Bacon or Pork on the premises, within this fact may lay the answer as to why the poor attitude toward westerners,

If you have back problems, beware, the sun loungers on the beach are knackered out and will surely aggrevate your back problems. The sun loungers comprise a rigid plastic frame, with a polyproperlene top stetched over the frame and laced underneath. Four years ago they were fine, now either end of the poly top just sags over a central support bar that will dig into your back, there is no proper support whatsover

If you arrive without back problems there is a very good chance you will go home with some, 90% of all sun loungers on the beach are the same, but all rigid plastic sun loungers can be found at some establishments along the beach.

The hotel itself is fine, basic but clean with excellent maid service and friendly waiters

If the hotel management has issues regarding westerners they should perhaps Not advertise in western countries, avdertising instead in Turkey and like minded countries.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mikeC23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2012

This review is difficult because we had a great time at the Zeybek and really enjoyed Turunc but the hotel is fairly basic, the rooms are small and the breakfasts are a bit monotonous - bread, cheese, cucumber, tomatoes, olives, sliced meat, boiled eggs, tea and coffee.

The big plus for the hotel is its postion right next to the beach. The sea facing rooms have small balconies with wonderful views out to sea and across to the harbour or along the beach. They also get morning sun so it's quite pleasant to sit on them in the evening. The rooms were clean with frequent changes of towels and bed linen. A fridge would have been great but the rooms aren't big enough to take one. The television was handy to keep up with things.

We all want to pay Travelodge prices but get Ritz service levels. Well, the pricing for this hotel is quite good but there sure aren't Ritzy service levels. We found that we had to have aircon and that was an extra £30 per week. That's fine until we found that others had paid different amounts and all of them less!

The hotel is convenient for all the lovely restaurants in Turunc but the Zeybek restaurant was only open from 7.30pm until 9pm and was the quietest along the seafront. They don't seem to try very hard with that part of the business.

If you want a prestige hotel and a room with luxury features, look elsewhere (and pay more!) but if you're happy with the sentiment that you don't spend too much time in the hotel room but want clean, basic accommodation in a great position, the Zeybek could be a good choice.

Room Tip: Ask for a first/second floor sea facing room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thaliman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newcastle
1 review
Reviewed September 15, 2012

Just returned from a two week half board basis holiday at ZeyBek, this place was lovley the staff very helpfull,,,,,, MITO, SEDAT and the rest of the staff we lovley warm and welcoming..couldnt fault this place at all good value for money , rooms very clean. hotel its self was kept to the highest standards, the food was turkish,, but fresh everyday and plenty of it. The beach and scenery pretty and you dont have to pay for sun loungers.
One fault is the Mosk is right outside the hotel and at 5.00am the imam has a good set of lungs and a cracking PA system ..... will return again

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peter s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 10, 2012

I spent a week in zeybek hotel and I will definetly be returning the hotel was very clean, staff were very friendly.

rooms are small but all I needed was a bed and washroom as I spent more time on the beach!

turunc is the perfect relaxing holiday

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank priya87258
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alesund, Norway
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2012

Me and my boyfriend stayed here for one week in the begining of august, we loved it and would go back any time! The standard is quite basic, but everything is clean and the staff is friendly. The restaurant/breakfast area is wonderfull, with the best sea view while you're sitting under the grape wines. Some sleepy cats are wandering around, but here they are all well fed and looks happy. :) The town is very small and feels safe. Everyone are very friendly, and not pushy like they can be in other typical holliday places. The beach is just a couple of meters from the hotel restaurant, and there you can enjoy the free beach chairs and parasols as well as swimming in the crystal clear water.
I miss Turunc and the staff at Zeybek, if I get to go back I will stay for more than a week!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Veslealv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012 via mobile

Turunc is a great place for a relaxing holiday and this hotel is good value.
I would recommend this hotel if you want a good value hotel in a great location which is typically Turkish.
The hotel is typically Turkish so by UK standards very basic but it is very clean. Our room was very basic with two single beds a wardrobe and a small bedside chest. The shower room was tiny with the toilet pan overhanging the shower area. The bedding was changed every other day along with the towels and the room was thoroughly cleaned daily. Our room had a double balcony with panoramic views over the bay.
The staff were helpful and friendly.
The shower has poor water pressure which makes it difficult to have a good shower but you can make do with a little patience.
Hot water runs out later in the day and there is no hot water in the mornings, I think this is due to the solar heating.
Breakfast is typically Turkish but if you are not happy with this there a plenty of places willing to try and produce a full English although in my experience they are not good at it.

There a plenty of places to eat out so I would suggest booking B&B only. Our favourite restaurant was Called Elif & John which is off the main street. We also had good meals the the following; Korfez - great service good food and great value. Menen - offers a great Turkish selection at great value if asked, very friendly owner. Pisces - roof top terrace with quality service and food. A little more expensive but worth a visit.

No Bamboo cafe and bar in the high street has live music each evening and worth a visit.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank KevinPlymouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marmaris
12.9 mi away
Eden Pyara Hotel
Eden Pyara Hotel
#2 of 16 in Turunc
5.0 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
12.9 mi away
Meril Hotel
Meril Hotel
#13 of 16 in Turunc
3.0 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
12.7 mi away
Turunc Premium Hotel
Turunc Premium Hotel
#6 of 16 in Turunc
4.5 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.6 mi away
Loryma Resort
Loryma Resort
#1 of 16 in Turunc
4.5 of 5 bubbles 388 reviews
12.8 mi away
Turunc Hotel
Turunc Hotel
#3 of 16 in Turunc
4.0 of 5 bubbles 706 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sen Apartments
Sen Apartments
#5 of 16 in Turunc
4.0 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zeybek Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zeybek Hotel

Property: Zeybek Hotel
Address: Cumhuriyet Cad. Turunc, Marmaris, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Marmaris
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 81 B&Bs / Inns in Marmaris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Zeybek Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Zeybek Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing