We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Turkish Delight"”
Review of Club Evin Marmaris

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Marmaris
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Club Evin Marmaris
Ranked #8 of 234 Hotels in Marmaris
Certificate of Excellence
Wisbech
Level Contributor
45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 203 helpful votes
“"Turkish Delight"”
Reviewed October 31, 2012

My wife and I booked a last minute weeks holiday at Club Evin for the last week of the Turkish holiday season in October this year.
Some friends had suggested we all go for a break away together and at the time the suggestion was made we were not certain we could both get the time off work.
Then when we found we could, our friends had already booked a break in Marmaris but when we researched the hotel they had booked it didn't really appeal to us.
So we looked through the offers available just 5 days before we would have to leave and found the most appealing deals on the web were all made much more expensive by added on transfers, huge baggage charges and other sundry fee's. So we tried Thomson's own website and were pleased to find the late deal prices shown included transfers and a 20kg per person baggage allowance. We then listed the available holidays by price and the first two best value available did not come out too well on T.A. The third option was for Club Evin, after reading through the previous great reviews on T.A. we did not hesitate to book there and then, happy that we didn't need to look any further, holiday sorted.

The next day I sent an email to Club Evin requesting a room with a double bed if at all possible (I don't much care for two single beds pushed together, its somehow just not the same)
The email was promptly answered saying they would do their best to accommodate our request, a good sign.

When we arrived at Club Evin (4am! eek! we had awful flight times) we were met at the coach by a member of staff to help us carry in our luggage.
There was another group on our coach and we were all dealt with incredibly efficiently and got to our rooms quickly, with no fuss whatsoever.

Our accommodation for the week was room no 1006 which is on the first floor at the furthest end of the corridor facing out over the front of the hotel.

There was a small hall (with a cupboard/wardrobe to the side) leading to the bedroom, bathroom and lounge & kitchen area.
We were pleased to find we had indeed been given a room with a proper double bed (not two singles pushed together) the bedroom also had a wardrobe and a small dressing table.
The bedroom had a huge fitted headboard arrangement that is actually designed for a room with two singles so it looked a little odd and consequently it only had a single bedside cabinet.
We didn't mind the odd effect it created in the room but for the first couple of nights we did inadvertently hit the light switch and turn on the lights in the middle of the night.

The bathroom has a 2/3rd size bath with a curtain and shower over. The basin has a hairdryer hard wired into the side of the wall for use in this room only. The bathroom had two bath-towels, 2 hand-towels and a cotton bath-mat provided. The shower was hot first thing in the morning and from lunchtime on, it did seem to dip in temperature from 8am until the sun was well up. Not a problem as it was predictable you could easily adjust the time you showered to suit.

The lounge / kitchen has a balcony to the front (with a small table and two chairs) a double sofa bed, breakfast bar with four stools and one wall of kitchen units with a freestanding double electric hob with an extractor fan above, a small under-counter style fridge and a small sink (but no draining board), there were adequate plates, bowls, cutlery and utensils to cook within the confines of two rings should you wish too. There was also an electric kettle for you to use. I would suggest you take a couple of old tea-towels, scourer and a small bottle of washing up liquid if you intend to make use of the facilities. (Don't take your best tea towels then you can leave them there when you go so you can cram another bargain in your case when you come home)

Therefore everything you need is here, 1st impression was very good as everything is spotlessly clean or new. I would say the quality of the fixtures and furniture etc is best described as basic but it is all undeniably functional and certainly more than adequate for a week or two's summer holiday.

There are plenty of electrical sockets so you can recharge your phone, computer or whatever you have that needs to be plugged in, we were able to use our computer on an open network without any problems (We were told it wasn't actually the Club Evin system later on in our break when we were on it in the restaurant one evening but as it was working perfectly we stayed on it!)

We paid 25 lira to have a safe deposit box for the week which was operated by two keys (One you keep and a master key kept behind the counter) so it is very secure. We did not have the air conditioning controller as we felt we wouldn't need it so late in the season.

The room was cleaned to a very good standard every single day.

The hotel prides itself on having a sun bed for every guest, so there are none of the silly games you often find to get somewhere to sun yourself here. There is a nice sized swimming pool and a small children's pool to the side for the little ones. The pool area is surrounded with marble, beware if you are wearing the wrong footwear, with the smallest amount of water can become very slippery.
The restaurant has a big projector TV for showing sporting events etc and there is a sub-terrainian bar / nightclub area underneath the main bar.

We took the option to upgrade our holiday to the Club Evin version of full board.
Unlike many full board hotels where you have at best, little choice of food, with Club Evin you could have anything you wanted off the breakfast menu for breakfast, anything from what they call the snack menu for lunch and (Almost) anything you like off the full menu for dinner. Therefore if you wanted you could have a full English (Or Turkish) breakfast in the morning, fish & chips or a pizza for lunch and a 16oz T bone steak for dinner!

We had many different meals including the Ottoman special, Chateaubriand, Mexican steaks, Fillet steak, Fish & Chips, Pizza's, Baked potato's and shepherds pie all of which were perfectly cooked and served to us. The only thing I would say is that because the food is very reasonably priced in the restaurant if you are likely to be eating out more than a couple of times you may well be better off paying as you go. We did have two lunch's out (in different places) and were outrageously overcharged for what we had in both establishments for this reason we decided that the best thing for us was to stick with the Club Evin deal, this we did not regret for a moment.
We paid the bar bill at the end of the week which was reasonable when considering we had drinks with all meals right up to a very nice bottle of Merlot with the Chateaubriand.

So doubtless just like we were, you will be asking yourself why is this modest family owned 3 star hotel rated as no 2 (out of 289) in Marmaris (at the time we visited) and this question I am only too happy to answer.
Unlike the 5 star All Inclusive hotel our friends were staying in, we were made to feel like welcome guests at Club Evin.
We were on first name terms and welcomed as such by everyone at Club Evin every day, our friends told us they really were just a room number in their hotel.
No small achievement anywhere these days, the whole team of staff are like an extended family and carry it off without any apparent effort.
My wife and I both work in retail and know just how impossible customers can be these days but at Club Evin nothing was done with anything other than a winning smile and a happy positive attitude. When you are on holiday this attitude is infectious and the while the guests are enjoying great service they too are happy to be there, no grumpy faces to be seen in any direction at any time, boy does that make a change these days. I can only speak for the time we were there but judging by the previous reviews on T.A. and the fact that only 1 hotel in Marmaris is rated on T.A. higher I would take it as read our experience was typical of the "Club Evin Standard" holiday experience.
In a nutshell we absolutely loved it, Mehmet and Ayse have a great team of staff who do everything they can to make your stay unforgettable, we will be back and would happily recommend this hotel to anyone that wants a lovely relaxing (shopping?) holiday.

Lastly I would like to add that if you go at the absolute end of the season (Late October) like we did, Marmaris is effectively shutting down for winter.
This means many of the hotels will be closing and you may well not get to go to the hotel you booked (Two groups that were staying in the Club Evin had booked to go elsewhere) but had been put here because their hotels were now totally shut. They all seemed quite happy to be there all the same. It also means that many of the bars and clubs and entertainment opportunities are also shut, which if that is what you are going for may well leave you disappointed. However if you like it quiet (like we do) and you want to make some amazing buys in the shops and at the jaw dropping Marmaris bazaar (when Dalaman airport effectively shut's on the 1st of November all the traders Know there will be no more customers for 6 months and on many items will do an amazing deal rather than have to sit on what could become unfashionable stock next year) We bought superb replica watches, clothes, handbags, jewelry, spices and many other things at prices that would be unbelievable frankly anywhere else.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank abjem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

769 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    632
    91
    25
    15
    6
See reviews for
240
287
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2012

We had a brilliant time here, it was our anniversary when we stayed, the staff bought us a cake, which was lovely, also had flowers and a card in our room too. Will definitely book again for next year. Very friendly and welcoming, food was very good, service was excellent, rooms were basic but very clean & tidy. It was about a 10 minute walk from the Main Street. We had a great time and will definitely be back xx

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Room506
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2012

Just returned from week at Club Evin Hotel. This is the 2nd time we have been here this year..We love it that much!!! Everything excellent..Food delicious..Rooms cleaned every day and spotless. The staff here really go that extra mile to look after you.
Big Hello to Ali & Family also to, Alistair (The Legend!!!)TJ (So Funny) Oulash (Lovely) Pedro (Gentleman) Dino (charming) and all the other guys. Isobel really makes you feel at home and Dot puts on the hardest quiz's most nights and provides great entertainment. Place would not be the same without them. Not forgetting Pam on reception who is so helpful.
Anybody thinking about booking here just book it and you will be sure to have a fantastic time.
See you all next year for my next Club Evin Fix!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank miskyg29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2012

Personal touch, they can't do enough for you, the cleanliness was perfect, the food - is BEAUTIFUL.. Their chefs are brill- steaks and chicken was beautiful. Service and value was great. I really cannot pick one fault.. And I've already recommended club Evin to others. The Club Evan Team are amazing.. Izzy is just a mother hen- she's an angel.. Mehmet is so kind and thoughtful, there is too many people to go on about.. But I can guarantee personally, if you're thinking of going- don't hesitate.. Book now for a brilliant holiday ❤❤❤❤

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dizzymacdoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
198 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 369 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2012

If you go to the Club Evin expecting the Ritz you will be disappointed; but in the best possible way! I have been to the Ritz and it is a sterile, unfriendly environment where you are just a room number. The Club Evin will always win for us because of the wonderfully friendly, caring family who own and run the hotel and their well trained staff. At least one member of the Gumuscan family was there 24/7 and often all three were in attendance. They were ably supported by three lovely Scottish ladies, one charming, young Scottish man and several friendly Turkish men and women.
When we booked the Club Evin it had a two star rating. However, we booked because of its high position on Trip Advisor. We were very please, but not altogether surprised, on arrival to find that the hotel had received a third star.
We had declined the Thomson coach and booked a private transfer through Eric Erkan as we were sure he would pass this on to DM Transfers and this proved correct.
We were met at Dalaman by a young driver and shown to a Mercedes MPV. This was immaculately clean and had large, comfortable leather seats. Although the driver was young he was good and we felt very safe with him.
We reached the Club Evin in about 70 minutes. He asked us if we wanted a drink or to stop but as we already had some water we said no! We paid him the £70 on arrival and checked our return pickup time.
Before he had opened the back of the vehicle Dino, one of the Club Evin waiters was there to take our luggage.
In reception we were met by Mehmet Gumuscan, the owner, who sorted everything out in a couple of minutes. This included a safe deposit box key and the air con controller. See prices below. The safe boxes are in reception and are totally “safe”! you have one key, reception has another and both are required for the boxes to be opened.
We had asked for a quiet room on a low level. This we got. It was on the ground floor, directly on the corridor between reception and the bar and overlooked a small garden. It was perfect for us. What made it even more perfect were the four friendly cats who greeted our appearance on the balcony every day. Mind you I think the fact that Jean fed them every morning and evening helped. We are both animal lovers!
The lounge was big enough for the two of us with a sofa bed, a fixed breakfast table and four stools and the small kitchenette adequate for the only meals we prepared; breakfast. There is a two ring electric hob with a pull out light/extraction unit above. The kettle worked well and was put to good use a couple of times a day. The crockery and cutlery was in good condition and there was enough for four place settings. The only thing we bought from a local supermarket was a couple of mugs as the cups were “teacup” sized and we like a decent portion when we make a hot drink. There was also a small side table with a shelf. This was ideal for charging laptops, iPads and phones as it was right by an electric socket.
The bedroom was small but once again adequate. There are two small wardrobes, one in the hallway and one in the bedroom which will easily contain all the clothes you will need for a two week holiday. We had twin beds and there was a small dressing table with a large mirror.
The bathroom has a small bath with shower over. The water is solar heated and I did not expect to have hot water first thing this morning. But when I showered after my walk there was still enough heat to make the shower enjoyable. However beware! When you shower later in the day, after about 15:00, the water is ferociously hot and could easily burn the unwary. Children should be supervised.
Bed linen and towels were always spotless and changed every day or so. The cleaning ladies were charming and seemed to work nonstop. We never had any reason to complain about the cleanliness of our apartment!
The Club Evin is at the moment a two block hotel; however, there are plans to add another block with two bedroom apartments, a hamam and a small fitness centre.
The two blocks are either side of a nicely shaped swimming pool. This pool and the surrounding area are kept spotlessly clean. There is an adequate number of sunbeds and we never had to search for one or a sunshade. If you are hungry or thirsty by the pool you will never have to move to satisfy your needs as TJ or Alistair will be round, every few minutes, to take your drink, food or ice-cream orders. There is also a small, shallow, well shaded children’s pool.
The hotel’s restaurant, which has recently been renamed “Revolution”, is excellent and the food is freshly prepared to order. There is a choice of breakfast options which can be ordered for most of the morning and are at a very reasonable price. Whilst we were there, full English and Turkish breakfasts were just 4.90 TL (£1.75). These dishes could be ordered later in the day but the price went up. The two chefs work tirelessly and all meals are well prepared, nicely presented, hot and tasty.
On different occasions we had various breakfasts, lunches and dinners in the restaurant and I have reviewed it elsewhere under the name Revolution. We never had a single complain about the food and the waiters and chefs bent over backwards to cater to our requirements. For example; the English breakfasts came with toast made from a square, English style loaf. We found this to be tough so the chef toasted the lovely Turkish bread for us and we had that with all future breakfasts.
We also had the Sunday lunch at the hotel and it was lovely. A large bowl of homemade vegetable soup was followed by roast meat (choice of chicken, beef or lamb) and all the trimmings. This was followed by a choice of apple pie or ice-cream. The price for this has slipped my memory but I remember thinking it was very reasonable. There was even mint sauce with the lamb!
I could go on and on singing the praises of this lovely, family run and family friendly hotel but I will finish by saying that the biggest asset that this hotel has is its staff!
No matter how busy they were, they always had the time to stop and greet us, shake our hand or give us a hug and ask about our welfare. This for us is what a holiday hotel is all about. We will be back.
Club Evin Staff
Mehmet Gumuscan; owner
Ayse Gumuscan; owner
Ali Gumuscan; manager
Pam, reception
Isabel; bar and restaurant supervisor
Dot; entertainment supervisor
Suleiman; chef
Ali; assistant chef
Alistair; head waiter and swimming pool
Pedro; waiter
Dino; waiter
Yildrim; waiter
TJ; pool supervisor
Ulas; barman
Okan; trainee barman
EXTRAS
Room retained until 16:00 25 lira
Room retained until 18:00 50 lira
Air con 85 lira per week
Safe box 25 lira per week
If you wish you can have your laundry done for you on site. We did and it was always perfectly cleaned and ironed.
Laundry small piece; 2 lira
Big piece including beach towels; 3 lira

TURKISH NIGHT
At the Club Evin, Wednesday night is Turkish night. We had been given a heads-up about this from a friend on TA and so decided to give it a try.
We spoke to Pam in reception and asked if it was all right to invite our friend Linda and after receiving a positive reply we booked a table for three with Isabel in the restaurant.
Start time was 20:00 and we arrived and ordered our drinks. The tables were set out around the pool with the food at one end next to a small cleared area which was to serve as a stage for the "acts".
The food consisted of Turkish meze dishes and freshly cooked barbecue. The Meze consisted of several dishes including the usual hot chilli dip, yogurt with garlic, potato salad, aubergine salad a mixed potato and vegetable dish and a green salad. There was also a big heated tray of rice and a basket of bread.
The barbecue, which was expertly cooked, consisted of Kofte, chicken kebab and chicken fillets. The meats were tender and totally delicious. The Meze dishes were obviously freshly made and of a very high quality. We all loved it and even though the initial portions were more than generous, we all went back for seconds. There were no shortages!
After everyone had eaten their fill the entertainment started. First up was a troupe of young, very athletic young men dressed as Zombies who did a very good routine of mixed break dancing and acrobatics. This they finished off with a short "fire" handling act. All in all a well thought out piece of entertainment.
There was a short break of 10 - 15 minutes between each act.
Next was a male belly dancer. He was tall and willowy and dressed in an attractive white outfit. He was a very good dancer and I think it took one or two of the other guest a few minutes to realise "he" was not a "she"! It was obvious that he loved to dance and it showed in his "passion".
Next was a female dancer who was ok but seemed more interested in collecting money than dancing and her routine was very basic and a little pedestrian.
This was followed by a troupe of young girls dressed in traditional costumes. Not surprisingly they did some traditional dances which were fun to watch.
Last of all was another female belly dancer who put the other female to shame. She was young and beautiful and knew how to belly dance.
This had turned out to be a very good evening’s entertainment and at 30 lira (£10.50) each, great value for money.
Although we did not go to the Turkish night on our second week, due to a prior commitment, we were told that the second week would be half price!
We would happily recommend this evening and this hotel to anyone.
Peter & Jean. :o)

Room Tip: Being in our 60s we asked for a quiet room on a low floor. This we got. Ask for a room facing the ga...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank PRO69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2012

I stayed at Club Evin in June with a group of friends, my review is a little late, but better late than never! From we arrived we were treated like royalty. We were shown to our rooms while getting our luggage carried for us. Our rooms were spacious and modern and were equipped with kitchen utensils although they were not needed as the food at the Restaurant was delicious. Our room also had a shower and a bath with the maids attending daily changing the sheets and giving us fresh towels and toilet roll. The pool was large enough and not too deep just the way I like it ;) there were also enough sunbeds for everyone. The hotel hosted two events each week, Turkish night which was very entertaining with different acts performing which were interesting to watch and I even got up for a boogie myself with one of the belly dancers. There was a barbeque on this night serving pasta, different types of chicken, chips, rice etc and different Turkish dishes. Turkish night took place every Wednesday night. There was also Saturday night entertainment with a variety of different acts. Although these two were great events, there was also other entertainment all week including karaoke, bingo and quizzes. The location of the hotel was perfect, it was quiet but if you wanted to party Pasha Nightclub was just a five minute walk away. The beachfront was roughly a ten minute walk from the hotel which was perfect for us during the day as we enjoyed shopping and relaxing by the beachfront. The service from the staff was excellent. I'd like to thank a number of people for making my first abroad experience one to remember - Isobel, Dot, Ali, Hasan, Pedro, Ulas, Dino, and lets not forget Alasdair/Alex/Buddy ;)

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Charlene A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2012

We stayed at Club Evin for a week in October and it was brilliant.The rooms were cleaned every day. The food was great and prices good.The people that work here are all so very nice and everybody went that extra mile to help you in all ways. Quiz most nights with shots as the prize. Free pool table. Plenty of sunbeds. Hope to return next year

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Remzi01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marmaris
0.6 mi away
Club Aida
Club Aida
#2 of 234 in Marmaris
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,360 reviews
0.1 mi away
Club Anastasia
Club Anastasia
#4 of 234 in Marmaris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,915 reviews
0.2 mi away
Club Atrium Apartments
Club Atrium Apartments
#1 of 28 in Armutalan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Casa De Maris Spa & Resort Hotel
1.2 mi away
D-Resort Grand Azur
D-Resort Grand Azur
#14 of 234 in Marmaris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,182 reviews
0.8 mi away
Blue Bay Platinum Hotel
Blue Bay Platinum Hotel
#19 of 234 in Marmaris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Club Evin Marmaris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Evin Marmaris

Property: Club Evin Marmaris
Address: Hatipirimi Mahallesi, 139. Sokak, No:22, Marmaris 48700, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Marmaris
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Marmaris
#4 Romantic Hotel in Marmaris
#4 Family Hotel in Marmaris
#5 Spa Hotel in Marmaris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Club Evin Marmaris 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern designed apartment and studio rooms designed for your comfort. Onsite a la carte restaurant, pool bar, games room, kid's playground. Entertainment program throughout the day and night including bingo, karaoke, quiz, cabaret and much, much more all to make your holiday one to remember... ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Evin Club Marmaris Hotel Marmaris
Evin Hotel Marmaris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing