We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice hotel, nice location very badly run......”
Review of Hotel ForestGate

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel ForestGate
Ranked #17 of 19 Hotels in Gocek
Reviewed September 16, 2009

we spent 2 weeks at this hotel and at the end of our holiday we feel like we were robbed having had to pay 10% on absolutely everything we had on already high prices... also on meals that we actually hadnt had and seemed to appear on everyones bills... after a week we decided to go elsewhere for a few days.. when we came back there was no water at all it hadnt been hot the previous week... the barmen was rude and racist but had gone by the time we got back from the other hotel... breakfast was diminishing rapidly i.e. no eggs, no fruit, no honey... it became a bit of a joke we nicknamed it fawlty towers but it wasnt really funny... it was our 30th wedding anniversary we wanted a relaxed quiet and enjoyable time and this wasnt....

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tina-huggins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palacioglu, Public Relations Manager at Hotel ForestGate, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for posting a review of our resort on TripAdvisor.

We are sorry to learn that your stay was not up to your expectations.
As you can see from the other reviews posted about our resort, we generally receive very favorable comments about the service provided by our ambassadors to the guests.

We have addressed your feedback with the Department Heads concerned to ensure that we exceed our guests expectations in all aspects.

I do hope that your travel plans will bring you back to Forest Gate soon and while we can empathize with your disappointment, we do hope that you will give our resort another try and contact us directly for your next reservation to ensure that you will have a satisfactory and enjoyable stay with us.

We do look forward to welcoming you back to Forest Gate in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (64)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

38 - 44 of 64 reviews

Reviewed September 16, 2009

We have been visiting Turkey, which we love, for well over twenty five years and our experience at the Forest Gate Hotel is the worst holiday experience we have ever had.
The only positive about the Forest Gate Hotel is the location, which is beautiful. We were allocated a very small and dark room with a shower that didn’t work and no hot water. In fact, later in the holiday we had freezing cold water for three and a half days when the heater in our block broke down. There were empty rooms all over the hotel with functioning showers and hot water. The best they could offer us was a shared room (between eight people) to shower in. Unfortunately, the water in that room did not come out of the shower head but out of the valve outlet below.
Beware; the hotel operates a recently introduced 10% Service Charge on everything, not just meals. Absolutely everything else that is purchased including water, beer, wine and even ice-cream is subject to this charge. This is on top of the hotel’s very expensive prices compared to other hotels in the area. There was nothing to say that this charge was being levied but due to numerous complaints a small notice was put up in the bar in Turkish. We suggested it might be helpful if it had been written in English as 90% of the guests were British. On the day we left an English version was posted by the owner who asked if we were now happy.
The breakfasts, after the third day, started to diminish rapidly In fact, one day even the boiled eggs were missing. A cost cutting exercise we think.
Add to this the abusive barman Ahmet who interrupted every conversation we tried to hold. See another review on this web site by Bungenma for confirmation of this guy’s appalling behaviour. He is an out and out racist and his language was appalling. He was, after numerous complaints transferred to the owner’s boat. We believe he has now left completely.
Also check your bills carefully. We were charged for a barbecue we had paid for the week before and blatantly overcharged for items that we had had. Other customers were charged for meals they had not had. The problem seems to be the owner whose only interest is screwing every customer for as much money as he can and not providing a proper service in return. When we complained he became very threatening and abusive and threatened to call the police at which point we paid the incorrect bill in full, packed our bags and found alternative accommodation We have since been contacted by other guests who also left mid way through their holiday because they felt very threatened by the owner’s behaviour.
Our problems were compounded by the fact that our tour company’s representative was not allowed over the threshold of the hotel because the owner had banned him. We were completely at the mercy of a very large, very aggressive Turk, unlike any other Turkish person we have met before.
This is the first time after all our travels all over the world we have ever felt the need to let other people know what an absolutely awful experience we had at this hotel. Please take our advice and avoid it like the plague.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Turkophileabz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
One-more-night, Manager at Hotel ForestGate, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2010

Dear Turkaphile,

Ok, Firstly the hotel is under new management and the owner has moved on, also would like to know what company you traveled with? So we can make a reimbursement in some kind of way. Just to let you know that our Bar & Restaurants prices are changed this year, There is not 10% charge, All rooms have been Remodeled and Newly refurbished and have professional Staff.

Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2009

thomas cook recomened this great little hotel, but they pressurised us to book this holiday on the 18th may, telling me they only had one room left, i said i would think on it next day they phoned again so i made them an offer and the agreed, but on arrival at this hotel which has 26 rooms there was only 1 ROOM occupied by an elderly gentleman, who went home 2 days later leaving just my wife and i, ther was nobody to talk to and off course no bar open, a little lonley to say the least. I asked the owner why it was empty, and told him my story and his reply was that T.C. had lied to me . the reason being they want to fill their plane which THEY DID. conplaIned to T,C. and the just did not want to know and fobed me off. after many letters and WEEKS off waiting . all i could do unfortunately was to give up I would recommend this charming litte hotel , BUT NEVER TRAVEL WITH THOMAS COOK AGAIN.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank possum67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2009

We stayed in this hotel for one night and it was a last minute decision. The hotel is very good. Rooms are very big and feels like home. Staff were helpfull and nice. The location of the hotel is 10 min. walk from the harbour in the quiet area. The shadow of the mountain next to the hotel is covering the hotel until 10-11am, so we enjoyed a cool morning sleep without AC with breeze forest air in Mid July. If you are looking for a relaxing, quiet place, this hotel is recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank couplefromDoha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2009

This was a perfectly located, chilled out hotel which would appeal to anyone looking for a quiet break. Rooms were adequate, pool was good, food was delicious. However our stay marred by the irritating bar tender/waiter Ahmed who didn't seem to understand that when you were having food or chilling by the pool, you didn't want to listen to his racist comments about most nations other than the Turkish. Even when it was obvious we wanted to be alone and were not engaging in the conversation (ie eating lunch!), he just persisted in talking and voicing opinions that no one really wanted to hear. Beware also of the hidden extra charge of 10% 'service' added to every every beer, ice cream and food that you purchase. While a service charge for food is understandable, 10% added to every beer that you order at the bar, or every ice cream you take from the fridge is a complete con. This information is not displayed anywhere - and is NOT OPTIONAL and can quickly mount up over a week. Not happy about being conned like that!

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bungenma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2009

Just returned from the ForestGate. Had a wonderful time. The accommodation was fine. Our room was quite large but I gather other rooms can be smaller. It is a very peaceful place to unwind (OK when there are children it can get noisy). The staff are lovely and overall will try and help you at all times. If you get a chance to go on the owner's boat for a day round the islands - go. Went twice it was so relaxing and fun. A quiet relaxing cruise with new friends for lunch and a swim. The walk in to town is about .3/4 of a mile - really pleasant. Easy to get a taxi back or if energetic walk. The breakfast was fine but the same each day. Stayed for two weeks. Would I return to this hotel or recommend it- YES.
Would i go back to Gocek -yes. No beach but there is a domus to Ilice and a boat to Gocek island. We really liked Gocek island . Loads of restaurants. Particularly liked the Gocek Restaurant and Limon.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank upshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2007

I went away for a week on my own in early June to escape the pressures of life. Gocek is about half an hour from Dalaman airport. Down a winding forest road was how the minibus deposited me at the Forestgate - a small hotel with approximately 25 rooms. The setting is fabulous. My room had a large double bed and was spacious, with a big bathroom. I was on the ground floor and had a view of the pool. The room and the hotel are spotlessly clean. The hotel is in a magical area if you just want to unwind. At night you could hear nothing which soon sent you to blissful sleep. Even the airconditioning is non-intrusive. Breakfast is served up until 12 noon so you do not have to get up early. It is a typically Turkish affair without any surprises. I have had better Turkish breakfasts. Bar snacks and dinner is served in the evening. The staff are helpful and friendly. It is aproximately a 10/15 minute walk along a peaceful stoney road to reach the resort of Gocek. Which is a beautifully laid out place - a faourite with the yatchting set as you can see by the size of the vessels in the three ports. An attractive landscaped seafront for an evening stroll and at night lovely displays of colour changing water fountains. Restaurants are plentiful and good. My favourites were the Cafe West, Kebab Hospital, Limon and the Sunset for a romantic setting. Shops are varied - good quality clothes and tasteful souvenirs. In all Gocek is upmarket Turkey in a beautiful setting. It does not appear to be plagued by mosquitos - I am normally bitten but did not receive one bite and only saw one mosquito. I felt very safe in the Forestgate and in the resort and as a single female that is very important. I would definitely return. In fact, I did stay in Gocek with friends about 7 years ago and it is just as nice now as it was then. The Forestgate is a lovely little hotel and offers very good value for money and lots of friendliness and I have come home with very fond memories of the place.

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank ilovetravel50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gocek
7.8 mi away
D- Resort Gocek
D- Resort Gocek
#1 of 19 in Gocek
383 reviews
7 mi away
Rixos Premium Gocek
8.2 mi away
Gocek Lykia Resort Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8 mi away
Gocek Arion Hotel
Gocek Arion Hotel
#6 of 19 in Gocek
144 reviews
7.7 mi away
Villa DanLin Hotel
Villa DanLin Hotel
#10 of 19 in Gocek
46 reviews
7.5 mi away
The One Club Hotel
The One Club Hotel
#6 of 10 in Sarigerme
202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel ForestGate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel ForestGate

Address: Cumhuriyet Mah. Beldibi Cad. No:24, Gocek 48310, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Gocek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 19 Hotels in Gocek
Price Range: $35 - $92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel ForestGate 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Forest Gate® is a haven of peace and tranquility, hidden away in an enclave of a pine forest on the hills that embrace Gocek. With an understated air of class and sophistication, the Hotel Forest Gate® provides the perfect balance of high quality and comfort. Tastefully decorated throughout, the attractive buildings that form the complex echo the architecture of the Great Ottoman era. At the centerpiece is a lovely large kidney-shaped freshwater swimming pool, complete with wood and white canvas furniture, in keeping with the general décor. If you want to head for the sea, the hotel offers a courtesy shuttle service. The Hotel is a Delightful and Friendly hotel, away from the madding crowd, that is certain to satisfy even the most discerning Guests.15kms from Dalaman (10mins), 25kms from Fethiye (15mins) 100m from Gocek, 380m From the sea Surrounded by forest and wildlife. Heaven ! This is an amazing hotel set in the untouched part of Gocek. With a peaceful and stunning surroundings Indoor & outdoor bars and restaurant overlooking the pool and pine forests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel ForestGate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing