We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“We escaped... and came back to make sure that we...”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
125 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
7 Bedrooms, 7 Bathrooms, Sleeps 14
Gocek, Mugla Province, Turkish Aegean Coast

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 125 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
German first
Turkish first
Any
English first
taylorvkt
Ellesmere Port, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“We escaped... and came back to make sure that we hadn't been dreaming (and we NEVER EVER go to the same place twice)”
Reviewed July 19, 2013 for a stay in June 2013

Upon our return to the escape we discovered improvements.
That's not to say it needed improving at all, but, with their legendary attention to detail, Susan and Chris had prioritised further investment for the comfort and value of their guests.
But, more. We discovered that during the winter Chris had published his novel, "Tears of Myrrh" - and, out of curiosity (and politeness!!) I downloaded it on Amazon.
I should have had more faith that with Chris's creative touch and Susan's attention to detailed editing, that it would be a worthwhile investment during our second idyllic stay, and, as ever, they didn't disappoint on either count. A thrilling holiday and a holiday thriller in one classy package! And we thought it couldn't get any better!!
Can't wait until next year for that third thrilling holiday sequel... er, and a holiday thriller sequel, please, Chris?

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
duchess_o...
south london
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Just Wonderful”
Reviewed July 6, 2013 for a stay in June 2013

the escape – it’s what it says on the tin…

Wanting a real escape from the rigours of our academic and commercial lives, we wanted a quiet room and a relaxing holiday (Choose Topaz). Yes, we also wanted to forage for a quiet beach and a sunset jetty where we could immerse ourselves in Mediterranean dusks with a chilled glass of something, and perhaps enjoy a brief return to human contact at a quayside restaurant (Mostly, Susan delighted us with her delicious cuisine)
We got it all: a place with a stunning look; adults only (with no children called Chutney or Tenpin unsupervised by holidaying mums and dads to mar our calm); English hosts, Susan and Chris, who seemed to understand our needs in detail.
And it is in the detail that our week-long stay gave us a close insight into two people who worked tirelessly to deliver levels of quality, service, and ‘guest relations’ that justifies their philosophy of what should be the best in hotel service.
Susan gave us an honest ‘behind-the-scenes’ peek into the escape behind closed doors:
Susan nurtures her fine Egyptian cotton (mega-thread-count) bed-linen in-house on a secret rooftop laundry terrace: “We don’t like to air our clean laundry in public”, she says with her own fine sense of humour
There are no ugly banks of solar panels to taint the Romanesque architecture and run you short of hot water at night or first thing in the morning!
Every room has been furnished to combine designer style with practical usage.
I asked to see their new Suite which has 2 rooms comprising balconies back and front offering a 360 degree vista of the escarpments or distant mountains, ‘his-n-her’ shower rooms, and a private TV Lounge.. sunset balcony. Ours next visit, Guys!
Of course we are paying for all of this pampering, but the added-value in the room-rate is outstanding – we didn’t want to come home.
And there are no signs telling you what you cannot do. (After all, we are adults)
So we relaxed – and did it all!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
turqu0ise
kent
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Tranquility at The Escape's lovely location”
Reviewed July 3, 2013 for a stay in June 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We had a marvellous stay at The Escape. And it was an Escape! It was so peaceful and quiet and the location is beautiful with wonderful views down the valley. It was just what was needed after a very busy period at work. We had the Turquoise Room which was perfect for us – an incredibly comfortable bed and the room is lovely and light - you can lie in bed and feast your eyes on the views over the pool and to the hills beyond. My husband is a very light sleeper and he was delighted with how soundly he slept. Susan and Chris couldn’t have been more attentive and helpful and we were thoroughly pampered! Great food too – we are vegetarians and Susan cooked us some excellent meals and the choice of food for breakfast is good and plentiful. We stayed for a few nights prior to going sailing and we were so glad we did. The luxury of The Escape really set us up for the rigours of spending time in a small yacht!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayinger_1...
Aying, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Staying just one night worth every minute”
Reviewed June 25, 2013 for a stay in June 2013
1
person found this review helpful

My wife and I stayed at the Escape after a long day in the sun visiting Ephesos. It turned out that we picked to best place for the rest we felt the need for. We did not find it in the first place because we forgot the sheet with the directions Susan and Chris had sent us at home. But after a quick call, Susan picked us up at the gas station nearby. Following her up the hill we noticed why the Escape is the right name. You can enjoy being away from all stress. Just lean back and give your eyes a relaxation from a great panoramic view.

I can highly recommend having dinner here. Susan will serve excellent dishes and you can be sure the right wine is served as well. If you are lucky, you'll get Susan's homemade cupcakes for desert.

Thanks to Susan and Chris for their hospitality

Juergen and Barbara

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Paare
Your age range 50-64
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris_and...
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“You can check in any time you like but you will struggle to leave...!”
Reviewed June 23, 2013 for a stay in May 2013

The Escape is the imaginative vision made true of owners Chris & Susan who willingly share their dream home and offer a huge welcome to their guests. They have created a unique oasis of tranquility and serenity that rests on the edge of a traditional and rustic mountain village located within easy reach of the charming Turkish town of Gocek, which boasts casual bars, delightful shops and restaurants and an incredible marina dominated by sleek-lined sailing boats and mega-yachts.

The Escape offers unprecedented comfort and luxury for the discerning and inquisitive traveller. It is undeniably unpretentious, with quality and attention to detail at the core of its ethos. The Escape tells the story of the travels, experiences and passions of its owners through the interesting and beautiful artefacts they have collected and which they love to share.

Whilst at The Escape time has a tendancy to dissolve whilst you enjoy the warm sun, the awesome unspoilt views, the delicious food, specially selected organic wine and the convivial conversation with Chris & Susan. Their tales of fame and ambition will intrigue.........and, on a good night, Chris might even sing for you - a real treat!

The Escape is as much an experience of a calm elegant retreat as it is an invitation to stay at the mansion house of celebrity friends! Given the opportunity we would stay at The Escape until 'Hell Freezes Over'!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Couples
Your age range 35-49
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EssexItal...
essex
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“The GREAT Escape”
Reviewed June 16, 2013 for a stay in May 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at the escape for 10 nights in May and booked last minute by my dear husband as I'd been ill and he wanted me to get some much needed rest and sunshine. We couldn't have chosen a better place in the world. Chris and Susan (the owners) could not do enough to make sure that I was looked after they are the sweetest couple. My hubby still misses the breakfast omelet and the red wine!!! The views are wonderful all bedrooms are stunning with the softest bedding and fluffy towels heaven! We shall be back.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaveCatBo...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Dave and Caroline”
Reviewed June 15, 2013 for a stay in May 2013
1
person found this review helpful

My wife and I enjoyed two excellent weeks at the escape, Chris and Susan are wonderful hosts who go the extra mile to ensure their guests have a holiday to remember. From the moment we arrived,very late in the evening, they surprised us with the offer of food and drink, much appreciated as it had been a long day, the whole holiday continued in the same way. The hotel was immacutely clean and the rest of the staff were friendly and efficient in their work. The gardens of the hotel have many interesting plants and shrubs and reflects the amount of thought that went into the construction of the hotel. The superb pool is always clean and immacutely kept and we enjoyed a pre breakfast swim everyday. The food was excellent, Susan is a great cook, the menu though limited in its choice, she was more than happy to accommodate individual tastes and we often prefered a hot shower, a relaxing drink and Susan's cooking to a trip to Gocek. They are a mind of information with recomendations of where we should visit and not, which on a two week holiday is essential. We arranged our hire car through them and the rates and level of service from their company was much better than other holidays.
We can only say if you want to visit Turkey and the Gocek area the THE ESCAPE is a must

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing