We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“There is a problem with The Escape”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
126 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
7 Bedrooms, 7 Bathrooms, Sleeps 14
Gocek, Mugla Province, Turkish Aegean Coast

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 126 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
German first
Turkish first
Any
English first
Truant40
Plymouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“There is a problem with The Escape”
Reviewed October 24, 2012 for a stay in October 2012
3
people found this review helpful

Be warned: You will not want to leave this hidden gem. True, it is hard to find, but that is part of its magic and fear not, you will have help to find it sitting on the side of a mountain behind the coast near Gocek. The Escape makes a beautiful and tranquil base from which to explore this piece of paradise or just relax and - escape. Swim in the (proper sized) pool at sunset and watch the water turn pink. Hosts Susan and Chris have laboured meticulously to make the Escape a friendly, relaxed and comfortable hotel. They were more than accommodating to the vagaries of our sailing based holiday - and when we returned for the last night before flying home we felt we were coming home. Susan supplied not only superb food, but daily maps to aid our explorations. They are a very special couple - and with persuasion maybe will entertain you with a spontaneous evening of live music. Their motto "Arrive as guests and leave as friends" sums it up.

Date of stay: October 2012
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Couples
Your age range 50-64
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidN_10
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Exceptional.....”
Reviewed October 16, 2012 for a stay in October 2012
1
person found this review helpful

Just occasionally you come across a place where you feel totally at home and relaxed within minutes of arriving. Susan and Chris have created a haven of peace in an idyllic location and manage to provide exemplary service delivered with a degree of warmth and humour which is infectious. Add to this delicious and imaginative cuisine using local produce complimented by exceptional organic Turkish wines and you have a true recipe for a memorable holiday experience! Only a short drive from Gocek with its impressive marina and laid back bars and restaurants, Escape is also ideally situated for easy exploration of the stunning coastline from Dalyan to Fethiye and beyond. Highly recommended and we cannot imagine not returning to this magical place very soon!

Date of stay: October 2012
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gaz958
Margaret River, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Tranquil hillside oasis”
Reviewed October 4, 2012 for a stay in September 2012

After a long trip from Australia it was the perfect place to unwind and prepare for our adventure thru the rest of Turkey. A great to stay if you want to chill around the pool, with pampering by the friendly hosts Susan and Chris. A 10 minute drive to scenic Goecek with restaurants, shopping and marina to wander around and with many day trips to enjoy from this sophisticated establishment. The rooms are beautifully attired with the most modern facilities we have experienced in our travels in Turkey, with wonderful beds and pillows. The hosts cook an evening meal if desired, which is delicious with an English flavour, and the breakfast is extensive. We would love to return sometime to enjoy more of Chris and Susan's hospitality.

Date of stay: September 2012
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pompeylad
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Peace, tranquility and a good laugh”
Reviewed September 16, 2012 for a stay in September 2012

After being fortunate enough to have travelled extensively in the past, we now seek a much slower pace for our holidays. We certainly found it at The Escape. Susan and Christopher are the perfect hosts to match their perfect "home from home" hotel. It is set in a wonderful quiet location with no outside influences except nature in all its glory. They have both put their heart and soul into the conception of The Escape and it shows at every turn. Susan prides herself with her delicious dinners all cooked with fresh local produce which come at a very reasonable price. Christopher maintains the pool to a very high standard and we were lucky to have a room that opened straight onto the pool terrace, so it was onto the sunbed or into the pool with just a few steps. Everything at the hotel is impeccably clean and well cared for just as our hosts cared for us. We left our perfect week feeling that we had holidayed with friends, as Susan and Christopher couldn't have made it more comfortable for us. We found peace and quiet and wonderful harmony with our hosts.

Date of stay: September 2012
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mirjam v
Texel, The Netherlands
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Feeling at home by good friends”
Reviewed September 8, 2012 for a stay in August 2012

We were warmly welcomed by Susan and Chris at there beautifull build villa that is light, clean and cosy. They make you immediately feel at home and do everthing to make it comfortable for you.
Susan is a great and creative cook and we had two delicious meals for very fair prices.
The rooms a very luxury, with great beds and pillows.
It's about 10 minutes from Gocek and Susan was so kind to take us twice to this beautifull harbour and the way back with the taxi is also not so expencieve.
The swimmingpool has a beautifull vieuw on the hills.
Chris did a little demonstration with us with the fence sport, we liked that very much.
The Escape is a good place to relax and fill up your batterys, it is also a wonderfull location for grouptrainings.

Arien and Mirjam van Erkelens The Netherlands

Date of stay: August 2012
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Stellen
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wygelia
Hitchin
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Perfect, memorable and luxurious start to our Honeymoon!”
Reviewed July 1, 2012 for a stay in June 2012
3
people found this review helpful

We can not rate our stay at The Escape highly enough, 10* at least!! Absolute paradise! We stayed for the first three nights of our Honeymoon before our bareboat charter from Gocek. Susan and Chris are lovely people and were so attentive, welcoming and friendly. Every single detail of our stay with them was perfect. Daily clean fluffy bathroom and swimming towels, quality bedding / pillows and wonderful super king sized bed. The room we stayed in was spotlessly clean and comfortable. Susan had arranged various treats for us on our arrival as it was our honeymoon, which were so kind. She is in an exceptionally talented cook using local fresh produce and the breakfast and evening meals we had were mouthwatering delicious. The pool is the cleanest we have ever swum in and the views are just fabulous.The incredibly beautiful and peaceful situation of the Escape meant that it was easy to switch off and relax. The unpolluted night sky stars were an added romantic treat. We felt we had stayed with friends who had gone out of their way to spoil us. We hope to return at some point.

Date of stay: June 2012
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rrhonda
Perth, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Relaxing, restoring and peaceful”
Reviewed June 14, 2012 for a stay in May 2012
3
people found this review helpful

We felt we had been welcomed into the home of friends. Sue and Chris have made a very comfortable haven of gracious living, excellent home cooked food and some nice wines. Dinner was simply delightful and breakfast had everything you could want, charmingly presented. The room was spacious and impeccably clean, the bed was very comfortable with a view from the bed over the beautiful pool and into the countryside, which had goats. Our bathroom was fully wheelchair accessible. It is a place where you can be as private or as companionable as you choose and you can relax because Sue and Chris have it all efficiently organised.

Date of stay: May 2012
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing