We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BBQ yourself”
Review of Cinbal Restaurant

Cinbal Restaurant
Ranked #31 of 411 Restaurants in Fethiye
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $28
Cuisines: Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Large groups, Special occasions, Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Cinbal restaurant sabah kahvaltisi. Kuzu tanir .Kendin pisir kendin ye ve restaurant bari ile hizmet vermektedir.Ister kapali alanda.Isterseniz turk usulu masalarda(kosklerde) isterseniz yesilliklerin altinda oturabilirsiniz...
Cheltenahm UK
Level Contributor
159 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“BBQ yourself”
Reviewed August 28, 2012

We liked this for a change, great playground for kids to play on and an experience . Will do again not too expensive either

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank jonnyjabbah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    160
    39
    7
    6
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Preston, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“An experience not to be missed!”
Reviewed August 28, 2012

We took a taxi from Hisaronu to Cin Bal for about 25 lira. When we arrived we were greeted by a lovely gentleman, who explained that there was no menu.
He showed us the display of raw meats, ranging from shish kebabs, chicken kebabs, meatballs to lamb chops and asked us to choose our meats. He then showed us the mezzes and asked us to select from cheese straws, houmous, aubergine salads and lots more.
We were then asked to choose a table, so we chose the Turkish Style raised wooden table with the cushions which had a circular table on top for the food. We ordered a bottle of local Angora white wine and they brought a basket of freshly baked bread.
What we did not realise was, that we had to cook our own food, they brought a lit BBQ for us to use. My daughter and I enjoyed cooking and found it quite fun. The food was all lovely and fresh. We then discovered, that there was a special dish of lamb which is slow cooked all day, which a family next to us explained was the most succulent lamb they had ever tasted.
We would have ordered this had we known. This restaurant became very busy and is extremely popular with the locals. The views of the mountains behind us was stunning and the open air restaurant was surrounded by Citrus trees. The turkish music in the background added to the realxed ambience.
It was an amazing experience, they shook our hands when we left and let us take photos of the display of meats. Not to be missed but ask for some of the famous lamb!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Helen100_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Cinbals - simply amazing experience”
Reviewed August 20, 2012

have been to Cinbals on a number of occasions. The location is stunning, the service excellent, the price very reasonable, and the ambience unique. It's a must do experience in the heart of the beautiful Kaya valley. Do not miss it !

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DaleCardiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
156 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 210 helpful votes
“Probably the world’s best barbecue restaurant.”
Reviewed July 22, 2012

Cinbal, pronounced jin-bal, is a restaurant in a class of its own; a meal here is so unlike the usual restaurant experience, that it should have a category all of its own.

The restaurant, which is family owned and run, is in the now famous ‘Ghost Village’ of Kayakoy, is but a short drive or dolmus (public mini bus) ride from Fethiye or Hisaronu and well worth the effort. Wander around the deserted village in the late afternoon and then head to Cimbal for a superb, simple meal in a garden, shaded by vines laden to breaking point with scrumptious grapes.

Most visitors praise the excellent barbecue and it really is the best I know but the highlight of the Cinbal culinary experience is another dish, which is what draws the locals to Cinbal. Usually eaten as part of the meze or starter course, it is called “Tandir” and is slow cooked lamb with herbs. The tradition in Turkey, was to make bread in a wood fired bread oven in the early morning, then when this task was completed, the ‘Tandir’, a casserole of lamb or mutton, was placed into the oven to cook slowly until it was served at the evening meal.

Cinbal is not just a summer barbecue treat, come back in the winter for the true atmosphere of a Turkish village. Very few tourists explore out of season and Kakakoy is a wonderful , lonely experience in the bright, crisp atmosphere of a winter’s morning, when one can absorb the history of this deserted community. Then, when you have sharpened your appetite, visit Cinbal. In this season, the tables are inside the barn like restaurant, there is a roaring fire at the centre and each table has its own barbecue with a chimney, which carries away the smoke. The atmosphere now is authentically Turkish, join in, have a glass of Raki, taken with ice and water and just sit back, soak up the ambiance and enjoy a superb meal in this unique eatery. It is so good, that I am tempted to keep it a secret.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Philip B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harpenden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Barbecue Experience”
Reviewed July 17, 2012

If you think you have been to a barbecue restaurant - you haven't until you have visited Cinbal. This is a unique expereince where high quality food is chosen by you to cook yourself on your own private barbecue. Take your seat at a table or try the Ottoman seating which is popular in the area but a very relaxing way to enjoy your food.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank JeffFrankling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cinbal Restaurant also viewed

 
Fethiye, Mugla Province
Fethiye, Mugla Province
 
Fethiye, Mugla Province
Fethiye, Mugla Province
 

Been to Cinbal Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing