We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel BUT !!!!!!!”
Review of Gunes Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Fethiye
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Gunes Hotel
Ranked #29 of 101 Hotels in Fethiye
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel BUT !!!!!!!”
Reviewed June 19, 2011

We have been to this hotel at least twice a year, for a month or more at a time, the last 5/6 years and always found it one of the best in Calis.
The hotel cannot be faulted in the staff, the value for money etc.
However this year the management has used a German tour company to bring out many Polish, 18 - 24 years of age, people who were the rudest people we have ever met.
They continually run up and down the stairs, screaming and shouting at all hours of the day and night, constantly slamming doors and knocking on other guests doors, taking numerous bottles of drinks to their rooms and drunkenly shouting to their friends on the beach at uptil 3am and 4 am in the mornings.
They also "invaded " the breakfast layout, taking the rolls and meats/cheeses in bulk up to their rooms.
This completely spoilt our and many other guests, German and English, holidays.
Many of them complained to the management.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jarpa8864
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    39
    9
    4
    0
See reviews for
24
46
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2010

The room was clean and comfortable and the shower was outstanding, a corner unit with plenty of hot water and good pressure. Lovely warm pool. Friendly staff although they didn't speak a lot of English as most of the guests were German. Bar stayed open as long as you wanted. Located right on the seafront in the middle of the resort, which catered for a more middle aged clientele. Lots of good restaurants with authentic Turkish dishes as well as burger and chips. No nightlife in resort.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank geoffk10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2010

Just returned from a 10 night stay at Gunes Hotel. I can only say as a seasoned traveller that the hotel made our holiday one of the best we have had. The hotel is literally next to the beach, with amazing views of the sea and mountains. We asked for a quiet room with balcony and seaview and we were given exactly that. The bedrooms are carpeted which stops most of the noise in holiday hotels from people dragging furniture across the floor and high heeled shoes clattering, usually in the middle of the night by the selfish gits who would never dream of considering anyone other than themselves ! Bed linen changed regularly.Towels changed daily. Mini fridge handy for bottled water. Aircon effective. Breakfast is Turkish with fresh bread with toaster. Cheese, salami, olives,tomatoes, cucumber. Cereal, yoghurt, jams,honey & boiled eggs. Sometimes scrambled eggs or pancakes. Juices & tea & coffee. Staff were all very pleasant & helpful. The Pool is beautiful and there are adequate sunloungers surrounding it. Nice little pool bar serving drinks & snacks all day till the early hours. All the time we were there we never heard the 'noisy bar next door'. The bathroom was quite adequate with hot water most of the time (solar heated) so a bit spasmodic. Unfortunately, the shower curtain in our room did not fit inside the tray so we had to mop up after a shower but it did not spoil our stay.
We shall definitely return to this hotel if we go to this resort again. A hidden gem !

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank leebooker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gosport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2010

This is not the hotel we had booked, at the last minute our tour operator changed our hotel. We were very wary as it wasnt out 1st choice. However, we were pleasantly surprised. I would definately recommend for couples wanting a peaceful holiday base.
Room was basic, but more than accommodating. £4 a day for Air Con, but believe me, money well worth spent in August and September in Calis Beach. Full use of fridge which was needed to house bottles of water. A must on hot days in Calis! No tea or coffee factilites in room, but if you take travel kettle and t-bags./coffee then this isnt a problem. I dont know of many 3* hotels that even do offer tea and coffee facilties. The hotel has a shop right on the beach which was convenient for milk and water at very reasonable prices.
If I had to make a comment on something not nice about this hotel it would be that the shower is too small, and the bedroom area is carpeted (in my opinion not very hygenic). Our room was cleaned everyday and fresh new towels placed in the bathroom everyday. Bed linen changed every other day. I have stayed in 5* hotels where this has not been standard. All in all for a little hotel, this is a great base.
The beds were so comfy we missed breakfast every morning. The best night sleep we have ever had. Breakfast was offered in every single cafe or bar along the beach at very good prices. Full english on offer together with contiential.
On occasion the hotel had entertainment, however it was never advertised. We would just turn up back at the hotel of an evening to be greated with Belly Dancing, fire eating etc., very entertaining. We had a fantastic view from our balconly so could see all the entertainment.
Calis Beach is generally a quiet area and the hotel also had the same feel. Music was played most nights, but was very relaxing not obtrusive. Not loud disco music, just background noise, however once balconly door was closed you couldnt hear anything, not even people in next room. Very quiet, we had the best night sleep ever!
Having never heard of this hotel, until our tour operator moved us, we have now decided it was the best move possible, Having seen the hotel we should have stayed in, I can only say we got off lightly! Terrible reviews of the Hotel Ceren. We are glad we were moved to the Gunes Hotel. We shall definately return.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rachel_shepherd7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2010

Get a sea view - amazing
Hotel room comfortable and clean. - with use of fridge. did'nt spot a kettle
Shower room plenty of hot water
B&B buffet choice met all palates.
Staff courteous, helpful & friendly
Other guests were very pleasant and polite
The resort of Calis Beach will appeal to those wanting a quieter break, however plenty of bars & restaurants to satisfy all.
Dolmus service to Fethiye is regular and you can use water taxis alternatively, From Fethiye you can visit lots of places, try to get a map of the area before you go as some of those you are given don't have a lot of information, but don't worry as it is difficult to get lost there!
12 island cruise is great book it independantly and share with the locals they had loads of fun!
Jeep safari is great wear older clothes, take water-pistols and lots of sweets.
try a trip on a dolmus.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelling_timmies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2010

I have been to Calis Beach a number of times however I have always stayed in apartments. This year I stayed in a Bed and Breakfast called Gunes Hotel. The title 'B&B' however, is slightly misleading. By breakfast, there was bread, tomatoes, cheese and salami. Also there was no mug of tea and had to pay 4 TL for toast. The hotel was also described to have air conditioning and a laundry service. Air conditioning was £4 a day... which soon adds up after 2 weeks. The laundry service also came at a charge.

Although the room itself was cleaned everyday; it was very basic. The beds, although not the worst I've ever slept in, were not comfortable. However, it was not the beds that caused my boyfriend and me to have sleepless nights. The hotel next to us played extremely loud music until at least 1 am. I am 18 and enjoy going out as much as anyone, but when I feel like it. The music was so loud that it was impossible to have a nice night staying in and we felt forced out of the hotel at night to get away from the music. Even when the music had been turned off we found it impossible to sleep through being aggravated.

The hotel seemed to be mostly full of Germans. Not that being German is a problem. However, it was a problem that the evening menu was only written in German, as well as descriptions of the evening entertainment. The amount of people the hotel slept did not reflect on how many sun loungers there were. Not to be stereotypical but of course, the German's did get up stupidly early to put their towels down and then go out all day leaving them taken up so others had to sun bathe on the floor.

The staff, although friendly, definitely used the language barrier to their advantage. It was surprising that when we complained about the noise level and being given the wrong room they didn't understand. However, they understood very clearly when being told by our rep.

Overall, I had a good holiday but the hotel did ruin it for me. Calis beach is amazing.. but next year i won’t be staying at Gunes hotel; or any other year for that matter.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank aj311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 1, 2010

We booked this hotel on a last minute deal and we are really glad we did! The hotel was really nice and the staff fantastic!

When we arrived in the early hours of the morning we were not pleased with our room, it seemed very dirty and smelt of cigarettes. We were so tired we just lumped it and went to sleep. First thing in the morning we went downstairs and our room was dealt with straight away. The rooms are comfortable but don't expect any luxuary! They are very basic but suited us fine. Couple of negatives, carpet on floor which we don't think was ever cleaned, we didn't see any hoovers, and the shower is TINY! The pool and bar area is lovely and more than comfortable to spend the whole day outside. Breakfast is traditional Turkish and nothing special but does the trick.

There is no entertainment at the hotel but the beach is literally a 2 second walk and the front has loads of really good restaurants etc and is great to spend an evening. Serkul 1 is great if you want a nice meal. General location of the hotel was great as well with a dolmus a minutes walk where you could get into Fethye for 1.5 lira.

The staff were amazing and couldn't do more to help you. Special shout out to Hakan who was great and so polite! Ice screm, you scream! :-)

We enjoyed our holiday so much that I intend to go back again next year with a friend.

  • Stayed June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rousekate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fethiye hotels
0.1 mi away
Rosary Beach Hotel
Rosary Beach Hotel
#43 of 101 in Fethiye
128 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Mutlu
Hotel Mutlu
#18 of 101 in Fethiye
312 reviews
0.1 mi away
Remer Hotel
Remer Hotel
#28 of 101 in Fethiye
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Mendos
Hotel Mendos
#63 of 101 in Fethiye
78 reviews
0.2 mi away
Oykun Hotel
Oykun Hotel
#9 of 101 in Fethiye
636 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bahar
Bahar
#30 of 101 in Fethiye
324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gunes Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gunes Hotel

Property: Gunes Hotel
Address: Calis Plaji 1080 Sok., Fethiye, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Fethiye
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 101 Hotels in Fethiye
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 34

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing