We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (136)
Filter reviews
136 results
Traveler rating
88
20
14
7
7
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
88
20
14
7
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lycian way other guests patara sea guesthouse
Filter
Updating list...
45 - 50 of 136 reviews
Reviewed July 6, 2012

I spotted details of Yediburunlar Lighthouse on the internet by chance and straightaway decided it was somewhere I wanted to visit. This year a fortnight in Turkey fitted our holiday plans and so we booked via Exclusive Escapes.

We were among few few guests to spend two weeks rather than one at Yediburunlar Lighthouse yet we did not find it too long - rather it was the ideal opportunity to recharge our batteries away from the hustle and bustle of everyday life. The accommodation and food were both very good and we enjoyed the guided walks please a few that we undertook on our own. Being a small hotel, guests tend to talk with each other and we shall remember intersting conversations with fellow guests.

Date of stay: June 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kathryn_bunch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2012

It’s somewhat difficult to recognise the Yediburunlar we stayed at 23-30 June from the description in the previous extremely negative review.

The ‘badly and expensively let down’ people appeared to find nothing good to say about Yediburunlar. So let’s start with the wonderful vegetarian food. I loved it… a large choice of wonderful Turkish dishes and I am a meat eater. I agree that there were flies around, particularly during breakfast.

We stayed in Kardelan, the’ room with the view’. The room was great and envied by fellow guests… the view, waking up in the bed, was fabulous. The room referred to in the review was not one used by Exclusive Escapes. I have seen the room and whilst it is probably not to the same standard as the Exclusive Escapes rooms, I can’t see it warranted such a dismissive rant… protruding light-bulbs really aren’t a major issue. I do agree that shower soap should be provided.

As for hospitality, it is a fine line to tread between being there to assist guests and becoming intrusive. Leon and Semra have always been friendly and helpful to us. Semra is more often ‘behind the scenes’ producing the excellent food, whilst Leon is ‘front of house’. We have always found them helpful and friendly.

This was our fourth stay in as many years. It is a wonderful, get-away-from-it-all place. We enjoyed the walks and the company of fellow guests. I know the hotel has many repeat visitors, which must say something, and unlike the reviewer we will return.

Date of stay: June 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank IanE15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2012

My wife and I are widely travelled Seniors with professional lifetime experiences in client hospitality and architectural design.

We have just returned from a very disappointing four day stay at the Yedi Burunlar Hotel (YBH). The hotel is featured as “a boutique” hotel and our suite, Negris, as “ de-luxe” accommodation.

This description is widely contractually inaccurate. The not cheap accommodation is very sad, tired and dirty.

The overall impression is of an unfinished, poorly equipped and unloved establishment in need of a great deal of refurbishment and TLC.

The initial approach to the hotel, which should set the first image for the YBH experience, is marred with piles of old junk, old chairs and furniture and rusting metalwork both inside and outside of the entrance boundary gates.

Our “suite,” how is one room a suite?, was like visiting a care rest home rather than a “boutique” hotel being furnished with mismatched very old badly worn furniture, bad light fittings, and faded decor.

It is obvious that there has never been a professional designer associated with any of the spaces in the hotel. It has all been poorly and randomly thrown together. Charmingly ethnic it is not and is carried out in very bad taste.

Our bathroom shower leaked badly and when used deposited soapy water all over the floor. The tray was not clean. It was not possible to have a full body shower as the shower head fitting was broken.

There were great lumps of dried toothpaste stuck on to the rear of the bathroom door left by previous guests. The bathroom door could not be shut as the lock has been broken and a rock was left to prop open the door!!

There were no courtesy bottles of shampoo and shower gel in the bathrooms. Several clients had not brought any at all, expecting, as usual, at a ‘“boutique” hotel, that they would be supplied.

The bathroom and bedroom lights are fitted with low voltage bulbs. These unattractively protrude from below the bottom of the glass light shades.

The bedlinen is faded and stained, the old worn carpets are curled and threadbare, and one of the old armchairs in our room had its stuffing hanging from below the chair base.

There are very strange dark material valances arranged over the bed and writing table and this material has a curious dirty, dusty smell.

There is an unused metal ventilation pipe hanging from the ceiling with old fabric stuffed into its open end to seal it up.

Electrical power distribution cables festoon the floor and bare lighting wires are clipped to the unattractive timber ceiling. There are holes in the plaster ceiling that need filling and repainting.

In the four days of our occupancy the floors and window cills were never cleaned and the dead flies and bugs were there when we left as they were at the beginning.

The otherwise attractive view from the bedroom window is spoilt by looking at discarded beer mats, paper napkins and old cutlery thrown from the dining terrace above.

The two owners need urgently to learn basic hospitality etiquette as they hardly interact with their guests whatsoever. Their conversational exchange is to ask what drinks are required for breakfast and supper. Nothing else. They are insular, unhelpful and aloof.

They appear unconcerned as to the needs and enjoyment of their guests. Food is set out open buffet style. It was only on the last day of our stay that saucers of burning coffee were lit to try to stop masses of flies and bugs settling on the food.

Even upon leaving no offer was made to help in carrying our heavy luggage up dangerous stairs to the entrance reception.

The presented final invoice for our stay was scribbled, in pencil, on a used scrap of paper, not on a headed notepaper account and illustrates perfectly the total unprofessional manner that this hotel projects.

YBH is used by a British tour Company, Exclusive Escapes.

We suggest that this company review its arrangement with YBH as a number of EE clients during our stay were highly critical of the accommodation and the off handed management style they had received.

We and others staying recently will not return.

Photos are available to substantiate our comments.

Date of stay: June 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Cartero186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2012

The problem is where to go next having been here third year running!
Could I ever find this unique combination of beautiful location, well run accommodation, rustic luxury, good vegetairan food, tranquility, peacefulness, walking, wildlife, minimum number of guests and delightful dogs & cats that make it feel like a home . Sunsets are stunning here. No traffic noise, no phones ringing, just the splashes when someone gets into the pool, the crickets and occasional buzz of a bee.
Stayed in the Kardalen Lodge with panoramic stunning views from the bedroom and the jaccuzi on patio outside. In fact, I did ask Leon if, in later years, he would consider turning his very special establishment into a retirement home (as in The film Best Exoctic Marigold Hotel) so that we could stay there to the end of our days!

Room tip: All rooms or lodges are good and have sea views. Each has its own merit. Book any and I don't think you will be disappointed. However, the Kardalen must have best uninterrupted views.
Date of stay: June 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Another_travelbug2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2012

Lovely small hotel up in the most fantastic and remote location in the unspoilt hills on the Mediterranean coast.

Great walking routes all around and some fantastic ancient sites within a days reach. We hired a car with drive for £65 one day which took us to four such sites, Xanthis, Patara, Letoon and another in a nearby local village. All very different, but great. If I could only do one I'd probably pick Xanthos.

Hotel room was rustic, with a tiny ensuite shower room and loo but a bath in the main room with great views out over the sea. Small swimming pool perfect for dunking and cooling off after a serious session of sunbathing.

Food was fine, a small table covered in assortments of food was the drill both for breakfast and dinner. Coming from London I think we are probably a bit spoilt in terms of Mediterranean and middle-eastern influenced cuisine (particularly Lebanese which, done well, is about as good as it gets in my opinion) so perhaps we were slightly disappointed with the pasta and moussaka offerings some nights, but to be honest it was all more than edible and we often had seconds! I think what I'm really trying to say, and in act this goes for the whole experience, don't expect anything apart from complete simplicity. This is what is on offer and if your happy with that, you will be well pleased, as indeed we were.

Note that supper is a largely communal affair - one big table with a couple of smaller ones. Wile this is fine if the grip staying all gets on I can imagine it might become a bit of a burden if people don't get on, or if your holiday aim is to get away from it all and not need to socialise.

Highly recommended as long as you will enjoy the remoteness, simplicity of rooms and food, and that you will be part of a small band of people at the hotel for that week.

Again, also recommend hiring a car to explore.

Room tip: Definitely go for one of the eagles nest rooms if you can, they're amazing!
Date of stay: June 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tomalby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews