We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic location in a relaxing resort”
Review of Hotel Mutlu

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Mutlu
Ranked #18 of 101 Hotels in Fethiye
Certificate of Excellence
Porthmadog
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic location in a relaxing resort”
Reviewed July 16, 2009

Stayed at Hotel Mutlu in Calis last week. Picked this because of reviews on line and need to have somewhere comfortable and disability friendly. Hotel is superbly located on the beach front at the Fethiye end of the resort. Sunsets all along this resort front are STUNNING. Resort is flat so no hills for my OH to battle with (has limited mobility).

Hotel has lifts, and the room was as promised, had a side sea-view. Air conditioning feels not cool enough at first as it is fixed at 22 degrees, but as you acclimatise, you appreciate this setting. Very clean and furnishings quite smart for Turkey.

Sea is very calm,being a bay this has no tide and gently laps all day, unless the wind is up. The wind is something else, as it can be non-existent one minute and gusty the next. This is useful with the temps hitting the mid-forties in July. The views of the bay can be seen from the hotel, and the breeze blows in from the sea to the pool area.

Sea is not easy to get in and out of, having said that, and I had only one dip. OH didnt join me for the same reason.

Pool is nice, but not very big. Bigger than a dipping pool, not large enough for a decent swim. A midday pool game would have been nice, and it is just large enough for this.

Breakfasts were cold buffet, except the scrambled eggs served daily. Very nice, fresh and a good quality and choice if you are not too fussy about what you eat, and like me and OH, like to try different things. Bring your own teabags though.

Staff, as advertised, are friendly, and helpful, but at times, you get the impression you are not the most important person in the hotel. The time we were staying, the owner had his family visit, and sometimes, the staff made us too aware that the family were their first priority.

The only other criticism is the lack of any entertainments program. Its clear that the Mutlu is built to accomodate this, but it is noticeably absent. This is why the guests disappear to sample the fare offered by the many local restaurants, and why so few non-residents are seen at the hotel bar of an evening.

So would highly recommend this hotel for a relaxing break, giving access to the best of the rest of Calis, but will not be returning ourselves for a repeat visit.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Porthmadog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

312 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    178
    100
    27
    4
    3
See reviews for
66
164
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Southport
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2009

A rather belated review-we went 2 years ago in June2007.Apart from a bit of a rocky start(fridge and aircon didn't work-Eylem tried to rectify this immediately-told us to leave both on for approx 4 hours and this should sort the problem,I knew this was bull manure but gave her the benefit of the doubt and gave it the 4 hours..Surprise surprise it didn't work.This culminated in us being moved to a different room where the aircon did work and Eylem determined to sort the fridge problem running down the corridors with one in her left hand virtually throwing it at us and saying words to the effect of "happy now" well yes we were "happy now" thanks)Think i upset her over this but our not speaking only lasted a day or so and after that we were best of friends)
I enjoyed the breakfasts especially on the alternate days when a chef was serving fresh omelettes,only down side was a lack of fresh fruit.Lovely where you sit for breakfast overlooking the sea.A nice pool and pool area but would imagine could get very crowded in high season.plenty of nice restaurants close by for very reasonable prices though may have increased since we were there.Loved taking boat taxis again very cheap to fethiye a refreshing relief from the sometimes 40plus degree heat.Visit olu deniz excellent beach.Plenty to do there,water sports a plenty,paragliding from babadag mountain,an abundance of restaurants and bars etc.Also make some enquiries at Mutlu re the private lagoon.We definateley reccomend the Mutlu and the whole holiday experience.

  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Searsjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hertfordshire
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2009

This was our third stay at the Mutlu and we were not disappointed lovely Eylem helping everybody to make their stay enjoyable the bar staff Yasim and the two Huseiyns can't do enough for you. Mutlu and his wife Guncha are lovely company. We have only been back two weeks and am looking to book for next year. We have never returned anywhere before but if you have found a little bit of paradise why keep looking, the location is perfect the hotel very clean lovely pool what more can you ask for.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelmad93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2009

Our first visit to Turkey. Eylem on reception was great. She was always available and helpful also she had the answer to all our questions. The breakfast was excellent and all the staff were very friendly and helpful. The pool area is very good with plenty of shade if you want it..
The room was a bit small but the wonderful sea view made up for that. The sunsets from the balcony were stunning. There are plenty of restaurants within two miniutes walk of the hotel. The promenade is completely flat. I am disabled and would recommend the hotel and area for anyone with walking difficulties.
We are definately going to book here again.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mfmanchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west yorks
Level Contributor
176 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2009

We returned to Turkey staying at the Hotel Mutlu in Chalis Beach,our first time at this resort.

The Mutlu Hotel is situated at the very end of the promonade towards Fethiye excellent location. The hotel is small with a small but excellent swimming pool which is the same depth from end to end. Access to the beach is 10 yards across the promonade where sun loungers and parasols can be hired at 9 TYL per day.

Listen out for the frog chorus at night!

The beach is made of shingle and once in the water quickly deepens so not ideal for small children or the less confident swimmer.

Breakfast at the Mutlu is tradional Turkish offering, scrambled eggs/boiled eggs available every day, The chef made omelettes at least twice a week which were very good. Breakfast is served at the front of the hotel giving you a lovely view whilst eating, overall a very good breakfast. If you do require a full english lots of restaurants offer this service starting at around 8TYL.

However the lack of fresh fruit at breakfast was disappointing as water melon is grown everywhere locally.

The rooms are basic but comfortable and cleaned on a daily basis, lots of hot water and air conditiong that worked.

The Mutlu provides a lunch and dinner menu at the pool or the attached Lion Lounge, as per previous reports we did not use either as there are far to many restuarants around the resort to try, however we did attend the Wednesday night BBQ which was excellent and very good value at 25TYL per person.

The staff are all very helpful and willing to help, Aylem on reception is very helpful and friendly.

A note for ladies who require a hairdryer although each room has a hairdryer they are challenging to use!!!

For lunch in the resort we used Gunisik which is located over the canal bridge on the left hand side of the road. Kebabs were good value at 4TYL for chicken and 5TYL for lamb they also offer set meal deal starting at 10TYL and going up to 23TYL all include large Effes.

Effes is the local beer and is very good and costs 4TYL for a large beer/bottle at every bar in the resort except Josephs Bar( just down from Gunisik) where it is 3,500.

Joseph's is a small bar where you can sit and people watch.

Meals at Night

There are many places to eat within the resort and you will find your own favourites we ended up eating at Bella Mamma's and George's both located on the sea front.

Bella Mamma's serves Italian food from pizza's to T-Bone steaks all excellent quality.

The fresh pasta was delicious the steaks and pizza's as good as they could be , I had pancakes on each visit which were soooooo good!

Starter's were priced from 4TYL the most expensive item was a T Bone steak at 27TYL

On the night's we ate there the bill was between 50 - 70TYL which included drinks/coffee.

Georges

A traditional turkish restaurant located further along the beach promonade served traditional meals, the staff are very effiencent and friendly, with many returning customers, we never had a bad meal the seafood was sooooooo goood! free bread and garlic butter to start typical bill with drinks 50-60 TYL you also get free tea/coffee once you have paid the bill.

p.s pancakes also very good here.

Trips

Having been to this area of Turkey many times before we decided to only do the jeep safari.

Booked with Karacay ( over canal bridge on the right hand side) we chose them because the jeeps looked robust and safe, previous experience has proved this is not always the case with other companies.

The trip cost £18 per person which included a lunch at the Gorge.

The day started at 08:30 and we took a drive through the mountains to TLOS and then on to a trout farm for a short refreshment stop.

Drinks slightly more expensive Effes 5TYL soft drinks a whopping 4.5TYL
Then on to the Gorge were the entrance fee is now 4TYL per person check to see if the entrance fee is include in your tour price.

An excellent place to see, however make sure you have suitable footwear on, flip flops are not suitable, make sure your camera equipment is also safely stored as at some points you will need both hands, on our trip one camcorder met a watery grave!!!!!!

If the local lads offer to help you wade across you will need to tip them as they will follow you until you do, the guides from Karacay will help you across if you need help.

Lunch is served at the Gorge, mezze starters followed by choice of fish/chicken/meatballs or omelette Drinks priced at 5TYL per large beer.

The mud baths then followed, really good fun you will get very muddy if you choose to take part do not wear the latest item in your wardrobe.

Karacay then took us to the Seceret Garden Beach Club which allowed people to get rid of the rest of the mud and chill out on the beach. Overall a very good day out.

Bars in Chalis Beach

The Mutlu has it own bar, to be fair this is used mainly by the residents at the end of the evening for a night cap.

If you you go to the bar between 19:00 and 20:00 you can have something cold whilst watching the sun go down....

We would then go to Joseph's for a drink before dinner, and excellent place to people watch.

For a livelier experince and cocktails we visited Bus Stop Bar on the beach front,Cocktails starting at 10TYL excellent muisc, Friday night's a must do. Other bars available B-52 looks good too.

We also took the water taxi into Fethiye, a really good way to get there at 8TYL return per person. Fethiye a good day out , a visit to the old town is well worth the visit and we shall return to Fethiye in the autumn to try a number of restaurants mentioned on this site.

We had coffee and cake at the Ozsut cafe on the front towards the marina, not cheap but well worth the calories.

The current exchange rate is £1 = 2.45 which makes your money go further, we did a little bit of shopping but the genuine fakes appeared to have gone up in price with watches starting at £40 for the bigger names and leather bags between £50 - £100.

Beware if buying a lot of goods, when returning to this country at Dalaman they will charge you £10 per kilo over your allowance. Which happend to many people on our return flight.

An excellent holiday, recharged our batteries we will return next year.

Nicky and Steve Christie

Any questions please ask.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank nickyholmfirth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey, USA
Level Contributor
25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2008

We stayed at the Mutlu in August during our vacation in Turkey. We booked it on short notice based on positive TripAdvisor reviews, and were not disappointed. The Mutlu has the best location in Fethiye. It is right on the Calis Beach promenade, and within a few minutes' walk of dozens of shops and restaurants.

The hotel's best feature is its swimming pool, which is large and surrounded by attractive landscaping. Our seven year old daughter loved it and was very happy. There was shade and plenty of chairs, although they tended to fill up by mid-morning. Next to the pool was a convenient bar, which was open all day.

The rooms were fine - nothing fancy, but clean. The TV and air conditioning worked well, which were our most important considerations. The hotel had wireless internet access in the lobby area.

The food at dinner and breakfast was served buffet-style. The food was good and had enough variety. However, there are so many restaurants in the area, that a lot of people, us included, went outside for dinners.

The clientele is heavily British, many of whom were there on vacation packages. There was a wide range of ages, from young families with kids up through retirees.

The hotel staff was very friendly and helpful, especially the woman at the front desk. When we decided to extend our stay in Fethiye, she went way out of her way to find us a room at a nearby hotel (the Mutlu was fully booked) for the extra days.

We definitely recommend the Mutlu, especially for families with kids who want a good swimming pool and easy beach access.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MikeLisaAnna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surrey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2008

Mutlu Hotel is set in the best position in Calis Beach, its a few steps to the sea, all the rooms face out to sea so there is so much to look over while chilling on the balcony having a cuppa.

it is a very clean and tidy hotel, they provide very good food.

our only issues were.. if you do not buy there drinks and food they are not as friendly as they are with the customers that spend all day in the hotel with there money

they do not provide a fridge or kettle in any of the rooms, so we had to search hi & low but did find a kettle in fethiye town.

we could not get near the pool in the whole 2 weeks, it says you cant reserve pool beds till 8 am but by 6.30 am they were all taken.

but over all it was pleasant stay

Stayed September 2008
Helpful?
2 Thank SurreyDavo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fethiye hotels
4.0 mi away
Lykia Botanika Beach & Fun Club
0.1 mi away
Delta Hotel
Delta Hotel
#17 of 101 in Fethiye
234 reviews
0.3 mi away
Oykun Hotel
Oykun Hotel
#9 of 101 in Fethiye
636 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Yacht Classic Hotel
Yacht Classic Hotel
#1 of 101 in Fethiye
764 reviews
4.2 mi away
Club Tuana Fethiye
Club Tuana Fethiye
#8 of 101 in Fethiye
3,227 reviews
2.6 mi away
Infinity Boutique Hotel
Infinity Boutique Hotel
#11 of 101 in Fethiye
182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mutlu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mutlu

Property: Hotel Mutlu
Address: Baris Manco Bulv. 1332 Sok. Fethiye Merkez, Fethiye 48300, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Fethiye
Amenities:
Beach Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Fethiye
#10 Romantic Hotel in Fethiye
#11 Family Hotel in Fethiye
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Mutlu 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Mutlu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mutlu Hotel Fethiye

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing