We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome small city”
Review of Downtown Fethiye

Downtown Fethiye
Book In Advance
More Info
$70.74*
and up
Fethiye Shore Excursion: Private Tour to Tlos and Saklikent Gorge
Ranked #6 of 73 things to do in Fethiye
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
oklahoma city
Level Contributor
51 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Awesome small city”
Reviewed June 12, 2013

Beautiful. Visit fish market for dinner. Also visit museum, small but amazing. Liked museum , tombs cut in mountain , boardwalk along bay, and fish market. Great seaside city. Very nice people.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank gsmason
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

885 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    452
    317
    81
    20
    15
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
99 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Olympos- Fethiye (4 days)”
Reviewed June 12, 2013

I would recommend that you do sail around the coast of Turkey as it is stunning but maybe not with Alaturka. There were 9 of us on our boat which was nice, a not too small and the food was great, there were three crew members, all hard workers. The captain unfortunately liked to drink after we were docked for the evening which I wasn't happy with - I'm not sure that he would have been in any condition to drive the boat had there been an emergency in the night. It is advertised that the crew will speak English, ours didn't really. In the itinerary it says "We will head to Pirates Cave for snorkeling and then you will explore the Sunken City- cruising over the ancient ruins of this world heritage listed site." We just sailed straight past this, there was no explanation as to why and the Captain didnt speak enough English to understand that we wanted to see it. We also went straight past the Blue Cave.
On the first night we went to the Smugglers Inn disco, this was fun even though we were the only ones that were there. It's 10lira for a glass of wine or a can of Efes beer. Day 2 went well, but on the morning of the third day we woke to a broken down boat and had to be towed to Kalkan I would recommend that you bring snacks onto the boat, Day 3 had breakfast at 8am and lunch at 4pm (dinner is around 8 or 9.30pm at night). The boat was not fixed until late that night. On the 4th day we thought we were going to go to Butterfly Valley but they went straight past, until we got to St Nicholas Island we finally got breakfast after 1.30pm (they never provided the lunch) and we docked in fethiye a hungry bunch at 5pm.
The cabins were nice but try and get one near the back of the boat, ours were at the front and the sewage started coming back up the loo/floor drain in the bathroom so by the last day the smell was unbearable.

I understand that the breakdown was unavoidable and the water was choppy but I think that we missed out on most of the attractions and nothing, not the breaking down or the change in itinerary or the odd meal times were explained to us even though there were Turkish/English speaking locals on the boat that could have translated for the Captain.

All in all we still had a fantastic time as it was beautiful weather and Turkey is stunning, so do a cruise just not this one. (NB they did give me a 10euro refund when I explained the situation)

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank tracyeloise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fethiye”
Reviewed June 11, 2013

About 30-45 mins on dolmus bus from lykia botanika hotel costs 10 lire return. Lots of cheap shops markets and a nice harbour. You do get hassled of the local shop keepers to go in there shops.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank lumaldo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
preston
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“fethyie”
Reviewed June 10, 2013

superb fish market and good for shopping.buy your fish from the market then sit down in any restraunt in the square and they will cook it for a small charge,ask how much the wine is before you buy.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank prestonpablo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penkhull
Level Contributor
43 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“the bit that wasnt destroyed in the earthquake of 1979 (I think)”
Reviewed June 9, 2013

quient, turned the area into a tourist and bar area, but I liked it, just the car cemetry that I didnt like. Go to the fish market, buy a fish and get it cooked by one of the restaurants.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank LynnPenkhull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Downtown Fethiye also viewed

Fethiye, Mugla Province
 
Fethiye, Mugla Province
Fethiye, Mugla Province
 

Been to Downtown Fethiye? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing