We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst meal I ever had in their restauraunt”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ece Saray Marina & Resort
Ranked #13 of 101 Hotels in Fethiye
Certificate of Excellence
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Worst meal I ever had in their restauraunt”
Reviewed June 23, 2009

This is supposed to be the best hotel in the area with the best restaurant.
There were 12 of us and not only did we have the worst dining experience in 6 years of coming to this area but the attitude was the worst I had experienced ever.

The service was poor on arrival we had to ask for a menu.
When we got sat down and ordered, one of our party complained that after 2 hours wait she had been served her meal, starter, main and dessert whilst a large number of our party had not even seen a starter.
Staggering since the restaurant was empty. I should seen it as a warning sign, it was empty for a reason. Hindsight is a wonderful thing!
The response was an offer to watch a DVD of the Hotel whilst waiting. We told them we were going to leave and were asked to pay over 235YTL. After protracted discussions the manager told us not to pay if we thought it was valueless so we accepted his offer only to discover a demand the following day that we did in fact have to pay. We negotiated it down to 170 YTL however the attitude of the manager and Maitre D has ensured that I will never set foot in the hotel or restaurant ever again. I would not go back here if you paid me. Absolutely no integrity whatsoever. Good luck if you decide to use this place, you are gonna need it !

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank andyremploy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

396 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    249
    112
    18
    10
    7
See reviews for
57
238
8
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Basildon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2009

We stayed at the Ece Saray Hotel from 16th May for one week. We really could not fault the hotel, it's food or the lovely staff. From our experience this is not a hotel suited to people who want to be organised and entertained. For us it was a really chilled out place. The food was to a very good standard and we were suprised every evening with the 4-5 courses on offer. We will be going again, but on a selfish note, I hope that not too many people discover this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TheBarrys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2009

We stayed at the Ece Saray for 1 week in April. Unfortunately, the season had not really started but I was aware of this before I booked. This meant that there were very few people in the restaurant during the evening ( We were staying half board), which meant the restaurant lacked atmosphere. I am sure that in a few weeks time it will be very different. The evening meals consisted of 5 courses, beautifully presented, tasty and varied.
The pool area was beautiful but sadly had no water in during our stay - the water would have been too cold anyway! The surrounding area was very attractive and the views from the bedroom windows were incredible - snow capped mountaind overlooking the Marina. The rooms were tastefully decorated and plenty big enough. One draw back for older travellers - you had to step into the bath to take a shower.
It was a good 15-20 minute walk into the main harbour & town but achievable. We discovered after a couple of days that it's possible to take a Dolmush right into the town to catch other buses anywhere you might want to visit. These are very frequent and incredibly cheap.The fish market was incredible. There are plenty of trips to take out of Fethiye which makes it a good base for a holiday.
The staff were very friendly and nothing was a trouble although they had a limited understanding of English.
I feel this hotel would not be suitable for anyone wanting to be in the 'thick' of things, but is excellent as a quiet retreat at the end of a hectic day!
The spa facilities were fantastic but expensive by comparison, although relative to prices at home.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AnnaPreston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2008

Nothing special or memorable about this hotel. Bland decor, below average service..nothing really bad, but nothing good either. Served by a "hoodie" at night at cocktail bar.. certainly not five star. Wont go back and wouldnt recommend it. Booked top suite..I had to ask if we had the right room. Very dissapointed.

  • Stayed October 2008
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Sunscot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greece
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2008

The Ece Saray Marina Resort Hotel is a little palace. We stayed there for 7 nights in mid-July and we had a great experience. Spacious rooms with jacuzzi, also the suite was lovely, with view to the Marina from the bed.
Adorable decoration and furniture, very aristocratic.
Spa was very good, turkish bath and all the kinds of massages were given by good trained stuff.
Tranquility is the main characteristic of this hotel, although it is front on the Marina. it is on the center of the town but at such point that you think that you are miles away.
Stuff was very helpful and tried to satisfy all our needs and wishes.
The restaurant is by the sea and you can see fish on the water.
Dishes was above our expectations at very reasonable prices for their quality and quantity.
There were also nights with live music and dishes from other places.
One drawback is the lack of beaches for swimming around the hotel but the big swimming pool with jacuzzi (very good indeed!) can satisfy the most difficult person.
Our staying there was unforgettable. Hotel is open throughout the year. We wish to come back next year and spring, I believe would be lovely.

  • Liked — Tranquillity, relaxation
  • Disliked — Lack of beaches
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank STAVR69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porto, Portugal
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2008

I had a good experience in Ece Saray.
The outside area is very good - a fantastic building, a lovely bar and a great pool. Rooms are comfortable, spacious and with amazing views over the marina.
Some charm is missing in the common areas.
Breakfast is served in the terrace and even if is a good service, is not a 5 star hotel breakfast.

  • Liked — Room views over the marina
  • Disliked — Lack of charm in some areas
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Maria76Porto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2008

The Ece Saray was a fine choice for us: we were looking to chill out for a few days after jumping around the country and staying in lots of 'boutique' hotels.

In Fethiye, it's probably one of the most expensive options - if not the priciest indeed. So, value for money should not be necessarily expected.

But, the virtues of the hotel are singular: a large very comfortable pool that overlooks the marina. A good breakfast with terrific rooftop views. A well appointed rooms and bathroom. The decor is serviceable -- but nothing to write home about.

The hotel felt strangely understaffed, but the front desk were very helpful to us. The grounds are very nice -- not sure what the other reviewers are referring to. We were there in June '08, so perhaps just missed some work. But, lots of flowers in bloom around the property.

If you're just looking for a bed at night, probably better value options around. If you want a pool and some seclusion -- but still be in walking distance of the rest of Fethiye, this is a good if somewhat pricy option.

PS: Booked through expedia. Dont use their website - they never replied to my booking requests.

  • Stayed June 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Spivman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fethiye hotels
0.1 mi away
Yacht Classic Hotel
Yacht Classic Hotel
#1 of 101 in Fethiye
764 reviews
5.6 mi away
Club Tuana Fethiye
Club Tuana Fethiye
#8 of 101 in Fethiye
3,230 reviews
5.5 mi away
Lykia Botanika Beach & Fun Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Ece Boutique Hotel
Ece Boutique Hotel
#21 of 101 in Fethiye
121 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Unique
Hotel Unique
#5 of 101 in Fethiye
224 reviews
0.4 mi away
Infinity Boutique Hotel
Infinity Boutique Hotel
#11 of 101 in Fethiye
182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ece Saray Marina & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ece Saray Marina & Resort

Property: Ece Saray Marina & Resort
Address: 1. Karagozler Mevki No:1 Fethiye Merkez, Fethiye 48300, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Fethiye
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Fethiye
#9 Luxury Hotel in Fethiye
#12 Family Hotel in Fethiye
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Ece Saray Marina & Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ece Saray Marina & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ece Saray Marina And Resort
Ece Saray Marina Hotel Fethiye
Ece Saray Marina Fethiye

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing