We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An utter disgrace avoid at all costs” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Carmina Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Carmina Hotel
Ranked #46 of 93 Fethiye B&B and Inns
Sittingbourne, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“An utter disgrace avoid at all costs”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2010

On arrival first impressions were that it was a bit shabby,however at the price paid we did not expect 5*
What we did expect however was clean and functional rooms and a safe enviroment for our teenage daughter and her friend(both 15 years old.)
What we got however was 2 rooms in what could only be described as the basement both of which smelled strongly of damp and on further inspection had damp mould all over the lower walls.To totally compound this by the time bedtime arrived the bed sheets were wet with damp and very uncomfortable,the furniture sparse and some broken.
The view from the tiny balcony was straight at a brick wall and the smell of sewage so strong as to make the balcony unusable on many occasions.
The food was disgusting and badly cooked and the breakfast devoid of variety and covered in flies.
As if this was not bad enough it soon became clear that 15yr old girls were fair game for the extremely predetory bar and pool staff,even to the extent of finding out their room number and after we had gone to bed phoning them and asking them to go out with them down to town.Had they not been sensible and refused then i dread to think what would have happened.
We could not tolerate staying at this hotel and got a move out after 4 truly appalling nights.
Put simply if you like even basic cleanliness and comfort,or more importantly have teenage daughters then this hotel should be avoided at all costs.
TRULY THE MOST APPALLING AND DISGUSTING HOTEL IN THE AREA AND PROBABLY THE WHOLE OF TURKEY

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank beggs_mark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    44
    35
    18
    35
See reviews for
50
57
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kinross, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2010

The hotel rooms were very basic and on arrival I was a bit dissapointed. We were placed on the second floor but requested ground floor. The staff were extremely helpful and moved us to a more suitable room on the ground floor. The food was excellent and all the staff were friendly and accomodating. They were excellent with the children and did their upmost to ensure that we they were entertained. Most of the staff waited for our bus to collect us on the last night which was supposed to be at 1.30am but did not arrive until 2.30am. They all waited with us and wished us well on our journey. I would go back to this hotel because of the friendly atmosphere and the good food!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sgmchardy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
harveyoscar
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2010

we have been to turkey 4 times and this is the worst hotel we have ever stayed in. the staff are really rude and unhelpful, the music is so loud and some nights was still full volume at 3 in the morning the food was disgusting and you can't get a sunbed round the pool unless you ask the staff to put your towels out at 6 in the morning. they will do this if you are round the bar the night before. we used the pool opposite at the native appartment where they were really friendly without being pushy. the resort was really nice, lively, everything you would expect from a busy resort. i would never recommend carmina to anyone. if you have already booked here try and change your hotel before you go it really is horrible. we did have a good holiday but this was because we got ready in the morning stayed out for as long as poss then went back to get ready for the evening then went to bed when the music stopped. usually about 2/3.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank harveyoscar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Fethiye hotels

Liverpool
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2009

Carmina may not be the classiest hotel but for the money we paid I think it is excellent value for money and all of the staff work really hard to make your holiday a pleasurable one. If I had any criticim it would be that some guests have little consideration for others when returning to their rooms in the early hours of the morning. One thing I would like to point out (we were B&B) is that the standard of the food at Carmina was very good-we ate lunch or dinner on at least 6 occasions (all different meals) and we were not disappointed once-great if you don't feel like walking into the town. The hotel is within a few minutes walk of the centre which is very lively.
There are some good restauarants and some not so good - sometimes cheap is not worth it. There are 3 recommendations I would make which are all close to the Carmina - Top of the list has to be Ozi Boo (above the Estate Agent just opposite the White Man) - only opened in May 2009 - it is run by 5 brothers and boy do they make a fuss of you (and not for a tip) - we and other friends ate there on several occasions - the Steak Roll is to die for ! If you like Chinese,then the Shanghai Blues is the place with an excellent set menu at £ 6.80- it is the only one with a Chinese Chef - you can watch the sun set at the back - just watch over drinks though as they are priced in GBP and we paid £ 15 for a bottle of wine on our first visit. Finally the Butterfly Restaurant (turn right at the Dolmus stop near Carmina) offers very reasonable and very tasty set menus. Others recommended to us but we did not get the chance to visit are Cheers and Domino's. The "all you can eat" ones are generally to be avoided - we tried two and had no intention of asking for more - yuk!
In terms of trips we did just 4 ( we like to relax for a few days and then alternate a trip every other day) - we did Olu Deniz 3 Bays boat trip,Sunset Cruise,Jeep Safari (Tlos,Saklikent Gorge) and the Fethiye Market/Ghost town one- 4 cost us £ 72 for the two of us. All well worth it in our view as thay all included our meal- food on the 3 Bays Boat trip was not great but hey we only paid £ 5 each. Talk of the Town Show was recommended but we did not make it.
If you are intending to spend £ 35-£40 for Perfume/After Shave at the duty free - think again - we found a shop called SAME run by a British girl(opposite Ozi Boo) which sells the genuine (Not Blag ) article at £ 5.50 for 50ml and £ 9 for 100ml and she has a selection of about 30 of both. My wife tried a tester one evening and you could still get the fragrance the following morning;that convinced us.
Olu Deniz is not walkable - Hotel has a free bus service to the beach-then £ 5 for two sunbeds and an umbrella at Green Park Beach.The swimming is better (no rocks/pebbles)if you walk pat the pedaloes to Billy's Beach.You can also catch the Dolmus which terminates in front of the main beach which is shingle.
This was our fourt time in Turkey,so if you are a victim,make sure you have mosquito protection/relief. I get bitten and one woman at our hotel had to spend £ 47 after a real bad reaction.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2009

My family and I have just returned from the Carmina hotel, and we were dissapointed to find that Janine and Sammy are no longer there. We booked this accomodation as we had stayed in the Carmina in may and had a wonderful time with Janine, Sammy and their staff.
All the staff have since been replaced, and the place just isn't the same without them. The whole complex has deteriorated, and we shall not return. We wish to give Janine and Sammy our best wishes for their future success.

P.S, Watch your bills.

  • Stayed August 2009
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NodFlenders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2009

When we stayed at the Carmina it was just a basic budget accommodation but was clean and the poolside area was well maintained and lovely.

Breakfast was typical Turkish Breakfast of cucumbers, bread, cheese and spam it would seem but was ok.

It is only a couple of minutes from the town of Hisaronu which is great for shops, bars, restaurants. We'd definitely stay in Hisaronu again. It had something for everyone. The Carmina was a good base for our holiday.

The staff at the Carmina were very friendly and welcoming. The cleaners were very thorough. The barman Atti (Crouchy) was very kind and my 3 year old son still talks of him now.

The bar was a bit more expensive than in town so venture out. Some nights it was a little noisy with new guests arriving in the middle of the night but short lived.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hswenham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2009

Me and my now fiance stayed at the Carmina for 10 days at the end of June 2009 and we had an amazing time. Janine and Saraj made our holiday perfect. They helped my boyfriend plan how he was going to propose and they organised a sunset cruise for us. They were more excited than my boyfriend was. The people at this hotel are incredibly friendly and they will help however they possibly can. In addition to helping my boyfriend plan his proposal, on his birthday, Janine and Saraj set up a fancy table with rose petals and ordered a huge birthday cake for us with sparklers and they played happy birthday. It was very thoughtful. The turkish night is a real laugh if you join in. We would definitely go back to this hotel again. Ignore any reviews that were posted before May 2009 as Janine and Saraj took over then and in my opinion, they are doing a fab job. The hotel is basic but what do you need from a hotel other than somewhere to sleep?! I can't wait to go back!! In terms of recomendations, we would recomend the Lemon Tree. It's great value for money and they food is great. The Eski Bar is great for cocktails and they are buy one get one free. They do an amazing ice cream cocktail with tia maria, baileys, vanilla ice cream and chocolate sauce. We would also recomend that you have a turkish bath on the day you get there as it really helps your tan! We came back with a great colour because it takes the dead skin off and makes you tan really well. You also need to go to Talk of the Town. Its a hillarious drag act. You'll love your stay in Hisaronu! Hope this helps.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank imaginarydiva87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fethiye
0.0 mi away
Tolay Hotel
Tolay Hotel
#56 of 102 in Oludeniz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 356 reviews
0.4 mi away
St Nicholas Grove Hotel
St Nicholas Grove Hotel
#92 of 102 in Oludeniz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
0.2 mi away
Gurol Aqua Resort Hotel & Apart
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Yalcin Hotel
Yalcin Hotel
#40 of 102 in Oludeniz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Pine Hill Hotel & Suites
0.2 mi away
Flora Palm Resort
Flora Palm Resort
#15 of 102 in Fethiye
4.0 of 5 bubbles 617 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carmina Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carmina Hotel

Property: Carmina Hotel
Address: Kayakoy yolu uzeri - Hisaronu, Fethiye, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Fethiye
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 93 B&Bs / Inns in Fethiye
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Carmina Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Also Known As:
Carmina Hotel Fethiye

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing